Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next Deputy Leader of FF, O Cuiv ??

• 22-01-2011 5:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭

I got a phone call from a rather breathless Galway FFer just now ( happens they were in the gym and had a problem with their wifi so they rang me :D )

They appear to be of the opinion that O Cuiv has done a deal with one of the leadership candidates and is fairly likely to be the next Deputy Leader of FF. Coughlan will step down on Tuesday as deputy Leader. She will continue as a minister.

They are of the opinion that if Martin is leader then Cowen will have no choice but to restore him to the cabinet as Tánaiste. However if Cowen is unable to restore him to the cabinet and therefore cannot make him Tánaiste he can make the deputy leader Tánaiste if said deputy leader is already in the cabinet.

How I laughed at this farce...and in fairness they did too :)

We'll know soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Is this the man who was so upset that Dingle wasn't called 'Dingle Daingean Ui Chúis'. ??

Obviously knows which issues are important. If we want to send our country down the pan, feck it, let's make him Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

He looks pretty weird with that simpletons smile. But replacing Mary Coughlan isnt exactly a tough job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

cant see o'cuiv as deputy. more likely a young gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It was on RTE news that o Cuiv is throwing hat into ring for leadership!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

It doesn't really matter, considering the chances of the Dail being dissolved by Friday are enormous.

I would imagine Martin may try and bring someone from the "Ogra" generation as the deputy leader.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

With the heat on Martin and Lenihan coupled with their tarnished attempts last week, O'Cuiv could actually sneak in the back door.

Wouldn't surprise me at all if he got the leadership as a compromise candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

if he does the surely they will implode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Just saw this post and had previoulsy replied to a post about protesting and said wouldn't protest BUT if this gombeen gets deputy leader I will protest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

femur61 wrote: »
    Just saw this post and had previoulsy replied to a post about protesting and said wouldn't protest BUT if this gombeen gets deputy leader I will protest.

He could'nt be any worse then Mary Coughlan..could he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    I got a phone call from a rather breathless Galway FFer just now ( happens they were in the gym and had a problem with their wifi so they rang me :D )

They appear to be of the opinion that O Cuiv has done a deal with one of the leadership candidates and is fairly likely to be the next Deputy Leader of FF. Coughlan will step down on Tuesday as deputy Leader. She will continue as a minister.

They are of the opinion that if Martin is leader then Cowen will have no choice but to restore him to the cabinet as Tánaiste. However if Cowen is unable to restore him to the cabinet and therefore cannot make him Tánaiste he can make the deputy leader Tánaiste if said deputy leader is already in the cabinet.

How I laughed at this farce...and in fairness they did too :)

We'll know soon enough.

And it would not surprise me if M Martin would be entitled to another €90K when he loses the position of Tanaiste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Doesn't make a blind bit of difference to anyone other than E O'Cuiv.

Deputy leader of an opposition party that's been decimated after the forthcoming election will have little to do and even less to say.
    He's already a govt minister, so even if Coughlan resigns deputy leadership (which is to be expected) there's no way that Cowen can change ministries in govt. That's if Cowen is still there, we'll have to wait for the Greens to have their say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 eoinoconnor1

What about Hannafin for deputy leader? It may placate her a small bit. Plus she'll be a Dublin TD so it might be geogaphically sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

What about Hannafin for deputy leader? It may placate her a small bit. Plus she'll be a Dublin TD so it might be geogaphically sound.

possible. She can't openly (now that she's put herself forward) say that she's going to put her lot in with B Lenihan for example, as this would look too cynical, like she's not getting many FF TD's to pull up to her camp.

Mary O'Rourke referred to her as a 'prim aunt' after her appearance on Frontline, gave me a laugh:D. Family at war much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

GSF wrote: »
    He looks pretty weird with that simpletons smile. But replacing Mary Coughlan isnt exactly a tough job.

For a born and bred Dubliner, Ó Cuív's Irish is very impressive so I doubt he's a 'simpleton'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Hanafin is most unlikely to be anybodys deputy leader ....or leader for that matter :)