Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Much Is Your Membership?

• 29-01-2011 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭

Just registered today and was wondering how much it is in clubs nationwide?

I paid €75 for U16
    It was €100 for Adults!

How much do you pay? 59 votes

<€50
    0% 0 votes
    €50-€100
    45% 27 votes
    €100-€150
    35% 21 votes
    €150-€200
    6% 4 votes
    >€200
    11% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

If Im playing this year it will be €175 + €50 (compulsory club gym membership) = €225 for Adult membership!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

€175?!? Thats very steep! I dont play anymore so dont have any extras but its €80 a year for membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Under 18 20e-over 18 30e- family 50e!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Fandango wrote: »
    €175?!? Thats very steep! I dont play anymore so dont have any extras but its €80 a year for membership.

I know! tbh its one of the main reasons I dont think Im playing this year :(

decisions wrote: »
    If Im playing this year it will be €175 + €50 (compulsory club gym membership) = €225 for Adult membership!

Under 18 20e-over 18 30e- family 50e!!!:)

The mother of all comparisons!! :D

In fairness, €225 overall per year is seriously taking the urine. How is any player meant to afford that especially if they are a student/unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

non playing adult in our club is 40 im not sure what th eplayers pay i think its 60 or 90 i know thats a big gap but as i said im not 100% 20e for students and pensioners and i think 10e for kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 GraMirembe

Just Paid €50...remember when it used to cost about €10-€20 but apparently the extra costs are on account of county board etc!To be honest, think I'd be kicking up a huge fuss if I was paying €80 upwards, it is difficult to get people out on the pitch as it is..!But go on the GAA!!

Also..anyone have any ideas of how to get a company to sponsor a kit for a club team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Jesus lads ye are paying a serious amount!!

Our club is €20 for adult membership...and we aren't exactly a small club! Senior hurling and football! Twenty quid and yet you still hear of a few shnaaakes who try to get away without paying it! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

JamieK wrote: »
    Jesus lads ye are paying a serious amount!!

Our club is €20 for adult membership...and we aren't exactly a small club! Senior hurling and football! Twenty quid and yet you still hear of a few shnaaakes who try to get away without paying it! :rolleyes:

We're the same, €20 for adults, €40 for players and €5 for boys and girls under 18. We are a small club. We have two open days next weekend.

€225 for the year, that's mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

GraMirembe wrote: »
    Just Paid €50...remember when it used to cost about €10-€20 but apparently the extra costs are on account of county board etc!To be honest, think I'd be kicking up a huge fuss if I was paying €80 upwards, it is difficult to get people out on the pitch as it is..!But go on the GAA!!

Also..anyone have any ideas of how to get a company to sponsor a kit for a club team?

Off topic I know but.................

A few years ago we sold 100 * €50 tickets with the winning ticket getting the company name on the kit. PM if you have any questions.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

our club is about 100 quid as well for playing member, yet to be finalised this year.

but with everyone complaining about it, if you take other sports, the GAA membership works out cheap enough. the GAA season will probably last 9 months for an average club. 38 weeks using club facilities at least twice a week. if €100 is the norm, then it works out at €1.30 per session. Who pays for the club house? who pays for the upkeep on ESB to power the floodlights? Who pays the insurance companies to keep your welfare safe. Our club have an injury fund which take shte shortfall if out of work, that costs money too. I know in our club, the membership doesnt recoup damn all of the money required for entering teams in leagues and registrations, paying bills, buying gear, balls, equipment and other things, paying referees, groundsmen etc.

If it was a fiver a fortnight, would it be any better? take any sort of physical group sport, and it would cost a lot more than that. I complain myself about having to fork it out, but when I think about it, it works out fairly cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭betsie

Think its €30 this year definitely not more than €50 anyway, some of those prices are mental I'm shocked, had no idea there were clubs charging that kind of membership!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

25€ this year down from 50 last year for adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Well the cost in my club is.

Me (non playing adult) €100.00
    U9 €80.00
    U10 €80.00

So in total paying €260.00.

This does include all winter training for both U9 Football & Hurling on all weather pitch and Football & Camogie training on all weather pitch.

It also includes all county boars subs etc.

I think its good value, a lot would argue.

TheGEN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Starie1975 wrote: »

We're the same, €20 for adults, €40 for players and €5 for boys and girls under 18. We are a small club. We have two open days next weekend.

€225 for the year, that's mental.

No we're actually €20 for senior players too! :) That's ridiculously cheap in comparison to some of the other prices!

All adults (playing/non playing) €20
    Minors are €15 I think...with juveniles being a tenner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I pay 100 quid as a playing adult in my club.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Paid €53 this year and last year to as a playing adult with a ladies team, doesn't include indoors sessions, €38 if under 18

Fandango wrote: »

Correction on mine, its €100 for full membership and was €50 for social membership but dunno if that has changed but wouldnt be more than €60 anyway. Players have to pay €50 insurance i hear also (for seniors anyway, not sure about below that) so would be €150 for players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

€130 playing membership and €25 insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Right lads, top this: Last year my club wanted €135 for ordinary non-playing GAA membership, plus a €150 annual levy to be paid for 5 years. So that's €285. That's not membership, it is extortion. So naturally I did not renew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭kildareman09

50 in my club and 20 for student or u18 some of what youse are paying is crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Flukey wrote: »
    Right lads, top this: Last year my club wanted €135 for ordinary non-playing GAA membership, plus a €150 annual levy to be paid for 5 years. So that's €285. That's not membership, it is extortion. So naturally I did not renew.

whats the levy for?are ye redeveloping the grounds or moving or something

Paying off debt I think. €135 is bad enough, never mind the €150.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

70 euro for non-playing family membership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BO NER

70 bucks 35 for student/unemployed includes insurance more than fair 20 for social club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

100 euro for a playing adult and 75 for a nonplaying.

Change club to one that I have had a long association with, so a natural change. €210 less than my old club to join, clocking in at €75.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

50 a year non playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 cartoonninja

Adult-€20
    U18-€10
    Lads your being ripped off:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭rodgered

100 euro per playing adult
    100 euro per family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Adult playing €50.
    Non-playing €30.
    OAP €20
    Minor playing €30
    Family (2 A and 2 u/16) €60

Not too bad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

In my club its €50 for the year, which is'nt to bad, but then we have to pay into every club match even if we are playing and thats €4 a match:rolleyes:

Good old GAA:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

180 per annum for adult membership. It includes use of the clubs bar, snooker and pool tables though. :rolleyes: An absolute rip-off, I don't know what the money is spent on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

Senior players €40,
    Adults €30,
    Students €20,
    Underage €10
    Family membership €40.

Pretty reasonable really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 GymTanLaundry

€15 its costing me for a student but its €25 for any adult member. Fairly okay I think compared to other clubs in the area and looking at other posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

Has anyone here ever seen the expenditure their club makes on an annual basis? I used to be the treasurer in my club and the expenses are huge, from fees for entering a team into a league (and it is a cost per team in Dublin), gear, light and heat, insurance fees (which have increased substantially in the past few years) the costs of running a GAA club are extremely high.

Perhaps those people who have posted here are lucky enough to be in clubs who have a huge membership base who spend a lot of money in the club, have an active bar that generates steady income, have benefactors/generous sponsors, or several successful fund raising ventures each year. However there are numerous clubs that do not have such revenue streams and therefore the membership fees are the main source of income for the club, without which it would not be able to operate.

Now for the sake of €100 - €200 a year to keep a GAA club up and running in the community, do people really think it is too high a price to ask?

Also why is it in the GAA community that people are so reluctant to pay money to their clubs, yet these same people have no problem paying for a gym membership that they do not use as frequently as they use their GAA club, or have no problem paying for extra-curricular activities for their children such as speech&drama, swimming, etc, which run to be quite expensive, yet they have issues with parting €50 for an annual membership for a child in a GAA club.

purcela wrote: »
    Has anyone here ever seen the expenditure their club makes on an annual basis? I used to be the treasurer in my club and the expenses are huge, from fees for entering a team into a league (and it is a cost per team in Dublin), gear, light and heat, insurance fees (which have increased substantially in the past few years) the costs of running a GAA club are extremely high.

Perhaps those people who have posted here are lucky enough to be in clubs who have a huge membership base who spend a lot of money in the club, have an active bar that generates steady income, have benefactors/generous sponsors, or several successful fund raising ventures each year. However there are numerous clubs that do not have such revenue streams and therefore the membership fees are the main source of income for the club, without which it would not be able to operate.

Now for the sake of €100 - €200 a year to keep a GAA club up and running in the community, do people really think it is too high a price to ask?

Also why is it in the GAA community that people are so reluctant to pay money to their clubs, yet these same people have no problem paying for a gym membership that they do not use as frequently as they use their GAA club, or have no problem paying for extra-curricular activities for their children such as speech&drama, swimming, etc, which run to be quite expensive, yet they have issues with parting €50 for an annual membership for a child in a GAA club.

If my GAA club membership in Dublin was 50€ this might be a reasonable question to ask. Seeing as it is nearly four times that amount however, the point doesn't stand.

The active bar is an advantage to clubs who have one. For the rest of us, it is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

180 per annum for adult membership. It includes use of the clubs bar, snooker and pool tables though. :rolleyes: An absolute rip-off, I don't know what the money is spent on.

I would estimate that your membership goes towards the cost of insuring you to train and play with the club, the cost of entering the team you play for into competitions, the cost of maintaining your pitch in a fit state, the cost of providing lights to train in the dark (if you have them), the cost of repairing/buying hurls, the cost of buying gear for training and matches, and the general upkeep of your club. None of this comes cheap.

purcela wrote: »
    I would estimate that your membership goes towards the cost of insuring you to train and play with the club, the cost of entering the team you play for into competitions, the cost of maintaining your pitch in a fit state, the cost of providing lights to train in the dark (if you have them), the cost of repairing/buying hurls, the cost of buying gear for training and matches, and the general upkeep of your club. None of this comes cheap.

I actually don't play for any team in a league but I would be allowed to train with a team, if I so wished. If you saw the state of the club's main pitch for 70% of the year, you would not think it was good value. In comparison to our two main local rivals, it is very expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 xxxSonsuzaxxx

My son is a juvenile member of our local club and it's €55 for the year. Not sure if that's a good deal or not? He's got a Feile coming up though and he's been supplied a lovely club tracksuit and a proper club kit bag so i've really got back what i've paid so no complaints :) The only extra cost i had was €7 for him to attend a disco to help raise funds to pay for the gear.

€62 for a years memebership, club trackie and kit bag, bargain in my eyes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

320 euro no joke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Meglamonia wrote: »
    320 euro no joke :pac:
    Are ye getting a gym or something with that?

Ours was €35 for students/non working adults, €55 for seniors, and with full access to gym and ice-baths..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

Are ye getting a gym or something with that?

Ours was €35 for students/non working adults, €55 for seniors, and with full access to gym and ice-baths..
    how many members do you have? Do you have a social club? Do you have a club lotto? Does you club do other fundraisers throughout the year?
    A lot of questions - but if you know how much it takes to run your club per year then you'll know how much extra above membership has to be collected.
    does the €35 euro cover each child - so if a family had 2 boys playing that'd be €70 or is it capped?

I think a lot of clubs are moving towards the "friends of..." or "club <club name>" to remove the fundraising efforts but to collect on a monthly basis. In our club its €20 a month and that covers an entire family or just one person. Everyone pays - no additional fundraising required which is very hard at this time.
    No two solutions work for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

The 320 includes gym,the club weekly lotto,free entry into the club's home matches still alot tho!