Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

season is extended for pheasant and pigeon

• 21-01-2011 7:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭

what do ye think of this not really needed in my opinionhttp://nargc.ie/site.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

http://nargc.ie/site.aspx hope this link works sorry if it dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

It has some good and some bad points:o I'm not sure if I will continue shooting pheaseants after this month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Did not see that coming at all. To be honest I doubt I will shot much in February at all. Still nice to see that the NARGC have played hard ball with the government and come out on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I'd rather they agreed to apply logic next yeas as to when to ban instead of extending.

Mid Feb is enough to be shooting I think!

I think they should put the days to next year an open the season earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Birds won't hatch lay until April really. 2 or 3 weeks be ok. Oct is too early for late hatchlings.

Birds won't hatch lay until April really. 2 or 3 weeks be ok. Oct is too early for late hatchlings.[/]

Oct is off the cards then ;) very surprised they extended it thou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

in all fairness its about time something was in favour of the ordinary
    hunter.if driven shoots can stay open why not walk up shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

This is just a PR stunt by the NARGC, they made a lot of people unhappy around the time of the ban and now they think they can buy us all back with this.

Patronising shower of ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

its all down to money at the end of the day and shooting generates revenue for this country and the country needs every penny it can lay its hands on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

its all down to money at the end of the day and shooting generates revenue for this country and the country needs every penny it can lay its hands on

So why are we so restricted when it comes to reloading, opening suitable ranges, types of firearms we are "allowed" to have etc ? :eek:

How much VAT are they missing out on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

So why are we so restricted when it comes to reloading, opening suitable ranges, types of firearms we are "allowed" to have etc ? :eek:

How much VAT are they missing out on?

Well the guys in the Dail think they will get more votes/re-elected by being tough on guns and make more money for themselves in wages and get a bigger pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

to be fair i think nargc were dammed if they did and dammed if they didn't on this one. i think they good folk on here will air on the side of common sense here.

they want people to fly into this country stay in our hotels eat in our resturants drink our beer ,shoot a few phesants,have a great time ,and then go home and tell all their rich buddies how good the shooting and fishing is in IRELAND :D people dont fly into this country to shoot clay pigeons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

what fishing the rivers and lakes around here are devoid of fish where we used to catch 100lbs of bream in a morning you might catch 3lb for the day
    nothing wrong with shooting pheasants from the 1st of october as far as i can see sure they have been doing that in the uk since seasons were invented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Vegeta wrote: »
    Well the guys in the Dail think they will get more votes/re-elected by being tough on guns and make more money for themselves in wages and get a bigger pension.

THINK in the Dail???...Novel concept!!:rolleyes:
    More like arbitary misuse of power to sort out personal hobby horses.
    IE gun ban,because he had a problem with firearm ownership,blasphemy laws so we could attract rich Islamic fundamentalists from Saudai to spend money here,and proably flog them an aul passport and citzenship or two as well.
    Use valueable Garda resources IE manpower, to find out who hung a picture of our glorious leader on the jacks in the National Gallery for a laugh last year.

Later
    after reading the NARGC blurb,great,we can hunt two species that really are not THAT affected by a 28 day extension!!And more importantly[for all parties concerned at this meet!!] are not affected by an EU directive!
    Nice going NARGC,for getting this,but please dont make it sound like it is the be and end all for Irish shooters.Did they lay some more sensible conditions and situations when a future CWB should be implimented,more importantly??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

Woodcock fall into the migratory species do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 BOCK63

HI FOLK'S ONLY NEW TO THIS SITE, but i think a an extension into febuary for phesnnt and pidgeon. will do no harm and compensate all the hard work taken on by alot of guy's when the snow lay on the ground. well done to everyone involved.,,,:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

snipe02 wrote: »
    what do ye think of this not really needed in my opinionhttp://nargc.ie/site.aspx

Horray :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

GREAT, only problem is , is there not more snow forecast for February

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

They must have read our newsletter!!:D Infairness i think to mid feb would have been enough. I think i'll shoot for another couple of weeks and call it a day. As someone else said if they organise themselves for next year would be more important as this stage.

Anthony
    www.ishootandfish.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Pheasants are going to be under fierce pressure now they should have included woodcock too, two weeks would have been enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I don't agree with this extention to the hunting season at all! Even though pheasants havn't started breeding yet, other species have, especially ducks and it's almost impossible to avoid disturbing them when out pheasant shooting!
    So im gonna put it forward to the chairman of our club to close the season on the same date as every other year!

not all woodcock migrate;)

I don't agree with it either but people are always going to complain about shortage of the season so the NARGC is trying to buy some support. If it was up to some people they'd be shooting pheasants all year round, the concept of conservation is lost to them.

its up to each club/shooter to decide wheather to call a halt or not:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

its up to each club/shooter to decide wheather to call a halt or not:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    +1,
    I agree we're all big boy's now and well able to make up our own mind's,or should we start another green party amongst ourselves.:confused::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

To play devils advocate here a bit. Aren't reared pheasants terrible at breeding (like 2% successful or something), will extending the season have a huge impact on the breeding ability of pheasants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

i think its not so bad. most people will stop shooting but some people were planning on getting out over the days off over xmas when they got a chance to like they do each year when on hols from work but couldnt this year so they done little to no shooting. this will give them a chance to get out 1 or 2 more times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

the ban should never of been imposed in the first place it should of been up to each individual to shoot or not them lads goin around not in anygun club they hardly adhered to the ban so if us shooters were out at least we could of kept a eye on them lads i have 7 cocks shot this year talkin to another lad in my area thats a non member he have 34 birds shot.rant over:mad:

there are a few around here like that as well,:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Monet.

lads only got a new dog this season.... he needs all the traning he can get but i think that the season should not be open and if they have to open it 2 weeks is plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭bayliner

my own club(in westmeath) has decided that the extension will NOT come into force for us, and our season ends 31st of jan as usual.... speakint to local gun dealer, all clubs in roscommon bar 1 (which is meeting this week to make a decision) have decided against the extension..... personally i dont agree with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

bayliner wrote: »
    my own club(in westmeath) has decided that the extension will NOT come into force for us, and our season ends 31st of jan as usual.... speakint to local gun dealer, all clubs in roscommon bar 1 (which is meeting this week to make a decision) have decided against the extension..... personally i dont agree with it

Just received the following letter in the post ref extension from our club secretary. I Quote " ref recent announcement by NARGC to the extension to the shooting season till end of February, as secretary of the club I have been contacted by the wild life officer who informed me that this arrangement was not passed into legislation, and due to the current situation with the government it is unlikely to happen. Therefore if any member is caught shooting next month (February) and this legislation is not passed, they will be prosecuted.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Just received the following letter in the post ref extension from our club secretary. I Quote " ref recent announcement by NARGC to the extension to the shooting season till end of February, as secretary of the club I have been contacted by the wild life officer who informed me that this arrangement was not passed into legislation, and due to the current situation with the government it is unlikely to happen. Therefore if any member is caught shooting next month (February) and this legislation is not passed, they will be prosecuted.:eek:

Deerhunter,I rang the NPWS on friday and was told that they had a verbal agreement that the ban was being lifted,but that the legislation wasn't passed yet.They also told me that the advert would appear/appeared in Saturdays paper.
    Didn't see the paper though so I'm not sure.
    Might be worth a call to NPWS (Hunting section) just to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Vizzy wrote: »
    Deerhunter,I rang the NPWS on friday and was told that they had a verbal agreement that the ban was being lifted,but that the legislation wasn't passed yet.They also told me that the advert would appear/appeared in Saturdays paper.
    Didn't see the paper though so I'm not sure.
    Might be worth a call to NPWS (Hunting section) just to be sure.

Update - save yourself a phonecall,the advert was in the paper so there will be nobody gettin prosecuted !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

they want people to fly into this country stay in our hotels eat in our resturants drink our beer ,shoot a few phesants,have a great time ,and then go home and tell all their rich buddies how good the shooting and fishing is in IRELAND :D people dont fly into this country to shoot clay pigeons

The beer is awful, no pheasants to speak of and there hasn't been a trout seen in 50 years. The clay pigeon population however is at an all-time high. Please stay home!!:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

The gun laws are horrible and the deer pouplation may or may not be exploding,but they will want you to do a degree in hunting to find out,and charge a fortune as well.RUN away!!:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "