Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York introduces outdoor smoking ban in public places.

• 04-02-2011 12:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

New York has gone a step further with smoking bans and has now provoked lighting up in public parks, plazas and beaches.

Ireland was only a short time behind New Yorks initial ban in indoor public places, i guess it wont be too long before you will be fined for lighting up in In outdoor public places here.

The funny thing about all this is that the fine for being caught smoking a fag would be more than that for smoking a spliff :p

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1353091/New-York-smoking-ban-spreads-Central-Park-public-places.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

New York.......you made me do this *lights up* Ooooooooh yeah *sunbathes on beach*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

.....oh shit.. They're coming for us... *hides with precious stinky ashtray*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭ishvalian

Well that's bent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Land of the free indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Can't see this being brought in over here. The pubs are badly hit as it is. Besides everyone knows the real craic goes on in the smoking areas!

RichieC wrote: »
    Land of the free indeed.

You can't legally punch people in the lungs either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Land of the free indeed.

you're a dinosuar plisken!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭shayser

Paradise can't be that far away now, surely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Land of the free indeed.

Well smokers imposed their smoking and the resulting buts on the non smokers since forever and now the non smokers are fighting back.

I don't really see the problem with the ban.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You can't legally punch people in the lungs either.

Don't be fking ridiculous..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I can understand beaches, fag butts in the sand is a bit manky.

I couldn't see it being brought over here, especially parks: 1) Who would respect the law and 2) who would be prickish enough to ring the Gardaì on a guy sitting on a bench having a fag?*

*rhetorical question :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well smokers imposed their smoking and the resulting buts on the non smokers since forever and now the non smokers are fighting back.

...and the smokers that don't throw their buts on the ground or 'impose' their smoking on other people? Perhaps we should legislate against people eating outside too on the off chance some of them throw their wrappers or leftovers on the ground?

Don't be fking ridiculous..

I won't be.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    who would prickish enough to ring the Gardaì on a guy sitting on a bench having a fag?

The kinda pricks who would support such a draconian violation of freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Ridiculous.

Have they banned cars too, because exhaust fumes are far more hazardous to non smokers than cigarette smoke outdoors.

I honestly don't know why smokers get such a raw and unfair deal from governments, who are only too happy to take the money they stump up for their (totally legal) habit.

If governments believe them to be such a danger as to warrant banning their use outdoors, then why not just ban them completely and be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

Totally agree with the work place smoking ban but surely this is taking things a bit too far?

Couldnt the people who will now be out imposing the fine for smoking just have been sent out to clamp down on littering and told to fine people who threw cigarettes on the ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

It's defo not as acceptable in the US as it is here though imo. I lit up walking through Orlando a few years ago and people looked at me as if I had just skinned a cuddly, fluffy puppy whilst humping Micky Mouse in a clown outift or something. Some woman actually gasped when she saw me take out a cigarette box from my bag. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I'm anti smoking but personally I think this is a step too far. Who's to say that this isn't the first step in them starting to ban things outright, smoking=banned, alcohol = banned fastfood = banned etc.
    Someone smoking on the beach is hardly going to impact on the health of other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Have they banned cars too, because exhaust fumes are far more hazardous to non smokers than cigarette smoke outdoors.

Many people I've met don't think car exhausts are worse than second-hand smoke. I've never heard of anyone commiting suicide in a garage with cigeratte smoke :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

The funny thing about all this is that the fine for being caught smoking a fag would be more than that for smoking a spliff :p

Isnt it the same here? Cheaper to get get caught smoking a spliff rather than tobacco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Land of the free indeed.

Whoever told you that is your enemy.

strobe wrote: »
    ...and the smokers that don't throw their buts on the ground or 'impose' their smoking on other people? Perhaps we should legislate against people eating outside too on the off chance some of them throw their wrappers or leftovers on the ground?

Collateral damage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Meh. Don't smoke and don't particularly care. I was in Las Vegas a few months ago where people smoke everywhere and was in Greece a few years ago with people smoking. I'd be happier if people weren't allowed to smoke around me..if it's in a park I don't care...I think Chicago has a ban on smoking in parks where they have a playground which sounds kind of fair....

But in a park you'd imagine the smoke you would just disapate in the air pretty quick. But again I don't care, it's fine with me

By the way, slightly off topic, but is it legal to smoke a herbal cigarette in a public space? All natural ingredients, no chemicals etc...

These type of cigarettes don't have any of the same risks assosciated with the normal kind, so it would seem pointless banning them as they pose no risk to the non smoker, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I don't smoke but to prevent those who wish to engage in it from doing so in the outdoors seems excessively nannyish to me.

Unfortunately smokers have always had a blindspot, whereby they don't regard their cigarette butts as litter. Their casual dispersal of same does their argument no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It is a bit excessive from the law makers in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

A fantastic step in the right direction. I'm going to write to my local TDs and ask them to bring this in. Hey, while we're at it, we should also fine people for eating unhealthy foods in public! Oh! And we should ban cars too! They're bad for the environment, bad for my health!

Hell, let's shut down pubs altogether! Nuter our children so they don't have unprotected sex! A liberal paradise for all! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The clean air claim is nonsense, obviously. Cigarette butts are an issue as smokers universally seem to think that cigarette butts aren't rubbish and throw them on the ground as soon as they're done. Go anywhere that smokers congregate and you'll see butts everywhere.

It's much easier to catch someone who's actually smoking than someone who's after throwing a butt on the ground, so banning smoking a way easier than catching people littering, but it does seem to be needlessly prohibitive. Just make it a massive fine (say $5,000) for throwing a fag on the ground and most people will cop on.
    The pubs are badly hit as it is.
    Yes, it's all to do with the smoking ban. Nothing to do with insane prices and piss-poor customer awareness.

I don't smoke but to prevent those who wish to engage in it from doing so in the outdoors seems excessively nannyish to me.

Unfortunately some smokers have always had a blindspot, whereby they don't regard their cigarette butts as litter. Their casual dispersal of same does their argument no favours.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

seamus wrote: »
    The clean air claim is nonsense, obviously. Cigarette butts are an issue as smokers universally seem to think that cigarette butts aren't rubbish and throw them on the ground as soon as they're done. Go anywhere that smokers congregate and you'll see butts everywhere.

It's much easier to catch someone who's actually smoking than someone who's after throwing a butt on the ground, so banning smoking a way easier than catching people littering, but it does seem to be needlessly prohibitive. Just make it a massive fine (say $5,000) for throwing a fag on the ground and most people will cop on.

Yes, it's all to do with the smoking ban. Nothing to do with insane prices and piss-poor customer awareness.

That's true. It's similar to the ban on chewing gum in Singapore. Easier to ban the selling of chewing gum than catch people throwing in on the foot paths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

They came for the smokers,
    I am a smoker,
    Oh sh*t.

Now it's only a hop, skip and jump to enforced Tai Chi and compulsory granola.

It's amazing how prophetic The Dead Kennedy's California Uber Alles really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

The clean air claim is nonsense, obviously. Cigarette butts are an issue as smokers universally seem to think that cigarette butts aren't rubbish and throw them on the ground as soon as they're done. Go anywhere that smokers congregate and you'll see butts everywhere. .

Congratulations on stereotyping all smokers. :mad:

I'll have you know, that when I am done smoking I always throw into the top of a bin/stub it out and put in the bin/stub it out and put it in my pocket until I find a bin.

The smoking ban has had a huge effect on the demise of the pub trade, actually - you may dismiss this as a fallacy, but many smokers don't enjoy being banished into the cold whilst trying to enjoy their drinks. It's not so bad in the summer, but during the winter, many smokers opt to stay in the comfort of their own homes, rather than brave the arctic conditions of the Irish weather!

I'm a smoker myself and would very, very rarely go out for a drink for this reason alone. It's the same for many other smokers I know, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If they're gonna do it they should do it for the right reasons without relying on the health concerns which people have about second hand smoke. New York isn't exactly free from industrial and automotive pollutants, and those things damage the air quality far more than cigarette smoke. The smog over the city is as thick as cloud on some days.

People really are fools.. they'll praise this as if it's genuinely going to have a positive impact on their lives while at the same time remain seemingly oblivious to the other toxins they breathe on a daily basis.

Dr. Baltar wrote: »

I'll have you know, that when I am done smoking I always throw into the top of a bin/stub it out and put in the bin/stub it out and put it in my pocket until I find a bin.

Ah come on you're in the vaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaast minority on this one. But well done, medal is in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

New York has gone a step further with smoking bans and has now provoked lighting up in public parks, plazas and beaches.

Don't know about those Yanks, but no one is going to provoke me into smoking, anywhere, any time.

By the way, slightly off topic, but is it legal to smoke a herbal cigarette in a public space? All natural ingredients, no chemicals etc...

These type of cigarettes don't have any of the same risks assosciated with the normal kind, so it would seem pointless banning them as they pose no risk to the non smoker, no?

I'd imagine it's not ideal putting any kinda smoke in your lungs tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

or or or
    provide enough bins with ashtrays.

A cigarette butt isn't like a bit of paper you can stick in your pocket until you come across a bin. That's why people often drop them on the ground, even if they would otherwise never litter.

Personally I make an effort not to drop butts on the ground; which means I know how very inconvenient it can be to avoid this.

I agree with you in principle though!

Dr. Baltar wrote: »

You're one of the statistically negligible few. Even where specific bins are provided for cigarette butts, you will see them all over the ground.

When I bought my current place, the previous owners were smokers but smoked outside cos they had a child. The balcony upstairs was littered with cigarette butts - all over the floor, and jammed into various nooks and crannies on the balcony. The bin was 3m away. That's the general mentality of smokers in my experience. Littering on their own homes because butts just aren't considered litter for whatever reason.
    I walk by the houses of neighbours who smoke outside, and the path outside their front door is covered in cigarette butts. All of them, without exception. They wouldn't throw coffee cups or crisp bags there, so I don't know why cigarettes are OK.

I'm a smoker myself and would very, very rarely go out for a drink for this reason alone. It's the same for many other smokers I know, too.
    I don't know any smokers who have opted out of their usual pub visits because of the smoking ban. Most non-smokers I know attend pubs more often now than before the smoking ban.
    A cigarette butt isn't like a bit of paper you can stick in your pocket until you come across a bin.
    Of course it is, it just takes a tiny bit more effort. Stub it out properly, check that it's not still smouldering and stick it in your pocket.

You're one of the statistically negligible few.

where are you getting these statistics? would you mind citing them?

Yes, it's from the Observational evidence report, 2011. I can provide you with a copy of this report, but you will have to pay me €10,000 to transcribe it from my brain.

where are you getting these statistics? would you mind citing them?

Pendantic much.......

I'd imagine it's not ideal putting any kinda smoke in your lungs tbh.

Seems there's a loophole alright:

http://www.castlebar.ie/news/smoking-ban.shtml

Can't see it being worth the hassle, though and they are utterly vile things anyway :o

Pendantic much.......

Quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Whoa, I'm all for the ban in indoor public places but this is too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

I for one support it. We had a thread here about doing the same here in Ireland, and a poll, and I think it came out 50:50, so yes, Well done NY, and hope others will follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I don't smoke, but still think this ban may be a bit too much.

You're one of the statistically negligible few. Even where specific bins are provided for cigarette butts, you will see them all over the ground.

When I bought my current place, the previous owners were smokers but smoked outside cos they had a child. The balcony upstairs was littered with cigarette butts - all over the floor, and jammed into various nooks and crannies on the balcony. The bin was 3m away. That's the general mentality of smokers in my experience. Littering on their own homes because butts just aren't considered litter for whatever reason.
    I walk by the houses of neighbours who smoke outside, and the path outside their front door is covered in cigarette butts. All of them, without exception. They wouldn't throw coffee cups or crisp bags there, so I don't know why cigarettes are OK.

Then it should be dealt with in the same way all littering is.

strobe wrote: »
    Then it should be dealt with in the same way all littering is.
    As in, not dealt with at all? :)

€5,000 minimum fine sounds good to me.