Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de Cure 2011

• 03-02-2011 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭

Tour de Cure entry forms are out now, summer is a coming:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Am planning to do this. Anybody else planning to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

Yep.. definately.... not sure if I'll do the 160... def do the 100 tho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Same 160 route as lastyear. Did it lastyear as my first ever Sportive and suffered on the day as I just wasn't fit enough. Looking forward to taking it on this year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭cantalach

It would be nice if they had enough food this year and/or didn't pack up everything at the first stop and move on to the next one before the whole field had come through. I'm just sayin'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Lashed

Did the 100k last year. Very good day out. Nice goody bag with this event also. :)

Won't be able to sign up this year for ages. Damn exams in may and possibly on the 7th :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

cantalach wrote: »
    It would be nice if they had enough food this year and/or didn't pack up everything at the first stop and move on to the next one before the whole field had come through. I'm just sayin'...

Mmmmmm ........no thanks ,as above once bitten , twice shy . Search Tour De Cure threads and you'll understand what we mean ? :(

Hard to disagree with those points. This year I'll be sure to bring enough of everything in my pockets. I arrived at the Lismore stop last year to find nothing but a tray of bottled water on the ground outside a hall. No sign of anyone stationed there, and no sign of any grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

pretty sure I will do this, havent before, so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

After doing the TdC in '09 and '10 all I can say is

An Post Tour of Sligo FTW!

(unless a good goodiebag is a significant priority in deciding what sportives you participate in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭karlmyson

Be self sufficient and the problems of last year are immaterial. I rode it in 2009 (when it was 200k) and in 2010 and enjoyed it thoroughly both times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

Jaysus... did ya see the car Roche rocked up in last year...???

http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/gallery2010.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Anyone have any luck with the online registering? I dont see any option on the homepage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Fender76 wrote: »
    Jaysus... did ya see the car Roche rocked up in last year...???
    http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/gallery2010.php

Audi R4 methinks?

CPL 593H

R8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

TdeC improvements - mail gone out
    We have held the same routes as last year and made some big improvements for this year. Last year you said you wanted more food and hot drinks during the event and we have addressed this in a big way, with packed meals at stops with hot tea, coffee and soup served on route. You also said you wanted an after event on the night of the cycle so we moved the Stephen Roche Gala dinner event to the night of the event and it promises to be a huge evening with celebrations till late, and maybe a few stars to rub shoulders with... We have partnered this year with Silversprings Moran hotel and have arranged a special rate for TDC cyclists, with early served breakfast on the morning of the event and secure bike storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Sounds good 2 Wheels.

I should be up for the 160 again this year and will definitely bring more food & water with me this time. The hot tea, coffee & soup at food stops is a great idea as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 bassmaster

Is Silversprings not in Mayfield, Cork City. Thought this was a Midleton Event ! Are there no hotels in Midleton ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭aquanaut

I'm signing up for the 100km - my first event so won't have any expectations! Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Do the 160k

Dont think, just do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Gonna do the 160 aswell for the craic, something to train towards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Did the 160k last year and have signed up for it again. Looking forward to it.

Do the 160k

Dont think, just do.

I'd love to do the 160km but don't think i've enough time to get ready for it. Only did 20km today, just after having a few months off the bike and already worrying 7 weeks isn't very long. Think i'd rather have a metric century under my belt first ! Then I'll have something to aim for in the Sean Kelly

TdC is easier than the SK, the only tough section is the Vee and your doing that on the 100 anyway (I think). If you can do 100 you'll do the 160.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Diego Murphy

Do the 160k

Dont think, just do.

That's very true. I did the West Cork 200 as my first Sportif last year. I'd some cycling done but nothing consistent. The weekend before was spent in the pub. There was an option to do 100k but against advice of "experts" who were on the cycle, I went and did the 200k. First 100 was fine, 2nd 100 very tough due to mountains(including one 16k climb) and the event turned out to be 213k instead of 200.

Anyway, could barely walk the next day but there was a great sense of achievement. I'd say it's what has actually gotten me into cycling in a bigger way now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Doing the 160k as well, no mileage this winter at all so should be a bit of an adventure!

I did this last year as my first ever Sportive and did the 160k route. Suffered badly. I found the SKT easier by the time it came around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

TdC is easier than the SK, the only tough section is the Vee and your doing that on the 100 anyway (I think). If you can do 100 you'll do the 160.

The Vee is not on the 100k route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

I did it last year and I've signed up for this year too. If you see a fat man in a boards.ie top .................give me a wave!

That's very true. I did the West Cork 200 ...There was an option to do 100k but against advice of "experts" who were on the cycle, I went and did the 200k.

Was I cycling with you for some time before the food stop where you could choose to carry on and do the 200 or the rest of the 100 ? I was chatting a bit with you (or someone else:)) at the food stop, and a friend of mine was saying not to do the 200k. I did the 100 (or about 130 in my case as I had already taken in the extra bit of coastline on the 200). I was on a red scott bike and was wearing a light blue gerolstein top.

I've just signed up for the 160km did it last year and loved it, great day out!

Just bumping this to let people know its on in 17 days (7th of May) and this year there are "No entries on the day

http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/index.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Rallymad

Ive signed up for the 160k looking forward to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

What time does it set off at? Says TBD on the site.

Last year set off at 9am, same this year I presume.

About to sign up for the TDC
    http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/index.php

tweet says 1167 in so far.

online&postals extended to 1st May 7AM. 40 euros.

Dubba wrote: »
    Last year set off at 9am, same this year I presume.

Think its 7am sign on or night before, 8am safety brief and 830 start - for 100km anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 TomBarry

Im in for the hundred KM route. Looking forward to it

Bit of a delay last year as people turned up late, err on the side of early or you could be qing for a while before the off. Plenty to see and do while your waiting around between all the bike bling and whatever car Roche rocks in with this year.
    I applied through snail mail and got my confirmation today so 160 all the way!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

I signed up for the 100km but now half tempted to do the 160km now, hope it wont be an issue

I'm in for the 160, hope to see a few familiar faces there, I'll be at the back though!

I wouldn't think so.

I registered on the day last year for the 100km but ended up just doing the 160km because I felt strong at the turn off, I blame the early tail wind now tho :pac:

edit: reply to mccutchie

You weren't last year! (not at the start anyway:p)

Bit of a delay last year as people turned up late, err on the side of early or you could be qing for a while before the off. Plenty to see and do while your waiting around between all the bike bling and whatever car Roche rocks in with this year.
    I applied through snail mail and got my confirmation today so 160 all the way!!!

Sportif waterford will post a meet up point on their blog. I'll have my black trek, and a grey/red jersey. Staying in Youghal night before so should be early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭cpaul

I signed up for the 160km but the fact it's referred to as the 'expert' (...and I'm no expert) is making me think I'll be without company for most of the route as the pros storm off into the distance.

With an avg speed of 16/17mph this will probably take me up to 6 hours to complete so just wondering will this mean I'll be having plenty of tumbleweed moments along the way as I come across abandoned food stops etc ?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Special Red

cpaul wrote: »
    I signed up for the 160km but the fact it's referred to as the 'expert' (...and I'm no expert) is making me think I'll be without company for most of the route as the pros storm off into the distance.

With an avg speed of 16/17mph this will probably take me up to 6 hours to complete so just wondering will this mean I'll be having plenty of tumbleweed moments along the way as I come across abandoned food stops etc ?!?

Don't worry cpaul, they'll be plenty of us in the same boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭cpaul

Don't worry cpaul, they'll be plenty of us in the same boat.

Thanks S Red!

Looking forward to cycling with you lads on the 7th.

cpaul wrote: »

16/17mph! faster than me!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

If anyone is heading down from Kilkenny/ Carlow or nearby I've a favour to ask.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

I would love to do it but I would be arriving alone. Would feel a little awkward by myself. Has anyone else done it as a loner? Also I have no experience cycling with a group but I do do 200 - 300 K a week so fitness is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Guybrush T

I would love to do it but I would be arriving alone. Would feel a little awkward by myself. Has anyone else done it as a loner? Also I have no experience cycling with a group but I do do 200 - 300 K a week so fitness is fine.

I'm not sure if this is much help, 'cos I'm an antisocial weirdo, but I've done it on my own twice, and it's fine, there are lots of people around to talk to if you want, most of them are friendly, no-one is racing, so I certainly wouldn't let fear of feeling awkward put you off.

Every Sportive I did last year I ended up on my own/away from the people I was with at the beginning. It's not a problem. Fall into a group that's going at a pace you're comfortable with and just shoot the breeze with whoever is next to you :)

Had a great chat last year on the An Post Rebel Tour with an ex-Cavan senior goalie!