Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 2 in Dublin smacked by City Arms in Cup

• 31-01-2011 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

City Arms pulled off a great double yesterday in the NCDL Cup.
    They beat the Patriots 5-3 in the qtr finals and slaughtered the (unbeaten in the leauge) Georges 8 5-0 in the semi final.They will now face Tavey's in the final.Well done lads deserved on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭webster2009

Is that the same Georges 8 with 5 county players ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 THE WIZARD

Is this a wind up... There is no way Georges 8 lost 5-0 in the cup...can somebody tell me the truth..If it is true it has to go down as one of the greatest .. if not the greatest results in the history of the cup.. Well done if it is genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭tumbler

I heard a rumour that George was seen last night sobbing like a baby on barneys shoulder wonder if he will mention it in his little rant on tuesday after there match

was it the city arms Wednesday side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Is that the same Georges 8 with 5 county players ????

8 I think.
    THE WIZARD wrote: »
    Is this a wind up... There is no way Georges 8 lost 5-0 in the cup...can somebody tell me the truth..If it is true it has to go down as one of the greatest .. if not the greatest results in the history of the cup.. Well done if it is genuine.

Oh its true alright, just had it confirmed.
    tumbler wrote: »
    I heard a rumour that George was seen last night sobbing like a baby on barneys shoulder wonder if he will mention it in his little rant on tuesday after there match

The speeches are legendary alright.
    was it the city arms Wednesday side?
    No, the Tuesday lads.

Some result, fair play to me oul team mates.

did you play for them long ago?

Last three seasons.

you must be a decent player so say you were sick you didnt stay one more

I do miss it alright, best bunch of lads you will meet. I'm just playing a bit closer to home now.

less traveling always good have the city arms got a big squad someone told me Geogres 8 have 20 odd players

I think the Arms have 10 or 11, which is a nice number. I also heard that about Georges, 22 was the number I was told.

That must make it all the sweeter for the city arms playing against a team with all them big game players and kicking their ass 22 players is a crazy amount thats 2 teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

Georges 8 have 12 players so dont know were there getting 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Double Top wrote: »
    Georges 8 have 12 players so dont know were there getting 22

12 good ones at that.... Well, 11 and half if we include the Barrell

sorry mate your wrong 22 checked with one of the lads on the league you must have only seen one reg. sheet they have two in the league 22 confirmed

I heard today that the arms held back some of their big lads against Georges so they would have something at the back that makes it all the more stunning a win can anyone confirm this?

Does it matter??? Honestly???

Its a game of darts, anyone can win on any given day, it doesnt make them a better team, it only means that on the day they were better than there opponents...

ON THE DAY

Theyre they important parts of this

Shane has no reason to lie, if he says they have 12 players, they have 12, maybe it is you who has there facts wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Big Brother180

abbie180 wrote: »
    City Arms pulled off a great double yesterday in the NCDL Cup.
    They beat the Patriots 5-3 in the qtr finals and slaughtered the (unbeaten in the leauge) Georges 8 5-0 in the semi final.They will now face Tavey's in the final.Well done lads deserved on the day.

you dont seem to like that team georges 8 jmc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Wish we had the numbers to have been able to play, Taveys won out of our side of the draw. It was a great draw all the big teams on the far side.

Just couldn't get the numbers together, 9 is an odd number, who comes up with these, why not 7

sorry mate your wrong 22 checked with one of the lads on the league you must have only seen one reg. sheet they have two in the league 22 confirmed
    GEORGE was collecting subs last night ,still looking for the 22 players if you could forward there names since you have access to reg sheet we would be most grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

@abbie180 with your removed comment
    its a 9 a side competition always has been always will be why turn up with less than 9 and expect to get a result come on really ????

Yes I know it's always been a 9 a side competition but what I was saying is that every week 8 play, for the smaller teams it can be harder to find extra men.

Also the short notice of being told Tuesday that it was on Sunday meant lads couldn't shift work, so having a small squad alongside short notice meant that finding a 9th man was impossible. and 8th or 7th man was impossible.

We didn't turn up with less than 9, we didn't turn up at all because of the aforementioned lack of players, increased number expectation and short notice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 abbie180

point taken !!!!!!

GEORGE was collecting subs last night ,still looking for the 22 players if you could forward there names since you have access to reg sheet we would be most grateful.
    How much did he collect ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Have to say lads best thread on this in ages i'm loving it. Before ye's ask i do play for georges 8 and am loving the hate been shown against us because as in life people will hate or resent you when your at the top of your game first of all fair play to the city arms who yes hammered us so hard my head is still sore best of luck to them in the final espec me dublin teammate terry meehan and the ever great collie white two nicer blokes you'll never meet.

now lets get back to trying to wind us up and lads keep up the good work We'll never be the same team again.

and as for george crying on barneys shoulder that was because he only found out my self and shane were southsiders.

See u's soon keep the hating going

THE BARREL

S.T.D Ste wrote: »
    Have to say lads best thread on this in ages i'm loving it. Before ye's ask i do play for georges 8 and am loving the hate been shown against us because as in life people will hate or resent you when your at the top of your game first of all fair play to the city arms who yes hammered us so hard my head is still sore best of luck to them in the final espec me dublin teammate terry meehan and the ever great collie white two nicer blokes you'll never meet.

now lets get back to trying to wind us up and lads keep up the good work We'll never be the same team again.

and as for george crying on barneys shoulder that was because he only found out my self and shane were southsiders.

THE BARREL

Well said small lad, jealousy is an awful thing... Wanna keep hold of them 22 players aswell!

How much did he collect ????
    Add your age on your next birthday to the last to numbers of the year your were born if it 111 we tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

I think they r counting me as ten dicie ah you of all people would knew when your at the bottom everyone is your friend but the higher u climb that list gets smaller and smaller and to be honest it doesn't bother me at all in this game my only friends are my 3 arrows so to all u wind up merchents and player haters keep it up as in these days we all need a good laugh

THE BARREL
    its not hate its banter and a bit of slaggin of course when your the best in the leauge your goin to be shot down when you slip up(had it for years)Everyone who plays darts appreciates good darts so if your the top of the pile consider yourself appreciated (with a hint of jealousy) But beware there's half a season left and a lot of darts to be thrown.There,s a few bananna skins along the way. We stepped over one last night your old friends the city arms.

We?? As in were you playing, or supporting your good man.... You wud cause trouble in an empty church!!

Dicie wrote: »
    We?? As in were you playing, or supporting your good man.... You wud cause trouble in an empty church!!
    Not anymore I did and i'm Barred so darts is my new religion LOL !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 doubletrouble

ur at the top of ur game ar u ste? jesus u dont set ur standards too high mate!!! georges ar a good side but im over the moon u's got ur arses handed to yous. george taught he was real funny wen he put his team up n let the arms look at it. wat wer d words he used? "let them pick whoever they want, they'll never beat that team"? he was fairly shut up alon with 1 or 2 others mouths on the team!!!

Oh i did,nt hear about that. Sounds like a bit of disrespect for The Arms.Ah well lesson learned(bold boy george).I might just go back to church there is a god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 the killer

just 2 put the record straight the so called 22 players were part of 2 teams from 2 years ago when we played out of campions the tue&wed,the following year the wed team went there own way now we are back to our original squad which is 13 players not 22

the killer wrote: »
    just 2 put the record straight the so called 22 players were part of 2 teams from 2 years ago when we played out of campions the tue&wed,the following year the wed team went there own way now we are back to our original squad which is 13 players not 22

Never and i repeat this NEVER, let the truth get in the way of a good bitching session:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

the killer wrote: »

Would that not be 14 players how can you only count the Barrel as "1".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 colboh

THE BARREL
    tks for those kind words ste on behalf of city arms we look forward to when we play you in the arms and as for all this banter i havent laughed as much in years

glen how did your team do against against arms were they not beaten two i did not see yous changing your team i know we got our arses kicked what your excuses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 doubletrouble

glen how did your team do against against arms were they not beaten two i did not see yous changing your team i know we got our arses kicked what your excuses
    ye they beat us fair and square but it was a lot closer than the georges game tho because we didnt get smashed 5 nil mate.... we had to change our team my friend as we were missing a few players but we had respect for the city arms and we put the teams down at the same time as im sure every other team did that day oh except for the special one george that is!!! im delighted they beat georges because they are a sound shower of lads. we played them last tuesday in the league and we settled a few scores i dont see a thread about that!!

OMG how easily things can get out of hand by a single thread (excuse the pun) I think i'll give up fishing and come here instead. I used very little bait and caught some of the biggest fish in the leauge to bitch and moan about each other laugh i have been pissin meself for the last week. But all good things have to come to an end so i'll sign off for now. When something of interest crops up i'll be back with a thread but an honest one. I will always call a spade a spade.To all who participated and kept this thread going i salute you. Georges 8 super team deserve everything you get this season you are there to be beaten but have'nt been and probably wont be. Patriots simply the best over the last few years but made the Brock and Georges strengthen over the last couple of years which is a good thing. But outside of those 3 the leauge is a sad place on a Tuesday night. City Arms no disrepect but always the nearly boys can upset or do damage and i sincerely hope you win the cup for all your efforts over the years but the same can be said for Taveys who always turn out a competitive side so good luck to both of you. There is simply not enough good players to go around to compete top spot in the leauge and i would love to see some sort of system that would create a level playing field for all teams but i would'nt have a clue where to start. If i have offended or pissed anyone off with this thread get over it ITS ONLY A GAME OF DARTS at the end of the day !!!!!!! LOL LOL LOL:):D:)