Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenager who wants to get fit

• 06-02-2011 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I am 17 and don't play sports or do much exercise at all. I spend most of my time studying and on the computer. I am not heavy though as I eat relatively healthy foods.

But when I had to run for the train with my friends, I got tired so quickly and my friends were perfectly fine and I was dying. So I want to get fit. I live the country so I can start running, but in the current weather I can't really get out much. So is there anything I can do at home (cardio mainly) that can get me fit (that does not need equipment)? I can't join a gym as I live 20 mins from the closest one and it would be a inconvenience for my parents.

I have looked on the internets and like the sound of this program for running which I want to start as soon as the weather gets better http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Thanks for the help :)
    Regards,
    Adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thisisadamh

Also with regards to running and exercise, is it better to do it in the mornings before school or is it better in the evenings?

Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Hi all, I am 17 and don't play sports or do much exercise at all. I spend most of my time studying and on the computer. I am not heavy though as I eat relatively healthy foods.

But when I had to run for the train with my friends, I got tired so quickly and my friends were perfectly fine and I was dying. So I want to get fit. I live the country so I can start running, but in the current weather I can't really get out much. So is there anything I can do at home (cardio mainly) that can get me fit (that does not need equipment)? I can't join a gym as I live 20 mins from the closest one and it would be a inconvenience for my parents.

I have looked on the internets and like the sound of this program for running which I want to start as soon as the weather gets better http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Thanks for the help :)
    Regards,
    Adam

good program to get you started running, jog in the am or pm watever suits you better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

If the weather is an issue, try skipping, or maybe even short sprints. That'll get you pretty fit in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

if the weathers such an issue stop being so soft-seriously, its Ireland, go out do what you need to do, sprints etc, go inside change and dry off

I think I am using the weather as an excuse lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Elohim

I found the couch to 5k program very good. I didn't start at the beginning of it but it has set targets and I found it those to be great motivation.

Get the mp3 that is available for each week and it'll tell you when to speed up and slow down etc in case you can't tell distance/speed/time when running outside instead of using a treadmill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Frogdog wrote: »
    If the weather is an issue, try skipping, or maybe even short sprints. That'll get you pretty fit in no time.

+1 for skipping. Also running up and down the stairs in your house might be an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Ouchette

+1 for Couch to 5k. I did it all the way through and found having a programme to follow very motivating and helped me push myself the right amount. Now I love running and I'm working through the Bridge to 10k programme.

I used the app to tell me when to walk and run and I preferred that to the MP3 because I could play my own music over it.

Stop making excuses and get outside. The weather's fine :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I think I am using the weather as an excuse lol

Haha. At least you admit it. Yeah, I actually prefer running in the rain. Keeps you nice and cool. Once you have a windsheeter on to stop your chest getting soaked it's totally grand.

I did my first session with the Couch to 5K program. It was good (well better than I expected it to be considering I don't like exercise lol), I got that app for my iPod that tells you when to run and walk, it is good. I was dead afterwards and in pain as I did not stretch, I know now to stretch before. lol

I will post updates on my progress if anyone is interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Do yeah. Maybe start a log in the logs section?

Khannie wrote: »
    Do yeah. Maybe start a log in the logs section?

Where is the logs section, is there on in Boards?

I took a break from it due to school but I am trying to do it everyday now this week because it is mid term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

It's a subforum up at the top of the main Health & Fitness page - here.

Go for it - best of luck!
    (from another couch to 5k graduate)

radia wrote: »
    It's a subforum up at the top of the main Health & Fitness page - here.

Go for it - best of luck!
    (from another couch to 5k graduate)

Thanks :) Will do. Would you mind telling me your experience through it? Was it hard at any pint. Any hints? Should I do it more than the 3 times a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

hey!
    well i'm trying to get fit too and what i do is try eat a balanced diet which is really hard with school and everything.
    i've found the best way to get fit is to start off slow, if you did 5mins of running once a day everyday it is far better than an hour all at once during the week

xclw wrote: »
    hey!
    well i'm trying to get fit too and what i do is try eat a balanced diet which is really hard with school and everything.
    i've found the best way to get fit is to start off slow, if you did 5mins of running once a day everyday it is far better than an hour all at once during the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Mr. Spock

If you already eat healthy, this shouldn't be a problem.

I'd recommend starting a 3x/wk schedule. Didn't read the whole thread, but 1.5 miles is a good place to start. If you're looking to bulk up, start with some basic push-ups and sit-ups. I know it sounds simple, but it works. Once you can knock out ~45 push-ups in a minute and ~55 sit-ups, take it to the next level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Mr. Spock

xclw wrote: »
    hey!

Hey man, not trying to be a jerk or anything but 5 minutes a day won't do you much good. Weight loss/getting in shape is all about keeping your heart rate up for extended amounts of time. You'll need a bit more than 5 minutes if you're doing an every day thing, I'd say around 15-20.

Mr. Spock wrote: »
    If you already eat healthy, this shouldn't be a problem.

I'd recommend starting a 3x/wk schedule. Didn't read the whole thread, but 1.5 miles is a good place to start. If you're looking to bulk up, start with some basic push-ups and sit-ups. I know it sounds simple, but it works. Once you can knock out ~45 push-ups in a minute and ~55 sit-ups, take it to the next level.

Thanks :) I have started a log if you want to check that out. I posted a link a few posts back.

I'd definitely stick with just 3 times a week for Couch to 5k, or running every other day at most. Running's high impact so your joints will need time to adjust, particularly if you're running on concrete. You could always do something different like going for a swim or working on core/upper body strength on the off days if you feel like it, but you'll still be running for half an hour at a time in 9 weeks even if you don't do anything extra.

One thing I would suggest though is decide which days you're going to run on and stick to it no matter what else comes up, what the weather's like etc. That helped me get into the habit of it anyway.

Ouchette wrote: »
    I'd definitely stick with just 3 times a week for Couch to 5k, or running every other day at most. Running's high impact so your joints will need time to adjust, particularly if you're running on concrete. You could always do something different like going for a swim or working on core/upper body strength on the off days if you feel like it, but you'll still be running for half an hour at a time in 9 weeks even if you don't do anything extra.

One thing I would suggest though is decide which days you're going to run on and stick to it no matter what else comes up, what the weather's like etc. That helped me get into the habit of it anyway.

Thanks, will do. I have decided that I will run mondays, Fridays and Sunday's, does that sound good. I have no other time during the week due to school commitments. I can do a little upper body and core on the days off as that does not really take up a lot of time. Just 10 mins or so doing pushups and sit-ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

Thanks :) Will do. Would you mind telling me your experience through it? Was it hard at any pint. Any hints? Should I do it more than the 3 times a week?
    I found it great. The structure was what I needed to motivate me to get out. Previously, when I'd just had general intentions of exercising, I was great at finding excuses for not doing it on a particular day - too rainy, too soon after eating... C25K made me just get on with it.
    So I'd echo Ouchette's advice to pick a schedule and stick to it. Each run is only half an hour, so short of a blizzard how bad can it be? And even on days when it's pouring, it doesn't usually do so for too long in one go. If you do miss a day, force yourself to make up the time by snatching a half hour somewhere else in the week.

You suggested Mon-Fri-Sun, but that means no rest day between your last run of one week and your first run of the next week (which is usually the hardest because it's a step up). Any chance you could find a half hour to run on Tue instead of Mon? For the same reason I'd agree with Ouchette not to try for more than the scheduled 3 runs each week - give your muscles a chance to recover between them. That doesn't mean you can't do a different form of exercise (e.g. your sit-ups & push-ups) on the days you're not running, which will keep you in the habit of routine exercise and yet be easy to fit into your day because they don't involve actually going anywhere.

Best of luck with it.

Mr. Spock wrote: »
    Once you can knock out ~45 push-ups in a minute and ~55 sit-ups, take it to the next level.

Thanks :) What would the next level be. I am not at ~45 pushups and ~55 situps yet. But I am wondering what would the next level be. A gym? Other stuff I could do at home?

radia wrote: »
    You suggested Mon-Fri-Sun, but that means no rest day between your last run of one week and your first run of the next week (which is usually the hardest because it's a step up). Any chance you could find a half hour to run on Tue instead of Mon? For the same reason I'd agree with Ouchette not to try for more than the scheduled 3 runs each week - give your muscles a chance to recover between them. That doesn't mean you can't do a different form of exercise (e.g. your sit-ups & push-ups) on the days you're not running, which will keep you in the habit of routine exercise and yet be easy to fit into your day because they don't involve actually going anywhere.

Best of luck with it.

Thanks, I will try and find time during the school week. I could always move the step up to Friday. But I will try are find time.

Thanks for the advice :)
    Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭LK_Dave

Check out http://www.youtube.com/user/passion4profession and start working your abs

LK_Dave wrote: »
    Check out http://www.youtube.com/user/passion4profession and start working your abs

Thanks, will check it out

Hi. As of now I have been using an old pair of Vans. I dont have any kind of runners (Nike, Addidas etc). What would be a cheap and good pair to run with and exercise with? And by cheap I mean €20 max. Thanks :)

What does everyone think of these? Are they good enough? http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20110224.p.Mens_Trainers

I ended up getting a cheap pair from Dunnes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 SimpleOrder

you could join a track team,track is coming up soon.

Cool thanks. I think my school has a cross-country team. I would want to join once I can run for longer that 60 seconds lol. But if I stick to this plan I am on should be in a few weeks.

Hi, I am just wondering if I could get some advice on my diet.

Morning: Porridge or Toast (depending on how much time I have in the mornings.
    Lunch: Sandwiches
    Snack: 8 Crackers with Butter and Bovril on (yes I know Bovril is meant to be a drink but I like it as a spread on crackers, toast etc lol)
    Dinner: What ever we have that day. (Fish; Chicken; Beef) with Veg and Potatoes. Ice cream after sometimes if it is there.

Any suggestions or is it perfect? I am trying to lose the fat in front of my abs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Cool thanks. I think my school has a cross-country team. I would want to join once I can run for longer that 60 seconds lol. But if I stick to this plan I am on should be in a few weeks.

You'll make progress faster if you just join now, to be honest.

discus wrote: »
    You'll make progress faster if you just join now, to be honest.

I asked the track teacher about joining (he was surprised lol) but he said it has already started and I need to wait for next year to join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭LK_Dave

I asked the track teacher about joining (he was surprised lol) but he said it has already started and I need to wait for next year to join.

Why not ask if you can participate in the training, can't see any harm in that?

As for diet, you have just started exercising and by the sounds of it you are hitting it hard. I have never understood why people drastically change their diet once they start on an exercise routine. Your body is going to be shocked enough to begin with. I wouldn’t change too much at the moment – just cut down the sweets and soft drinks if you do consume these. Substitute sweet snacks with fruit if you can. But don’t deprive yourself of the odd treat every now and then – I love a Mars bar/chocolate cookies and a glass of milk about an hour before a 15km run and I still enjoy beer and pizza on Friday nights. In the end you will find what works for you, fairplay and keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Porridge is the microwave is nearly faster than toast and porridge is far better
    what kind of sandwiches and how many? Try a bit of fruit as well
    Snack: 8 Crackers with Butter and Bovril on (yes I know Bovril is meant to be a drink but I like it as a spread on crackers, toast etc lol)
    is your snack bigger than your lunch?
    Dinner: What ever we have that day. (Fish; Chicken; Beef) with Veg and Potatoes. Ice cream after sometimes if it is there.

Any suggestions or is it perfect? I am trying to lose the fat in front of my abs

Fair play to you for starting to exercise more, but if its a nice set of abs your looking for, running wont get you them and neither will the majority of the youtube 6 pack abs videos.

That looks much too low in fruit and veg to me. 1 or 2 portions in the evening and that's all How about having a salad with your sandwiches at lunchtime and replacing the crackers with a piece of fruit? With a snack that size it sounds as if your lunch isn't filling you up. You'd probably get some good ideas over in the nutrition forum.

Porridge is much better than toast btw. Healthier and more filling.

Ouchette wrote: »
    That looks much too low in fruit and veg to me. 1 or 2 portions in the evening and that's all How about having a salad with your sandwiches at lunchtime and replacing the crackers with a piece of fruit? With a snack that size it sounds as if your lunch isn't filling you up. You'd probably get some good ideas over in the nutrition forum.

Porridge is much better than toast btw. Healthier and more filling.

Thanks :) I have now committed to getting up earlier to make the oats lol. I will also replace the crackers after school with fruit and see how that goes. Thanks again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭woggie

Make your oats up the night before - one portion of oats to 2.5 of water (or one oats, one milk, one and a half water) leave them sitting in bowl overnight and they will cook in less time the next morning and be creamier!
    I wish my teenage daughter was this interested in getting fit & healthy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Can you actually do regular porridge oats in the microwave with milk?never tried that before.

LOl, yes you can, my dad does it that way all the time - though i prefer to do it on the hob myself! If your microwave is very powerful you may need to reduce the power to 60/70% so it doesn't over do it, give it a minute, stir, give it another 30 seconds or so, depends on how you like em!

woggie wrote: »
    LOl, yes you can, my dad does it that way all the time - though i prefer to do it on the hob myself! If your microwave is very powerful you may need to reduce the power to 60/70% so it doesn't over do it, give it a minute, stir, give it another 30 seconds or so, depends on how you like em!

I make porridge oats in the microwave, Falavahan Quick Oats, but they still take longer to make and eat than toast. Toast is quick to eat, oats take longer. But I woke up early this morning to make and eat the oats and I plan to make this a regular thing

Since I am sick with the Flu at the moment and it seems to be taking forever to go away (Grrrrrrr :mad: ). I decided to start my self on a new diet. Take a look and tell me what you masters think :)

Breakfast
    Tea and Flahavans Quick Oats

Snack (in school)
    Banana and Bottle of Water

Lunch (in school)
    Ham and Cheese Sandwich (x2) and Bottle of Water

Snack (home)
    Apple and Orange Juice

Dinner
    Depends and whatever is going that day. It is usually either Chicken/Mince/Beef with either Mash/Chips/Baked Potatoes/Boiled Potatoes and 2 Vegetables (either Carrots, Green Beans, Butternut, Broccoli).

I also have tea several times during the day lol! I have approx. 4 cups of tea a day!

Any hints will be welcome :)

(edit) My main goal btw is to lose the fat in front of my abs and then once that is done start weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

(edit) My main goal btw is to lose the fat in front of my abs and then once that is done start weights.

The way you put on muscle is by eating and training. Eating and training will give you muscle, then you can train to work on losing the fat.

I'm neither a nutritionist or a trainer, but if you read some of the articles on this forum, you'll be able to achieve your goal.

Article on ab training by Charles Poliquin.
    http://www.thedrillcoach.com/2008/06/what-planks-abs-and-more.html

Hope this helps.

Hi all, the gym near my school does a pay as you go service (€4 per session) which is perfect. So I am starting weight training tomorrow. I plan to go at least once and if I can twice a week. And advice will be appreciated? :)

Also I am on my last day of week 3 of C25K today. Looking forward to starting week 4! I never thought I would get this far!

Adam :)

waahay- there is no stopping you now!
    Most gyms will give you a 'standard' program. It usually is something like - 5mins warm up on bike, 5-10 on cross trainer, then all the different weight machines (sorry I wouldn't have a clue of their names) and then finish off with treadmill - but this is kind of a one-program-fits-all and gets boring very quickly.

You should check out Transform's website http://www.dominicmunnelly.ie/ or maybe create a new thread asking some of the guys for a program based on what your aims are.

I have another question. I saw this in tescos a few days ago: http://www.lucozadeshop.com/product/03477.html
    It is a lucozade protein shake. Is it any good or is it a waste of money? Will it help build muscle?

Adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

I have another question. I saw this in tescos a few days ago: http://www.lucozadeshop.com/product/03477.html
    It is a lucozade protein shake. Is it any good or is it a waste of money? Will it help build muscle?

Adam

I would consider this a carb shake more than a protein shake tbh, as there are almost 3 times as much carbs (from sugar) per 100 ml as there is protein. And it appears that the protein is simply skimmed milk & milk powder. So basically chocolate flavoured milk in a lucozade bottle.

Honestly I would give this particular shake a miss as IMO this is just the company behind Lucozade trying to cash in on the supplements market. You will get the same effects as this from simply drinking milk and it will probably be cheaper.