Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

good dehorning crate

• 20-01-2011 11:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

can anyone recommend a good crate, local coop stores has cashel ones but a neighbour who has one says they arent great, are the nugent ones any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

can anyone recommend a good crate, local coop stores has cashel ones but a neighbour who has one says they arent great, are the nugent ones any good?

http://www.ritchie-d.co.uk/content/calf-dehorning-crates

The ritchie would be the best one that I have ever used. My Father in Law bought it at an auction where the previous owner had brought it from the uk.
    Its easy loaded, the calf is easy held in it and it is easy to let the calf out of it. the 3 most important factors of any crate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    http://www.ritchie-d.co.uk/content/calf-dehorning-crates

The ritchie would be the best one that I have ever used. My Father in Law bought it at an auction where the previous owner had brought it from the uk.
    Its easy loaded, the calf is easy held in it and it is easy to let the calf out of it. the 3 most important factors of any crate.
    ya nice looking one alright, might be hard to source one down my way though, probably fairly pricey as well, we have an ancient one that a local chap made up years ago..im gettng tired of patching it at this stage so might get a good one and hope it lasts..i like the one with the wheels for moving too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

ya nice looking one alright, might be hard to source one down my way though, probably fairly pricey as well, we have an ancient one that a local chap made up years ago..im gettng tired of patching it at this stage so might get a good one and hope it lasts..i like the one with the wheels for moving too

€480 I saw it advertised on the journal several weeks back with Lyons and Burton in Kilcock. It can take calves up to 3 months old - very handy for some Limousins that aren't strong enough to dehorn up until 3 months old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

i treated myself last year to a new crate and how did i ever do without it, i bought it at the ploughing match ,made by teemore engineering, it cost 650 euros + vat = 786 euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

Has any one used the attachments for the Crush that are advertised in the Journal. Seem a cheaper alternative to the crate

leg wax wrote: »
    i treated myself last year to a new crate and how did i ever do without it, i bought it at the ploughing match ,made by teemore engineering, it cost 650 euros + vat = 786 euros

looks a good one alright,just checked it online it would want to be for that money, the belly scoop is v important, mine are always going down inside in crate and they could get choked handy enough

adne wrote: »
    Has any one used the attachments for the Crush that are advertised in the Journal. Seem a cheaper alternative to the crate
    is that the red oneils job which you put on a gate.

looks a good one alright,just checked it online it would want to be for that money, the belly scoop is v important, mine are always going down inside in crate and they could get choked handy enough
    its as solid and they cant move in it, it will outlast me for my time.

did they deliver it to you wax or how did you get it home?

i collected it in enniscorty co wexford when i was looking at a bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Dupont wrote: »
    yes thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

That Teemore crate looks the business. We have a Nugent crate for the last 12 years and while it has given good service and is still in good nick, it's not exactly the most sophisticated yoke, is more for very young calves and does have the problem with calves falling down in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That Teemore crate looks the business. We have a Nugent crate for the last 12 years and while it has given good service and is still in good nick, it's not exactly the most sophisticated yoke, is more for very young calves and does have the problem with calves falling down in it.

Have Nugent aswel but don't use it, thinking of selling it.

I still think you can't beat a 'hobble' .

Simple, cheap and the best. A real recession buster:D

No danger of them choking and they are going nowhere. Equal pressure on their head (iron forcing down... concrete floor up the way) With a crate what's forcing against the iron? You hand? Your knee? Their neck? Far from ideal. No crate addresses this issue IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 odelbelle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

odelbelle wrote: »

I have the same, I think its well made and designed. The main thing with dehorning is to do them early, its easier on man and beast

is that buying direct of them? i havent seen them for sale up my way

I have the same, I think its well made and designed. The main thing with dehorning is to do them early, its easier on man and beast

jeff do calves go down in it, i dont see any support under the belly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

jeff do calves go down in it, i dont see any support under the belly?

there is a belly strap.

did you see the larger crate down on that page its made by a different company iae agri products , why is it on their site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 odelbelle

did you see the larger crate down on that page its made by a different company iae agri products , why is it on their site.
    Because you can get either depending on your requirements. IAE Sell through agents. O'Donovan Engineering are IAE agents....There is actually a large and a small IAE option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Hi leg wax,

This looks like the rolls royce of cald crates!

its hard to see from photo but does the belly bar raise up under the calf as you push down out side ?

Finally is it very heavy or would a fella be able to throw it into a van/jeep at a push!?

Bodacious wrote: »
    Hi leg wax,

This looks like the rolls royce of cald crates!

its hard to see from photo but does the belly bar raise up under the calf as you push down out side ?

Finally is it very heavy or would a fella be able to throw it into a van/jeep at a push!?

yes when you push down the scoop comes up under the calf ,the scoop that puhes the calf into and forward and out ,works top class. no you will not throw this into the back of the jeep, 2 people might its heavy.

well i took legwaxs advice
    unreal strong yoke, will tyr it out during the week maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Best of luck with it Vander!

looks to be the best engineered calf crate that I've seen.
    Great to have a mechanism to shove the calf forward.
    I also like the fact that it has wheels fitted, even if they are only nylon.
    Retractable handles, nice;)

Should make your job that bit easier this spring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Ya, it's a fine one alright. They've thought of everything, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

We de-horn with the calf caught in the calving gate. It's a two man job.
    That crate makes it a leisurely one man job I'd think.
    Great looking job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fastford

Anyone have any experience of these?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1836844

Think O'donavans look the best build quality. Get the lend of a home made one myself every year but really need to get something decent.

fastford wrote: »
    Anyone have any experience of these?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1836844

Think O'donavans look the best build quality. Get the lend of a home made one myself every year but really need to get something decent.

I've used this model just this evening and of all crates I detest that circular steel nose band bit i saw a strong char bull calf drive forward with that back in his mouth and i only just got the bar up off of his head before he broke every tooth in his mouth.

The teemore engineering one is the ultimate machine but expensive.any of the other ones are grand that dont ahve that steel circle would rather have my left hand or a strap down on his nose that see him hurting himself or damaging mouth/teeth... bad design IMO only though:)

Hi Vanderbadger,

Well done on the purchase - looks by far the best i've seen, love the belly scoop and the bum push.

I think ill take the plunge myself too do you mind me asking whats the best they can do it for in the south? Can you knock off the vat with southern VAT no.?

PM me if you like

Hi Vanderbadger,

Well done on the purchase - looks by far the best i've seen, love the belly scoop and the bum push.

I think ill take the plunge myself too do you mind me asking whats the best they can do it for in the south? Can you knock off the vat with southern VAT no.?

PM me if you like

€680 johnny cash is the best i could do anyway, thats direct from teemore no VAT, i met their lorry one day in galway and collected..alot of money surely but better to get the right thing once than pay 300 for a pile of ****e, also agree about those models where you push the calfs nose down into one of those rings, calf could hurt themselves
    word of warning if you do decide on it..
    it nearly creased myself and the lorry driver to lift this thing from an artic..its serious weight, and after that we just barely fitted it into the back of a lwb pajero, i mean i was fierce lucky i was able to bring it away from the side of the road so bring a trailer would be my advice :)

€680 johnny cash is the best i could do anyway, thats direct from teemore no VAT, i met their lorry one day in galway and collected..alot of money surely but better to get the right thing once than pay 300 for a pile of ****e, also agree about those models where you push the calfs nose down into one of those rings, calf could hurt themselves
    word of warning if you do decide on it..
    it nearly creased myself and the lorry driver to lift this thing from an artic..its serious weight, and after that we just barely fitted it into the back of a lwb pajero, i mean i was fierce lucky i was able to bring it away from the side of the road so bring a trailer would be my advice :)

Thanks fella and i see what your saying about buying quality and you'll have it for years and its galvanised.

I do a good bit of dehorning round the place for others and lifting her in and out sounds the biggest task but i'd live with that or even bring the small trailer.

What would she be like topple wise with a strong 2 month old lim suckler calf in it?

Thanks fella and i see what your saying about buying quality and you'll have it for years and its galvanised.

I do a good bit of dehorning round the place for others and lifting her in and out sounds the biggest task but i'd live with that or even bring the small trailer.

What would she be like topple wise with a strong 2 month old lim suckler calf in it?
    well to be honest i havent had an animal that old in mine but i dont think it would be an issue, i did younger calves and I actually forgot to let the wheels down and i never even noticed so id say it would be no problem at all

Mighty as some of the ones i have used when the going gets tough would turn over on ya handy enough, some lim can be late developers and can be a handful to do!!

Ill get onto them this week. Thanks.

Mighty as some of the ones i have used when the going gets tough would turn over on ya handy enough, some lim can be late developers and can be a handful to do!!

Ill get onto them this week. Thanks.
    it will not move with a strong calf going in or when he is in it.

Hi Vanderbadger/Leg wax,

Cheers for advice, took the plunge today and placed order for the Teemore Engineering model.

Thanks, should make my life easier and cleaner!!

Bodacious:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I picked up a calf crate off a lad from donedeal last night. Its like the teemore one, except for 3 difference or 4 ;).
    1. It doesnt have the racket system for the back of the calf, it uses a bar
    2. It has a one side that moves in and out to allow for older or stronger calves
    3. Its primed & painted not galvanises. But sure a powerwashing are use and a lick of paint
    4. €350 price tag
    • It has a belly scope
    • It is well made
    • It can be fitted with axel and wheels at extra cost
    • The lad is sound to deal with
    Not affilated at all with the lad. Ill test it on saturday and put up a few pics if i can

Hi Vanderbadger/Leg wax,

Cheers for advice, took the plunge today and placed order for the Teemore Engineering model.

Thanks, should make my life easier and cleaner!!

Bodacious:)

well did it make life a bit easier?

Hi Vander,

too right it did, great yoke, paid for itself in a couple of months and iĺl have it for a lifetime.. I hope!

I leave it in a small single axle trailer and have 2 6ft planks so she goes in and out handy.

Hi Vander,

too right it did, great yoke, paid for itself in a couple of months and iĺl have it for a lifetime.. I hope!

I leave it in a small single axle trailer and have 2 6ft planks so she goes in and out handy.

ive a friend thats a carpenter, anyway he is handy enough at welding, makes his own barriers, gates etc, he borrowed mine a few times and thought it a great yoke so he reckoned he would try and copy it, when he brought it back he told me he had spent 30 hrs on it at that point, he had the main frame made and the yoke at the back for pushing them in, he had no belly bar made at that point and the head locker wasnt finished or no side sheeting.. he reckoned at 680 it was great value as there was a fair amount of making in them

Ah yeah, its alot of work to replicate something sometimes, hassle, phonecalls, explaining what you want..waiting, pressing fella to get onto it, handier to bite the bullet, pay for the tried and tested and strike it off your ¨wanted list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

This one on donedeal, looks useful, and not over expensive http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/2992526

Hi Vander,

Often heard it said that I'd break iron but I was out today dehorning calves and 2 nd yard I went out to I managed to break the infamous Teemore engineering crate... Weld snapped off On lever to right side which lifts the wheels and it's a tonne weight without the wheels so I suffered.. She at the garage now ! :(

holy god..they must be some monsters to break that yoke, never had that issue now, id be inclined to give them teemore lads a shout

Main body of it is fine
    It's just the point of weld to the circular bar which raises up the wheels.. Not calves that done it at all it's dragging it in and out on rough ground and alot of weight 0f the crate itself coming down on that weld when she bumping along.

I left it to a very good lad and see what he thinks Monday , might call Teemore then as the could send me out a new section , lever attached to bar which slides through

Got her back on the road there Monday, he done a great job, welded it mighty put extra weld on both sides, inside and outside (only outside surface before where circular bar comes thru 1" box iron .. He put galvanised paint over repaired/ welds too so tidy job, happy out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Easier to continue with this old thread than bring up a new one
    Thinking of buying our own dehorning crate rather than borrowing all the time
    the one we borrow is heavy and has the side that is flapping around, great yoke to crush fingers
    its dairy calves we are dehorning so they vary in ages depening on what we buy in, so there is a mix of ideal little buds but then there is some lads that are strong enough
    seen this one locally, http://www.condonengineering.ie/calves/de-horning-crate/
    looks handy enough when you can let them out the front, just wondering about the nose ring on the front and how easy it would be to get there nose into it in the first place, or has anyone got this model?

i think the like of the teemore on the earlier pages is more for suckler calves than the dairy ones we have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

F#ck the crate, get one of these. I do strong limo calves in it at 5 or 6 weeks old, no horn before that. You'd manage the dairy calves no bother.

http://www.ballinadee.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=65&Itemid=91