Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More hard-hitting investigative journalism from Alison O'Riordan

• 23-01-2011 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭

This time it's Trinity students: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/tcd-students-in-swastika-and-sex-allegations-2507466.html
    By ALISON O'RIORDAN

Sunday January 23 2011

An inquiry is underway at Ireland's most prestigious university, Trinity College Dublin, after a series of "outrageous" incidents at a popular French ski resort.

Among the events under investigation is a sexual incident involving a female student being woken up to find three naked male students in her room, €50 notes being burned and smoked and swastikas sprayed by Irish students on to walls of chalets.

More than 300 students from Dublin -- a majority believed to be from Trinity -- were holidaying in Les Deux Alpes, a popular French Alpine ski resort, from January 8 to 15. To keep costs down, the students travelled by bus for a trip that cost €462 per head.

Tales of daddy's credit card being used to buy massive rounds of drinks are only the minor details to have filtered back to Ireland.

According to sources from the respective colleges, students "burned and smoked €50 notes" in and outside one of the town's Alpine nightclubs to demonstrate their wealth.

"Swastikas being spray-painted by the Irish students on to walls of the accommodation ensured the gendarmes were called," said another source.

Another girl woke up to three male students masturbating in her room.

"Trinity College is currently investigating a series of alleged incidents which took place at Les Deux Alpes," the college confirmed last week.

"In the event that Trinity students perpetrated certain alleged acts, they will be duly disciplined, and sanctions will be imposed. The college is unable to comment further on the matter while its inquiry is underway."

Wasteland Ski, which organised the trip, said they were aware of trouble with "more excessive noise and complaints than usual".

They had no comment to make about the alleged incidents.

- ALISON O'RIORDAN

I assume that Alison would never do something as crass as handling money, I share her disgust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Bukkake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Its probably the best piece she has written. Good for her. Its still shoite though. She loves her "unnamed" sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

How the f*ck do you smoke a 50 euro note:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Obviously "Daddy can't buy you cop on in Trinity College"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

amacachi wrote: »

- ALISON O'RIORDAN

Ireland's answer to Woodward & Bernstein. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Cunts behaving like cunts.

Shocking stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Journalism?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ireland's most prestigious university, Trinity College Dublin

How much would you bet she went to Trinity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Nah she went to UCD...

... I still don't know who Alison O' Riordan writes for. I'm guessing the Star, judging by what she writes about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

... I still don't know who Alison O' Riordan writes for. I'm guessing the Star, judging by what she writes about.

It actually says in the first post who publishes it.

Well judging by your levels of "presumption" i guess you read the Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Who's Alison O'Riordan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Nah, she went to UCD I think. She just had to get another "big word"/adjective in, I'd say.

I bet if you put the article through some plagiarism detection site, the computer would explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

amacachi wrote: »
    Nah she went to UCD...
    Orts?
    Tales of daddy's credit card being used to buy massive rounds of drinks are only the minor details to have filtered back to Ireland.
    Didn't her Daddy buy her an apartment?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Well judging by your levels of "presumption" i guess you read the Star.

Well maybe you read the Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

R0ot wrote: »
    Who's Alison O'Riordan?

Snap. Should we know who she is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

She's only jealous that's she's in negative equity and living in an apartment that she can't afford, while some stuck up arseholes (like herself) are off partying. I don't condone what they did, but it's nothing out of the ordinary. UCD in fact, subsidise this kind of behaviour during the class rep training weekends down in Wexford, where even more damage was caused and paid for by the UCDSU registration fee.

Crappy journalism, slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

phasers wrote: »
    Orts?

Yup, as I pointed out in the thread on the TCD forum, it's a delicious irony. Well, no-one can be sure her Daddy put money towards her apartment, like there's every chance that after travelling the world straight after her degree then landing a job at the Indo she had enough money herself to buy a car and a 575k apartment.

Well maybe you read the Star.

I do!

Anyway, is all this negativity towards Alison just more "Irish Begrudgery". Fair play to her, she creates hysteria with her poorly written insignificant jargon!

I do!

Damn. Well, that backfired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

phasers wrote: »

She owns an apartment? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Is this what we have to expect from the so called educated classes?
    These so called "educated" youngsters are nothing but a bunch of wasters it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

I do!

Anyway, is all this negativity towards Alison just more "Irish Begrudgery". Fair play to her, she creates hysteria with her poorly written insignificant jargon!

It has more to do with this famous Irish crony-ism/nepotism, tbh. The fact that someone who write at a level that could be expected of a sixth class student is an "investigative journalist" for a "leading" Irish newspaper says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Did she ever get a flatmate I wonder?

Imagine listening to her shoite all the time. "omg let's make cosmopolitans and pretend we're in Sex and the City. I'm Carrie, you're Miranda"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Quote:
    By ALISON O'RIORDAN

Sunday January 23 2011

An inquiry is underway at Ireland's most prestigious university, Trinity College Dublin, after a series of "outrageous" incidents at a popular French ski resort.

Among the events under investigation is a sexual incident involving a female student being woken up to find three naked male students in her room, €50 notes being burned and smoked and swastikas sprayed by Irish students on to walls of chalets.

More than 300 students from Dublin -- a majority believed to be from Trinity -- were holidaying in Les Deux Alpes, a popular French Alpine ski resort, from January 8 to 15. To keep costs down, the students travelled by bus for a trip that cost €462 per head.

According to sources from the respective colleges, students "burned and smoked €50 notes" in and outside one of the town's Alpine nightclubs to demonstrate their wealth.

"Swastikas being spray-painted by the Irish students on to walls of the accommodation ensured the gendarmes were called," said another source.

"Trinity College is currently investigating a series of alleged incidents which took place at Les Deux Alpes," the college confirmed last week.

"In the event that Trinity students perpetrated certain alleged acts, they will be duly disciplined, and sanctions will be imposed. The college is unable to comment further on the matter while its inquiry is underway."

Wasteland Ski, which organised the trip, said they were aware of trouble with "more excessive noise and complaints than usual".

- ALISON O'RIORDAN
    This makes no sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

It has more to do with this famous Irish crony-ism/nepotism, tbh. The fact that someone who write at a level that could be expected of a sixth class student is an "investigative journalist" for a "leading" Irish newspaper says it all really.

Did you read the sentence after your bolded sentence? I think Orange was being sarcastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Crunchy Friends

whiteonion wrote: »
    Is this what we have to expect from the so called educated classes?
    These so called "educated" youngsters are nothing but a bunch of wasters it seems.

Total generalisation. We don't all have €50 notes to burn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Read something else.