Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda knocked down by escaped cow

• 26-01-2011 11:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

a cow from ennis mart knocked a garda down yesterday:eek: full story on breaking news... i am not good at copying and pasting:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/garda-knocked-down-by-escaped-cow-in-clare-490798.html

Thats two points at least.
    The cow was eventually brought under control and forced into a nearby field where it remains this morning.
    Forced, sure he was probably only acting the bullocks

il get me coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Picture of the culprit here;
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-hurt-after-mad-cow-runs-wild-2511061.html

I see she has only one tag aswell. Wouldn't blame the farmer for not tagging her.
    No limousin or saler breeding there either.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

he will have a job to sell that one after her display :D:D
    although i have seen one of my own cows go ape sh1t after coming out of a box and she is normally quiet
    the ispca warden was talking of putting her down but sure maybe she has calmed today..
    fella near home bought a bull a few years back..prob sedated for sale..went bananas when he arrived to his new home, nearly did in a few people, army has to shoot him for a finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭dryan

You just never know, do ya?
    Only a few years back, had a bad experience with a bullock.

Like all the rest, he was quiet enough.
    Mid summer, noticed a white spot on his eye, got the trailer, got them all into the pen and proceded to load him up to bring him home to treat the eye.
    Once he entered the trailer, he lost it. Broke out, leaped the pen, made bits of a geavy duty galvanised gate, bought all fences before him.
    The chase went on for 2 days.
    In the mean time, he broke out with neighbours cattle, started a stampeed and led them all into a drain where one was killed.
    Eventually, i got him into a river.
    Put a halter on him in the river (he went for me many times).
    Lifted him out of the river with front loader and led him home to the shed. Jesus, he put up some fight, nearly killed himself against the loader a few times. Kept him on halter in shed till he was finished and in the lorry on the way to factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

I had a good big Charolais heifer that didnt seem to be taking to meal and silage as normal. Decided to get her in to the crush to give the vet a look at her. Thats when the fun started.

Got her up the crush but as soon as the vet pulled up, she reared up on the hind legs and out over the wall of the crush. Took to the road, through a ditch and in to a field. When I tried to turn her back she headed straight for me, went through a fence ad on to another field. At that stage, I figured there wasn't too much wrong so let her off! Let her settle before driving her back. Was grand and quiet after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

fella near home bought a bull a few years back..prob sedated for sale..went bananas when he arrived to his new home, nearly did in a few people, army has to shoot him for a finish!

If this was case, I hope the seller had bad luck a long time after, it was very irresponsible. I’m lucky to be alive after my own bull and stories like this are wrong:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

I was in Ennis yesterday, she was a deadly b1tch, only one thing on her mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

snowman707 wrote: »
    i'd say it was scary....

snowman707 wrote: »
    Did you see what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

When is a cow not a cow?

When she's turned into a field....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

whelan1 wrote: »
    i'd say it was scary....
    I'd say it was blown up more on the paper. One farmer screaming for a shotgun or rifle :rolleyes: Never yet heard a farmer screaming never mind wanting to shoot a healthy animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I remember when I worked in a meat factory and I went to read an ear tag on a heifer that was loose in a pen. Thought that I could get close enough to her to read the big yellow tag. I started calling out the number to the department guy when yelled WATCH OUT. Another heifer in the pen went for me and I got the hands down as her head was coming towards me. I was able to use her head to push myself around a corner.
    I found out who owned to animal and realised he was up in the canteen waiting for his battle to be slaughtered and graded.
    I went to him and said he should warn us of any feisty animals. His reply was
    "Ah, the wee black one? She's a lively one alright."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

pakalasa wrote: »
    Did you see what happened?

Not really,
    I dropped a load of cattle and was having a bit of grub in the canteen, heard sirens and when I was leaving the mart she was coming back up toward the mart with a cop car and blue lights behind her and a paddy wagon farther back , she was fairly well panned out at this stage , I was waiting to come out the gate near the nct and a couple of guys attempted to turn her into the mart at the other gate and she went for them.

she was just watching for her next victim at all times, I went out the quin road and I think she turned in to the right.

I think the only way to control a mad animal like that is to let out another older cow to her. They'd laugh if you suggested it, but it's the only way she'd calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Good job the Ennis cow, didn't decide to go shopping like the one in Ballinrobe :D:D:D http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8utcbh54IA8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

pakalasa wrote: »
    I think the only way to control a mad animal like that is to let out another older cow to her. They'd laugh if you suggested it, but it's the only way she'd calm down.

It probably would have been a help alright. Not a good idea to have any animal on their own. Saying that when their gone cracked like that, nothing or no one will stop them . . . easily:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Good job the Ennis cow, didn't decide to go shopping like the one in Ballinrobe :D:D:D http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8utcbh54IA8

couldnt stop laughing at the farmer doing a u turn and the bullock quick on his heels
    nice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

dar31 wrote: »
    couldnt stop laughing at the farmer doing a u turn and the bullock quick on his heels
    nice one
    best laugh i had in ages :D