Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passed 400K Klms Today!

• 02-02-2011 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

Minor motoring milestone! Passed 400000 Klms today works out to be 248548 miles, still not bad going for a 17 year old Toyota Corona!

DSC00860.jpg?t=1296683849

DSC00861.jpg?t=1296683849

DSC00862.jpg?t=1296683849

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Your a taxi driver, right? What do you plan on buying if that 9 y/o rule comes in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Does she get a €1000 gift from the president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Plug wrote: »
    Your a taxi driver, right? What do you plan on buying if that 9 y/o rule comes in?

Rule is in, dunno!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭DavidKay

any suggestions on what cars will keep up with that and which will not even get near and head for the crusher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

DavidKay wrote: »
    any suggestions on what cars will keep up with that and which will not even get near and head for the crusher?

Most cars will unless they are extremely small CC and/or heavily boosted. My Audi S8 has 275,000 km on it and its (likely) been effectively driven hard as a sports car its entire life (4.2 V8). Original Transmission (although that part is nearly dead), Original exhaust, all body work (Aluminium Chassis doesnt rust).
    I hope to get to 200k miles / 300k KM this year.

Most cars are scrapped or written off for other reasons than engine block failure IMO. Im all on for people like VB that keep stuff together for the long haul!

marzic wrote: »
    I think its the reason the germans didnt do kamikazi... youd be halfway down to a battleship and a warning light would come on! but if you could get a toyota engine into a beemer i believe youd have the real 'ultimate' driving machine!
    Im thinking they had better machines and better pilots that didnt need to do that. Toyota engine in a BMW.. god no. There is nothing wrong with BMW engines, they are typical for a nation of engineers and long periods of car ownership with good maintenance practices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Neighbour has one of there, 2.0d Select automatic. Loves it.

We'll never see the likes of these cars again.

Well my yoke is a Jap Import Carina (Corona) 2.0 Non Turbo Diesel Automatic. Asides from a knackerd thermostat and fan belt snapping (car was still able to drive to the garage when it snapped :pac: ) its been trouble free. Anything simple and Jap gets my vote.

Original Engine and Gearbox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

Congrats! I brought a 95 carina up to 228k miles, a great machine altogether. I drive a beemer now - great to drive but needs too much TLC, I think its the reason the germans didnt do kamikazi... youd be halfway down to a battleship and a warning light would come on! but if you could get a toyota engine into a beemer i believe youd have the real 'ultimate' driving machine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Its only warmed up, my 01 Hiace has more than that on it and still flying. Cant beat a Toyota.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I Was VB wrote: »
    Minor motoring milestone! Passed 400000 Klms today works out to be 248548 miles, still not bad going for a 17 year old Toyota Corona!

Ach she'll do that again hai! She's barely broken in boyo. Etc.

Congrats!

Ach she'll do that again hai! She's barely broken in boyo. Etc.

Congrats!

She's a Daysul aswell!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

What happened the avensis ?? Was that not close to 400k also ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

You will need some fuel if you want to see another 400 km out of her. :D

homer90 wrote: »
    What happened the avensis ?? Was that not close to 400k also ?

Still have her about another 50K Miles to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭DavidKay

marzic wrote: »
    Congrats! I brought a 95 carina up to 228k miles, a great machine altogether. I drive a beemer now - great to drive but needs too much TLC, I think its the reason the germans didnt do kamikazi... youd be halfway down to a battleship and a warning light would come on! but if you could get a toyota engine into a beemer i believe youd have the real 'ultimate' driving machine!

love it but what about the Saabs, driven one for 10 years, not the image of the much hyped BMs but solid and not as expensive to drive as believed as long as its looked after like most motors but eats batteries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

DSC00861.jpg?t=1296683849

DSC00862.jpg?t=1296683849
    Well done. I hope to get that far with a landrover we will see. I have 160000 miles up on a 1.4 astra but its not been easy to mind it so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭CabanasBoy

Rule is in, dunno!!

I'll rent ya a lovely yoke when they shoot your beloved dirtbox;)

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    I'll rent ya a lovely yoke when they shoot your beloved dirtbox;)

My lovely Corona will be happily rattling away untill September, alot can happen between now and September!!

a lot can happen between now and September!!

Indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

P.C. wrote: »

That bit of diesel will last another 100k.
    It is after all still on its first tank of diesel as well, isnt it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

not bad going for a 17 year old Toyota Corona

Is that the 3s-fe engine? It would likely do another 400k if the body is clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

eats batteries

Get your alternator rebuilt with a modern regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

P.C. wrote: »

You don't know much about taxi drivers, do you? That picture was taken just after he filled up ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

love it but what about the Saabs, driven one for 10 years, not the image of the much hyped BMs but solid and not as expensive to drive as believed as long as its looked after like most motors but eats batteries

I've had to change my habits pretty dramatically. Honestly, I once went 20k miles with the carina without a service, doing 500 miles a week, with the odd pint of oil, the engine light on, a leak in the radiator... and still getting over 40mls per gallon and not a moments worry that it wouldnt start or would stop unexpectedly! Is it any wonder that farmers loved them! Still a good few of them round here in Clare. By the time i sold it it was a bit shabby, no NCT and the clutch was on the way out. I got a van from work, so it been parked up for 5 months I'd say, but yer man just put in a battery and it started straight away - got €280 for it.

i have always said I must check CSO or something to see how many carinas E's there were reg'd from 1992 to date. obviously the carina ii was a great machine also, only drove one once though.

paddyp wrote: »
    Is that the 3s-fe engine? It would likely do another 400k if the body is clean.

Nah it was the 2C engine, 3S-FE was a 2.0 petrol??

Treated her to a new set of brake pads today, they didnt really need a change but had to treat her!! :D

Nah it was the 2C engine, 3S-FE was a 2.0 petrol??

Treated her to a new set of brake pads today, they didnt really need a change but had to treat her!! :D

You're the only taxi man I know who spends money on the car whether it needs it or not. More feckin money than sense:)

BAE5CFCE-8463-4A41-ABF4-CD4A99EC0DBA-618-0000008403C5ABB6.jpg

As of this evening, 500k. She'll happily go on and on, but the powers that be say she's off the streets in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Fair play to ya! and the car of course :cool::cool:

Is it still a taxi?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Fair play to ya! and the car of course :cool::cool:

Is it still a taxi?

Yup still a taxi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Was trying to sell my spotless ex120-1 today, a lad came to view -driving a diesel avensis. 815k on the clock.:eek: That's the highest real-life mileage I've ever seen on a car. It didn't even look too battered. I asked him what was the craic, he said he was going for the million. His next comment was "ah sure, they're awful soft compared to the Carinas".:pac: You just gotta love the jap stuff. My own Avensis 1.8 has 120k up, barely lost the showroom shine. I've a long way to go yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Yup still a taxi

That just makes me smile. There is something about a high miler that I just love :o.

Why is it's career ending can I ask? Too old for regulations?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    That just makes me smile. There is something about a high miler that I just love :o.

Why is it's career ending can I ask? Too old for regulations?

Yeah she's a 1994, so she's off the road. Dosent owe me a thing, if anything I owe it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I thought you bought a skoda superb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Did you just fill her up? I've never seen a Dublin taxi with so much fuel on board :p

But seriously, fair play, a half a million km is good going on any car :)

Minor motoring milestone! Passed 400000 Klms today works out to be 248548 miles, still not bad going for a 17 year old Toyota Corona!.........................

As of this evening, 500k. She'll happily go on and on, but the powers that be say she's off the streets in September.

26 months 100k kms.... part timer I take it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

I parted a 92 version of your carina 2.0 diesel with 535,000 on the clock. The only thing that needed replacing was the driver seat. It went on and on, the difference with the 92 and 94 2.0 diesel non turbo was the vacuum pump on the 92 was not on top near the rocker cover. God be with the days all ya needed to worry about was replacing a vacuum pump. Now there's DMF's injectors ERG valves and all sorts of other crap to deal with. The Carina was a legend, I'm glad I got to own 6 of them.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I thought you bought a skoda superb?

Correct, I just didn't like it sold er on.

unkel wrote: »
    Did you just fill her up? I've never seen a Dublin taxi with so much fuel on board :p

But seriously, fair play, a half a million km is good going on any car :)

Yup €20 worth of cabbage juice just went into her!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

did you really look after the car or is it just the toyota factor ?

what about the service history ?

That's 248,000 miles, I had 321,000 kms on my old A4, TDI Auto when I let her go. 200,000 Miles, I would have got 400,000 kms easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

That's 248,000 miles, I had 321,000 kms on my old A4, TDI Auto when I let her go. 200,000 Miles, I would have got 400,000 kms easily.

Yes but the cost per mile of each mile you did in the Audi was probably many many multiples of what it cost per mile in VB's Corona....;)

166man wrote: »
    Yes but the cost per mile of each mile you did in the Audi was probably many many multiples of what it cost per mile in VB's Corona....;)

How do you figure that ?

mickman wrote: »
    did you really look after the car or is it just the toyota factor ?

what about the service history ?

No service history came with the car when i got her, just did a service every 10k Klms, only thing that shes needed has been a cv joint in the intervening 100k.

How do you figure that ?

Depreciation on the Toyota was minimal as it was bought for close to feck all and lots of the mileage lashed on after that.

Totally irrelevant to the topic of course.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Depreciation on the Toyota was minimal as it was bought for close to feck all and lots of the mileage lashed on after that.

Totally irrelevant to the topic of course.

Ah yeah gotcha, you're right, even though I bought it for half it's value, I still lost a lot on it. I enjoyed all the 100,000 miles I clocked up on it.

Was worth every penny ! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I had a 1996 civic saloon with 1.4 petrol engine. It was showing 292k miles on it when I sold it as a full working car in need of nothing bar a good clean inside and out. The engine was perfect in it, didn't burn any oil and never missed a beat, the gearbox was also perfect with no crunching or sloppiness. I bought it with 176k on it and only ever changed the timing belt and a thermostat. It never needed anything else. It was still teturning 43mpg on average when i sild it. Nothing will ever come close to the reliability of Older Japanese cars from the late 80s and 90s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

very impressive - well done VB.

I inherited a Carina 1.6 petril 190k miles on the clock, been parked outside for last 5 years, a few months ago got a battery from the breakers, stuck it in and it went first time. Gonna clean her up (new exhaust and wing mirror required is all) and have her as a back up, im on my 2nd engine in the Avensis so handy to have something on standby in case anyone in the family needs an a to b at short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I had a 1995 1.6 petrol Carina e that went on and on ...great car, had over 200k miles on it when I sold it 8 years ago and it was driven around the back roads of Kerry until last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I just did an oil change and replaced the oil and air filters this morning on my 05 1.9 Tdi Octavia. At present the clock reads 362,550 km. I plan on driving her until she starts giving me trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Piggybacking on your thread VB, hope you dont mind :o

My 3.0td Hilux Surf (4runner) recently turned over to this, (nearly at 205k since then :eek:) Cannot stress how well it runs, doesnt even do a full turn before it starts in the morning, practically no smoke even on full load. Toyota really did know how to build em.

img1880a.jpg

Also have a Carina II 1.6 petrol with near 240miles, engine is still as fresh as ever, but the body work is showing age now.. :(