Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Van in Fermoy this morning

• 26-01-2011 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭

Just outside the 80kph sign on the old Cork/Fermoy road.
    if you are familiar with the area it is a hundred meters or so on the Cork side of Cavanaghs Car Sales parked in on the left obviously catching drivers doing over 60kph coming onto the 80kph stretch
    White transit 10Ky

Be careful.. That stretch of road is notorious for accidents doing over 60kph :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

If it was unmarked (as in plain white and not livered up) then it's probably the same one I saw on a perfectly straight stretch of the Mallow road last week ... where there's an overtaking lane :rolleyes:

It was parked about a mile too far in the Cork direction for it to be any use as a safety van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

See one on N25. Between New Ross and Wexford Town. Small place called Ballinaboola. Just past the Horse & Hound Inn. Left hand side of the road heading for Wexford. They are parked 10 metres past boundary of the 60 km going into 100km zone. Van pointed into 60 km zone. Have seen this van 4 times. Red transit 10 KY reg. Van has stickers on it to be fair.

Take care boys & girls

So much for apparent Garda policy that these vans will concentrate on areas of high risk with history of R.T.A.'s.... I'm living in this area 14 years and there has never been an accident in this area as far as my memory can recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 JA.PX.200

This Morning one was in Bray Co.Wicklow,it was a white Ford Transit, didnt get the Reg but seen the Camera Lens,,,,,it was parked at the entrance to JJ Lowel Haulage just before Ardmore Film Studios on Herbert Road, a 50kmh zone.
    I would say they cleaned up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Top Dog wrote: »
    If it was unmarked (as in plain white and not livered up) then it's probably the same one I saw on a perfectly straight stretch of the Mallow road last week ... where there's an overtaking lane :rolleyes:

It was parked about a mile too far in the Cork direction for it to be any use as a safety van

Not a marking on it,
    Hump in the roof for the aircon..
    Blackened windows on the back..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Guess they were busy round Cork this morning - red marked van on the Fota Rd this morning c. 7.45. Only straight stretch on an ex-80 but now 60 kph road. Interestingly, I saw a similar van parked at the same spot the other evening with no markings - presumably this was 'surveying' for good spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 mantaman

vectra wrote: »
    if you are familiar with the area it is a hundred meters or so on the Cork side of Cavanaghs Car Sales parked in on the left obviously catching drivers doing over 60kph coming onto the 80kph stretch
    White transit 10Ky

Be careful.. That stretch of road is notorious for accidents doing over 60kph :D

Ah balls!!!!!
    Passed there at about 9 this morning, never spotted it. Was it there then?
    Had to make a call in Fermoy and had to be in Horse&Jockey for 10, so might have been a little over the 60kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Guess they were busy round Cork this morning - red marked van on the Fota Rd this morning c. 7.45. Only straight stretch on an ex-80 but now 60 kph road. Interestingly, I saw a similar van parked at the same spot the other evening with no markings - presumably this was 'surveying' for good spots.

Think I passed the same van later today on the way to Whitegate. These things are supposed to stand out a mile and be clearly marked. This was a filthy wine red colour, with mostly dark and red signage on it. Nothing really stood out to me - especially the long, straight, beautifully surfaced road it was on. I was well under the speed limit anyway, but it pissed me off to see the condition of it, how anonymous it looked, and the type or road it was on.

mantaman wrote: »
    Ah balls!!!!!
    Passed there at about 9 this morning, never spotted it. Was it there then?
    Had to make a call in Fermoy and had to be in Horse&Jockey for 10, so might have been a little over the 60kph.

I passed it at 8.0 AM on the way to Cork.
    On my return it was still in the same spot which was probably around 9.40 AM

Not a marking on it,
    Hump in the roof for the aircon..
    Blackened windows on the back..
    Sounds like the same one alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Think I passed the same van later today on the way to Whitegate. These things are supposed to stand out a mile and be clearly marked. This was a filthy wine red colour, with mostly dark and red signage on it. Nothing really stood out to me - especially the long, straight, beautifully surfaced road it was on. I was well under the speed limit anyway, but it pissed me off to see the condition of it, how anonymous it looked, and the type or road it was on.
    now that you mention it, I thought the one this morning didn't really ' stand out' either - while the signs were on it, they were not really reflective and it had no lights on. Tbh, given that it was dark at the time, I'd nearly say it was parked dangerously.

He must have made a killing yesterday.. he was back again this morning.. Saw him @ 9 AM when I was heading to Cork..He was gone at 10.20 when I returned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Are these fines not null/void in any case? They are breaking the agreed implementation requirements:
    • Accident Black Spots where lives HAVE been lost
    • Local Council MUST have signs to indicate Speed Trap area

Any case for these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Piri

I saw another van driving on the Fermoy bridge yesterday afternoon
    10KY ...

Spotted a red van (livered up this time) on the Ringaskiddy road at 9.30pm this evening. Followed by marked Garda car on the South ring just by the slip-road to Carrigaline. And ANOTHER marked car just below Silversprings Hotel where it drops to 60kph just before the sliproad to take the north ring.

Is there some blitz on in Cork County this week or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Piri

The weather is good for catching people driving too fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

cabledude wrote: »
    See one on N25. Between New Ross and Wexford Town. Small place called Ballinaboola. Just past the Horse & Hound Inn. Left hand side of the road heading for Wexford. They are parked 10 metres past boundary of the 60 km going into 100km zone. Van pointed into 60 km zone. Have seen this van 4 times. Red transit 10 KY reg. Van has stickers on it to be fair.

Take care boys & girls

So much for apparent Garda policy that these vans will concentrate on areas of high risk with history of R.T.A.'s.... I'm living in this area 14 years and there has never been an accident in this area as far as my memory can recall.

No fatalities in Ballinboola but there was three accidents outside the horse and hound last year. The whole stretch of road from new ross to there has seen alot of fatalities in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭hairy sailor

seen one 3 times in the past month outside portarlington,laois where the road suddenly goes from 80-60 kmh,never heard of anyone killed there before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

White transit 10Ky

nice to see the guardai doing really workmanlike duty on our roads....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

seen one 3 times in the past month outside portarlington,laois where the road suddenly goes from 80-60 kmh,never heard of anyone killed there before

this 60-80km hour crap is ridiculous, makes the guards look like pathetic losers

nice to see the guardai doing really workmanlike duty on our roads....:rolleyes:

It is not the Guards...... it was the revenue ven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Wibbler

I 'encountered' a Garda speed van at the bend leading to the M1 from the Airport at 7am yesterday morning.

It's a 60km/h zone dual carriageway, and while there's a bit of merging going on there, there is good visibility so I don't think it needs such a low limit to be safe. In fact, in trying to stick to 60km/h at this spot on either carriageway in traffic is hard because the engineering suggests a higher limit. It's very easy to have faster drivers zip up behind you and sit on your rear bumper.

This is now a favoured spot for these vans and also in the other direction I've recently seen them out with a tripod mounted camera.

I'm usually very diligent with keeping to the speed limit, but on this occasion it wasn't in my mind so I was over and got flashed. Own stupid fault. What annoys me though is that I've 15 years of driving with not so much as a parking ticket and yet it's so easy to net 2 points and a wallet adjustment for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

No fatalities in Ballinboola but there was three accidents outside the horse and hound last year. The whole stretch of road from new ross to there has seen alot of fatalities in fairness.

Fair enough but the van did not have sight of the junctions at Horse & Hound heading for Old Ross or indeed junction heading for Carnagh/Cassaigh. This van was parked on the Wexford side of Ballinaboola. The idea is that when people pass the three junctions in Ballinaboola, they put the shoe down approaching the long stretch. I do not care what anyone says on this issue, this van is parked at this spot to catch lads doing 65 ish coming out of a 60km zone. Its a cynical revenue raising exercise. Safety is not any concern of these vans. If safety were a concern this van would be parked on the other side of the road and pointing down the 100km zone i.e. coming into Ballinaboola from Wexford. The camera is parked in the 100 and pointed into the 60 zone. Fines, fines, fines, fines. Safety does not come into it.

If safety was the concern why not park near Begerin Hill? That part of road has seen lots of crashes. But then again they wouldn't have a fraction of the fines then would they?

You local?

Have to agree with Cabledude that its just a revenue generator. Was confirmed for me tonight when I saw yet another van (this time silver and unmarked) parked up outside Mallow Racecourse around 9pm on a stretch of road that had its speed limit reduced only in the last few months. I've been living in the area now for near 7 years and I've never witnessed, nor heard any reports of, any accidents on that particular stretch of road - not even 2 miles each side of where the van was positioned.

Safety van my foot.