Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little girl injured by maniac carjacker

• 21-01-2011 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭

My apologies if this has already been brought up. Don't see it anywhere.
    A MUM today told how her daughter (11) was repeatedly assaulted while she bravely attempted to save her toddler brother from a car hijacker.

The little girl was today recovering after the well-known Limerick criminal continuously jabbed her with a screwdriver at Woodview shopping centre while stealing her mother's car.

After threatening and forcing the girl and her 10-year-old brother from the Opel Zafira, he sped off with the two-year-old boy.

The maniac later abandoned the toddler on the side of a country road as armed gardai searched for him.

The car was only brought to a halt when SWAT gardai from the Armed Support Unit opened fire.

The mother-of-six had stopped briefly at a Centra shop on the schoolrun when the carjacking took place. The "hardest part" was that her youngest daughter blamed herself for her brother being kidnapped, the mum said.

"Once I had my children, I didn't care about the car. They mean the world to me."

The little girl attempted to pull her brother from the back seat of the car while the assailant attacked and threatened her to get out of the car.

"She did her best for her brother -- she tried to save him, but he [the assailant] kept roaring and jabbing her," the mother recalled.

"She [her daughter] hurt her knee and got a screwdriver in her back as she was trying to get him out. When she tried to get the child out of the back, he started poking her with a screwdriver," she said.

"He started screaming at them saying he would do something bad if they didn't get out," she told the Herald.

"That is the hardest part, she is blaming herself. She was saying it was all her fault but he wouldn't let her take him out."

Displaying the wounds she received from her assailant, the 11-year-old girl tearfully recalled: "He said he would do bad things to me. I was frightened."

Her mother said the three children are today attempting to recover from the frightening ordeal.

"Thanks be to God, I have them all -- that is all I care about," she said.

The terrifying ordeal began at 9.20am when her daughter raced into the shop screaming at her mother.

"The lady was just handing me out the cigarettes and the next thing I knew my little girl started screaming: 'Mommy, mommy, quick, quick, quick'."

"I went out the two front main doors and when I did I saw the car driving off."

"I was trying to make my way to the car and when I did, it skidded off. I was roaring, screaming for anyone for help, could anyone to go after the car -- my child was in the back. I was thinking everything a mother would think. I didn't know what he was going to do. Would he beat the child up, would he crash and the child would go out through the front window -- there was so many things running through my head."

With assistance from a relative she located her youngest son standing on the side of the road less than two miles from where the ordeal began.

The kidnapper may be brought to court later today.

hnews@herald.ie

- Barry Druggan

I find it odd that a woman who claims her children mean everything to her would leave them in a car with the engine running in order to get cigarettes. I think she should face charges for her neglect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

k_mac wrote: »

I find it odd that a woman who claims her children mean everything to her would leave them in a car with the engine running in order to get cigarettes. I think she should face charges for her neglect.

And probably smokes in the car whilst carry the children too... Car-jackers and people smoking in their vehicles while carry children are my pet hates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I can't understand how someone in a city can leave a car running while they do a bit of shopping. I see it all the time out here in my town and a part of me wants to steal the car just to teach them a lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Thanks be to God, I have them all -- that is all I care about," she said.

"Now if you'll excuse me I just have to pop into Centra for 20 fags.
    Will you mind those wa'uns for a minute."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I don't know if she could be blamed for neglect though. She did one of those, ''I'll be back in a minute'' stops, which the vast majority of the time are not harmless. The carjacker was probably unaware of any children in the vehicle when deciding to steal it.

If she left them for 10-15 minutes or later, then neglect would come into play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Car-jackers and people smoking in their vehicles while carry children are my pet hates.
    This thread is perfect for you so;).

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Good to see you are a perfect person. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The stupid b1tch! I suppose she must also leave her keys in the front door and keep the back door wide open at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Pity the guards didnt shoot that scumbag carjacker in the head.

Scum of the highest order, anyone who hurts children especially with a weapon...

Leaving kids that age in a car alone for any length of time, that's a classic example of why you should never do that if you value your childs' safety.

Poor litlle girl, I'll pray for a quick recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

MarkR wrote: »

Maybe not perfect. I like to think I have common sense though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

I dont think she should be done for neglect but she does deserve a feckin smack in the gob for leaving her car running with her kids inside:mad: fcuking eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Rosicky7 wrote: »
    I don't know if she could be blamed for neglect though. She did one of those, ''I'll be back in a minute'' stops, which the vast majority of the time are not harmless. The carjacker was probably unaware of any children in the vehicle when deciding to steal it.

If she left them for 10-15 minutes or later, then neglect would come into play.

"I'll be back in a minute, I'll be back in 10 minutes", it makes no difference. The mother should not have left her kids in a car with the engine running, end of story.

She's an idiot.

MarkR wrote: »

If perfect = not leaving your kids in a car with the keys in the ignition, I'd hate to hear what you consider imperfect to mean.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

Where does it say she left the car running? She may have left her keys in the ignition. And she could have been buying kids lunches and got fags while she was there. The scumbag that hijacked the car is at fault here. What an awful thing for the whole family to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Why is mum in capitals?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

jackie1974 wrote: »
    Where does it say she left the car running? She may have left her keys in the ignition.

Isn't it equally reckless once the keys are in it.
    It's also illegal.

Where does it say she left the car running? She may have left her keys in the ignition. And she could have been buying kids lunches and got fags while she was there. The scumbag that hijacked the car is at fault here. What an awful thing for the whole family to go through.

She could have buying a picture of the pope and a set of rosary beads...... She still shouldnt have left the fcukin' keys in the ignition......:rolleyes:

There are two 'scumbags' at fault here; admittedly one more than the other.

It was on the radio yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I cant believe this thread is focusing on a woman leaving a car running while running into the shops and not the scumbag who jabbed a child with a screwdriver, drove off with a 2 year old and then abandoned the child at the side of the road.

Yeah leaving the kids in the car for a minute wasnt the greatest idea in the world, but its a bit Joe Duffy to be screaming for social services and neglect charges.
    And probably smokes in the car whilst carry the children too...

Based on what? Yeah and she probably beats the children on an hourly basis too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Danbo! wrote: »

Based on what? Yeah and she probably beats the children on an hourly basis too :rolleyes:

Oh noes, not the rolling eyes of dumb, or is that doom - always confuses me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I cant believe this thread is focusing on a woman leaving a car running while running into the shops and not the scumbag who jabbed a child with a screwdriver, drove off with a 2 year old and then abandoned the child at the side of the road.

Yeah leaving the kids in the car for a minute wasnt the greatest idea in the world, but its a bit Joe Duffy to be screaming for social services and neglect charges.

I don't have high expectations of scumbags with screwdrivers.

If you have kids, don't leave them in a running car.
    Ignoring what actually happened, they might have let the handbrake off and rolled or driven the car into a shop/wall/person.

It's retarded to leave your car running with kids in it, it takes 2 seconds to start a car, it's doesn't make any sense whatsoever and is neglectful.

So someone took her car after she left it running, lesson learned, don't leave your keys in your car, especially running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

They'll be due two so as they missed one over the course of the carjacking.
    Oh, wait the carjacker dished out the beatings this time
    Thank god for unlocked cars with keys in the ignition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

ScumLord wrote: »
    I can't understand how someone in a city can leave a car running while they do a bit of shopping. I see it all the time out here in my town and a part of me wants to steal the car just to teach them a lesson.

I get that urge too, a lot. What a silly thing to do, never mind leaving kids in the car. Even empty, i can just see the insurance company laughing as they tell you to go swing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Nobodies screaming. But the woman is wrong whether you like it or not.
    The world is full of many dangers including scumbag criminals, it's her job to protect her kids from these dangers to a reasonable level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The ma is a moron. Hope she enjoyed her smokes.

I suppose if you left your wallet on a pavement on a busy street and someone stole it you'd expect everyone to apport all the blame onto whoever stole it? FFS.

Eh kids can't protect themselves, the mother should have ensured that they were safe or that they were in the care of someone that could look after them. Joe Duffy me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I live behind this shop and I see people leaving their cars running as they run into the shop all the time. If she pulled up and didn't park in the car park, then she really wasn't far from the door of the shop and there is ALWAYS people around so she probably didn't think twice. It happened at peak lunch hours in LIT and there is loads of students around at that time. Why he chose that time of the day is beyond me!

I didn't know about this until my Dad said it to me today when I got home from Limerick and people are so used to the stories and the things that happen in Limerick, that it isn't even a topic of conversation any more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

mars bar wrote: »
    I live behind this shop and I see people leaving their cars running as they run into the shop all the time. If she pulled up and didn't park in the car park, then she really wasn't far from the door of the shop and there is ALWAYS people around so she probably didn't think twice. It happened at peak lunch hours in LIT and there is loads of students around at that time. Why he chose that time of the day is beyond me!

I didn't know about this until my Dad said it to me today when I got home from Limerick and people are so used to the stories and the things that happen in Limerick, that it isn't even a topic of conversation any more!

I know where you live ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I know where you live ;)

Freaky...

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

drkpower wrote: »
    If perfect = not leaving your kids in a car with the keys in the ignition, I'd hate to hear what you consider imperfect to mean.:)

I'm merely pointing out that isn't a mistake that someone should be vilified for. There was an 11 year old girl in the car, who quite possibly can be trusted to mind her brothers for a few minutes in a car with her mother 15 feet away.

Saying that, I wouldn't have left the keys in the car with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

So now we have "SWAT" gardai........How American of U.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Ya and that 11 yr old will now be traumatised for life for not protecting her brother:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

MUM: Marlboro Using Mother

I thought everyone knew that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

How about you climb down of that ivory tower for a minute and focus on the real culprit here, i.e. the carjacker. What she popped into the shop for is irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

m@cc@ wrote: »
    How about you climb down of that ivory tower for a minute and focus on the real culprit here, i.e. the carjacker. What she popped into the shop for is irrelevant.

Yes but she did a very stupid thing.When I am out with the kids and I need to get petrol ,I fill the car up then lock it when I go into pay ,and Iv'e always got my eye on the car outside.She's a fcuking idiot tbh.Car outside with the engine running jeeez:rolleyes:

Yes but she did a very stupid thing.When I am out with the kids and I need to get petrol ,I fill the car up then lock it when I go into pay ,and Iv'e always got my eye on the car outside.She's a fcuking idiot tbh.Car outside withe engine running jeeez:rolleyes:

Yes, she did do a stupid thing but we all do stupid things every day without realising. 99% of the time we're lucky enough not to be punished for it. Show me a perfect parent and I'll show you a fraud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The mother should not have left the kids in the car but the culprit is the scumbag here. I hear on the news he turned up in court with a black eye. I dont think to many people will be feeling sorry for him.

Leave the mother alone, herself and her kids are traumatised over this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Why didn't the armed cops just shot the ****er in the head, i guess it wont matter anyway, no doubt he will be murdered soon anyway like most of the scum and then you have people in the media saying they was too much coverage given to the murdered girl in Tyrone when there wasn't to other murder's that occured, oh let me see that is because the other murdered's are mostly scum.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Yes, she did do a stupid thing but we all do stupid things every day without realising. 99% of the time we're lucky enough not to be punished for it. Show me a perfect parent and I'll show you a fraud.

There are no perfect parents ,but what she did is basic "what not to do as a parent 101" stuff ,that's the kind of thing that is just common sense.It's like idiots leaving their kids in a sweltering car in the summer and then wondering why the child died from heat stroke ,you just don't do it.

Why didn't the armed cops just shot the ****er in the head, i guess it wont matter anyway, no doubt he will be murdered soon anyway like most of the scum and then you have people in the media saying they was too much coverage given to the murdered girl in Tyrone when there wasn't to other murder's that occured, oh let me see that is because the other murdered's are mostly scum.

This makes me laugh, there was only as much coverage as what the public appetite wanted. Media companies make a lot of money perfectly judging such things.

hondasam wrote: »
    The mother should not have left the kids in the car but the culprit is the scumbag here. I hear on the news he turned up in court with a black eye. I dont think to many people will be feeling sorry for him.

Leave the mother alone, herself and her kids are traumatised over this.

You're right ,now for that scumbag I hope people teach him a lesson in prison

phasers wrote: »
    The ma is a moron. Hope she enjoyed her smokes.

That is a bit unfair on the mother.

it is hardly neglect. dont be so unfair, why are you overlooking what the scumbag did ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mind44

what she did is basic "what not to do as a parent 101" stuff

parent 101?? What's with all this American crap on these boards?

Mind44 wrote: »
    parent 101?? What's with all this American crap on these boards?

It's a phrase that I thought everyone would get like "parenting for dummies" etc...which I probably should have used in hindsight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That is a bit unfair on the mother.
    How so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It was a bit irresponsible to leave the kids in the car with the keys in but I know the place where it happened (if it did happen in Cratloe as I was told) it's a rural area (albeit about six miles from Limerick) and I guess she thought nothing was likely to happen.

What kind of cunt was the bloke to dump the toddler out on the side of the road where cars were likely to be coming. :mad:

phasers wrote: »
    How so?

The mother and her kids are the injured party here, she left them for a few minutes, this does not make her a bad mother.

scumbag is wrong, he dumped a 2yr old child on the side of the road. I hope he gets the ****e kicked out of him inside.

The mother and her kids are the injured party here, she left them for a few minutes, this does not make her a bad mother.

scumbag is wrong, he dumped a 2yr old child on the side of the road. I hope he gets the ****e kicked out of him inside.

The mother is wrong also ,very wrong.Have you kids yourself ,a few minutes ,with the engine running ,am I missing something:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Limerick radio reported also this evening that the mother of the children is from a "well to-fo and well-known" traveller family. Let the discussion commence.

Arciphel wrote: »
    Limerick radio reported also this evening that the mother of the children is from a "well to-fo and well-known" traveller family. Let the discussion commence.

The point is ,none of this probably would have happened if she had turned off the engine and locked the car.She's at fault ,the scumbag saw an opportunity and took it.If the opportunity wasn't there it wouldn't have happened.She's an idiot and deserves no sympathy.