Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

road rage incident reported to the Gardaí

• 26-01-2011 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

I'm a seasoned bicycle commuter, so I rarely get very upset about muppets on the road. But yesterday, it was different to anything I had ever seen.

A guy in his big car starts to tailgate me badly. I noticed it quite quickly thanks to frequent shoulder checks, and my muppet detector went on high. He then decides to pass with the minimum room he could manage, then swerves towards me, cuts in on me, and brake tests me once I'm stuck in the little space left between him and the kerb. All this in drizzly weather. On an empty two lane road. He then leaves (only to get stuck in a long traffic queue a 100 metres further down). Incidentally, this happened as I was exiting a bus lane, so he shouldn't have been behind me at the first place, but anyway. Nothing bad happened fortunately, as I'd managed to anticipate it.

Such a purely deliberate and malicious behaviour is totally impossible to understand. I mean, the worst incidents I usually see can all be put down to drivers impatience. Here, there was absolutely nothing to cause impatience, just an urgent desire to physically get rid of a cyclist it seems. As I passed him further down, I take advantage to memorise his registration, and he takes advantage to stick his middle finger at me.

My general rule is that if I am still angry by the time I wake up the day after, it is worth being angry. This morning it was the case, and decided to report it to the Gardaí. I first returned at the location of the incident to look out for any CCTV camera. I did find two, one from a private building but facing towards the road, and another that looked like a traffic management camera. I ask at the security desk of the said building whether they could see anything of the incident, and fortunately it's all been caught. I then go to Gardaí straight away to tell all the story I just told here.

I am very happy that the Garda took it very seriously. Apparently, he will first have a word with the driver, and then, depending on the evidence (which he reckons seems promising, even though he hasn't seen yet the footage), he could be sent to court. The Garda also seemed happy that there was a passenger in the car, adding another witness I guess. Finally he told me that even without any CCTV evidence, I still should report it, in case either he has a history of similar incidents, or in order to create one.

So my advice to you would be that, if something happens that still leaves you upset the day after, it is important indeed, and is worth mentioning to the Gardaí, without being afraid that you have too little evidence or that it will look unimportant. It's really simple, took me about 15 minutes of my day, and if nothing else, made me feel good.

I'll keep you updated on the outcome, if any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

That sounds like insane driver behaviour. Well done for carrying through with the report, hopefully he'll gett his just rewards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Call it a strnage day, but EXACTLY the same happened to me on the Dun Laoghaire to Monkstown road yesterday..

I could hear the guy revving behind me as we approached the Social Welfare office and he then overtakes me at speed and turns hard left across me, brakes hard and tries to pull into a tight parking space, leaving me no room on the inside.

Skidded hard and came very close to T boning him.

I pulled up alongside him and immediately he starts effing and blinding and being very aggressive...He then proceeds to get out of the car to further remonstrate:mad:

I must say that while I would have liked to take it further, he had lost all reason at this stage, so I (reluctantly) bade him farewell and rode off..

I then am stopped at lights in Deansgrange, lights go green and I ride off towards Cornelscourt and another driver does EXACTLY the same thing-hard left to pull into Supervalu. This time I clipped the rear bumper and did well not to "let the body hit the floor".

I REALLY hate the cold weather that keeps me out of the hills and on the flat..cycling around South Dublin is a REAL hazard dealing with scumbags and auld wans doped with Prozac..

YES, riding a bike can be and will remain a real thrill, but when will people realise that cars when driven in this reckless way and with such lack of attention can be as dangerous as a loaded gun?

I also note that over the space of the 2.5 hrs or so, I did not see ONE Garda, either in a car or on foot.

I have made a couple of complaints as a motorist but I wouldn't waste my time anymore..they really don't get followed up in my experience:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

PS, I would love to see Gaybo and the RSA make an ad about this type of overtaking..

It should also attract penalty points too (rather than the good auld GS speed trap at 60 km in Kilmac...Sure jaysus, I can do that on my bike!!)

Picture the scene, Sunday morning, not a car on the road...Savage Eye Garda training complete..

"Are you the regishterrrud owner of did veeeehhhhicle?"

Do you know what sshhpeeed you wur traversing at?

"Was it 64 Guard?"

"No, shonny, it was 66, licence,name and address please"

Road safety my ass....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Yesterday was crazy. I saw several incidents of completely unjustified rage against cyclists.

It's almost like the angry little men have synchronized their mental cycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,389 ✭✭✭markpb

enas wrote: »
    I then go to Gardaí straight away to tell all the story I just told here. I am very happy that the Garda took it very seriously.

I'm not a guard but I reckon the reason he seemed to take is seriously is the CCTV evidence. With that, you've crossed the line that turns it from a he-said, she-said into a workable case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Lads I'm not a cyclist - but its only a small few motorists who behave like this .... in general the ignorant/arrogent people who consider themselves to own the road.

I'd like if the RSA did an advert on it as well....more to raise awareness of cyclists and motorcyclists on the roads ..... Unfortunately the "learning to drive" process in this country doesn't give the driver common sense.

Testing System and Roads need to be changed, more gardai on the streets enforcing the basic laws so eventually people's attitudes will change....oh and if anyone does encounter similar problems - goto the gardai and report it...the more reports that are done the more awareness of the problem....the higher the chance of something being done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

Lumen wrote: »
    Yesterday was crazy. I saw several incidents of completely unjustified rage against cyclists.

This is getting a little weird. I've gone months without experiencing or witnessing anything scary/dangerous/reckless and yesterday I witnessed two such incidents, being on the receiving end on one. I work on the premise that every car (and some bicycles:() are controlled by fnuk wits who are liable to do anything and things I ca't even imagine.

Fair play enas for reporting it. Maybe let us know how you get on?

PS: Of course only a small minority of motorists/the general population (which includes cylists and sword swallowers) are idiots, but as a vulnerable road user the healthier option is to operate on the premise that they all are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 frant2

same thing happened me just before Leeson St bridge a Neanderthal in a maroon nissaan car, on my left was looking at me and smiling at me then he started to steer into me so his wing mirror was just under my elbow but i was boxed in so I had a brown trowser moment - in fairness a guy driving a black BMW on my right saw my predicament and braked hard so I had a way out.

I think there are now so many commuting cyclists at junctions that it enrages some drivers to such a frenzy that the will drive to cause trouble not to avoid it. Anyone notice this happens a lot more in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭enas

It's strange but I felt the exact same thing those last two days, that there was some weird kind of "tension", which made me be even more vigilant. And that, after several weeks (I wouldn't say months) of 100% incident-free pleasant city cycling. I was even complaining to my wife, not only nothing was happening those days during my commute (yes, I might be a bit masochistic, but I actually enjoy the adrenaline surge given by the small(ish) incident), but many drivers were actually courteous and overly patient.

Oh, and I never thought bad of the majority of drivers, most of them are sane human beings that wouldn't want to have on their conscience the death or injury of a person. In fact, in most of my commutes, I feel much more threatened by reckless bicycle riders (those RLJ who go nowhere and don't put light at nights).

About reporting to the Gardaí, it was my reasoning indeed that I should report it because I had the CCTV evidence. But, where I was surprised is that the Garda explicitly told me that I should never feel it's useless to report it, even if I only have my own word. So my conclusion was that: you have nothing to lose, it doesn't take that much time, it makes you feel better. So go and report incidents when you feel they're worth reporting. As another poster said, the more incidents are reported, the more seriously the matter will be taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

I am very happy that the Garda took it very seriously.

Never to be heard from again... :(

If they start an investigation into this it will be recorded on the pulse system.

You would get a letter with a case # on it.

I wont get into problems I have had when reporting issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

You know Fencer/TimAllen just bought a big car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭timogen

frant2 wrote: »
    same thing happened me just before Leeson St bridge a Neanderthal in a maroon nissaan car, on my left was looking at me and smiling at me then he started to steer into me so his wing mirror was just under my elbow but i was boxed in so I had a brown trowser moment - in fairness a guy driving a black BMW on my right saw my predicament and braked hard so I had a way out.

I think there are now so many commuting cyclists at junctions that it enrages some drivers to such a frenzy that the will drive to cause trouble not to avoid it. Anyone notice this happens a lot more in the morning.
    Just wondering how you ended up in between two cars with the cycle-lanes there,what way were you travelling?

Never to be heard from again... :(

If they start an investigation into this it will be recorded on the pulse system.

You would get a letter with a case # on it.

I wont get into problems I have had when reporting issues.

Can you be a bit more explicit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 frant2

timogen wrote: »
    Just wondering how you ended up in between two cars with the cycle-lanes there,what way were you travelling?

I was heading into town - I was in Leeson St upper cycle lane until after Traffic Lights at Dartmouth road junction, then I move into middle lane so I can safely get into the right hand turn lane to down fitzwilliam place.
    I ended up between the 2 cars because Maroon Car guy was behind me and then over took me on the inside and than steered into me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Can you be a bit more explicit?

No because I would be wasting my time ... again..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

To be fair to the guards, I've heard them take plenty of these incidents seriously and calling around to houses etc...

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

On my first driving lesson a few years ago, I asked my Instructer has he had any headcases, he told me one. A guy on his very first lesson, so youd think would be nervous, he told me he saw a cyclist on a clear road and started beeping, revving the engine and going nuts. WHats funnier is the the instructor said the cyclist wasnt doing anything wrong!

So yea, these spas have it ingrained from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Jumpy wrote: »
    You know Fencer/TimAllen just bought a big car.

Big, presumably to contain all the thumbtacks he intends to disperse around the roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Big, presumably to contain all the thumbtacks he intends to disperse around the roads...

Little does he know that a gatorskin pumped to 120 would probably just bend the tack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Lumen wrote: »

Two possible explanations (for those of us lucky enough to have a job)
    1. it's probably been 5-6 weeks since we were last paid

2. we're getting our paycheques around now and are starting to realise how badly we've been shafted by the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Beat me to it- I think there's some truth to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Two possible explanations (for those of us lucky enough to have a job)
    1. it's probably been 5-6 weeks since we were last paid

2. we're getting our paycheques around now and are starting to realise how badly we've been shafted by the budget.

yup and people on bikes voted for the Greens so theyre partly responsible...I think this is why a chap in a 08 D massive black Merc tried to drive me into Vincent's A&E yesterday. There does seem to be some awful lunatics on the road at the mo, spidey senses are on full alert but thanks to the chap cycling behind me today who let a roar at the young one who almost crealed me on the canal when she emerged from between cars. (in fairness I saw her thumping the boyfriend after we passed, it was his fault obviously that she wasn't looking left).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭SleepDoc

poochiem wrote: »
    yup and people on bikes voted for the Greens so theyre partly responsible...I think this is why a chap in a 08 D massive black Merc tried to drive me into Vincent's A&E yesterday. There does seem to be some awful lunatics on the road at the mo, spidey senses are on full alert but thanks to the chap cycling behind me today who let a roar at the young one who almost crealed me on the canal when she emerged from between cars. (in fairness I saw her thumping the boyfriend after we passed, it was his fault obviously that she wasn't looking left).

Funny I thought it was just me that was experiencing increased aggression on the roads. Taxi driver forced me to the kerb going around Stephens Green the other night. Extended middle finger, horn from him. Complaint made to the taxi regulator, will follow up with the guards if I don't hear back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Within the last month I had a driver coming from Brunswick Street out onto Church Street upper beep me for no reason, take his seatbelt off and lean out the window shouting at me.
    A chap in his mid 50s calling me a fruitcake in Phibsborough.

Coming off of Bolton Street to head down Kings Inns Street I was first in line ahead of the cars behind. The taxi behind me though couldn't wait and after a break in the traffic as I was turning into Kings Inns Street he came up on my left side and turned right into the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭superrdave

It's strange but I felt the exact same thing those last two days, that there was some weird kind of "tension", which made me be even more vigilant. And that, after several weeks (I wouldn't say months) of 100% incident-free pleasant city cycling. I was even complaining to my wife, not only nothing was happening those days during my commute (yes, I might be a bit masochistic, but I actually enjoy the adrenaline surge given by the small(ish) incident), but many drivers were actually courteous and overly patient.

Not just me then. I almost look out for bad behaviour just so i can shout at motorists.
    I'm a seasoned bicycle commuter, so I rarely get very upset about muppets on the road. But yesterday, it was different to anything I had ever seen.

A guy in his big car starts to tailgate me badly. I noticed it quite quickly thanks to frequent shoulder checks, and my muppet detector went on high. He then decides to pass with the minimum room he could manage, then swerves towards me, cuts in on me, and brake tests me once I'm stuck in the little space left between him and the kerb. All this in drizzly weather. On an empty two lane road. He then leaves (only to get stuck in a long traffic queue a 100 metres further down). Incidentally, this happened as I was exiting a bus lane, so he shouldn't have been behind me at the first place, but anyway. Nothing bad happened fortunately, as I'd managed to anticipate it.

Such a purely deliberate and malicious behaviour is totally impossible to understand. I mean, the worst incidents I usually see can all be put down to drivers impatience. Here, there was absolutely nothing to cause impatience, just an urgent desire to physically get rid of a cyclist it seems. As I passed him further down, I take advantage to memorise his registration, and he takes advantage to stick his middle finger at me.

My general rule is that if I am still angry by the time I wake up the day after, it is worth being angry. This morning it was the case, and decided to report it to the Gardaí. I first returned at the location of the incident to look out for any CCTV camera. I did find two, one from a private building but facing towards the road, and another that looked like a traffic management camera. I ask at the security desk of the said building whether they could see anything of the incident, and fortunately it's all been caught. I then go to Gardaí straight away to tell all the story I just told here.

I am very happy that the Garda took it very seriously. Apparently, he will first have a word with the driver, and then, depending on the evidence (which he reckons seems promising, even though he hasn't seen yet the footage), he could be sent to court. The Garda also seemed happy that there was a passenger in the car, adding another witness I guess. Finally he told me that even without any CCTV evidence, I still should report it, in case either he has a history of similar incidents, or in order to create one.

So my advice to you would be that, if something happens that still leaves you upset the day after, it is important indeed, and is worth mentioning to the Gardaí, without being afraid that you have too little evidence or that it will look unimportant. It's really simple, took me about 15 minutes of my day, and if nothing else, made me feel good.

I'll keep you updated on the outcome, if any.

Tell the guards you want him charged with dangerous driving and failing that section 6 public order (threatening or abusive behaviour, for giving you the finger). Tell him you want him charged with section 53 or failing that 51A or 52. Showing knowledge of the relevant acts will make the guard more likely to think about charging him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Make sure to get the CCTV footage preserved asap.
    CCTV footage is often over written in a very short space of time, critical to get it preserved.....
    Lots of cases have failed on this basis in the recent past.

superrdave wrote: »
    Tell the guards you want him charged with dangerous driving and failing that section 6 public order (threatening or abusive behaviour, for giving you the finger). Tell him you want him charged with section 53 or failing that 51A or 52. Showing knowledge of the relevant acts will make the guard more likely to think about charging him.

Thanks for the hints.

Hi enas, I notice your location says Cork. Where abouts did this incident happen, was it in town? Just curious.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Slightly different incident for me today while driving around town in my taxi.
    Cyclist in front and to the left of me changes to the middle lane of three without indicating his intention to do so. That's bad form in my book so I gave a beep of the horn just as a heads up. When traffic came to halt he approached me wanting to know what the problem was as he said he was quite entitled to change lane. I agreed with him that he was but explained that he hadn't indicated. He accepted my point and we left it at that without the heated exchange one might normally expect.
    It's kinda crazy out there at the mo' but it's not all bad.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Oldlegs

No because I would be wasting my time ... again..

In the same way that there are a few bad cyclists who give the rest of us a bad name, surely we should stray away from the easy stereotype of the Gardai doing f-all.

I was a victim of road-rage which I reported via traffic watch. 2 weeks later I get a call from local Guard. He then followed up with the other party, letting them know that it was up to me whether to press charges. In this instance, the wake-up call from the Guards was all I was looking the person to receive. But I received 2 follow-up calls from the Guards letting me know how things had panned out.

Stephen, you may have had a bad experience, but I suggest that is no reason not to keep reporting incidents as you come across them. Especially where you are able to provide clear details of the aggressor (time, location, car reg, etc.). Obviously CCTV is a great help :D

Hi enas, I notice your location says Cork. Where abouts did this incident happen, was it in town? Just curious.

Yes it was in town indeed. I would be a bit paranoid to give more details - that's probably unjustified, but I'm not sure if it is legal or not (I kept my story as vague as possible on purpose). I'll keep you updated on the outcome, including with actual details if that's possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭SurferDude41

From my own experiance, the Gardai don't take dangerous and threatening behaviour towards cyclists seriously.
    I was squeezed off the road by a muppet boy racer , several years ago. I got the idiots reg number, and made a complaint to the cops.
    The upshot was, the Gardai decided not to pursue the matter as I wasn't injured.

I wish to stress, 99.9 percent of motorists are very courteous towards cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

As an SUV driver in Cork I can promise you it wasn't me :D

As an ex-cyclist I can understand the muppetry you guys encounter, and always go out of my way to give cyclists a wide berth. Glad you weren't hurt and hope the Guards give the guy a good talking to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Saw a minor case of rage, well more just a little big of anger really, last night. But this time it was from a cyclist. Was sitting at lights waiting to turn from Auburn Avenue into Castleknock village last night when a cyclist, all lit up and dressed appropriately, broke the red light as a car, coming from the Phoenix Park direction, had the green light to turn onto Auburn Avenue. The driver beeped and the cyclist made a gesture as if to say piss off I'm doing nothing wrong. The driver just shrugged him off and away she went.

Now this guy looked as if he should have known better, and as there was traffic coming from 3 directions all stopped and being able to see this muppet, that's a lot of people potentially thinking ******* cyclists are idiots. That's road is on my commuting route and I don't want to be seen as a potential target next time I have to use that junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Hermy wrote: »
    Slightly different incident for me today while driving around town in my taxi.
    Cyclist in front and to the left of me changes to the middle lane of three without indicating his intention to do so. That's bad form in my book so I gave a beep of the horn just as a heads up. When traffic came to halt he approached me wanting to know what the problem was as he said he was quite entitled to change lane. I agreed with him that he was but explained that he hadn't indicated. He accepted my point and we left it at that without the heated exchange one might normally expect.
    It's kinda crazy out there at the mo' but it's not all bad.

that would have been me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

well I posted a thread here before about being threatened by a chap in a van. on consideration I reported it to TrafficWatch and within a few months I got a call back from a local Garda to say he'd had a word with the driver (someone that other boardsies have encountered on the road) and he was contrite; more importantly he was now 'known to the gardai' as it were.

If you think the issue was one that could have been dangerous or the actions, if taken again, could endanger another person then it's definitely worth at least a call to traffic watch.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

barrabus wrote: »
    that would have been me..

:o

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

As a cyclist and motorist I think it would be a good idea for regular driving tests. You need to get your driving licence every 10 years, so how about some sort of test (maybe a shorter version of the normal test). I think they do this in Sweden, though I'm not sure.

Some people learned to drive before we had roundabouts and never learned how to use them. This is annoying to me as a motorist, and more annoying to me as a cyclist.

Also I think a psyche test might be appropriate. Show the person a kitten, then a cyclist. If their blood pressure goes up they fail the psyche test :)

Also I agree 100% with road safety ads targeted both at cyclists and motorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

dayshah wrote: »
    Show the person a kitten, then a cyclist. If their blood pressure goes up they fail the psyche test :)
    But i'm allergic to and have been attacked by a cyclist kitten... So I'd be fecked:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

Just wondering how the OP got on?

i was forced to ask a friend the same question this morning - i.e. can a cyclist report a road rage incident?

I actually didn't get the guys reg this morning, as i was quite upset, i'm still a bit shaky :( (i am a girl afterall!), and he sped away when a crowd/traffic was starting to form, but just wanted to know for future reference. In fact, similar stuff has happened to me before, like the above ^ posts, i.e. being squeezed off the road for no reason etc, but this morning was the worst with the driver very verbally agressive. It really makes me wonder if i should just give up cycling altogether!!! It just makes me feel very powerless, and especially threatened this morning.

In fact i'm delighted to see the above posts mention months of rage free cycling, i would love that! Maybe it's just my route in Dublin, but i'm involved in what i would call an 'incident'*, probably 2-3 times a week. [my commute is a half hour each way]

*incident meaning for example, being in the gutter (cycle lane :)) on the left behind a car in the left or right lane that is not indicating, which then swings over to turn left when the lights change, cutting me off; and it's cousin - motorists swerving across 2 lanes (and the bike lane) to make a turn; tailgating so badly in the cylce lane that i am forced to dismount; pausing as if intending to yield right of way, then when they realise it's only a cyclist, gunning it, forcing me off the road, depending on the location; motorists passing me dangerously close causing me to swerve off the road; motorists going through proper red lights when i am turning, cutting me off [although that affects all the other road users!]

Am i too sensitive? i'd love to hear what other cyclists or motorists consider normal?

btw i do follow the rules of the road but i'm not a granny cyclist, and i love getting a bit of speed up! [i follow the rules of the road for 2 reasons - 1. we probably should, and it's definitely what cyclists have a bad name for! 2. Cus then if any serious incident ever happened i could say that i was 100% following the rules]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

You have to be assertive on the road. So for example, do not stay in the cycle lane where people are cutting you off, you have to move out into the lane, center lane, bottle other traffic behind you as you pass the side road, then move back. However IMO its not reasonable to do this, if you are moving very slowly. You should only do this if you can maintain a good speed, if possible match the speed of the traffic.

If you are not moving at a good speed or are uncomfortable with certain roads. Then you should find a different route with roads you are more comfortable. My own route home is about 10 mins longer than the direct route because I want to avoid certain roads/junctions. The rule about staying left in the cycle lane, is in my opinion actually dangerous in some circumstances.Drivers and politician, and rule makers are not going to understand that unless they have some experience of cycling. Most don't, so can't understand why cyclist move out of the cycle lane.

If a motorist does something dangerous, it should be reported, as its usually something they do out of habit, and almost certain to repeat it.

hey thanks for that Boston, i understand what you're saying.

i suppose i could change my route, that is probably what i will have to end up doing, but it bugs me - i should be able to use the route i want without having to worry about the other road users abusing/crushing me!

i do think you're right about being assertive, and i do think i am to a certain extent, definitely more so now than when i started, but i also value my body parts where they are, and often i will back off or jam on to avoid a collision, even when i am in the right, to avoid being flattened which i suppose is the triumph of rationality over assertiveness!

and i agree about non-cyclists not understanding. my boyfriend just recently started cycling, and now he's all safety concious for me, as he realises how dangerous it is!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Feu wrote: »
    and i agree about non-cyclists not understanding. my boyfriend just recently started cycling, and now he's all safety concious for me, as he realises how dangerous it is!!

I wouldn't put it quite like that. It can be intimidating alright, but it's not very dangerous really. Have a read of Cyclecraft. It's available in the public library system. Or else PM and I'll send you a copy of good leaflet the Galway Cycling Campaign did, based on Cyclecraft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I should clarifiy... Being assertive, taking the correct position on the road, and lane is one thing. Sticking yourself in harms way because you've right of way against a couple of ton metal who doesn't care, is lunacy.

I have to say I don't see much of that kinda driving. But maybe I'm more aware of pre-empting it, though I've not much experience, a few months and you learn a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

I'm a cyclist, motorcyclist and motorist so in general can see the thing that annoy all parties.

Since starting cycling I've realised how many bad drivers there are an have had two incidents in th last 3 weeks.

First one and old dear nearly swerved not my wife as sh was drivin along and swerved winding down the passenger window to tell my her she was going to slow to be using the roads.

Second one I was in a bus lane when a taxi driver came up behind me beeped the horn and then swerved towards me gesturing that I shouldn't be in that lane.

In future I will get license numbers and report.

thanks for the responses folkls :) i don't know any other cyclists really. well one kamikaze kourier!
    tomasrojo wrote: »
    I wouldn't put it quite like that. It can be intimidating alright, but it's not very dangerous really. Have a read of Cyclecraft. It's available in the public library system. Or else PM and I'll send you a copy of good leaflet the Galway Cycling Campaign did, based on Cyclecraft.

thanks for that tomasi'd be interested to read it alright. maybe it's just my route, i don't think i cycle "differently" to other people, and as i said, i always follow the rules of the road.

i do think i'm getting mixed messages tho, safety wise. I've seen recent letters in the Times from Irish cycling organisations (sorry not sure which ones!) saying how there is a misperception that cycling is dangerous, and how essentially politicians and the meedja should tone down that message to get more people out cycling. ok grand.

But, my own experience seems to contradict this, and as i say, i don't think i'm doing it weird :D. Also, i was stopped by the guards last year, as i didn't have my white light on the front of my bike (it had been stolen yet again the previous evening, i'm a divil for forgetting to remove it if leaving my bike for any length of time), anyway, i told the guard that it had been nicked, and he said fair enough, you can make a complaint at the station when you "present" yourself there next weekend to show that you actually have a light :rolleyes:. ok, fair enough i didn't have a light, and he was sound enough, but as he was telling me this at the side of the road, at least 20 cyclists went by without helmets, which did make me mad!

Then he proceeded to tell me, as the hatless cycled by, that these spot checks were a new initiative by the guards and the roads authority to make cyclists more visible due to the number of fatalities and accidents of cyclists in recent months [this would have been christmas last year]caused by motorists!!!! So, rather than educate/re-educate motorists, it was make cyclists more visible. So if the guards were concerned enough about the number of injuries and fatalities, then surely it must be dangerous?Dublin [sorry not sure about the situation in other areas :)]
    BostonB wrote: »
    I have to say I don't see much of that kinda driving. But maybe I'm more aware of pre-empting it, though I've not much experience, a few months and you learn a lot.

and yep i've been back cycling for 4 years, commuting all over the city, but now that i come to think about it, i've always had the worst incidents probably within a 3k radius of my home, in the rathgar/miltown/rathmines area. I definitely pre-empt, you can usually tell the muppets on mobile phones coming a mile away, and i give them a very wide berth. That's how i've not been squashed to date, but it's only because i'm hyper-vigilant. But the number of near squishings is getting big...
    BostonB wrote: »
    I should clarifiy... Being assertive, taking the correct position on the road, and lane is one thing. Sticking yourself in harms way because you've right of way against a couple of ton metal who doesn't care, is lunacy.
    agreed :pac:
    I'm a cyclist, motorcyclist and motorist so in general can see the thing that annoy all parties.

Since starting cycling I've realised how many bad drivers there are an have had two incidents in th last 3 weeks.

It was only when i had to take the driver theory test that i even realised how much more drivers were breaking the rules than i even thought!

Lights are a legal requirement, helmets are not. Gardaí can't stop cyclists for not wearing a helmet.

The Garda safety campaign has been commented on elsewhere in the forum. Essentially, their crackdown on lightless cycling is perfectly defensible, but because cycling fatality statistics are rather low and falling, they grouped motorcyclists, pedestrians and cyclists together as "vulnerable road users" to get a more impressive sounding death total.

I'll PM you a link to that Galway Cycling Campaign leaflet. If you are constantly having near misses, you are almost certainly doing something wrong; or, to put it another way, there are strategies -- which are not blindingly obvious -- that you can use to reduce the number of unpleasant incidents.

EDIT: monument's informative post on the Garda checkpoint initiative:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71603180&postcount=351

On the subject of cycling no differently from others and following the rules of the road: most cyclists in Ireland cycle badly, with no idea of how to position themselves on the road, or how to look over their shoulder before attempting manoeuvres; similarly, the rules of the road contains very little useful advice for cyclists. Cyclecraft is a far better guide to using the road on a bike.

thanks for that Tomas, good resource alright, definitely a good one for beginner cyclists. I believe i am adhering to all the tips advised in it, in fact that's what confuses me - i believe i am being safe, and i'm hypervigilant, but i still seem to be on the receiving end of opened doors etc. but i will also watch myself over the next few days and see if i could be doing more [or less] and also try and vary my route.

-edit: when i said i don't cycle differently i was meaning in some way weirdly! There certainly is a huge variety of cycling "skill" out there.

i'm a pretty zen person, but it makes my blood boil when i see motorists constantly breaking the rules of the road, and then i get roared at to boot!

any advice as to how to diffuse a road rage incident? i kind of froze up this morning

Changing your route might help. If there's a particular street that causes you problems, try using a calmer street, if there is one. People often fall into the habit of following the route a bus uses, or the route they would drive. It's not always the best route for a bike.

Opening doors: you should cycle outside the "door zone" of parked cars. If passing cars make this difficult, your only option to find another route or else cycle slowly while you're in the door zone, to give you time to respond and also to minimise harm if you're unlucky enough to hit the door.