Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suggested questions for policitians

• 26-01-2011 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭

Just some suggested questions to ask them (please feel free to add):

1. why isn't the election on a Saturday to make it as easy for people to vote as possible? ( they'll say you can vote Fri until 10pm but I think Saturday would be better)
    2. What is the correct salary for a TD in your opinion ? More/Less than current
    3. would you be in favour of reducing the holidays for TDs?
    4. What is the first thing you will do if you get elected?
    5. If they're FF- the non-holding of by elections (Donegal & Waterford I think). To justify why ye didn't hold them ( they say it would distract from the 'tasks at hand)

Cheers,
    Pa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

you know they'll just give the answers that you want to hear and then walk away.

Personally I'd rather ask stuff like -

in regards to your "ministers salary question" - I'd ask ...why do ministers need "expenses" if they are paid so much money.

What's your plans with regards to the judicial system - giving larger sentences and removing remission for repeat offenders, any plans to name/publicise child criminals - why are they hidden from the public - these kids are very important to major criminals ..and on that point why are they not given proper sentences.

Any chance of reviewing the medical system - its a bit of a farce paying a doctor approx €50 just to say I have a cold/flu....or needing to goto a doctor (any paying money) to get a referral for a consultant.

Do you personally (the politician) have any experience at government level?

Why is the Social Welfare system not stopped for convicted criminals.

Why are the roads in sh1t? ...what happens to the money from "plastic bag levy" ? , why are there not enough gardai on the streets, why do criminals have no fear of the justice system?

Who are the current political advisors and will they still have their jobs after the next election? if so, ...why? why does any minister need to have a car paid for them - can they not afford their own?

Why do we continually pay for former ministers/taoisí (I think thats the plural of taoiseach) and their spouses?

Why are ministers not responsible for mistakes which cost the taxpayer money? Why is there no accountability for ministers ? why do ministers have "ministerial immunity" going to and from the dáil ?

meh ...I could go on and on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

What could be interesting is asking them "do you mind if I record our converstation"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

dinneenp wrote: »
    What could be interesting is asking them "do you mind if I record our converstation"....

Well then they would refuse and quite rightly imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

For FF:

How are you going to eradicate croneyism, clientelism and corruption from yoru parties affairs?

Have you any intention of returning to your social democratic roots?

You have the lowest percentage of females of any party. Why is it so difficult for females to get involved in your party? What are you going to do to make your party more representative of the population?

For FG:

Why did you claim that the country would see a 4.5% growth in 2007 when this forecast implied sustaining the property bubble?

Did you predict the crash and if so why were your policies so at odds with this prediction?

Explain why the public should not view bringing the election forward by 2 weeks as a political stunt to further weaken FF that could backfire with the non passing of the Finance Bill to teyh detriment of the country.

What do you intend to do to protect the children of this country in light of the various reports on child abuse?

Will you be using gender quotas in this election? If not Why not?

For Labour:

Spell out your economic policies.

Will you be using gender quotas in this election? If not Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No candidate would agree to that
    And if they did they'd just give you the same speech they give to the local journalists.

All guardians get child allowance, no matter how large their income is (even if earn over €1million).
    Same with old age pension. this was proposed to be changed but the government backed down.
    Would you propose to change either/both of these and apply a cut off limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Just some suggested questions to ask them (please feel free to add):

1. why isn't the election on a Saturday to make it as easy for people to vote as possible? ( they'll say you can vote Fri until 10pm but I think Saturday would be better)
    2. What is the correct salary for a TD in your opinion ? More/Less than current
    3. would you be in favour of reducing the holidays for TDs?
    4. What is the first thing you will do if you get elected?
    5. If they're FF- the non-holding of by elections (Donegal & Waterford I think). To justify why ye didn't hold them ( they say it would distract from the 'tasks at hand)

Cheers,
    Pa

I don't see any point in asking any of these questions, except maybe
    2 and even at that its not going to be their call unless they are front bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

T runner wrote: »

For Labour:

Spell out your economic policies.

You'll be referred to their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Is there water on the moon?

You can be sure the answer will still take at least a hundred words and make oblique but non-binding references to the economy, jobs, social reform, policital reform, the mess that FF has left behind ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I put them in a scenario.

You have 10 euro and you can only create 5 government departments. What departments will your create? And how much of the 10 euro will you allocate to each department.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I'd want them to sign the ULA pledge and also ask them to pledge to only accept the average industrial wage and donate the rest to community projects in their constituencies. If they won't do it, I won't vote for them. I sent it to Catherine Murphy in North Kildare, I won't even bother with the rest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I really don't think I'd have the patience or self control to answer the door to one of them, such is the depth of my cynicism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Do you support the separation of church and state. For example:
    The nationalisation of primary schools (taking the church out).
    The reform of the constitution
    The holding of an abortion referendum
    An easing of the laborious process to achieve divorce.
    Full rights for all couples regardless of gender or sexual orientation to marry if they want.
    Adoption rights equal for all couples.
    Equal rights for men and women regarding child access/custody rights.

What are you beliefs regarding privatisation of public services and companies:
    Hospitals
    Schools
    Transport Infrastructure
    Transport Suppliers
    Energy
    Communications
    Banks
    etc.

Do you feel that the rich should bear more burden in order to keep social services at a generous level?

What is your stance on the Northern Ireland issue?

Would you consider going into coalition with Sinn Féin?

What Oireachtas reform would you like to see happening?

What's your stance on benchmarking and the strength and function of unions in these negotiations?

What's you vision of Ireland as a society? Do you feel we need stricter laws and ensure compliance? Or do you feel that people should assume more personal responsibility and freedom to make their own judgement?

There are probably loads more too...