Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worth Spending Money On

• 06-02-2011 5:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What should a gent spend decent money on....

A suit
    A pair of shoes
    A stereo
    A watch
    Hair cut

Anything else....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

A nice coat, ya can't beat a nice coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Define "decent money"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

A wall mounted HD tv hooked up to a gaming pc above a fireplace with a leather chair to sit on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Pennys and Dunnes do pretty good suits pants,tie and shoes! My boyfriend looks great and he's had it for the past few years.

Money spent on a jacket is money well spent :D Shoes/trainers are another thing! My boyfriend spends at least 30 euro and has them for a good year or two :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I would agree with Suit, watch and shoes from the OP. But I pay 10 euro every 3-4 weeks for a haircut off the same barber each time. It's far more important to find a barber you get along well with who will do a good job and who will remember your head. It's a cheap price too, so I can go regularily and he never charges any more than 10 quid, even if I ask him to give my beard a trim.

Good money should be spent on a good solicitor or barrister should you need one :D

A decent pair of running shoes is needed, though in general I think, you won't find that a pair for 150 nike's are better than a pair of 50/60 euro Asics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Always worth spending money on a good suits, shoes and shirts if you can afford it. I think cheap suits are obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Retail Hell

mfceiling wrote: »
    What should a gent spend decent money on....

A suit
    A pair of shoes
    A stereo
    A watch
    Hair cut

Anything else....

engagement ring for those of you going down that route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

3 things worth nspending money on...

good shoes
    a good chair and
    a good bed.

if you're not in one, you are in the other..

Claasman wrote: »
    3 things worth nspending money on...

good shoes
    a good chair and
    a good bed.

if you're not in one, you are in the other..

Yes to all three.

I never understood people watching a 1500 euro TV while sitting on a 100 euro seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

Suit: Done. And it looks good.
    Shoes: 1 Pair. Need a new pair. However, I rarely wear shoes and mostly wear runners.
    Running Shoes: Done. Always Adidas or Asics. Nike i find uncomfortable and overpriced. 100 quid gets a much better pair of Asics than Nike.
    Haircut: Could care less.

the must for decent money: Food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Definitely a 'nice' watch.

Sure a 50 euro Lorus or a Timex will keep better time but a swiss-made chronometer just has soul :cool:

up to €500 - Seiko
    €500 - €1,000 - Oris
    €1,000 - €1,500 - Ball, Baume & Mercier
    €1,500 - €4000 - Omega (Seamaster, Speedmaster)
    €4,000+ Vintage Rolex (GMT Master, Submariner)
    €10,000+ Patek Phillipe

Remember the saleman's old adage "If you buy cheap, you buy twice" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I can't actually remember the last time I used a stereo, so that is not getting my vote!

A good coat, good suit, good shoes or watch are my suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Wallet, belt and boxers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Shoes that can be worn casually are nice to have as well. Too many people either wear leather shoes with a suit or runners and jeans. A nice pair of shoes for casual dressing is always worth spending money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I hate wearing watches but if I didn't I'd buy myself a nice watch.
    A nice watch never goes unnoticed & will last a long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

engagement ring for those of you going down that route

Did that..........you'll never get away with being cheap on that one!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Shoes deffo. At least one pair of handmade bespoke ones if you can. They'll literally last decades.

Suit(s) yes if that's your bag.

Good coats.

Whatever your hobby is, then good quality(not always big money either) will usually make it more enjoyable.

A good camera and some ability to use it.

If you're a speccy four eyed gimp(like me) then good pair of specs a must. If you're 20/20 Ted, then good sunglasses also a must. Not passing fashion "I look like a tart/EltonJohn/Elvis impersonator" ones either.

Watch? Well yea. :) Me, I go vintage. Cos I'm ubercool(and a cheap bastard:D). Not Rolex though. Tacky, mediocre styling, blando innards, overpriced and madly overrated.

foxyboxer wrote:
    Remember the saleman's old adage "If you buy cheap, you buy twice" ;)
    Very very true.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Good Stereo....ploughed money into one last year and the difference is unreal... the speaker wire alone cost me a bundle but was worth it for years of enjoyment...

agree with the rest of the OP's list also..after that...

A good chef's knife...had mine for about 7 years..(Henkel)...expensive but brilliant..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

im not working at the moment, so haven't spent much lately, but when i have money i try to buy best i can afford..

most important for me would be the suit and stereo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

A good pocket multi tool. I got new Leatherman wave before Christmas. They are a really good investment. I left it down the country at the weekend, lost without it.

A great quality leather belt. I hate cheap belts. If ever you get a leather belt you like and the buckle breaks, for God sake, replace the buckle. Don't throw it away.

Buy ten pairs of the exact same socks. Good quality. Doesn't matter if you lose one, they all match.

Appropriate runners for your feet, casual runners, casual brown shoes, suit shoes, flip flops. Got a pair of slippers as a gift this year. They are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Pocketfizz wrote: »
    Pennys and Dunnes do pretty good suits pants,tie and shoes! My boyfriend looks great and he's had it for the past few years.

They really, really don't, honestly.

Suit
    Shoes
    Watch
    Sunglasses
    TV
    Couch
    Jewelery (if you're so inclined)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Iago wrote: »
    They really, really don't, honestly.

Not for formal wear but the majority of my work shirt and tie combos are pennys or dunnes bought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

A good pair of running shoes, decent pair of trainers(Adidas is my choice, it's an addiction:o), suit+shoes, watch and sunglasses. A good coat is most important, imo. I love coats.

I have the shoes and runners sorted, but none else.:(
    May get myself a suit for weddings and funerals and stuff..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Wibbs wrote: »
    Shoes deffo. At least one pair of handmade bespoke ones if you can. They'll literally last decades.

Where would one get a pair of shoes made in Ireland?

Being a tall chap I'm quite restricted in my choice of shoes to one or two of the same styles in high street stores that care to stock the size. I'd quite like to buy a really nice pair of handmade shoes that would last longer than the "cheap" high street ones.

Not for formal wear but the majority of my work shirt and tie combos are pennys or dunnes bought.

Shirts you can get away with because they're generally covered with a tie and jacket combo. The ties look exactly like they are though, the difference between a dunnes tie and a really nice tie is very easy to spot. As are the shirts if you're not covering them up.

Mind you, the older I've got the less worried about these things I've been. I wear very good suits but tend to ruin them by wearing M&S non-iron shirts underneath. I'm sure they look fine to the casual eye but I know better.

Just to be clear I'm not saying people shouldn't wear them by any means, but there are noticeable differences.

Wibbs wrote: »
    If you're a speccy four eyed gimp(like me) then good pair of specs a must. If you're 20/20 Ted, then good sunglasses also a must. Not passing fashion "I look like a tart/EltonJohn/Elvis impersonator" ones either.

Best money I have probably ever spent in my life was on laser eye surgery. I never cared about what i looked like in glasses but it saved me so much hassle with wear and tear, trips to opticians, daily contacts for sport etc etc. I can't say enough good things about the procedure.

I also believe that if you are paying somebody to shoot a laser into your eyes, it is worth spending extra money to go to a good clinic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Dord wrote: »
    Being a tall chap I'm quite restricted in my choice of shoes to one or two of the same styles in high street stores that care to stock the size. I'd quite like to buy a really nice pair of handmade shoes that would last longer than the "cheap" high street ones.
    Online there are loads of places that will do them but it's hit and miss on quality. Only go with someone online that you have seen the final product in the flesh.
    A visit to the UK will find dozens of cobblers who will do a majistic shoe for ya.
    In Ireland we are limited to Tuttys. Link. Wonderful quality but (for my tastes) a bit workmanlike. I would still sell children to own a pair though. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Here's one place http://www.tuttyshandmadeshoes.ie/ Oops Old goat got there afore me. :) I have a pair from him. Have lasted literally decades.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

If you already have reasonably high standards then putting money into something that will make you stand out would be well spent. It could be a really nice watch, pen (or working on a really nice signature - free - and makes a good impression) or shoes.

Otherwise, the priority should be on what you will use/wear the most in which case it's horses for courses... might be a laptop, car, desk chair, pots, pans, tv, speakers, etc.

Two things that I don't mind paying more for are:

1) Earphones - the difference in sound quality with good and bad earphones is so enormous they're not even in the same league. I use mine most days too.

2) Crystal glasses - relatively speaking, they're not even expensive. You can get a nice set of four for 40 or 50 euro. Lovely to drink from... even cold water from them tastes better. Excellent value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

1) Earphones - the difference in sound quality with good and bad earphones is so enormous they're not even in the same league. I use mine most days too.

I 100% agree with this. Hate cheap earphones. The left one always stops working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

For me, the most recent thing I spent "good money" on (compared to the cheap equivalent) was earphones / headphones. I have a really good set of in-ear earphones for on the train that set me back about 55 quid and a nice pair of sennheiser ear-muff type ones for the office that set me back around the same. Every time I hear that extra little bit of crispness in the office I'm glad and every time I know there's some rude muppet shouting into their mobile on the train that I can't hear I'm delighted.

A good mattress is well worth spending money on too.

Suit has been done to death, but I'd agree.

Other stuff that I've spent money on that I'm glad I did:
    Good quality backpack.
    Top end hair clippers.
    Projector.
    My twins boxing gloves.
    Good sized monitor for work / home.
    Natural keyboard.
    Comfortable mouse. (yes, I use computers for work :)).
    My 13 year old Diesel Audi A4. What a legendary purchase that was at the time. Unquestionably worth every penny.

In general, if it's something you're going to use several times a day or spend a lot of time using I think it's worth being absolutely sure it's going to make life more pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Cicero wrote: »
    Good Stereo....ploughed money into one last year and the difference is unreal... the speaker wire alone cost me a bundle but was worth it for years of enjoyment...

http://consumerist.com/2008/03/do-coat-hangers-sound-as-good-monster-cables.html :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

From a ladies perspective:

A well-tailored suit, white shirt, belt, wallet and shoes are all obvious indicators of taste (not wealth, as a sensible person will save to afford good quality rather than buy cheap).

A discreet watch with a classic analogue face and understated cufflinks are a bonus.

My personal bugbear is when a nice suit is ruined by a cheap polyester tie. So many nice silk ties are reasonably priced online that its just not necessary to wear man-made.

Often overlooked are the socks - they should always match your shoes in colour, never your trousers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

To go along with the general gist of the thread:

Suit - I have two suits, not tailored or anything as I'm just out of college but made sure I got a nice, good quality suit for my graduation and it'll be doing me for a long time...hopefully :pac:

Watch - I'm lucky that I've been given two watches as gifts - have a very nice Fossil watch which I would wear everyday and a Tommy Hilfiger watch for good ocasions

Belt - a good leather belt is always nice. Have gotten a Penguin belt from TK Max and it only cost €20 which is buttons for the quality of it.

Technology - I've seen people mentioning headphones etc. - continuing on from that - any technology or electronics you purchase should be of a decent brand. Be it laptops/desktops/stereos/TVs/Phones etc. I work in IT and I've learned from experience,even though I'm still relatively young, that if you try to be cheap about it, you're going to get bitten in the ass! Even if you come across what looks like a good deal, researching before purchasing could save you alot more money in the long run

Grooming products - This is the one area where I don't think any man should scrimp on. The extra few quid you spend here really does make a difference. Aftershave, moisturiser, hair gel, shaving products etc. - It goes without saying that if you buy cheaply here you're most likely not getting value for money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The watch thing I dont get, a grand on a watch? I havent worn a watch in about 15 years, cant stand them, i have a phone, does the exact same thing.

Suits def though, dunnes pants are fine for work but proper event suits you're better off spending the money.

krudler wrote: »
    The watch thing I dont get, a grand on a watch? I havent worn a watch in about 15 years, cant stand them, i have a phone, does the exact same thing.

I used to think the same used never wear a watch before I was given two as gifts and you'd be suprised how many people notice them and will compliment you on having a nice one.

Not a hope in hell would I be spending that type of money on one though, that's ridiculous! A Grand!! :eek:

I'd imagine the Fossil one I wear everyday was worth €150 - €200 & the Tommy Hilfiger one would be around the €200-€250 mark

From a peronal point of view, the most I'd spend on one, were I purchasing one, would be €175 or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

PaulieC wrote: »
    Technology - I've seen people mentioning headphones etc. - continuing on from that - any technology or electronics you purchase should be of a decent brand. Be it laptops/desktops/stereos/TVs/Phones etc. I work in IT and I've learned from experience,even though I'm still relatively young, that if you try to be cheap about it, you're going to get bitten in the ass! Even if you come across what looks like a good deal, researching before purchasing could save you alot more money in the long run

I'd disagree with the being cheap about it bit. I've gotten some amazing technology deals recently. A brilliant android phone for around 130 euro. An android tablet with a 10 inch screen that plays 720p video for around the same. I think you just need to be selective when buying technology.

100% agree though on research being important. You can really get badly stung if you don't.

Khannie wrote: »
    I'd disagree with the being cheap about it bit. I've gotten some amazing technology deals recently. A brilliant android phone for around 130 euro. An android tablet with a 10 inch screen that plays 720p video for around the same. I think you just need to be selective when buying technology.

100% agree though on research being important. You can really get badly stung if you don't.

Well when I say being cheap about it I meant - simply going for the cheapest available - kinda tying in with the point on research I made - it's fine to get cheaper goods, once they're the best of the best of the cheaper goods.

An example would be somebody I know buying an Android phone for little under the price of a Sony Ericsson version - the SE model is a far better phone from what I could see, better battery life being the main thing I'd look at with Androids atm - they still went with the LG and now give out about the battery being shít and the phone causing problems.

For the extra few quid, even if it's still relatively cheap, research really tells imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Well when I say being cheap about it I meant - simply going for the cheapest available - kinda tying in with the point on research I made - it's fine to get cheaper goods, once they're the best of the best of the cheaper goods.

An example would be somebody I know buying an Android phone for little under the price of a Sony Ericsson version - the SE model is a far better phone from what I could see, better battery life being the main thing I'd look at with Androids atm - they still went with the LG and now give out about the battery being shít and the phone causing problems.

For the extra few quid, even if it's still relatively cheap, research really tells imo
    I'm all for buying the best you can afford, but also buying the cleverest. While some of the SE phones are very good, not everything Sony produce is good, some is downright over-priced muck.
    There are many good brands out there, some known and expensive but not great, others unknown and reasonably cheap, but excellent. Research is key!
    As for the speaker cables, that monster cables thing is not really I assume what the previous poster was talking about. The cable from your amp to the speaker is often a long run in a good HE environment. If you have an expensive speaker, a good amp, an excellent source and a very good ear you do need a good cable. It's to do with the resistance of the wire. It comes into play for longer distances.
    I also object to buying a badge. What's the point in paying a premium for a Beemer and having all your friends think you're great when you only have a piddley 1.6 engine under the bonnet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Phones - We spend so much of our day on them its hard not splurge out. They should be functional, stylish, and should suit needs such as sync et el.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

kippy wrote: »
    Define "decent money"?

As in something you have to give consideration to...as opposed to impulse buys or the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

As in something you have to give consideration to...as opposed to impulse buys or the like

I equate it as equaling whatever you define "quality" as...unless you've an endless supply of money, you don't tend to purchase "quality" on a day to day basis
    - even though you know there are better items out there, you accept a lesser good as you've defined it's purpose and use from the outset and you purchase appropriately...but once in a while..you spend more and buy quality...and you love it ... :cool:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Do they not go all shiny and nylon looking after a few washes? Now bear in mind, myself and the bf have a trouser press and I religiously put my suit trousers in after one wear so they look good? (and due to sizing issues, my suits are pretty much all dry clean only bar one)

Apart from Tuttys, there are cobblers on Tara St, and in Castleknock, both of whom I have used and would recommend. Off the shelf, you might get Barkers, I know someone who had a pair ten years and they looked fab.
    Best money I have probably ever spent in my life was on laser eye surgery. I never cared about what i looked like in glasses but it saved me so much hassle with wear and tear, trips to opticians, daily contacts for sport etc etc. I can't say enough good things about the procedure.

I also believe that if you are paying somebody to shoot a laser into your eyes, it is worth spending extra money to go to a good clinic!

I'd love laser surgery but am very dependant on my sight in my right eye, to the extent that should the surgery fail I would probably be legally blind. With that in mind, I am happy to spend on good quality glasses and sunwear, along with contacts.

I also have the vain belief that glasses can add to one's looks :D
    If you already have reasonably high standards then putting money into something that will make you stand out would be well spent. It could be a really nice watch, pen (or working on a really nice signature - free - and makes a good impression) or shoes.

Otherwise, the priority should be on what you will use/wear the most in which case it's horses for courses... might be a laptop, car, desk chair, pots, pans, tv, speakers, etc.

2) Crystal glasses - relatively speaking, they're not even expensive. You can get a nice set of four for 40 or 50 euro. Lovely to drink from... even cold water from them tastes better. Excellent value.

Oneida in Kildare Village is my shop of choice for cutlery, glasses and homewares, fantastic quality 6 crystal glasses with a 10 year guarantee for 24 euro at the moment, and they have a lovely range of cutlery, cookware etc.

For me it's the accessories, watch, cufflinks if I'm wearing a shirt that needs them, watches and pens are my big vice, I love fountain pens, and anytime I get a new job I celebrate by buying a new one.

Which reminds me...................................
    krudler wrote: »

My ideal watch costs not one grand but a few, it will be something I will cherish, love and buy as a reminder of a special occasion as I will have worked hard to earn it. I'm not a fan of jewellery so for me a special watch is a real aim.

For me it's quite different, it's what makes me feel good in my skin. I work in a client facing industry and appeareance and confidence are both important.

If I am confident in my appearance, it affects both me and my client, right down to every little accessory I am wearing to my underwear.

I do spend money on my work clothes, and have been guilty in the past of ignoring the dressier side of my casual wardrobe due to work circumstances, then wondered why when I met people casually I felt less confident. Now I invest in both and am far happier appearance wise :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

This is something I am really considering now. I've had glasses for a year and half but probably should have had them for a bit longer. I need them for seeing lecture notes in college and the screen down in the pub if I'm watching a match. It's frustrating going to play a match and you are passing to people that are a blur. Haven't the money to look into contacts at the mo.

I also have to get my front tooth crowned in a few years but that might be covered on my insurance I think. Awful annoying having essentially half a tooth. I swallowed it a few times. Took me half a day to notice one time

I'd definitely recommend getting a good pair of headphones. I got a pair of Sony MDR-V500's on Amazon for €30 a few months back and they are superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Retail Hell

Best Buys

Suit - Hugo Boss - Tailored fantastic purchase
    Glasses - Ralf Lauren - Very stylist, really loving them
    Watch - Seiko - Bought with my SiSA
    Handmade Italian Shoes - Black very cool
    2 white hand made shirts by Saville Row , For my Wedding Fitted perfectly, love them
    Engagement ring great investment she loves it
    Large Flat screen TV
    1 Carolina herrara tie Red Silver, 1 Gucci Tie Pink
    Other shirts by Thomas pink & the other shirt shop on Dawson Street
    My house

Future Investments

Good Stereo with Ipod Docking station
    Another watch possibly a wedding gift from herself, but my pick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Future Investments

Good Stereo with Ipod Docking station

Buy one of these instead: http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-Jack-Phono-Audio-Cable/dp/B000Q6LSWM/ref=pd_cp_ce_3_img
    and your lovely new stereo will work with any player.

Earphones - the difference in sound quality with good and bad earphones is so enormous they're not even in the same league. I use mine most days too.
    Tea 1000 wrote: »
    As for the speaker cables, that monster cables thing is not really I assume what
    the previous poster was talking about.

The previous poster was talking about headphones - I mentioned Monster Beats headphones Pic as they're a pair I really want....fail to see how you picked up differently on that tbh :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The previous poster was talking about headphones - I mentioned Monster Beats headphones Pic as they're a pair I really want....fail to see how you picked up differently on that tbh :confused:
    Someone mentioned about buying a good sound system and paying for good cable. Someone else linked to a site showing that a coat hanger is just as good as a Monster speaker cable. That's what I was referring to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Up de Barrs

Good boxers / jocks, Dunnes 3 for a fiver just dont cut the mustard.