Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dylan Haskins - Dublin South East

• 05-02-2011 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭

I'm curious as to what people make of him, he's not running in my constituency but I was struck by his policies, if that came from a major party I'd be impressed, let alone a young independent. Most of what's in there is what I would like to see from a government, its pretty unfortunate that's not an option though.

So am I alone or would others like a similar fresh slate?

I'd like to see the likes of him, Mick Wallace and others form a DIY independent party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

He'll be heard of again in some form or another but no chance this time I Think.

Here's something he must not do though
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/02/04/things-dylan-haskins-must-not-do/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Papa Smut wrote: »
    I'd like to see the likes of him, Mick Wallace and others form a DIY independent party

I'd like to see an official party come out of our current political no man's land, I don't like this idea of a large body of independents, I'd much prefer to see a concrete manifesto with aims and views that encompass all under its umbrella, that way you know what you're getting.

But yes I'd definitely like one that had the kinds of people that are turning up as independent candidates for this election at the helm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

He's policy lite, sure he's a nice bloke and all but sounds like him and his mates came up with the idea after a drinking session in some wine and cheese bar in Ranelagh.

Strange, I've been looking for his policies. Can you forward me on a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

the word "policies" in my initial post links to http://www.dylanhaskins.ie/dylans-policies/

Apologies, I posted that in the wrong thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Heard him the other day on the radio. Had a look through some of his "policies". Some good ideas but also some unrealistic optimistic idealism.

This monthly meeting idea happens in every political party anyway. TDs hold clinics and most of the queries they are asked to deal with are dealt with by their staff or passed to local councillors.

The commentary on the Seanad is just a commentary.
    I believe in streamlining and democratising the way in which senators are appointed by their constituents
    I believe in a transparent democratic process for choosing members of both houses of the Oireachtas.

No indication of how this would be achieved. Not saying how people would be appointed to the Seanad or whether the Taoiseachs appointees or the universities would still elect members. What is this transparent democratic process ? Is it not transparent now ?
    That debate – a new public service debate – needs to happen in public rather than behind cloased doors in Croke Park. Both public servants and private citizens should be able to see the way in which their money, their jobs and their taxes are being used as negotiating tools.

The croke park agreement is a published document. Is he suggesting that the negotiations be held in a public forum ?
    I want to introduce a new expenses procedure, in line with the best practice in the private sector, so that only vouched, genuine expenses can be claimed by politicians. Anything less than this is a scandal. I want the other candidates in this constituency to match this policy.

Agree totally.
    The government has proposed the introduction of an annual tax on property, and this money will be ring-fenced for local government. The latest announced the imminent introduction of water charge. In advance of this, we need to make sure that Dublin’s public institutions are ready to use these new revenue streams in the best interests of the city.

How exactly would he prepare the City Councils for the influx of funding ?
    Many of us realise that Dáil debates are a stitch-up, agreed in private by the whips of the political parties. Very few debates are meaningful and very few votes crucial. At the moment, such is the power of the whip that any debate can be guillotined at the will of the government. That’s not democracy. This practice should be ended so that real debate takes place in the gaze of the public in the gallery and watching on television.

"This practise should be ended" Agree but how is he going to end this practice ?

I could go on all night but I won't :) In fact if you want a good laugh have a read of the "reconnect the citizen and the bank" section. Is he running for the Dail or applying for a job as a local bank manager.

Lots of idealism but not much to back it up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

He's in my constituency - and going by the boards poll it looks like he may have a very serious shot at winning a seat.

I'd prefer if he was not running. It's a kind of Nathan Barley goes to the Dail thing.

And I don't buy his "positive" thinking bullsh1t for one second. And he used the UK Conservative party "we're all in this together" slogan in his campaign ad.

Though I don't know. It depends on whose votes he'll eat into. I don't want a FG led government. Or a mish mash of wing nut independents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I don't think he has much chance of getting in, and the boards poll is miles off for the constituency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Expert on modern media tools, looks good, a few catchphrases, light on policies, he seems to be the type of politician we seem to be courting for the new generation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

What we need is good government, people voting independents...I don't get it. The dail is a legislative body so independents can't make any legislation on their own own so the cost-benefit analysis of having independents in the dail is skewed on the cost side the way I see it.

I'd agree with others, heard haskins on the mammys boy show on today fm, very idealistic with no clue or strategy for introducing his ideals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

His elections posters are hilarious.
    He looks about 12.
    Alternatively he looks an Elf from Lord of the Rings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

Let's be honest people - he's an independent. Even if he did have pages upon pages of concrete, legitimate and costed policies it wouldn't make one iota of difference. A vote for an independent is a vote for a dissenting voice in the Dáil who will stand up for their beliefs (in theory). It's clear that Haskins is pro-the Arts, liberal and pro free-education. To me, he looks to be much in the same vein as the voice that David Norris provided in the Seanad for years.

If you're looking to vote for a manifesto then vote for your local generic FF, FG, SF or Labour-bot.

*I am in Dublin north-east, not south-east nor am I a member of Haskins campaign or a friend of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I saw his poster yesterday but didn't recognise him so didn't think much about it.

Then... later on... a friend came over and asked if I saw that someone related to Rick Astley was running in the election. I lol'd and today when I saw his poster, I did see the resemblance.

logo10.gif

RickAstleyNeverGonnaGiveYouUp7InchSingleCover.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 oystercatcher

If Dylan Haskins(the elfish one) is showing is showing well in the election simulator it tells us more about the growing power of social media rather than any great change in the old guard in Dublin South-East. I'd guess you could go to the bookies on Creighton, Quinn, Andrews and either Eoghan Murphy or Kevin Humphreys.

More than well, he leaped from third into 1st with 21% over the weekend. Just shows you if you look well in a suit and have no real policies, tell the people vaguely what they want to hear and do the right marketing. Is he successful in business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Lame Lantern

I, for one, welcome our hipster douchebag claims-to-work-in-media parents' money feckless art collective overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

Dots1982 wrote: »
    What we need is good government, people voting independents...I don't get it. The dail is a legislative body so independents can't make any legislation on their own own so the cost-benefit analysis of having independents in the dail is skewed on the cost side the way I see it.

I'd agree with others, heard haskins on the mammys boy show on today fm, very idealistic with no clue or strategy for introducing his ideals.

So where will we get this "Good Government" certainly not from the established political parties and their failed ideologies.

He's not in my constituency but I predict he'll do well because young voters will vote for him. John Gormley will lose a lot of votes to him and I can't see Mannix doing well. If he runs a good campaign he could capture a lot of former FF votes as well.

As to how good he'd be as a TD well how could he be any worse than anyone who's there now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

krd wrote: »
    He's in my constituency - and going by the boards poll it looks like he may have a very serious shot at winning a seat.

I'd prefer if he was not running. It's a kind of Nathan Barley goes to the Dail thing.

And I don't buy his "positive" thinking bullsh1t for one second. And he used the UK Conservative party "we're all in this together" slogan in his campaign ad.

Though I don't know. It depends on whose votes he'll eat into. I don't want a FG led government. Or a mish mash of wing nut independents.

Him doing well in the boards policy has a lot to do with a thread set up about him in AH and very little to do with actual support i would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

He seems to have a good facebook campaign, but that won't impact the majority of voters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

He is not in my constituency either and I am fairly sick of the generic party alternatives.

When did costed polcies make a difference ??

88 billion in debt ?????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

He should either put on a tie, or open the top button of his shirt. Is this just something that the "young folk" do now?
    He also looks about twelve, which doesn't lend much credibility.

I dunno - we have political parties FG, Labour, FF, the Greens etc who all think the 88,000,000,000 euro isn't a huge amount of money.

Maybe if we have a guy who thinks that 1,000 is big and 1,000,000 is phenominally vast and will hang on to money with the same meaness a 12 year old will , then we are on to a good thing.

I don't know if any of you guys have seen Enda Kenny in the flesh -he looks like a little leprechaun or pixie. Trevor Sargeant looks all of 14 and Dylan is certainly better looking than him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Went to St. Andrews therefore no chance of my vote.

He should stick to music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

He should stick to music

If this is how the average person decides how to vote then we are all f**ked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

Send him and his mates in to negotiate with the EU/IMF and we're sorted:

village-of-the-damned_2f71527c3721f195bb83dd22cceeec21.jpg

It's part of a screening process to eliminate the weak

the average person takes a risk that fine gael will not be as bad as fianna fail or that mick seems to know what he is talking about.

So do you know where all the candidates went to school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

He describes himself as a social entrepreneur.What does that mean? By the way is he successful?

So do you know where all the candidates went to school?

The ones I can vote for anyway

His Wiki entry looks like a CV and it is fairly impressive and dynamic and check out the references section.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dylan_Haskins
    The dude from the Hideaway House

Jim Carroll
    Dylan Haskins first popped up on my radar last year when there was a discussion here about the lack of all-ages venues in Dublin city-centre and some folks mentioned the Hideaway House gigs he was doing out in his house in Deansgrange. Since then, I’ve come across Dylan via his excellent Roll Up Your Sleeves documentary on DIY culture and Hideaway Records, the label which stuck out that great album from Heathers amongst other releases. He’s also involved in a lot of other very interesting bits and pieces too, including the forthcoming Change? event.
    A lot of people think very highly of him and quite rightly so. He’s someone who has already kicked off a load of interesting, fascinating projects which have encouraged others to get involved or try their hand at putting on gigs. And he could well be someone we will be hearing about for many years to come.
    There’s an interview with him in today’s Ticket, but print issue space restrictions meant I couldn’t include everything we talked about so the full transcript is after the jump.
    Be sure to check out Change? in the Project Arts Centre from January 26 to 31. It will feature lots of workshops, discussions, photo exhibitions and much more. There will also be ongoing screenings of Roll Up Your Sleeves every day from noon on the half-hour.

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/ontherecord/2009/01/09/the-dude-from-the-hideaway-house/

He also founded the Exchange Dublin Arts Centre http://exchangedublin.ie/about

I would say he is a can do guy.

And he is not a teacher.

CDfm wrote: »
    His Wiki entry looks like a CV and it is fairly impressive and dynamic and check out the references section.

And he is not a teacher.

Art projects usually lose money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

CDfm wrote: »

And he is not a teacher.

I know Dylan from his days organizing Gigs for all ages, We never got on on a personal level, but He is the type of person this country needs, He is extremely proactive when it comes to getting things done.

It's a shame there aren't more like him to form a party, as then maybe things would improve in this country.

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Art projects usually lose money?

I dont know if his music and arts promotions have ,but, I would give him a shot over a lot of the political dynasties.

What has Enda done and he trained as a school teacher and is likely to be Taoiseach. Has he ever collected money ???

Maybe he is the spirit of 1916.
    "I'm from Deansgrange", he tells me. "My dad passed away in 2006 so I inherited his house there".
    It became the venue for his legendary Hideaway House gigs, which provided a forum for young bands and an innovative social hub for youngsters. It was from here that he set up his own record label.
    His late father was a mechanic, a man whose influence left a lasting impression on Dylan.
    He explains: "My dad came from quite a big family in Glasthule. His father died quite young. My dad was a really smart man but he had to leave school after his Junior Cert and get an apprenticeship.
    "He worked his ass off his whole life and built up his own business so that I would have a choice in what I wanted to do".
    Dylan was 14 when, fed up with the lack of facilities for young people, he wrote three letters to then-Local Government Minister Martin Cullen.
    "I was saying that basically there were housing estates springing up all over the country. There were just no facilities for us. When he didn't reply, I did what you think you're supposed to do, which is to call Joe Duffy".
    When the Liveline piece failed to effect any change, Dylan took matters into his own hands.
    "I put my first gig on in March 2004 in the City Arts Centre in Moss Street. I think it was €3 in and there were seven bands," he laughs.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/capitals-coolest-young-social-entrepreneur-aims-to-shake-up-the-politicians-cosy-little-world-2528394.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

He should stick to music
    He didn't go to Andrew's actually. So you can vote for him again if you like ;)

Daddio wrote: »
    He didn't go to Andrew's actually. So you can vote for him again if you like ;)

Have I been misinformed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Have I been misinformed?

You make decisions based on what school someone went to, so in a word: Yes.

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    You make decisions based on what school someone went to, so in a word: Yes.

Unfortunately as it's a democracy people can vote for a candidate based on such nonsensical criteria. When will you people learn that democracy just doesn't work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

As I said in AH, fair play to the lad for doing the underage gigs and the like, I did the same thing when I was a teenager, and I'd said there's a good portion of teenagers around the country who do the same (or at least they would if Blast didn't bulldoze them all out of the way.)

However, his policies are idealistic naivety. He seems to have no understanding of what is and isn't possible as TD let alone as an independent TD. If Geroge Lee, a long time political/economic correspondent can be chewed up by the Dáil and the parties in there, I don't know what would happen to someone who doesn't even have a basis in something like student politics, or at councilor level. All in all, he reminds me of a first year going to their first student council meeting, lots of wishy washy ideas, but absolutely no grounding in what they can actually do. Any young twenty-something who has been through the youth politics system would leave him for dead in the political arena. But this guy would probably leave them for dead in the arts circles.

I just think he's way out of his league, and his policies show that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Have I been misinformed?
    Yes, you have indeed been misinformed. I went to school with him, and I didn't go to Andrews. The school was a public secondary school, not a private school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Stick to the Kebabs

His policies read as being essentially just empty piffle.

Fresh face- same old 'entrepeneurial culture' bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Any reason why he is not on the returning officer's Nomination of Candidates for Dublin South East

http://www.dublincityreturningofficer.com/2011_general_election/nominations_received/dublin_south_east.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

http://http://lickiweeks.org/dylan-haskins-the-new-young-face-of-irish-politics
    The Irish Times has been fawning over the fresh approach of one young candidate in the forthcoming elections, but should they not have dug a little deeper before rushing to print? Dylan Haskins’ campaign video that is going viral on facebook and you-tube is an excellent piece of work, but is the Haskins campaign really about changing the way that politics operates in Ireland?

Naoise Nunn, the idealistic campaigner and self-styled “political consultant” who first came to public notice as the brains behind Declan Ganly’s failed attempt to “break the mould” in Irish politics, is one of the backroom people supporting the young RTE DJ in his attempt to garner votes in Dublin South East. Naoise, whose mother Sue is an acclaimed broadcaster with Kilkenny’s KCLR, has been known to act as a freelance consultant for renegade Fianna Fail TD John McGuinness, who was dropped from the ranks of the junior ministers by Brian Cowen but rehabilitated by Mee-haul Martin in recent days.

Others supporting the young hopeful include publicist Conleth Teevan, animation genius Elias Spin, and Eve-Anne Cullinan.

Eve-Anne who? Ms Cullinan is a business associate of the esteemed Laura Magahy, who rose to fame almost overnight when Charles Haughey gave her the job of turning the old Temple Bar area of Dublin into a tourist theme park, with its vomit-proof cobbled streets and authentic Oirish pubs. Laura did such a good job on reinventing Dublin that she was later given the management of a number of public projects – the redevelopment of the Mater hospital and the creation of the Digital Hub and of the infamous Bertie Bowl. Her company is permanently involved on site at the Mater Hospital, and looks set to profit from the decision of Bertie Ahern’s cabinet to locate the Children’s Hospital at the North Circular Road location.

So, you see, there’s nothing new under the sun, really. Same old faces, same old names, wheels within wheels, if you scratch the surface a little bit. The media are oohing and aahing about young Dylan’s fresh approach to politics, but believe me folks, the only thing different about Dylan’s election campaign is his excellent use of digital media and publicity (take a bow, the appropriately named Elias Spin). Break the mould though? Not really. Sorry.

The Irish Times wasn’t the only one to jump in behind the boy genius without asking a few questions; even the wisest men in Ireland don’t look before they leap sometimes.
    “Dylan Haskins is an intelligent and inspiring representative for a new generation. We need people like him to lend their voices and ideas to our economic recovery. Give him your number one vote.” David McWilliams
    “Dylan Haskins is the kind of young, intelligent and informed representative that Ireland badly needs at a time of crisis. He is offering the sort of idealism, creativity and committment that are needed to begin to change a dysfunctional political system” Diarmaid Ferriter, UCD Professor of Modern Irish History, author & broadcaster.

This is even before we mention the other people in the background like Una Mullaly and some other dubious hacks. His family are an RTE dynasty - mother presented Jo-Maxi on RTE and his grandfather was one of the first current affairs presenters in the country, paving the way for his job on TwoTube.

In a word, not to be trusted. An easily malleable puppet on anything bar arts issues - no 'break the mold' candidate has that sort of campaign team behind them. Look into Mannix Flynn if your interests lie in progressive liberal/radical politics in the consituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭bigdaddyliamo

He's running?????
    I thought it was a missing child poster!:eek:
    Well good luck...I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

If we vote for him does every household get a free iPad?

Will dail debates be replaced by twitter?

Will foreign relations be done through a Facebook page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

12/1 on paddy power . if there is a big push to independents and a really high new/young voter turnout does he have a chance ?

seriously thinking of putting a few quid on him or on sommerville.
    sommerville is 3.5/1
    Sommerville would have the bonus of a result I would like to see.

Any reason why he is not on the returning officer's Nomination of Candidates for Dublin South East

http://www.dublincityreturningofficer.com/2011_general_election/nominations_received/dublin_south_east.php

He's there. 6th down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

InReality wrote: »
    12/1 on paddy power . if there is a big push to independents and a really high new/young voter turnout does he have a chance ?

seriously thinking of putting a few quid on him or on sommerville.
    sommerville is 3.5/1
    Sommerville would have the bonus of a result I would like to see.

Not a hope in hell, he'll be out first count. The vast majority of his campaign is hitting trinity students - most of which aren't even registered to vote in his constituency. His social media campagins are completely bypassing the biggest voting demographics - the over 50s - and anyone over the age of about 25 voting for independents will be doing so based on economic policies; something that is almost non-existent from Haskins.

3 seats to Labour/FG are completely guaranteed. Mannix Flynn or Sommerville would be the only possibilites for the seat. Chris Andrews is polling way too low to secure a four-seater.