Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sister and her husband want a new car

• 01-02-2011 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭

Right folks I've had to step into the picture and help my sister and her husband purchase a new/used car.

I found out this evening that they were about to pay full list price on a JUKE (I like them) but weren't getting a single cent off from the main dealer garage in who shall remain nameless.

Anyway rather than have them made fools of, God help the pair of them, I'm looking for some suggestions on what circa €20k will get them in a Dublin main dealers.

Anyway the requirements are:

Estate or MPV (no hatch backs or saloons)
    Diesel
    Roomy (I've no idea why they looked at a JUKE)
    Reliable
    Available NOW.

They were hoping to get a Qashqai but the same main stealer only had a 2008 model which was available for the bargain price of €22k :eek: They shall not be getting called again.

They have a trade in but can do a straight deal.

BANGERNOMICS FOLKS PAY ATTENTION AT THE BACK: They have a 2001 Merc 320CLK, in navy, FMBSH, not sure of the mileage but not high, front side passenger wing and door dented but should pull out and a small knock to the lower part of the front bumper. It has no tax and NCT until 08/11 but its in perfect working condition he just hates taxing and fueling it.

If not being traded in it will be sold private so what is it worth?

The looked at the Renault Megane but didn't like it as its a h/b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

my advice would be to go to the auctions: Merlin or Wilsons, really good value to be got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    my advice would be to go to the auctions: Merlin or Wilsons, really good value to be got.

The value isn't there and as it isn't my money its coming from a main dealer.

If anyone is in sales do feel free to PM me as we are hoping to sort this next Saturday ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Is the nameless dealer located near a Roundabout??.:p

Would Chareleville be to far to travel. I know the lads there that would look after you pricewise..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Their own car is probably saleproof unless they try advertise it on an enthusiasts forum maybe?

I like the juke too. Has a bit of presence.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Is the nameless dealer located near a Roundabout??.:p

Would Chareleville be to far to travel. I know the lads there that would look after you pricewise..:)

The have a Wide range of salesrooms and advertise themselves as Irelands Favourite Dealers but I'll never tell who it was.

Unless it was a sure thing -Corkie- at very good value it may be too far.

EPM wrote: »
    Their own car is probably saleproof unless they try advertise it on an enthusiasts forum maybe?

I like the juke too. Has a bit of presence.

He was getting the scrappage deal against the JUKE of €2500 and no more off.

Its salesproof alright but as I said if he could get a better deal and sell it himself he could do a lot better, although he would prefer it to be traded.

It just seems such a waste to me

Skoda Yeti diesel would not be far of the budget.

They are suprisingly good..

It is but an awful waste but motoring in this country will never see the like of those cars again unfortunately.

My uncles in a similar situation with an e-class at the moment.

It is but an awful waste but motoring in this country will never see the like of those cars again unfortunately.

I've told him he is better off to keep it and drive it but in fairness the tax is mental on it and when you spend most of your time sitting in traffic the fuel disappears.

I'd have it but sadly its just too new for me

Something cheaper to tax would be their thing along with no ex-NAMA customer cars :D as he has enough problems getting money owed form them.

I think they want something post 2008 also and full size 4x4 would just be a no no for them.

A Skoda Yeti is a good idea though

The top of the range Yeti with the 2.0 TDI with the pano roof is 22.5k..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

€20k would get a lot of Grand Megane, if anyone has one in stock, if they are looking for a new car.

New Astra Sports Tourer is listed on the Opel price list, but don't know if they've hit the dealer network yet - apparently it had a bigger load area than the Insignia estate.

R.O.R wrote: »
    €20k would get a lot of Grand Megane, if anyone has one in stock, if they are looking for a new car.

New Astra Sports Tourer is listed on the Opel price list, but don't know if they've hit the dealer network yet - apparently it had a bigger load area than the Insignia estate.

I don't know why they didn't want a Megane, they have a 7 seater already but they still want another sizable car.

I'll check out the Opel Astra too as I live beside the main dealer in Wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

The Al Gore army has certainly ruined things if you want a nice petrol engine. Then again there are some great diesel engines that are comparably cheap to tax now e.g. the twin turbo XF diesels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

Also I don't know if the buyers are car enthusiasts, or even like driving/cars, but going from that to a juke/qashqai/grand megane etc would be absolutely soul destroying IMO!

J77 wrote: »
    Also I don't know if the buyers are car enthusiasts, or even like driving/cars, but going from that to a juke/qashqai/grand megane etc would be absolutely soul destroying IMO!

They really haven't a clue.

Brendan was amazed to hear that he could get more money off than just the scrappage scheme.

How he has gotten this far I'll never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

They weren't necessarily being made fools of with the Juke price. Brand new model, a bit different, probably very appealing to some, maybe smallish numbers coming in. Maybe there doesn't need to be a discount.

There was a lot of Jukes at Nissan dealers before Christmas...supply can't be that limited surely? Although with dealers and distributors not holding stock maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

2500 off on scrappage is 1250 discount no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

:eek: Motoring Forum?

*Checks*

Noone has suggested an Octavia yet?!?

I've nothing really to contribute to their options though.

:eek: Motoring Forum?

*Checks*

Noone has suggested an Octavia yet?!?

I've nothing really to contribute to their options though.

Sigh...swear I'm not taking it personally...

colm_mcm wrote: »
    2500 off on scrappage is 1250 discount no?

I haven't looked into it much but thats what the brother in law said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

I'll probably get lambasted for suggesting this given some peoples hatred of all things French.

I bought a Citroen Grand Picasso 1.6 hdi last year and I have to say I'm mightily impressed with it. Although I don't drive it that often, anytime I do I never have an issue with it. Fair enough it might not be most drivers dream car but it does what it says on the tin.

largepants wrote: »
    I'll probably get lambasted for suggesting this given some peoples hatred of all things French.

I bought a Citroen Grand Picasso 1.6 hdi last year and I have to say I'm mightily impressed with it. Although I don't drive it that often, anytime I do I never have an issue with it. Fair enough it might not be most drivers dream car but it does what it says on the tin.

They bought one of them about 3 months ago as well and they are very happy with it :D