Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowen is leaving politics - Confirmed

• 31-01-2011 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭

Cowen won't be contesting the next election. He has just given an interview on local radio to confirm the news.

It's widely speculated that his constituency pal John Moloney will also bow out of politics following tonight's decision.

Good news for FF you would think. <snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

No longer good enough for the people of Laois/Offaly as a TD, but still good enough for the nation as Taoiseach.

Shows how wrong he got it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Number Nine

Hope his has a long life ,thinking about the mess he has left behind .

Have a wee drink for us Brian .

I await the press headline " Cowan goes into NAMA"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

After his humiliating downfall (only when De Partee was at risk), I'm not.

Take the money and run, Cowen.
    Great man for saying he would fight Ireland's corner, my arse (like the rest of the cowardly slieveens)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

He's had a neck on him like a jockeys bo11ox for the last few months, I'm glad to see that some modicum of common sense slapped him upside the head. Even his fat neck wouldn't have taken on that amount of humiliation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Small loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

The King is dead. Long live the King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Like most, I am delighted this waste of space is gone.
    But, I stop and think about the crap the likes of him, Dempsey, Ahern (both), Harney, McDaid etc spout that their only cause is the public good and the good of Ireland when in the country's greatest need, they simply fck off. No standing and fighting their corner, just take the money and run, set up for life.
    Goodtime Charlie's or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He didnt have the moral courage to make the changes necessary to cool down the property crisis when he was Minister For Finance, and that will be his legacy. Himself, McCreevy and Ahern should have been charged with criminal negligence in the handling of the country, similar to the ex PM in Iceland.. Instead they have all been showered with riches for detrimentally damaging the country with irresponsible Government policies..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Goodbye to a dull, uninspiring, uncharismatic, bullish, overpromoted gombeen who was too stubborn to even attepmt to fix the mess. Terrible excuse for a Finance Minister too.

This isn't good news by the way - don't forget that the man walks away with large amounts of OUR money for the rest of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

I hope its true. The shame he must feel for the disservice he has done to the country and became dictator like in the last few months. Good riddance and emigrate with all the other people that have to leave through his incompetence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Good radiance. Clowns should be in a circus not managing finances.

Please ask some homeless charities how you can help repair the suffering you caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

gambiaman wrote: »
    Like most, I am delighted this waste of space is gone.
    But, I stop and think about the crap the likes of him, Dempsey, Ahern (both), Harney, McDaid etc spout that their only cause is the public good and the good of Ireland when in the country's greatest need, they simply fck off. No standing and fighting their corner, just take the money and run, set up for life.
    Goodtime Charlie's or what?

It's unbelievable because Cowen has been saying that the people will have their chance to hold FF to account on election day. But now, we have about a third of the FF party retiring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭cjgib

a prime example of the mediocre talent in the dail.

He could'nt once get his budgets to come in as estimated and did'nt seem to think this was a problem.

other than being a pugnacious little gurrier,he had nothing to offer although a lot less thick than bertie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

He didnt have the moral courage to make the changes necessary to cool down the property crisis when he was Minister For Finance, and that will be his legacy. Himself, McCreevy and Ahern should have been charged with criminal negligence in the handling of the country, similar to the ex PM in Iceland.. Instead they have all been showered with riches for detrimentally damaging the country with irresponsible Government policies..

Any chance the new incoming government will do this? Get justice for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Now theres a shocker.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

It's unbelievable because Cowen has been saying that the people will have their chance to hold FF to account on election day. But now, we have about a third of the FF party retiring.

Its still the same party - its a virus with a survival instinct whose sole aim is to hold on to power whatever the cost. Just because there are a few new faces doesnt mean its not the same backward mentality that will unfortunately hold office in five years time, because of the mess it made now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Contrast this with the majority of sitting FG TDs going into 2002 election - many probably knew they were on the way out, but still put themselves forward before the electorate.

Not a FG supporter either, but it shows a certain level of dignity they have that FF simply don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Number Nine

This isn't good news by the way - don't forget that the man walks away with large amounts of OUR money for the rest of his life.

That is the sad truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

There'll still be a Cowen in the Dáil of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

He is not going due to a sense of shame, he is going because he will be financially better off. First thing that needs to change is the idea that they get pension regardless of age. Make them wait until 65 before retirement fund kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭etcetc

dsmythy wrote: »
    There'll still be a Cowen in the Dáil of course.

i hope not, hopefully the good people of Offaly will recognise the need to put an end to political dynastes

elect your politican based on his policies and track record not on who he is please

i wonder will FF new leader decide to do the right thing here in intersts of political reform

start now michael or even give averil a real opportunity in her new position as spokesperson for political reform and not just a photo shoot opportunity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Like a lot of the others in FF who have also skulked away when the going has gotten tough he should hang his head in absolute shame at the way he has left this country after his watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

So when they get hammered in the polls it will because of the new people coming into FF.

The people wont have the chance to show how much they want them out by flopping at the polls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭blues2

So how much of a pension does he get?

blues2 wrote: »

too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

jetsonx wrote: »
    Playing golf and having dinner with with Sean Fitzpatrick and "forgetting"
    about it???

Fat Corrupt Slob. Good Riddance to him.
    question there is ''who won the game of golf''?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 minty247

Hope his has a long life ,thinking about the mess he has left behind .

Have a wee drink for us Brian .

I await the press headline " Cowan goes into NAMA"

He'll be thinking of ways to spend his fat pension and he couldn't care less about the mess he has left behind. He won't care about the families who can't pay their mortgage or put a dinner on the table. I hope he he has a conscience and donates his pension to charity. I can't believe we as irish people put up with this ****. And to cap it all Mr Callelly gets 17,000 for 20 days work in the high court today. Are we all mugs or what to put up with this crap?????

t

minty247 wrote: »
    He'll be thinking of ways to spend his fat pension and he couldn't care less about the mess he has left behind. He won't care about the families who can't pay their mortgage or put a dinner on the table. I hope he he has a conscience and donates his pension to charity. I can't believe we as irish people put up with this ****. And to cap it all Mr Callelly gets 17,000 for 20 days work in the high court today. Are we all mugs or what to put up with this crap?????

t

WORK is a very kind word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 minty247

your right Kippy work was a very kind word. I should have said he was present in the Seanad to qualify for his loot. What a total assh*le Callelly is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

blues2 wrote: »

i think i read somewhere he gets €140,000 a year as a retired Taoiseach, and "only" !00 grand as a working TD, so he actually gets more for doing nothing, scandalous, oh, and i think he gets a one off payment of over 200 grand as well

the bit i find funny is when you see these overpaid chancers dropping the dole by a few bob only to then give themselves these massive pensions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭56lcd

on the + side he was much better than bertie or charlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭whitelightrider

Thats a disgraceful amount of money to be paid to these chancers. But what can we do about it? Why are they allowed to get this money before the age of 65???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

After all he's done to the country, he's too cowardly to face the public. He's utter contemptible scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

and it was someone similar to themselves that set those pensions in the past - the brass neck of them. when half the... no maybe 90% at this stage- of the country cant afford to save for retirement in any way cos they can barely afford the present - and the state pension is well... a bit crappy.

good riddens to him. although as someone pointed out therell always be a cowan or someone like him.

i really hope the next gov will rethink these pensions - maybe even the serving TD pension. not much chance of that - who would voluntarily hand over 30k or so... cos i fear thats how they look at it. the money hasnt been earned yet but theyd see it as theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭selfobsessed

mickdw wrote: »
    He is not going due to a sense of shame, he is going because he will be financially better off. First thing that needs to change is the idea that they get pension regardless of age. Make them wait until 65 before retirement fund kicks in.

This is absolute NONSENSE. Being from the same town as Brian Cowen those of us in Offaly know that he does not care whatsoever about wealth. His wife drives a car which is over 10 years old, they have a reasonably modest house and one of their daughter's works in a shop locally. Also OP Cowen was NOT corrupt, shame on you for spouting that bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

I think it's a pity he's going before the election because it will allow Fianna Failers canvassing to say "Sure that was all Brian Cowen's fault but sure he's gone now" and the sad thing is a lot of people will buy that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

This is absolute NONSENSE. Being from the same town as Brian Cowen those of us in Offaly know that he does not care whatsoever about wealth. His wife drives a car which is over 10 years old, they have a reasonably modest house and one of their daughter's works in a shop locally. Also OP Cowen was NOT corrupt, shame on you for spouting that bull****.

If Cowen hands back the payoff and refuses the pension then I will agree with you that poster was spouting bull****. Until then I will label the man as a coward who was unable to face up to his failure to this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

He may be a modest man, but through his career in politics, he is - and make no mistake about this - a wealthy man.

I don't believe that he is corrupt in the same sense that Haughey was, but I do believe that if he had any ideals of representing the people of this country, then throughout the years, those ideals were corrupted & very like the state of the country as he bows out of politics, the moral state he leaves in is one of utter & complete bankruptcy.

The complete failure of those who still support him to see any of this, is beyond me.

He was a poor Minister for Finance and an even poorer Taoiseach. He always claimed that he was working in the best interest of the country, even though it was clear to everyone but him that the country did not want him as their leader, he still held that belief when it was clear that even his own party members did not want him as their leader & only after all of this, he is bows out, not exit stage left, but sloping out the back door hoping to go unnoticed.

Goodnight & good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

So explain to us what the conversation he had with Sean "the traitor" Fitzpatrick was all about then, cos there is NO EFFING WAY they didn't discuss sinking all the taxpayers money into Anglo.

He was part of the govt that sold Ireland to the lowest bidder, that makes him a traitor. Now granted he was used as a bit of a scape goat by Aherne, but only a bit, and he was captain on the ship when it went down, and he needs to take the responsibility. I'm not saying blame, but it's his responsibility and he couldn't even grow a pair and stand up and be counted. That in turn makes him chickensh1t!!!!!

So no there is not bullsh1t at the anger people feel towards him, shame on your for trying to use his family to lessen that anger!

GOOD RIDDANCE TO EXTREMELY BAD RUBBISH!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

what a disgrace...this guy should be dragged to the courts along with the corrupt bankers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

If people were judged and remembered by their achievements and what good they did, we'd already be saying "Brian who?"

A hopeless incompetent who made matters worse by buying into the FF mindset of zero accountability and party first.

Good riddance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In many ways, he reminds me of the Black Knight in Monthy Python's "The Holy Grail" who keeps losing his limbs, yet believes that he can still keep on fighting.

Lose a right arm (the economy)... "tis but a scratch" ... loses another (the faith of the people).. "it's just a flesh wound".... loses a leg (the backing of his party)... "I'm invincible".... then finally, as he loses his last limb, he decides to call it a day, but still won't concede that he has lost...

"Let's call it a draw".

Well, you can call it whatever you like Mr.Cowen, as long as you know that your time has come & gone and whatever spin you try to put on that will not deflect from the truth that you were one in a long line of dismal Fianna Fail Taoiseachs who will not be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

RachaelVO wrote: »
    So explain to us what the conversation he had with Sean "the traitor" Fitzpatrick was all about then, cos there is NO EFFING WAY they didn't discuss sinking all the taxpayers money into Anglo...

Please share your sources with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I've had to delete and edit out many accusations of corruption from this thread. Any more of this kind of unsubstantiated nonsense and I will start banning people for it. Do NOT accuse politicians and public figures of crimes based on "what you think".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Tuck your lips in and don't let the door hit you on the way out Brian. Thanks for the ass raping and enjoy your multi-million euro pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The FF cowards are all leaving the sinking ship . Good riddance Cowen , the worst Taoiseach to have been foisted upon us . Incompetent ,bumbling amadán .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Maj Malfunction

Brian Cowen stands down only to be replaced by his brother... Barry Cowen

I hope the people of Laois/Offaly do the sensible thing and NOT vote for biffo's brother to take a seat in the Dail.

Political dynasties are not good for democracy, particularly when examining Cowen credentials.