Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SOUTH KERRY

• 05-02-2011 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭

With the absence of any true left wing candidate in the south kerry constituency,who are the people going to vote for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

What makes you think the people of south kerry want left wing politicians? There are no strong left wing candidates in a lot of constituencies, but afaik Labour have a candidate in every constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SEVERA

for a start not alot of people would regard labour as left wing for not a long time, and secondly i truly believe that the people of south kerry deserve the choice, as they are not fools and know that fg lab and greens were all privy to pushing through a finance bill which if they had any balls they would have fought the election on. none of these partys want any radical change, there all just throwing shapes now....where are the true politicians gone.....am i asking too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

SEVERA wrote: »
    for a start not alot of people would regard labour as left wing for not a long time, and secondly i truly believe that the people of south kerry deserve the choice, as they are not fools and know that fg lab and greens were all privy to pushing through a finance bill which if they had any balls they would have fought the election on. none of these partys want any radical change, there all just throwing shapes now....where are the true politicians gone.....am i asking too much?

If you think choice is lacking then perhaps you should run?

well i would have if i thought that this was the bunch we would have to pick from, unfortunately i was led to believe that sinn fein were going to have a candidate so i got my hopes up only to be let down when they decided not to.

If they thought there would be even a half decent left vote, then they probably would have run a candidate, but they no there isn't sufficient demand in the area.

there is a sufficient groundswell of support in south kerry for sinn fein this is well known by the party over the last few months and to prove this you will see the 1 independant gleeson who dosent come from the rats nest of {ff} will pick up the 3rd seat.if there was a serious sinn fein or left wing candidate gleeson would not be even be considered for a seat. how do u see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Average_Joe

I spose Danny wil get his seat anyway. Dont no bout da rest tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

I spose Danny wil get his seat anyway. Dont no bout da rest tho!
    Danny who?

.same. wrote: »
    Danny who?

I think he means michael healy rae.

how would you make a connection between michael healey rae and danny whoever "danny" is ?

sorry ya i meant mikey:o was confused as i had danny canvassing at the house d other day ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 1957mghsb

confused with Danny Healy Rae.

I feel that Michael Gleeson will pick up a lot of left wing votes, he is an ex labour party member.

:pac:Mikey wont be getting my vote anyway, i think your too close to those healey raes you don't know one from the other.
    they should wear a government health warning sign around their necks saying don't come too close you could end up talking ****tee out of the side of your mouth like me!

sorry ya i meant mikey:o was confused as i had danny canvassing at the house d other day ha[/QUOTE just a guess but did danny say something along the lines of "any chance of the old vote for the brother" and then start talkin ****e about the taliban

yes thats what i mean, with sinn fein they will have missed out on a seat. to michael gleeson who is lets face it is a fairly watered down left wing candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 tonyforan

yes i agree sinn fein lost out in a seat here pity t ferris didnt put her name in i think as it will be a fine gael/ labour government we need somebody other than sheahan / griffen / maloney as sheahan may be the only one with a chance for getting too the front bench we are in danger of being forgotten here in south kerry for a number of years too come so i feel we need people other than the one mentioned above o donoughue has form and healy-rae will be a good loud voice for us and i think with fleming we would be well served with them 3 candidate,s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Have to agree about the general consensus on here that Sinn Fein have thrown away a seat in South Kerry and they had had an Ideal canidate with Toiresa Ferris to run in the constituency.

And the latest opinion polls in the Kerry's Eye newspaper suggests even more what a mistake it was by SF not to run in the constituency with O'Donoughe out of the running,there would have been a big SF vote I'm sure in the Cahirciveen district where O'Donoughe is based.

yes totally agree maybe its not too late lol its tue the last day for putting in candidates maybe some one should get on to sinn fein and tell them lol

Thanks for your opinions guys,I will send an email to sf hopefully they may reconsider before tue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

Ok so I said I said id add my two cents.

Michael healy rae FF in all but name. His family has gotten so much money out of Kerry that they are set for the rest of their days. They talk so much about getting road funding for Kerry but always fail to mention that its their company that get the vast sums of money. Then jackies daughter, Michaels sister rosemary, got a nice job on a board after Jackie voted for the budget. They put on a skitt that they are poor olde farmers but they are far from it. They have taken us for a ride and propped up FF for their own personal benefit.

They really annoy me. By the way, im not a member of any party or tied to y candidate what-so-ever

Ok so I said I said id add my two cents.

Michael healy rae FF in all but name. His family has gotten so much money out of Kerry that they are set for the rest of their days. They talk so much about getting road funding for Kerry but always fail to mention that its their company that get the vast sums of money. Then jackies daughter, Michaels sister rosemary, got a nice job on a board after Jackie voted for the budget. They put on a skitt that they are poor olde farmers but they are far from it. They have taken us for a ride and propped up FF for their own personal benefit.

They really annoy me. By the way, im not a member of any party or tied to y candidate what-so-ever
    Hi you shut up about the Healy Raes. They have done more for South Kerry than anyone else has. They dont let those cnuts from Dublin walk all over us ordinary country people. They put South Kerry on the map!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Then jackies daughter, Michaels sister rosemary, got a nice job on a board

She is a barrister and is qualified.

Should sons and daughters of elected TD's be barred from applying?

well as grrrrrrrrrr im not a member of any party or tied to any candidate and what family members of TD,s do is not of concern to us it would be worse if they were doing it behind our backs but it is common knowledge for all of us about the healy-rae,s and there is nothing stopping me you or any one of us to go to college and become a barrister and apply for any state job and as for danny and getting contracts for roads well same apply,s (in which he was doing so before jackie ever became a TD) i would be more worried about TD,S doing feck all for us here in south kerry what has sheahan done for us in his time as a TD getting back to SF it would be good if they decide to run a candidate hope they reconsider as it will give us a real choice in candidate,s and i feel ferris would be
    great for south kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Teddy455

tonyforan wrote: »
    well as grrrrrrrrrr im not a member of any party or tied to any candidate and what family members of TD,s do is not of concern to us it would be worse if they were doing it behind our backs but it is common knowledge for all of us about the healy-rae,s and there is nothing stopping me you or any one of us to go to college and become a barrister and apply for any state job and as for danny and getting contracts for roads well same apply,s (in which he was doing so before jackie ever became a TD) i would be more worried about TD,S doing feck all for us here in south kerry what has sheahan done for us in his time as a TD getting back to SF it would be good if they decide to run a candidate hope they reconsider as it will give us a real choice in candidate,s and i feel ferris would be
    great for south kerry

What has John O Donoughue done? Spent our money on his holidays and limos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

Hi you shut up about the Healy Raes. They have done more for South Kerry than anyone else has. They dont let those cnuts from Dublin walk all over us ordinary country people. They put South Kerry on the map!

The Healy Rea's are great at claiming to have got things done and claiming to have got got deals from the government but what they actually get done is very little, all they're good for is lining their own pockets.

As for Mike HRs character representing the people of S Kerry, what the hell is that all about:confused:.Maybe there are others like them, but I've lived in Kerry for 25 years and I don't know anyone who talks, acts or dresses like him or Jackie.

I'll be voting down the card with the aim of keeping J O Donoghue and even more importantly keeping M.H.R out, as I think he is the furthest possible thing to a kerry person or and honest politician.

Anyone any idea as which way I should vote to keep these two OUT.

well to be fair i cant defend what he did only too say it,s the culture which is why we need reform but will FG or LB do it for us i dont think they will some how by having a large enough SF party up in the dail might bring about real change as i think all a FG/LB government will do is blame the last FF government for the next 5/10 years for every thing we need too forget about the past and move forward and deal with our problems as we face them and can a FG/LB covernment really do that ???????

well the idea is to vote for the best person that will do us good here in south kerry and looking at the other candidates we may be in trouble i saw one of them the other day with there party leader and all they done was follow him like a lost puppy i dont really need nor want somebody like so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭takun

we need too forget about the past

No. Really. We don't need to do that.
    the idea is to vote for the best person that will do us good here in south kerry

No. The idea is to vote in the best government for the country.

well we dont seem too know what we are getting from either FG or lab and as none of here candidates here will make it on to the front bench we need candidate,s that wont forget us other wise south kerry will be forgotten about and as FG/LAB will be in government we need other candidate,s other than from FG/LAB working for us in dublin

FG/ lab will do nothing to change this country, they pushed through this finance bill before the election along with ff/ greens. fg/lab now talk about renegotiating imf/eu "deal" {there was no deal for ireland in this} . instead the deal should be ripped up and thrown away! the banks and financial institutions should be told to take care of there own debts, people say this is not possible but look at iceland they are on the way back after letting there banks go down.
    instead the majority of politicians in this country wont even consider scraping this deal eventhough it is not possible to pay back this loan at 6% or even 4.5% and grow employment and the economy at the same time.

Teddy455 wrote: »
    What has John O Donoghue done? Spent our money on his holidays and limos.
    totally agree john o Donahue is a great speaker and always very professional on how he talks to the media etc but when it came out about all these crazy expenses for me he lost all credibility, hes a joke, probably regarded as an even bigger joke than the healey raes now

There are about 30 other rural constituencies, stop feeling sorry for yourselves.

The have done f*ck all for anyone that they couldn't make a profit out of.

we should have been shown the public finance,s the figure the government is talking about is 19b in arrears surely we must cut that down firstly by

a) creating jobs
    b) cutting admin in public bodys
    c) reduce/cut out loss in welfare fraud
    there are still people coming there to get on our welfare having no intentions of ever working
    d) free up the money in our banks for small business,s
    rather than paying the bond holder with it
    f) totally reform the dail/ public servants sector
    have a look at the way our local and county councils spend there money

surly by doing so our finance,s would be in better health in which would reduce the difference of what we take in to what we spend

There are about 30 other rural constituencies, stop feeling sorry for yourselves.

i am not feeling sorry for my self

I am just saying do we really need FG/LAB candidate,s elected here in south kerry we will prob be one of the only county,s in ireland thats kerry as a whole (north kerry) as well wont have any TD,s in the front bench,s or as junior minister and having some of the worst roads and unemployment in the country i feel we will need proper representation to have any ability to influence the political process

yes well said but all of this will never be done without the right politicians in the dail, fg when they were in opposition were never demanding the answers, they were a poor opposition so poor that the ff government were just making fun of them most of the time.
    how now can we expect this shower to run the country, there current finance spokesman is a former disgraced minister for health who buried the hepatitis victims under mountains of paper when they sought justice

noonan was also a disgraced former leader and he is now running the election for FG kenny is in hiding our future leader wont even come on our air wave,s and debate his policies using what VB said as a joke as an excuse which i feel was in bad form using such a topic as suicide to defend and attack VB in which when VB made the remark kenny knew as then everybody he didnt literally mean it so if our leader in waiting can use such a topic to get out of a roasted in the leaders debate what can we expect from him and his party

i am not feeling sorry for my self

I am just saying do we really need FG/LAB candidate,s elected here in south kerry we will prob be one of the only county,s in ireland thats kerry as a whole (north kerry) as well wont have any TD,s in the front bench,s or as junior minister and having some of the worst roads and unemployment in the country i feel we will need proper representation to have any ability to influence the political process

I doubt that you are the only county without a front bench representative, i know my own constituency (carlow-kilkenny) had no front bench representation for several years up until now, although we should have after the election.

Also Healy Rae will have little or no influence in the next dáil, probably closer to none that little! No one in their right mind would want their government depending on him, so it is unlikely that he will join with anyone.

These men have no backbone, no loyalty,not even to there own supporters and now they want to lead the country out of the worst crisis since the foundation of the state.
    for example in 2005 five men from the north of kennnys constituency were jailed over there opposition to ff plans for the corrib gas project, one of the men worked for kennys as an election agent, unlike his fellow fg td michael ring, kenny would not support there stance, and during protests to get the 5 men released when many were hospitalised by gardai,kennys only comment was "the law must be obeyed". Now with friends like enda kenny who needs enemy's.
    as for noonan he shafted john bruton, and threatened the supreme court to Ellen mccole mother of Bridget mccole when she inquired why her daughter had contracted hepatitis...this man is no good for the ordinary working people of Ireland

i am sure phil hogan will get a portfolio and thats my point all this thread is about why SF didnt run a candidate we are saying we need some one from SF running in south kerry but i do feel healy-rae would be better than what others have on offer the final seat here is very opened which is why i think SF could have won the final seat here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭urbanachiever1

Michael Healy Rae claimed €114000 in expenses over two years as a Kerry councilor. That's €4750 a week! just in expenses. And people still think he's in it "for South Kerry"
    €4750 a week!
    source

sf councillors and tds take home the average industrial wage whats that about 25k per annum? what are the chances sf will run a candidate now before tuesday?l

Theres people on here spoutting [EMAIL="cr@p"]cr@p[/EMAIL] about the Healy Raes thats not true at all. They have done great work for the people. If anyone ever wants a road fixed they go to the people who get it done- the Healy Raes. Sure all you have to do is look at the fantastic work theyre doing in getting a hospital built in Kenmare. Marvellous people.

sf councillors and tds take home the average industrial wage whats that about 25k per annum? what are the chances sf will run a candidate now before tuesday?l

Considering councillors get only €14000 per annum, how do they get average industrial wage?

really only 25k what do they do with the remainder of the monies left over and i emailed them lol i wouldnt think they will not at this stage any ways maybe you should run for them are you a party member

and as for healy-rae expence,s thats mad i read the report and it stated quote from healy-rae When asked about the €1,064 mileage claim over two days, Michael Healy-Rae said he had to attend a conference in Dublin on January 14, 2008, be back in Kerry for a council meeting the next morning and travel back to Dublin that evening.

"I live in Kilgarvan," he said. "I went to a place where I was invited to go to and came back to Kerry because I was obliged to do so. Being mayor of Kerry, there's a thing called a CPG, a corporate policy group.

"I'm the chairman of that group, there was a meeting held the following day in Kerry that I had to attend and I had to chair the meeting.

"I was in Dublin the day before, the following day I was in Kerry, and later on that night I had to go because I had an invitation from Trevor Sargent to go to Dublin again the following day."

which is why i posted before that we need total reform both in the dail and in local and county councils and take away such measures when i go to work i dont get paid i only get paid when i start till i finish i pay for my own petrol and food i say give them a fuel card and they use when they need it

really only 25k what do they do with the remainder of the monies left over and i emailed them lol i wouldnt think they will not at this stage any ways maybe you should run for them are you a party member

t

Donated back to the party . . .don't know why they make a big deal of it, the party is still getting money from their being in the dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭urbanachiever1

Theres people on here spoutting cr@p about the Healy Raes thats not true at all. They have done great work for the people. If anyone ever wants a road fixed they go to the people who get it done- the Healy Raes. Sure all you have to do is look at the fantastic work theyre doing in getting a hospital built in Kenmare. Marvellous people.
    You're funny

Donated back to the party . . .don't know why they make a big deal of it, the party is still getting money from their being in the dail.

well i dont know, but that way its serving the public rather than an individual surely thats a step in the right direction

Considering councillors get only €14000 per annum, how do they get average industrial wage?
    well you should know how to divide to achieve an average industrial weekly wage, one thing i know is that they don't feather there own beds with tax payers money, and it is used prudently to further the party and help just causes, maybe that is why ff have no funds left to fight this election, as there members have squandered it all.
    as for a reply to my email you might not be laughing on tues but if you are fair play, i tried

well you should know how to divide to achieve an average industrial weekly wage, one thing i know is that they don't feather there own beds with tax payers money, and it is used prudently to further the party and help just causes, maybe that is why ff have no funds left to fight this election, as there members have squandered it all.
    as for a reply to my email you might not be laughing on tues but if you are fair play, i tried

who and why would be laughing on tue and what did you try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Minister B

I doubt it very much. Toireasa Ferris was tipped to be a candidate by some but IMO she was never going to run in SK. A SF seat in SK would be a long term project, running in this election to build a plartform for a seat push in the next election. She'll inherit her fathers seat in NK, she knows that, therefore she was never going to put that under threat with an off the cuff SK campaign. That said, I do think it's a mistake that Sf haven't run a candidate here so as to prosper in future elections.

$1 million dollar question, will John O'Donoghue get a seat? I hope not, no politician should be allowed get away with what he did. South Kerry deserve better then that.