Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

slurry smell

• 21-01-2011 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

after being on one of the mumsy sites i go on , there is a thread about the smell of slurry and that it is so much worse than last year any opinions ? Also one person said that the slurry that was being spread on christmas week beside her house was terrible , correct me if i am wrong but wasnt that during the closed period for spreading ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    after being on one of the mumsy sites i go on , there is a thread about the smell of slurry and that it is so much worse than last year any opinions ? Also one person said that the slurry that was being spread on christmas week beside her house was terrible , correct me if i am wrong but wasnt that during the closed period for spreading ?

my fiance is going ballistic with the smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭emer_b

got the smell near my house today, by far the worst slurry smell ever. Didn't think this was spreading season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 jtex

slurry bugs are the job. used them last year neighbour spread the slurry for me beside the house (within 10 yards of the front door) was away on the friday when he spread came back on sat and the wife could'nt believe there was no smell. It was sheep slurry don't know if that has any bearing on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Vego

I love it when ya get a warm sunny day you have the windows open thinking of sparking up the bbq and BANG the fukka in the field next to you spreads slurry sometimes feel like dumping slurry on there lawn !!!!

oh and there still trimming the hedges !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

god them farmers are an awful shower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Vego wrote: »
    I love it when ya get a warm sunny day you have the windows open thinking of sparking up the bbq and BANG the fukka in the field next to you spreads slurry sometimes feel like dumping slurry on there lawn !!!!
    I agree it’s terribly, it has to be illegal you should report him, serves him for trying to provide food so people can eat, maybe have a bbq , oh the irony is properly lost on you

Errr hes providing food so he can make money ...no harm in letting ppl living in the immediate vicinity know hey buddy im going to be spreading slurry later just to let you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭alleyb

when you live in the country , you live in the country ,there is far worse smells and places to live. And the next time you think of organic food and non chemical fertlisers remember what part that slurry is playing in its production, and i think hedgecutting deadline is feb 28th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

correct me if i am wrong but wasnt that during the closed period for spreading ?

You're not wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

its open season for hedges and slurry at the moment ,was closed at christmas , buy a house close to a sewage treatment plant and you can have the smell of sh1t for the year so be grateful its only for a couple of weeks ,smell is always worse in cold weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Bizzum wrote: »
    You're not wrong.
    you can spead dirty water every 10 days:D , a lot of very dirty water down our way, dont worry they will change the rules when they see sence, but very late for anyone who spent money keeping up with the latest bull**** ideas from irish gov.sorry for rant good bottle of hardy's tonight.:p

leg wax wrote: »
    good bottle of hardy's tonight.:p

A bird never flew on one wing! Ya may open another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

Why should a farmer have to ask anybodys permission to spread slurry on his own land? Its a stupid EU directive which prohibits a farmer from spreading slurry whenever they need to.

The joys of farming by calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

this topic cracks me up every time, and the worst part of all was when the government was given out grants to get all these new fancy slurry tankers they never even thought of pushing for the grants for slurry injection systems/ trailing shoe etc, which makes better use of the nitrogen and supposedly makes it a little easier on the nose of the poor people not from a farming background

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

Farmers should be able to do anything they like on their own land.

LostCovey wrote: »
    Farmers should be able to do anything they like on their own land.

I wouldn't go that far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Jay_C

Once got quite the earful from a cranky neighbour for spreading pig slurry without informing her,gave this big speech about how she'd go to the guards if we didn't stop spreading immediately. The authority some people think they have is unreal :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Vego wrote: »
    Errr hes providing food so he can make money ...no harm in letting ppl living in the immediate vicinity know hey buddy im going to be spreading slurry later just to let you know
    Perhaps you could inform the farmer that you are dumping lawn cuttings into his field. And golf balls. And iron bars. And wire onto the electric fence. And dead cats. And 20ft bloody TREE. Just some of the various bits of bric-a-brac that i have found in my silage fields from my much suffering neighbours:rolleyes:. So once i get that call i will call around before each load to inform them all in person. I'm waiting................. FFS. Cattle slurry smells. So does yours but that can go onto soils every day of the year without causing pollution? For pitys sake, scotty, just beam me up anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

I hear you 5live.
    My boss bought a few acres there recently and every site that borders the field has a gate out into it and each house has a nice hedge running along their back garden to hide all the crap they have dumped in the field. Trees, grass clipping, old gutters, lawnmower, tennis rackets, garden furniture, a burning barrell and so on.

unfortunately I had the job of notifiying them to close their access gates.

Sundy wrote: »
    I hear you 5live.
    My boss bought a few acres there recently and every site that borders the field has a gate out into it and each house has a nice hedge running along their back garden to hide all the crap they have dumped in the field. Trees, grass clipping, old gutters, lawnmower, tennis rackets, garden furniture, a burning barrell and so on.

unfortunately I had the job of notifiying them to close their access gates.
    I bet you were as welcome as a tanker of slurry on christmas morning:D. I just throw it back into their gardens now. They are slowly learning dumping isnt nice

yes the grass cuttings are a total pain , one lad made a little walk way into our field and even hung a gate on it , unfotunately he never closed it and our cows ended up in his garden:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

I thought it was only farmers who were in REPS that had to abide by the 'slurry spreading calender', if you're not in REPS I think you can spread when you like, a lad next to us was doing it all weekend, smelled vile but you live in the country, that's what you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

I think a sticky should just be made lol with relavent info linked onto it, for people to read before making pointless threads(no offence ment whelan1), stops this nonsence bickering.

i really only put this thread up to see what peoples reactions are .... i have my fill of neighbours complaining just like everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Baralis1

Forget about the neighbours. Farmers have every right to spread slurry on their own land outside of the closed season of course. If they live in the country they should be prepared to put up with country living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

i really only put this thread up to see what peoples reactions are .... i have my fill of neighbours complaining just like everyone else

I never have a complaint. I really only have one neighbour that isn't a farmer. 2 holiday homes nearby too, but they like the country smell. The neighbour that's there all the time came to me when applying for planning permission on the site that he was buying to ask if we were ok with him building there, so he got a little talk about smells and farming practices to be sure that he knew where he was building. The fact that he was informed means that he knew what he was getting in to.

when i go to the school to pick up kids , the yummy mummys would often pass comment on one thing or another to me , i would NEVER pass comment on their job

Ah that's low.

yup some people think they are above everyone else, but i am sure i will get over it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

The slurry tanks are all full on most farms due to the amount of water over the past 2 months so it needs to be spread or gotten rid of by other means. And trust me, spreading is the safer way for the environment rather than the other which alot of farms are being forced to do because of the likes of ye. Dont be a bunch of babys , its only a smell, harden up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

They've slurried the field next to us, the only worry is the dog rolling in it

A couple of years ago we had a japanses wwoofer boy, and we had him cleaning out the cows, he used to mince about in his wellies with big pink rubber gloves on, trying to stay out of the poo. lol

The next week on Tuesday, as we were mucking out, I told him that it was a Kerry custom every Tuesday to take off all our clothes and roll in the poo, what a reaction I got His face was a dream to behold..

colrow wrote: »
    They've slurried the field next to us, the only worry is the dog rolling in it

A couple of years ago we had a japanses wwoofer boy, and we had him cleaning out the cows, he used to mince about in his wellies with big pink rubber gloves on, trying to stay out of the poo. lol

The next week on Tuesday, as we were mucking out, I told him that it was a Kerry custom every Tuesday to take off all our clothes and roll in the poo, what a reaction I got His face was a dream to behold..
    Whats the problem. Its a legitimate lifestyle choice to roll around every tuesday. Yous ar alle jus jelus ov uz:D:D

colrow wrote: »
    a japanses wwoofer boy

Maybe I'm naieve but what's that?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Is it just me or does anyone else actually like the smell of slurry? :o Its only spread a couple of times of year and i always think its great to get a bit of country air. It actually annoys me greatly when people around us start whingin when there's a bit of a smell for 2/3 days

i l ove the smell , it means spring is on the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

www.wwoof.org.

you get volunteers to do half a days work for bed n board, its hard work cos they all decide how they want to do a job, persuading them to do it your way is a trifle difficult, but that said we've had some nice interesting people, we're planning to get a couple to paint the house this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

I don't mind the smell of slurry if it's far enough away :) Btw what would it cost a farmer to inform folk of when their spreading ? Good manners and neighbourliness(sp?) an all that!

maybe we should just send out a time table to everyone in the area of our work plans for the next week , or publish it in the parish bulletin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

maybe we should just send out a time table to everyone in the area of our work plans for the next week , or publish it in the parish bulletin

Yeah good idea, I will be spreading on Wednesday from 10 am to 5pm.

With a proviso that if the weather changes, or the tractor brakes down, or the calves brake out, or any number of other delays it might be Thursday afternoon or Friday morning.:)

Madam wrote: »
    I don't mind the smell of slurry if it's far enough away :) Btw what would it cost a farmer to inform folk of when their spreading ? Good manners and neighbourliness(sp?) an all that!
    Great idea. See post 21 of this thread to reciprocate general neighbourliness:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Reading through threads like this I am so so happy that we resisted the very very large offers we had for sites on some of our land (sites which were not advertised or for sale i might add)

We are very fortunate that we have no houses in our land and no houses with a boundary against our land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Taceom

what would it cost a farmer to inform folk of when their spreading ? Good manners and neighbourliness(sp?) an all that!

Time maybe!!

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Reading through threads like this I am so so happy that we resisted the very very large offers we had for sites on some of our land (sites which were not advertised or for sale i might add)

We are very fortunate that we have no houses in our land and no houses with a boundary against our land.

We had no suitable sites to sell in the boom times. A neighbour sold 7 and got €400k together to buy an extra 60 acres of land. I wish I could have done that. I'd put up with the complaints :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

reilig wrote: »
    We had no suitable sites to sell in the boom times. A neighbour sold 7 and got €400k together to buy an extra 60 acres of land. I wish I could have done that. I'd put up with the complaints :)

True:D

I know a few who did similar - I suppose if you don't mind having houses so close then its not a problem

Those days of selling sites to pay for land are gone now though;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Labours one of the biggest costs on a farm, don't know about anyone else but we don't get paid to sit and chat for the day