Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice for a total watch novice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

If an automatic diver-style watch is an option, you might also want to consider this one.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ORIENT-Automatic-professional-Diver-CEM65005DV/dp/B001AIZL8W/ref=sr_1_9?s=watch&ie=UTF8&qid=1295986003&sr=1-9

By all accounts they are pretty good value for money and come in different colours and with different straps

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ORIENT-Automatic-professional-Diver-CEM65001B/dp/B001AZGU76/ref=sr_1_1?s=watch&ie=UTF8&qid=1295986322&sr=1-1

As for servicing an automatic watch ...well yes, it will need a service at some point. But by that time (if you wear it every day) it will probaly have suffered quite a bit and will need more than just a good clean at which point buying another, new, affordable watch might be the more financially sound option.
    At least, until then, you won't have to spend another cent on it for batteries :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Flashwatches

I would go with the Seiko or the Rotary, but would not advise an Invicta, They get nothing but bad bad reviews on the watch forums.

Let us know what you get in the end.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Shannoner

Right lads, thanks for all the advice. Budget has been increased and this is now the front runner.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190494973592&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

For the extra €50 or so I can get a nice Seiko. Good choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

they're great and very popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Flashwatches

Good choice. ;)

there's also the SKX007K2 too WetWrist2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭corpo3030

Yes definitely the Seiko you just posted, its on my watch list for this year too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They're a really good watch. You wont be disappointed. had one myself. Very robust, good timekeeper too. Defo a step up from the quartz ones in the list. Good choice. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

Hi!

Sorry but I'm gonna jump on board this thread, bit of watch novice myself but I love watches, always have. I'd love to be able to afford an Omega Seamaster but due to being a student I'll have to settle for something cheaper for now

I'm looking for an automatic watch with a black leather strap, circular face, decent brand, anything but seiko, I have too many seiko's! My budget is no more than 500euro so I hope to find something decent for that!
    I'm lookin for a classy watch, not a sporty one.

all recommendations great full

thanks

good brand? would they be better than seiko?

they're german and hand assembled (as far as i remember)
    very classic style and a insanely long history
    the were making watches during the second world war

stunning watch!

do u guys recommend any other brands? thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    Hi!

Sorry but I'm gonna jump on board this thread,
    NO! You can't! Shakes mod fist! Nobody listen to me anyway, so ignore :D
    bit of watch novice myself but I love watches, always have. I'd love to be able to afford an Omega Seamaster but due to being a student I'll have to settle for something cheaper for now
    We've all been there. Many of us still are but then fall into "that new Sinn/IWC/Omega looks really nice".... :)
    I'm looking for an automatic watch with a black leather strap, circular face, decent brand, anything but seiko, I have too many seiko's! My budget is no more than 500euro so I hope to find something decent for that!
    I'm lookin for a classy watch, not a sporty one.
    I'm with bedlam on this one. The Stowa are v v nice watches with a great history and having seen one of their newer offerings up close they're not ruining that history. Defo a top pick.

Now you might *cough* go vintage too. 500 quid could get you some nice watches. Bit more of a learning curve though and getting something close to a modern size that is daily wearable might be a stretch in your price bracket. here's some Omega's to give you a vague idea vintage wise; http://finertimes.com/asp/watches/query.asp?Title=Custom+Search&Where=%28TypeCode=1%29AND%28Man_Code=%2786%27%29AND%28Publish_Price%3C=500%29

TBH I reckon the Stowa is your best bet and a damn good choice.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    NO! You can't! Shakes mod fist! Nobody listen to me anyway, so ignore :D We've all been there. Many of us still are but then fall into "that new Sinn/IWC/Omega looks really nice".... :)

I'm with bedlam on this one. The Stowa are v v nice watches with a great history and having seen one of their newer offerings up close they're not ruining that history. Defo a top pick.

Now you might *cough* go vintage too. 500 quid could get you some nice watches. Bit more of a learning curve though and getting something close to a modern size that is daily wearable might be a stretch in your price bracket. here's some Omega's to give you a vague idea vintage wise; http://finertimes.com/asp/watches/query.asp?Title=Custom+Search&Where=%28TypeCode=1%29AND%28Man_Code=%2786%27%29AND%28Publish_Price%3C=500%29

TBH I reckon the Stowa is your best bet and a damn good choice.

thanks again! :)

My last watch snapped off my wrist in a nightclub, and I feel totally naked without a watch at the mo!

I have the smallest wrists in the world! girly wrists lol I'd love to get a watch with a bracelet but my wrists are just tiny the watch looks awful on me for some reason!

I tried a few on before in shops and the sales assistants say I'd be better getting a watch with a strap cause its more suitable for my wrist (anyone come across this before?!) which is a shame cause my fav watch is the omega seamaster! mr bond himself:cool: lol

I'm in my early 20s so I'm not looking for anything that say an older gentleman would wear (am I being polite enough but yet getting my point across?:D)

I'v been looking for a watch for a while and nothing stands out, unless its crazy money! I'm looking for a cheaper version of a tag carrera or something along those lines!

I'm hard to pls I know, but to me, a watch is more than just a something on my wrist that tells me the time, I hope u guys understand!

keep the suggestions coming!

I have the smallest wrists in the world! girly wrists lol
    I doubt it. I get 9 year olds telling me I need to beef up. :D
    I'd love to get a watch with a bracelet but my wrists are just tiny the watch looks awful on me for some reason!

I tried a few on before in shops and the sales assistants say I'd be better getting a watch with a strap cause its more suitable for my wrist (anyone come across this before?!)
    Yep I have and we wouldnt be the only ones either.
    which is a shame cause my fav watch is the omega seamaster! mr bond himself:cool: lol
    Ya better start saving up cos the real Bond watch is a Rolex...
    Goldfinger_Rolex-strap21.jpg
    With an undersized very dodgy and very cheap 1960's nylon coloured strap :)
    I'm in my early 20s so I'm not looking for anything that say an older gentleman would wear (am I being polite enough but yet getting my point across?:D)
    Banned. :)
    I'v been looking for a watch for a while and nothing stands out, unless its crazy money! I'm looking for a cheaper version of a tag carrera or something along those lines!
    So are you looking for a chronograph, a watch with a couple of dials? In that case at that price point we're looking at quartz I reckon.
    I'm hard to pls I know, but to me, a watch is more than just a something on my wrist that tells me the time, I hope u guys understand!
    I think you'll find we do. Nature of the forum an all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Shannoner

Thanks for all the advice guys, I have just ordered this

http://cgi.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200569332949&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:IE:1123

I do a lot of boating, but no diving :rolleyes: so I think this watch should serve me well. It will be the first automatic watch that I have owned, so I suppose I will have to get used to it. I wear my present quartz watch all day long and only take it off going to bed, so I assume there will be no problems with the new one. Big plus,there will be no more batteries to change, the main reason I went for the auto :)
    I will let you know how I get on.
    Cheers
    Mick

Great watch them, you wont regret it.

make sure you upload some photo's too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

If you like something with lots of "stuff" going on on the watchface, I'm going to push another Orient watch here:

fe89dde515c695b8a22efa782801ae81.png

http://www.orient-watch.com/feature/classic_automatic/features/index.html

yours for 269 Euro from here: http://www.orientuhren.de/automatic-power-reserve-classic-cdh00001b-p-236.html

Wouldn't be my kind of thing ...but it looks good for the money IMO

peasant wrote: »
    If you like something with lots of "stuff" going on on the watchface, I'm going to push another Orient watch here:

fe89dde515c695b8a22efa782801ae81.png

http://www.orient-watch.com/feature/classic_automatic/features/index.html

yours for 269 Euro from here: http://www.orientuhren.de/automatic-power-reserve-classic-cdh00001b-p-236.html

Wouldn't be my kind of thing ...but it looks good for the money IMO

what a fine looking watch!

I'm not lookinf for too "stuff" on the face, I'd still like to maintain with something thats classy!

at 269euro, I think thats one of the most expensive orients I'v seen lol

what a fine looking watch!

I'm not lookinf for too "stuff" on the face, I'd still like to maintain with something thats classy!

at 269euro, I think thats one of the most expensive orients I'v seen lol
    Still a dual time/GMT auto with power reserve for under 300 quid is unreal as a pricepoint and bargain. :eek: They make their own in house movement too AFAIK? Very few of the big names do that. When you see some of the self same big names charging at least twenty times for similar you do wonder. :)

I'd be looking at more of the orient stuff myself Dylanmc. That's if you want a mechanical. Can't really go wrong.

Here's one of their tonneau cases. Not too busy a dial.
    http://www.orient-watch.com/products/category/item/?category_id=17

More classic again;
    http://www.orient-watch.com/products/category/item/?category_id=20

You could go Russian and look at Sturmanskies. Especially if you were looking for a chronograph. http://www.sturmanskie.com/

[ASIDE]Question though. What is it with our Asian brothers(and it does seem to be more their thing) and their habit of using huge long numbers as names of watches? Seiko, Casio, Citizen they all do it. "We present to you the Seikasio GXHI7680000B/a watch". I reckon they'd sell more if they threw Japanese/Chinese names(suitably westerned up) at them. I dunno.."The Casio Shogun" as an example. You'd put down money for that fecker :)[/ASIDE]

seiko already do this to some extent with the family names for the different watches
    * Ananta
    * Sportura
    * Velatura
    * Arctura

I think the main problem with those insane names for the individual watches is that there's so many variants that keeping track of a specific product becomes a problem.
    Names like SKX007K2 are a prime example of this.

Having said that Omega aren't much better - which of these is more catchy?
    Omega Speedmaster Professional or 3570.50.00?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭StealthRolex

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ya better start saving up cos the real Bond watch is a Rolex...
    Goldfinger_Rolex-strap21.jpg
    With an undersized very dodgy and very cheap 1960's nylon coloured strap :)
    Banned. :)

The strap you can get for 10-20 eyros.

The 6538 will set you back somewhere in the region of 40-50,000. Not bad for a 50yr old :D

How are the savings going? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Just doing a little search for suitable automatic watches in this price range. Am not familiar with either of the brands, so I apologise if you all know they're rubbish.

The first is an Ingersoll

IN4402BK.JPG

This one is £175 here

The next is Breytenbach ........ but I've just read that they are Chinese copies of other watches so I'll leave that out

Zagato wrote: »
    Just doing a little search for suitable automatic watches in this price range. Am not familiar with either of the brands, so I apologise if you all know they're rubbish.

The first is an Ingersoll

IN4402BK.JPG

This one is £175 here

The next is Breytenbach ........ but I've just read that they are Chinese copies of other watches so I'll leave that out

wow this is a cracking watch!

thanks very much mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Doesn't really say anywhere, but I guess it's a dual zone watch. Pity it doesn't have a power reserve meter.
    It's available for a lot cheaper elsehwere £112.
    Think it's a bit big for my wrist at 45mm