Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brians Cowen's big heave part2!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Move along, nothing to see here-they had their chance and they blew it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Conor Lenihan was just on the news saying that Cowen should consider his position following the farce that was today, and that he thinks that he should have stood aside last week... hilarious..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

I would have said there was no point now but after the shambles conducted by Clowen today - if he had any respect for his party he would go. He would have done less damage had he come out and begged the public to vote for Fine Gael in the election.

Conor Lenihan said Cowen displatyed a lack of respect to FF and the office of Taoiseach and must now move on and let the party repair itself.

I don't think there will be a heave - I think Cowen will probably resign. Everyone else has afterall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

You couldn't make this up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 jayemdee

Rats leaving the sinking ship comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

You'd think he would at this point, just on a personal level, to have done with it all. He won't achieve much in the next 50 days and by resigning now he'll get to retire, keep the car and driver and feck off back to Offaly to live it up while the rest of us are slaving away lucky to have jobs. Personally if I was him I'd just go. handier for him int he long run I'd think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Citizen_Cutback

SB-08 wrote: »
    I don't think there will be a heave - I think Cowen will probably resign. Everyone else has afterall.

Resign as Fianna Fail leader? He'd still be Taoiseach. DOH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Saying on Radio One that when all the FF TDs came out of the Dáil post today's session they looked like "survivors of a plane crash", and that Brian Lenihan, Conor Lenihan, Michael Martin and others were very deliberately pictured together in a huddle outside which the reporter described as similar to a war conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

i think it's a disgrace that Brian Cowen hasn't given up his position as the leader of the Irish people..

It's like the titanic ....what no problem here all is well... that big white thing in front of us is a mirage..

or is brian like comical ali !

leave now please Brian!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Brenireland

pegasus1 wrote: »
    i think it's a disgrace that Brian Cowen hasn't given up his position as the leader of the Irish people..

It's like the titanic ....what no problem here all is well... that big white thing in front of us is a mirage..

leave now please Brian!

I agree 100%,let's cut out the messing & go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

This week Cowen promised that there would always be a " Cowen from Clara in the dail "

I never knew this was a monarchy, Cowen seems to think it is his family's birthright to be in the dail. He will have to be dragged out :( like a sick bullock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Brian Cowens big heave 2: Judgement Day!!

How the hell can this man remain holding onto power... I have no doubt that he is honourable, but he should just fall on his sword the stubborn fool. He's made a mockery of government in this country, he has humiliated the office of an Taoiseach with his actions today, he is destroying the faith that the Irish people have in politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I am annoyed as hell today but remember this boardies the day has now been set in stone when we will get to pass judgement on Cowen, the greens and this government. It may not be as soon as we want it but at least we know when it is. God help any of them that call to my door for a vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

SeaFields wrote: »
    God help any of them that call to my door for a vote.

I was walking through UCC yesterday, and there was a bunch of Fianna Fáil Ógra student supporters with their little stand out, handing out leaflets. Wtf like how can they still be supporting? It was only 10 or 15 mind, but still!

Brian Dowling has just said that TD's are currently signing a new motion of no confidence in Cowen in order to oust him. This amazing day is not over yet. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Brian Dowling has just said that TD's are currently signing a new motion of no confidence in Cowen in order to oust him. This amazing day is not over yet. :eek:

I'm getting the popcorn then!

Conor Lenihan sticking the knife in on TV3.

Urslella suggesting what will happen is Senior Ministers will be tellling Cowne to go to avoid another No Motion confidence. Cowen truly is a dead many walking as Conor said earlier this week.

Conor said that Cowen promised some of the Junior Ministers who voted for him Senior Ministrerial posts. Is there nothing this moron won't do? I used to think Brian Cowen was somewhat intelligent but clearly he is an absolute moron to think he could possibly get away with this. I actually think he needs mental help at this point .:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I dont believe it. They are only getting our hopes up as a punishment because they know they will be gone come election.

If cowen is ousted does it mean an earlier election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Conor Lenihan was just on the news saying that Cowen should consider his position following the farce that was today, and that he thinks that he should have stood aside last week... hilarious..

First it was mary the hag and now it is conor the kebab.

Anyone think the brian the courageous is sending out his stalking horses to try and ressurect some chance of him being leader ?
    pegasus1 wrote: »

leave now please Brian!

Personnally I would like all the rats to go down with the sinking ship and not just king rat.
    lucozader wrote: »
    This week Cowen promised that there would always be a " Cowen from Clara in the dail "

I never knew this was a monarchy, Cowen seems to think it is his family's birthright to be in the dail. He will have to be dragged out :( like a sick bullock.

Maybe we should use a humane killer ?
    tommy21 wrote: »
    I was walking through UCC yesterday, and there was a bunch of Fianna Fáil Ógra student supporters with their little stand out, handing out leaflets. Wtf like how can they still be supporting? It was only 10 or 15 mind, but still!

Why didn't you ask them how many dig outs, special contracts, state jobs, planning, etc their familes have received down the years ?

I am not allowed discuss …

jabba the hut/toad in the Dáil is on the news!

missed most of it.. wonder is digging a bigger hole for himself!

hope its so big he can't get out!

he denies any further ousting with a cough included!

he is in total denial of being in trouble with his party..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Well, I've just seen the most pathetic performance by a so-called Taoiseach on the 6-1 news just now.
    Asked time and again that he is basically a castrated Taoiseach as he is powerless to appoint members to his cabinet, the great leader from Clara really couldn't deny it.
    He bleated he was entitled to but couldn't because the greens wouldn't let him.
    Asked why he didn't call an immediate election, he blatehred on about the finance bill again.

And watch out for Anne Cassin's face as the interview with Dobson finishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭JohnC.

It's disgusting how some of them are now falling over each other to call for him to go. They had a chance last Tuesday. When they were promised jobs, their principles went out the window and they backed him. Only when it transpired that they can't cash in on their bribes after all do they throw the bathwater, the baby and the kitchen sink out along with the principles they disposed of earlier. It's too late to try to gain respect in the electorate now, by pretending they have principles after all. They have only proven they are only interested in what they can get out of it. Utterly disgusting listening to them now.