Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris Andrews just hit me.....

• 02-02-2011 1:49pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Not personally but one of his poxy signs came of a lamp post on Ballsbridge bridge and lunch time and clipped me.

It then flew across a couple of lanes of traffic. Lucky no accident occurred.

In the age of social media and other outlets are these things needed? Such a poxy waste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Did you send a text to newstalk (I think it was) if not someone else got a thwack in Dublin during a gust of wind this morning.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

No it happened at lunch time

Gona email andrews and see what he says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

godtabh wrote: »

He'll tell you that you'd have got a much worse whack if it was an FG or a Lab poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I already had to see the smug mugs of himself and Murphy too many times walking around Rathmines this morning.

Would love to find out how much money is being wasted on these posters by all parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Not personally but one of his poxy signs came of a lamp post on Ballsbridge bridge and lunch time and clipped me.

In the age of social media and other outlets are these things needed? Such a poxy waste

Normally I would not advise this, but seeing who it is I would say sue for emotional distress and bodily harm.
    I would say your first demand should be for 85 billion. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 madraj55

Didn't he have a 60s hit with 'Yesterday Man'? So this is what he's reduced to now. lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Coupla years back Enda roundhoused on a windy day. Nearly took me eye out. big cut across me check, fecker drew blood and all. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Nearly walked smack into one of his posters last night.

He has put them up in a ridiculously irresponsible way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Bambi wrote: »
    Coupla years back Enda roundhoused on a windy day. Nearly took me eye out. big cut across me check, fecker drew blood and all. :mad:

I would have thought that would have felt more like a slap from a wet fish.

Nearly walked smack into one of his posters last night.

He has put them up in a ridiculously irresponsible way.

At least it is in keeping with their tenure in government. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

To be fair he replied to my email fairly quickly.

He has asked for my phone number but i'm not really in the mood for biffo bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

He has asked for my phone number

Maybe he likes you

Maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

I'd give him your number, if I was you. You never know when you might want to call in a favour for Late Late Toy Show tickets.... :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Would love to find out how much money is being wasted on these posters by all parties.

Heard on the radio this morning a printer in North Dublin say the posters cost something like €4.50 +VAT each.

Cheap, they're not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Any of them gonna think to take down the fookin cable ties this time around?

If you look at the lamp posts of Ireland you will see quite a collection of cable ties building up on them now. They just come along and rip down the posters and leave cable ties on the pole - some at eye height!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Why's a pop singer from the 60's putting up signs at thwacking level all over Dublin?

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Heard on the radio this morning a printer in North Dublin say the posters cost something like €4.50 +VAT each.

Cheap, they're not!

And the east europeans putting them up are getting 1.50 per poster.

mike65 wrote: »
    And the east europeans putting them up are getting 1.50 per poster.

With all earnings been declared of course

Obviously!

Just listening to the Right Hook on Newstalk, it sounds like every Chris Andrews poster is rampaging across Dublin South East.

Except for this one

photo.jpg
    and this one
    scaled.php?tn=0&server=615&filename=phial.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I would have thought that would have felt more like a slap from a wet fish.

Richard, Leo and all the others thought the same, but he soon put them back in their place. ;)
    Any of them gonna think to take down the fookin cable ties this time around?

If you look at the lamp posts of Ireland you will see quite a collection of cable ties building up on them now. They just come along and rip down the posters and leave cable ties on the pole - some at eye height!

I reckon there will be a few environmentalists who will need a job after the election, they can be hired for the clean up. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The solution to all our Election Poster problems can be found on this old boards thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Saw Mehole Martin flying out in front of a car on westland row today..ah if only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

They're all over the place. Seen 6 today and I was only out for an hour. Thomas Byrne was giving head to a hanging basket earlier.

Do these TDs listen to weather forecasts?

Fairly obvious from yesterday that strong winds were approaching, in the Dublin area at least, and instead of waiting for it to subside - they act like impatient monkeys to be in a rush to get theirs up first -and on every lamp post.

Already seen three posters fly onto major roads, but luckily in one case the cars had stopped at red light,and the other two came apart before a vehicle was in close proximity.

Not to mention, they mess up the view of some nice spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Scrimping on cable ties!

Silly politicians!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Why would you wanna email him tho?

A, its not like he would really care
    B, are you trying to get something? lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

He'll probably tell you to watch where you're walking in future.

(p.s man the f*ck up)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

A Sinn Fein poster just flew at me when i had a €20 note in my hand taking it off down the road:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

madraj55 wrote: »
    Didn't he have a 60s hit with 'Yesterday Man'? So this is what he's reduced to now. lol...

yesterday man??

he was the man who introduced an institution in this country every saturday night (and then on to fridays!)!!

actually, what was the first line of your email?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Well I mean...
    He is the grandson of Todd Andrews, a leading figure in the early days of Fianna Fáil. His father Niall Andrews and his uncle David Andrews both served as Fianna Fáil TDs, while his first cousin, Barry Andrews was elected a TD at the 2002 general election. He is the fourth member of his family to sit in the Dáil. Another cousin, Ryan Tubridy, is a chatshow host of The Late Late Show on RTÉ One.

the country will always be ****ed...

All jokes aside, these things are obviously a hazard and littering (from the plastic ties), what can we do about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

madraj55 wrote: »
    yesterday man??

he was the man who introduced an institution in this country every saturday night (and then on to fridays!)!!

Sounds just like ' to whom it concerns ' and pretty much like the politicians around back then and now ie , different words , same backbeat .:pac:

oh well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

These things are such a waste of money it is unreal, the cost of making them, putting them up and taking them down.

When did the idea of this arise? and why does every lampost and pole have to be covered? I was in the UK at the time of their election, and I was shocked that they do not have that Culture over there - at least where I was.

You would see the odd poster put up in someones garden by themselves or whatever, but nothing on any poles or posts!

It should be scrapped, besides the waste of money, they have such a negative environmental impact and there is of course the public safety issue.

I had to laugh today, there were lads putting some up in the Kildare area, Fiann Fail ones, it was near a school where I was collecting someone, anyways a guy got out of his car with eggs and pelted the poster they had just put up out of it. I kid you not when i tell you one of the eggs went through the poster!

Goes to show the poor quality of them, which would explain how the wind is easily able to rip them from the grasps of those cable ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

pity more councils didnt ban them, like with Passage West in Cork