Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Audi A4 in Dublin 15!!

• 22-01-2011 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭

A friend of a friend had his car stolen on the 19th of Jan in Tyrellstown, Dublin 15. It was an Audi A4, Dolphin Grey in colour and reg 05D88450.

He wrote this himself on Facebook earlier
    My Audi A4 was stolen from my driveway the morning of the 19th @ 7.55am in Tyrrelstown Dublin 15.

I was putting clothes and bags in the car for my 2 sons, while i went to get the baby from my wife to put him in the car and i came out to see a guy in the car.It took about 10 seconds to realise that there was someone actually in my car.As far as I remembered I had the keys in my pocket but they must of feel out.

This guy was obviously watching me and seen these fall.I ran to him as quick as i can opened the drivers door,grabbed his arm and the guy pushed me away.He nearly drove over me and the baby while reversing.I couldn't do much having the baby in my hands ,I managed to get the door open and a hand on him,but he pushed me away,and the door closed and he flew off up mount eustace boulevard. I'm am shaken by this episode that morning and my family are devastated.

I have a 12 year old son who has been traumatised from this and is currently staying with my mother and father and refuses to come home.Its not even bare thinking about that im glad that the baby was not in the car when this happened. I have had no troubles here in 7 years living in Tyrrelstown as there is a sense of a great community spirit here and I would like to thank all of the neighbours from the Tyrrelstown forum for all there help and kind gestures.

I had to get locks changed,my wife's car locks changed as her spare key was on my keys, baby's bags,car seat,my eldest sons school bag with all his books in it, baby's buggy,driving license etc.

This guy could of been local I say looked like a foreigner,white mid twenties,brown hair,brown eyes hoodie with a navy baseball cap on tracksuit bottoms and runners. I am so angry and upset words cant describe it,my wife thinks im OK but inside its really hurting me and I feel a little distraught. Please,Please,Please can you try and help me on this, I worked so hard to get this car,it disgusts me that you cant have a little luxury and there are so many jealous people out there.

I was just wondering if you can keep an eye out for a car matching this description if it happens to be sold to you.

Audi A4 05D88450 Dolphin Grey

s-line badges to front,rear passenger doors,and back under TDi badge.

Chassis No: WAUZZZ8EX6A026719

2 built in 10" DVD monitor headrests.

Iphone connect cable and mount in black.

I'm so upset and disgust and fearful of living in TT now!

Thank you

If you see it, please PM me, or contact Blanchardstown Garda Station (01 6667000)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Will keep an eye out. Went out to my car earlier(in D15) to find a Ford Ka sitting beside mine checking it out...sped off when they saw me. Will be putting the house alarm on tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Tell your mate to get onto Joe Duffy. Not kidding - there was a guy on the show during the week who had his car stolen after he left the keys in it briefly when he went into his house to get his phone. The car reg was read out and, by the end of the show, the car was found and the guards were at the scene.

Joe said, at the time, that he didn't generally engage in reading out stolen car registration numbers because he would be inundated with requests, but it may be that, with the success of that episode, and with enough requests, time could be given at the end of the show to do just that.

I know the show isn't for everybody (I sneakily listen anytime I'm out of the office and love it, but don't admit it much!), but it has a huge listenership. Definitely worth a try.

Horrible, sickening thing to happen to anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Raffo69

Sorry to hear about that but when expensive cars like that are stolen alot of the time they are usually taken across the border or sold & stripped for parts:( shocking thing to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

xoxyx wrote: »
    Tell your mate to get onto Joe Duffy. Not kidding - there was a guy on the show during the week who had his car stolen after he left the keys in it briefly when he went into his house to get his phone. The car reg was read out and, by the end of the show, the car was found and the guards were at the scene.

Joe said, at the time, that he didn't generally engage in reading out stolen car registration numbers because he would be inundated with requests, but it may be that, with the success of that episode, and with enough requests, time could be given at the end of the show to do just that.

I know the show isn't for everybody (I sneakily listen anytime I'm out of the office and love it, but don't admit it much!), but it has a huge listenership. Definitely worth a try.

Horrible, sickening thing to happen to anybody.

Think he was onto Joe either yesterday or today, was supposed to be Thursday but with all the stuff with the government he was put on the next days show and didn't get a listen myself so not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Sounds like an opportunist. Lovely cars like that are magnets for these characters... I'm really glad the child wasn't in the back of the car, Im over the moon about that one. Cars can be replaced, I'm sure the insurance will get them a replacment car if this one becomes a total loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

I'm so upset and disgust and fearful of living in TT now!

The A4 had more living space i suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

The A4 had more living space i suppose?
    lol i'm sure he meant tyrelstown and not the audi TT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I've heard of a good few cars stolen in D.15 lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Joooeee Dduuffyyyyyy!

They stole our jobs cars!!!!!!!!!

Some Pictures:

167849_492528413911_661603911_6101012_3105309_n.jpg

179311_492528543911_661603911_6101016_1073398_n.jpg

Just want to give this a little bump... still looking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Such a pity. Its one of the tastiest A4`s I have ever seen. She looks the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 seamusm99

Know how your friend feels... I live in Ongar and on Sunday 24th Jan at 4am my neighbour phoned my mobile to say that somebody was outside robbing my wifes car Merc C200. I ran down stairs and confronted him along with my neighbour - Hurley in hand hahahaha. He got out and ran away we didn't chase him down, as not worth it a gang could have been waiting around the corner. It was an auto and it seems like in a fluster he couldn't find reverse he just keep revving like mad. When I got in it was in neutral. That was the good news; After all that I noticed that our other car a BMW was already gone b*llo*ks!!! It is a Silver 02 D 84119 BMW 525 Diesel if anybody spots it abandoned in another estate please report to the Garda. The cops reckon they abandon them in another estate and if not reported stolen they will use it for another job in a few weeks time. They broke in at the rear of the house and got our keys to both cars took my wallet and her purse. We didn't hear a thing. Of course the push chair and the Child seat was in the BMW, really annoyed about that. We had to change all the locks in the house as it was on the key ring of the stolen car. The guy was wearing a grey cap and gloves about 5.8 stocky build. He shouted in a fake Nothern Ireland accent he would petrol bomb the house!!! I would say he was Irish.

Anyway lesson learnt is to keep keys, wallets etc upstairs. Make it hard for them and they will go to an easier target....

I just don't understand these scum they are lucky if they got €30 in my wallet and the car is worthless to them... Alright they might get a few quid for parts, but that is too time consuming to strip and find a buyer and not really worth the hassle in my opinion.

Tell all your family, friends and neighbours to be extra vigilant at night. Don't let these scum away with this behaviour; it's bad enough we have to put up with a corrupt political system... This country is going to the dogs, which really annoys me no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Rein-in

seamusm99 wrote: »
    Anyway lesson learnt is to keep keys, wallets etc upstairs. Make it hard for them and they will go to an easier target....

That's not necessarily true. If they want the car, they'll go looking for the keys and if that means waking you up with a knife in your face to get them, than that's what they'll do.

A good house alarm is a much safer deterrent. They're less likely to burgle a house with an alarm installed for fear of waking the street before finding any keys.

To the OP, that's a nasty thing to have to go through, and I hope you get your car back....

UPDATE!!

Car was found yesterday in Mulhuddart Woods, Dublin 15. Not a ten minute drive from where it was robbed. Somebody seen a friends facebook status about it and noticed it was sitting outside a house across the road! No damage etc done to it. Garda have it for finger printing etc at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

They rob because they can. There doesn't have to be any reason to it.

Some one told me two lads went through Riverwood a couple of weeks ago, trying every car on the road, finding one or two unlocked, which they searched, But someone came out and they ran off. They must have come back later. Because they robbed some old jeep.

Maybe keep keys at the foot of the stairs but lock internal doors down stairs. They'll come up and get the keys otherwise.

Its probably a small bunch doing all the robbing too. Tends to happen in spates. They should dump them on a Island somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

January wrote: »
    UPDATE!!

Car was found yesterday in Mulhuddart Woods, Dublin 15. Not a ten minute drive from where it was robbed. Somebody seen a friends facebook status about it and noticed it was sitting outside a house across the road! No damage etc done to it. Garda have it for finger printing etc at the moment.

Delighted to hear this!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

BostonB wrote: »
    They should dump them on a Island somewhere.

They used to but sure look how that turned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 seamusm99

My BMW was found in at 3am in Tallaght this morning; badly damaged according to the compound that it was taken to. Rear and front damage. Can't view it until the cops have done a CSI on it lol. Will forward the pictures later - Hope it can be fixed.

Could be worse I suppose