Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dun Laoghaire

• 21-01-2011 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭

How likely is it that Gilmore's transfers will haul the great misandrist Bacik over the line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭dubhthach

Sleepy wrote: »
    How likely is it that Gilmore's transfers will haul the great misandrist Bacik over the line?

When you think that Cyprian Brady only got 939 first preferences (2.7% of vote) and still got elected on Bertie's transfers, well anything is possible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

dubhthach wrote: »
    When you think that Cyprian Brady only got 939 first preferences (2.7% of vote) and still got elected on Bertie's transfers, well anything is possible.

Except he didn't!

the quota was 6,928

At the first count Bertie got 12,734 and Cyprian got 939
    Another FF candidate Mary Fitzpatrick got 1,725

after Bertie got reduced to 6,928 and his surplus of 5,806 was transferred
    Cyprian was on 3,342 ( +2403)
    Mary was on 3,087 ( +1362)

Cyprian matched Mary for transfers and by the fifth count still was 200 votes ahead

Of her 3,447 elimination votes Cyprian got 1,992 bringing him to 5,608
    This still would not have elected him as Pascal Donohoe the FG candidate
    was on 4,174; Tony Grergory had just got in on with a 568 Surplus and Mary Lou was still in the race but about to be eliminated with 4,120.

Joe Costello was also leading on 6,073

Cyprian got more than twice as many Gergory transfers as the other two and even 30 more than costello and they split about evenly between them leaving Mary Lou eliminated on 4,178

1,813 went to Costello bringing him in but Cyprian got 584 (on 6,348) and Pascal only 340 (leaving him on 4,556)

So rather than "Bertie's transfers" ( which were significant only in drawing cyprian 200 votes up on the other FF candidate and still only half way to the quota with not enough to reach the quota even if he got every single one of her votes) Cyprian's election was made sure by

1. Gregory transferring more to Cyprian than anyone else
    2. Mary Lou's vote not transferring to FG. In fact about a third of it ( 1,441) was non transferrable
    ( don't forget at this stage the eleventh preferences of 58 votes and excluding the preferences she got herself from Bertie, about 700 were 3rd 4th 5th and so on) .
    3. FG running a single candidate who got less than a half of a quota.
    4. Labour running a single candidate and getting a quota and a third on final transfers but only 0.63 first preferences
    5. Independent candidates transferring to Cyprian.

It is a massive achievement all the same on party share - FF got 44.5% of the vote ( up 5 per cent). For a quota they needed 20 %
    Gregory/independents got 18 %
    Lab 12.5% and FG 9.5% SF 9%

On total votes FF got 2.22 quotas. Now who do you think was the person that organised the FF party in that constituency? Hint : It was not Bertie.

Sleepy wrote: »

Unlikely. If she gets in it would be without reaching the quota. I think Lab will lose votes to the real Marxists so the old trots that Bacik worked with in Trinity and the old Official Sinn Fein stickies who supported Gilmore may well go over to them. In the smoked salmon socalist set many may opt for Green or FG. FG will increase their vote probably at the expense of FF. So Labour won't get two quotas and FG maybe get two and a bit or two and a half. That's for and a bit for five people. One of the FG and one Lab probably won't get in. Then the Greens the new left Boyd Barret and FF will also poll well. It is a four seater now so the quota should be around 8,000. Dun Laoghaire lost an area ( Stillorgan ) which is mostly FG according to the last local elections.Given both FF candidates polled over 8,000 and they got 20,000 between them and FF losing about 2,500 from the last local elections it is hard to believe FF could get less than 5,000 votes and not pick up at least one seat. however if FF lost two seats it would be difficult to believe Green or new left or an independent would not pick that up instead of Labour. that my guess anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I reckon Boyd barrett has a right good chance here. Sure didnt he barely lose out the last time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Fianna Fáil Barry Andrews
    Fianna Fáil Mary Hanafin
    Fine Gael Seán Barrett
    Fine Gael Mary Mitchell O'Connor
    Green Party Ciarán Cuffe
    Labour Party Ivana Bacik
    Labour Party Eamon Gilmore
    PBP Richard Boyd Barrett

Is this a full list?

I hope to god RBB does not get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Is McWilliams going to run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Fianna Fáil Mary Hanafin
    Fine Gael Seán Barrett
    Green Party Ciarán Cuffe
    Labour Party Ivana Bacik
    PBP Richard Boyd Barrett

Is this a full list?

Has Sinn Féin no candidate there? I hope Bacik doesn't get in. She's far too much of an ideologue for my liking. I wouldn't be mad about Cuffe either since he came out back in 2007 and advocated that Sikhs should have a right to wear their turban in An Garda Síochána, claiming that the ban was "racist" (despite all headgear being affected by the ban).

Boyd Barrett will undoubtedly get in this time.

Its only 4 seats this time too, not 5, don't forget.

Gilmore is a definite, Hanafin too I reckon (unfortunately), probably one FG and Bacik IMO.

But out of that lot there is no one worth voting for IMO

here's the previous results.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%BAn_Laoghaire_%28D%C3%A1il_%C3%89ireann_constituency%29

look at the difference in the number of candidates, notably in 2002.
    Very few options in comparison this time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I think RBB is in with a proper shout, got 8.9% FPV last time, and alot of the areas he didnt poll well have been moved to south dublin, also he'll pick up alot of the votes that Cuffe will drop, and transfers very well from SF & Independents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

here's the previous results.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%BAn_Laoghaire_%28D%C3%A1il_%C3%89ireann_constituency%29

look at the difference in the number of candidates, notably in 2002.
    Very few options in comparison this time

This small number seems to be repeated in every constituency. Is it because people are inexplicably slow in putting their names forward, despite having well over a month's notice so far? Or are people just avoiding politics?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

My guess.

2 FG
    1 Labour
    The last seat between RBB and FF (probably Mary Hanafin but I think she is damaged good, andrews may beat her.)

If David McWilliams run it could be a game changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I reckon it'll be Gilmore, Sean Barrett, Hanafin, and an almighty scrap for the last seat.

Boyd Barrett, for my money, has lost some of his sting in the last 3 years, and may struggle to match what he got last time out. SF didn't register last time despite having a solid candidate, and it'll be interesting to see whether Bacik gains any traction. With a stronger ticket, FG would have a good shout, but MM O'Connor (despite a good base in dalkey) isn't terribly convincing. Cuffe is surely toast, and Andrews has lost a good chunk of his voters to Dublin South. I reckon Bacik will just squeak in on their transfers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

RBB is fairly confident of getting in last time I was talking to him anyway. Shane Ross not running here has helped and hopefully McWilliams won't run. He hasn't been great in the media recently though, his campaign has been going a while though so perhaps he's jaded already or saving some ire for the run in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Dionysus wrote: »
    Has Sinn Féin no candidate there? I hope Bacik doesn't get in. She's far too much of an ideologue for my liking. I wouldn't be mad about Cuffe either since he came out back in 2007 and advocated that Sikhs should have a right to wear their turban in An Garda Síochána, claiming that the ban was "racist" (despite all headgear being affected by the ban).

Boyd Barrett will undoubtedly get in this time.

Eoin O'Broin is running AFAIK.

Fianna Fáil Mary Hanafin
    Fine Gael Seán Barrett
    Green Party Ciarán Cuffe
    Labour Party Ivana Bacik
    PBP Richard Boyd Barrett

Is this a full list?

The is a victor Boyhan. Independent councillor who is running I think. He did wel as a first timer in the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

D-Mack Christ Superstar is NOT running.

Thank everything.

FF are talking about moving Hanafin out to stand somewhere else.
    Which would be just hilarious.

I am not convinced that Barry Andrews is gone yet, I wonder what his awesome brother makes of it?

I think that Putting Bacik and Gilmore in the same constituency is a bit of a mistake.
    I do hope Boyd Barrett doesn't get in. He is a clown.

Bye Bye Ciarán.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    D-Mack Christ Superstar is NOT running.

Thank everything.

FF are talking about moving Hanafin out to stand somewhere else.
    Which would be just hilarious.

Really? and you evidence for that is?

considering FF had their convention and announced Hanafin as a candidate in Dun Laoghaire this is surprising.
    I am not convinced that Barry Andrews is gone yet, I wonder what his awesome brother makes of it?

As I stated, I would think between Andrews and Bacik FF have a seat. if it was a five seater I would be certain they have. One of them will almost certainly lose out . The transfers between the two will be interesting.
    I think that Putting Bacik and Gilmore in the same constituency is a bit of a mistake.
    I do hope Boyd Barrett doesn't get in. He is a clown.

Bye Bye Ciarán.

I think Bacik ran as a sweeper and to keep her name up there but she actually stands a chance of being elected. If she gets elected I suspect like Gilmore she will avoid the old Marxist rhetoric outside of private closed meetings.

ISAW wrote: »
    Really? and you evidence for that is?

considering FF had their convention and announced Hanafin as a candidate in Dun Laoghaire this is surprising.

Nope, just this.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/martin-may-force-tds-into-constituency-switchmicheal-martin-in-election-mode-2514700.html

Just something I heard on the radio this morning.
    Could be Fionnan getting carried away.
    As I stated, I would think between Andrews and Bacik FF have a seat. if it was a five seater I would be certain they have. One of them will almost certainly lose out . The transfers between the two will be interesting.

Certainly will be. Mary is stained with cabinet stink.
    Might be a rougher day than people expect.
    Do you think she will poll well?

Also I think if I wasn't so anti-fianna fail I would like Andrews.
    So that could be colouring my thoughts.

I think Bacik ran as a sweeper and to keep her name up there but she actually stands a chance of being elected. If she gets elected I suspect like Gilmore she will avoid the old Marxist rhetoric outside of private closed meetings.

I'm not sure what you mean by Sweeper.
    She is a party spokesperson and has a very strong presence. I don't really think Labour are big enough to play with candidates.
    Marxist rhetoric.....thats a little bit extreme for Ivana, surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Not sure why a lot of you are convinced that Gilmore's gonna mop up on first preferences.

This is a constituency with a lot of old blue rinse FG types, who used to have a Taoiseach in Liam Cosgrave, and when FG do well at general elections they do exceptionally well out in DL.

Don't rule Barrett getting through on the first count, esp. if the Labour leader blows it on the debates,and that may even bring the running mate O'Connor into contention for seat #4.

One FF will remain -prob. Andrews due to the family name, because it can't be for anything else. Cuffe is obviously a goner.

As for Bacik, if she can't get in here of all places then she will never get elected anywhere in the country.

Boyhan was the only reasonable, modest sounding person on FrontLine but I don't think he will feature for a seat.

The fourth seat is a divil to call all the same.

Not sure why a lot of you are convinced that Gilmore's gonna mop up on first preferences.

Because people like him.
    And because he is a great shout to be at least Taniste.

I pretty much agree with the rest of that.
    I'm not sure I get your point on Bacik.
    Do you expect her to get in and not Gilmore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Because people like him.
    And because he is a great shout to be at least Taniste.

I pretty much agree with the rest of that.
    I'm not sure I get your point on Bacik.
    Do you expect her to get in and not Gilmore?

His seat is safe alright. Just saying that he's got the added pressure of leaders debates, which either will swing some votes for or against him before election day. He's going to need a very strong first preference to bring Bacik in.

Cuffe and BB had canvassers out today.

I saw Gilmore too, but he looked more like he was having a saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

I'm struggling to see Bacik getting elected, just by going by talking to others in the area, she's just disliked generally. As an aside, Gilmore and Labour in general appear to have become unpopular around the Blackrock area. He's seen as only focusing on Shankill, Ballybrack, Killiney, Dun Laoghaire etc and just ignoring this end of the constituency. In the last 8 years we've never had someone from Labour canvass our estate. This could definately cost Bacik a few thousand votes I imagine.

Boyd-Barrett's only chance of getting that 4th seat is if he can get elected in the first round. I get the impression he'll pick up very few electoral transfers from the other candidates with the exception of Sinn Fein possibly.

I can't see Fianna Fail holding one seat due to the fact both Hanafin and Andrews are running, they'll split the vote.

Cuffe is a complete dead duck, not a hope for him.

What does everyone make of Victor Boylan, the independent? I've met him a couple of times and always found him very approachable and full of lots of ideas to improve the constituency. I'm seriously considering giving him my first preference.

I'm struggling to see Bacik getting elected, just by going by talking to others in the area, she's just disliked generally. As an aside, Gilmore and Labour in general appear to have become unpopular around the Blackrock area. He's seen as only focusing on Shankill, Ballybrack, Killiney, Dun Laoghaire etc and just ignoring this end of the constituency. In the last 8 years we've never had someone from Labour canvass our estate. This could definately cost Bacik a few thousand votes I imagine.

Boyd-Barrett's only chance of getting that 4th seat is if he can get elected in the first round. I get the impression he'll pick up very few electoral transfers from the other candidates with the exception of Sinn Fein possibly.

I can't see Fianna Fail holding one seat due to the fact both Hanafin and Andrews are running, they'll split the vote.

Cuffe is a complete dead duck, not a hope for him.

What does everyone make of Victor Boylan, the independent? I've met him a couple of times and always found him very approachable and full of lots of ideas to improve the constituency. I'm seriously considering giving him my first preference.

Its gonna be hard for Boylan to make any impact.
    Some heavy hitters in this constituency.
    And Boyd Barrett has serious profile by comparison and will take a lot of the "screw the parties" vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

She'll be sacking her poster staff. Nearly all the Hanafin ones around Dun Laoghaire, Dalkey are either on the ground or hanging down off the poles. That'll be costly! She'll have to dig in to the teacher's summer pay she gets every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭lang

My thinking on how Dún Laoghaire will go is as follows:

Gilmore - 1st
    S. Barrett - 2nd
    Bacik - 3rd
    Then a close call between Hanafin and Boyd-Barrett for the the fourth place. Would be surprised if Hahafin got any higher than 3rd place. Will be disappointed if she (or Andrews) get in at all, tbh.

Saturday should be an interesting day in the life of Irish Politics.....think there'll be a few upsets, I just hope there is not a huge landslide for FG resulting in them getting an overall Majority. If FG get overall Majority, then I fear there will not be a cohesive Opposition in the Dáil. I could not see Labour joining forces with FF even in Opposition after the 14 years FF had in Government.

Also think that FF will have about the same amount of seats as the smaller parties and Inds put together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Here's how I think it will go (bit of a change over the last few days)

1-Eamonn Gilmore
    2-Sean Barrett
    3-Possibly Ivana Bacik (I see her struggling though) or Barry Andrews
    4-Richard Boyd Barrett or maybe the other Fine Gael one (bit of a nobody though).

I feel Andrews definately has a better chance of holding his seat than Hanafin anyway. All the other independents and Cuffe will shake up the mix also, could be a tough one to call.

Out of interest has anyone actually met Gilmore out campaigning in Dun Laoghaire at all??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

1-Eamonn Gilmore
    2-Sean Barrett
    4-Richard Boyd Barrett or maybe the other Fine Gael one (bit of a nobody though).

I feel Andrews definately has a better chance of holding his seat than Hanafin anyway. All the other independents and Cuffe will shake up the mix also, could be a tough one to call.

Out of interest has anyone actually met Gilmore out campaigning in Dun Laoghaire at all??

im from this constituency and have seen gilmore around once or twice. i havent seen bacik. i think that it will be like this :

1. Gilmore no doubt about it.
    2 Barrett
    3.bacik i think Gilmores surplus will get her over the line.
    4. im guessing a real shock and going for boyd - barrett the amount of young people ive met around the town who are given him the number 1 is shocking. also everyone ive meet as had a good word to say for him.

but il be shocked if a ff person does not get in. i would love if Hanafin didnt get in im sick of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭lang

I cant see Andrews getting in, which I would see as a bit of a pity. While he is FF he comes across as a down-to-earth guy. Think that if FF are to get someone it'll be Hanafin. I cant see Mitchell-O'Conor (FG) getting in. I dont think she'll get enough transfers from Barrett. The only candidate that has called to my door is Ind Carl Haughton. Had a Canvasser from PBP call also. Havent seen any other candidates around at all. Think everyone is running scared, but I for one will be giving Haughton a Preference since he made the time to come out and meet the electorate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 David MacD123

1-Eamonn Gilmore
    2-Sean Barrett
    4-Richard Boyd Barrett

If the "vote" poll on here is to be believed, the call above is absolutely right. I cannot believe that Dun laoghaire will put in Bacik and Boyd Barrett!

The result will be 2 Lab, 1FG and 1 head-banger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭liveline

1-Eamonn Gilmore
    2-Sean Barrett
    4-Richard Boyd Barrett

If the "vote" poll on here is to be believed, the call above is absolutely right. I cannot believe that Dun laoghaire will put in Bacik and Boyd Barrett!

The result will be 2 Lab, 1FG and 1 head-banger.

I would think Mary Hanafin has a far better chance of getting the seat than Andrews. Hanafin is very popular locally. Having said that I think she will struggle to get elected even with transfers from Andrews.. The first two seats will be Gilmore and Sean Barrett. I think Mary Mitchell O'Connor will take the third seat (FG have been doing a lot to get her media exposure). The fourth seat will be between Bacik, Hanafin and Boyd-Barrett. Hard one to call but I'd say 2 FG, 1 L, 1FF (just)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

what happened to David McWilliams running?

PomBear wrote: »
    what happened to David McWilliams running?

Essentially he said he didn't have enough time. He definitely would have taken a seat.

liveline wrote: »

.. The first two seats will be Gilmore and Sean Barrett. I think Mary Mitchell O'Connor will take the third seat (FG have been doing a lot to get her media exposure). The fourth seat will be between Bacik, Hanafin and Boyd-Barrett. Hard one to call but I'd say 2 FG, 1 L, 1FF (just)

my point is that the poll on here is saying:
    1. Gilmore
    2. Barrett
    3. Bacik
    4. Boyd Barrett

Not a result that would please me - I'd prefer livelines view, but with Green insead of FF because of their electoral reform policy

my point is that the poll on here is saying:
    1. Gilmore
    2. Barrett
    3. Bacik
    4. Boyd Barrett

Not a result that would please me - I'd prefer livelines view, but with Green insead of FF because of their electoral reform policy

I've always like Ciaran Cuffe but he hasn't got a chance of retaining his seat IMO. Then again, when you lie down with the devil...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

lang wrote: »
    I cant see Andrews getting in, which I would see as a bit of a pity. While he is FF he comes across as a down-to-earth guy.

It's the classic hate-the-party-but-the-guy-on-the-ground-is-good conundrum.

geeky wrote: »
    It's the classic hate-the-party-but-the-guy-on-the-ground-is-good conundrum.

Exactly. In Dublin South East, Chris Andrews is running an almost anti-FF campaign despite still being a FF TD. No matter how nice or how good on the ground they are, I just could never bring myself to vote for an FFer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Whoa. After what I've just read about Bacik I really, really hope to God she doesn't get it.
    Nothing I hate more than an "equality except where we lose our perks" feminazi.

Anyway I'm up for Richard Boyd Barrett. If it weren't for him we'd have 3 feckin' skyscraper monstrosities on our seafront (which would undoubtedly now be part of the vast NAMA property empire) and who knows what else. He was one of the only people who actually called out what a scandal it was having Derek Brady as our county manager in the first place.

I was originally up for 2 labour but now that I know Bacik's views on crime (if a woman does it, she gets off with a lighter punishment because she's a woman) I hope we get Richard, Gilmore, Sean Barrett, and Mary Mitchell o Connor. I will be voting in that order myself (possibly interchanging the two FGs, depending on how the vote is shaping up - I'll base that decision on who looks more likely to need transfers)

EDIT: Cheers to OP, had I not noticed the rarely used 'misandrist' in your post I would never have read up on what an appalling chauvinist she actually is! :)

Whoa. After what I've just read about Bacik I really, really hope to God she doesn't get it.

Anyway I'm up for Richard Boyd Barrett. If it weren't for him we'd have 3 feckin' skyscraper monstrosities on our seafront (which would undoubtedly now be part of the vast NAMA property empire) and who knows what else. He was one of the only people who actually called out what a scandal it was having Derek Brady as our county manager in the first place.

I was originally up for 2 labour but now that I know Bacik's views on crime (if a woman does it, she gets off with a lighter punishment because she's a woman) I hope we get Richard, Gilmore, Sean Barrett, and Mary Mitchell o Connor. I will be voting in that order myself (possibly interchanging the two FGs, depending on how the vote is shaping up - I'll base that decision on who looks more likely to need transfers)

EDIT: Cheers to OP, had I not noticed the rarely used 'misandrist' in your post I would never have read up on what an appalling chauvinist she actually is! :)

Boyd Barrett may have been good at local level but why vote for him as a TD when his policies are off the wall? Keep him at local level, where he can work on the ground. Don't let him into big school yet. He has serious issues with basic arithmetic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 solutionsolver

I think the third seat will go to Boyd Barrett, the fact that SF are not running a candidate here is a huge advantage to him. He'll pick up a lot of the Ballybrack, Sallynoggin vote which will be enough on top of his own popular vote. Also the local issue about parking he fought against last week and lost out to the FG and Labour coalition that has run DL for years (and destroyed it) will work in his favour if he highlights it this week. Last time around the local issue was St. Michaels hospital that he highlighted last week and it nearly paid off for him.

Fourth seat, I see the FF surge getting Mary H over the line. She has got some things for DL in fairness, schools, artificial pitches to mention but two.

FG majority Govt i.e. FG with an Independent group is a very tempting vote with Paddy Power at 5-1 ....worth a fiver I reckon!

Boyd Barrett may have been good at local level but why vote for him as a TD when his policies are off the wall? Keep him at local level, where he can work on the ground. Don't let him into big school yet. He has serious issues with basic arithmetic.

He has one policy that I strongly approve of, which no other politician has. He believes in the will of the people. He tells the truth.
    Instead of believing, like most politicians, that a manifesto is only until election day and once elected, he or she can do whatever the f*ck they like regardless of anything they have promised to do or not to do, and regardless of whether people agree with doing it or not.

If all politicians were like him, there would be no need for WikiLeaks to exist. Politicians wouldn't be allowed to hide anything from the people in the first place.

Richard is a genuine democrat. He believes the government should follow public opinion. Hence his baths campaign. The public didn't want the thing built, therefore the council have no right to build it.

If this was applied across the entire government there would be a great deal less self serving policies, and a great deal less cronyism. Ireland run by the people for the people, not run by the old boy network for the old boy network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

I was originally up for 2 labour but now that I know Bacik's views on crime (if a woman does it, she gets off with a lighter punishment because she's a woman)
    Where did she say this?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Boyd Barrett will be hurt baddly by his remarkes about decriminialsing Heroin and cocaine.

4th seat will go down to the wire!

Richard is a genuine democrat. He believes the government should follow public opinion.

I would fundamentally disagree with Richard then. I believe a government should do what's right in the interest of fairness. I would rather see a government that goes against public opinion in the pursuit of justice and equality, rather than the populist style auction politics that we are so used to in this country. The people don't always know best. And the people can be selfish.

Will somebody explain to me how Boyd Barretts stance on local issues quailify him to potentially take part in running the country. Where has he demonstrated any competence in dealing with the national issues that we face?

If he has the integrity that he has been credited with on here, then that is surely something to be recommended, but it doesnt make him competent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Odds from PaddyPower. Price on Boyd-Barrett looks decent.

Eamon Gilmore (Lab) 1.01
    Sean Barrett (FG) 1.01
    Mary Hanafin (FF) 1.50
    Ivana Bacik (Lab) 1.57
    Mary Mitchell O'Connor (FG) 1.90
    Richard Boyd-Barrett (PBP) 3.00
    Barry Andrews (FF) 5.00
    Trevor Frederick Patton (Ind) 51.00
    Nick Crawford (Ind) 51.00
    Ciaran Cuffe (Green) 34.00
    Trevor Frederick Patton (Ind) 51.00
    Victor Boyhan 51.00
    Carl J. Haughton (Ind) 51.00
    Daire Fitzgerald (CSP) 67.00
    Mike Deegan (Ind) 51.00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Mezcita wrote: »
    Odds from PaddyPower. Price on Boyd-Barrett looks decent.

he was 3/1 for a short while on friday morning, that was obviously too big

Boyd Barrett will be hurt baddly by his remarkes about decriminialsing Heroin and cocaine.

4th seat will go down to the wire!

Whoa, did he say he would be in favour of such legalization?
    My respect for him, already at an extreme high, has rocketed. Personal choice FTW. Victimless 'crime' =/= crime.

With regard to democracy, the government are there to represent what the people want, not what they want or what their friends want.
    I want a government which tells me what it's really doing. Not one which will constantly lie to keep me quiet while running the country on their own terms rather than ours, the people's.

blubloblu wrote: »
    Where did she say this?

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhgbcwsngbid/

Absolutely sick if you ask me. I can't stand this kind of "feminist" who argues that men and women are equal, unless women stand to benefit from inequality.