Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saw someone at an ATM the other day...

• 19-01-2011 4:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭

A couple of weeks back when on hols in Dublin I was walking towards Grafton St. from Camden St. with an empty wallet, so I figured I'd go to the ATM here and take out a few bob. There was a woman using the ATM, a guy queueing behind her, and then me. Plus the obligatory beggar beside the ATM. Anyhoo, I took up my place in the queue and straight away something about the guy struck me as familiar - I could only see the back of his head. Suddenly I realised it had to be BoD, even though I've never seen him in real life and I was still only looking at the back of his head.

Now I was determined to confirm who it was, so I placed myself slightly at the the right of the guy so that when he turned away from the ATM, he'd be turning across from me and I'd be able to see his face. I'd calculated that he'd turn to the side away from the beggar. This is where I went wrong. Instead, he turned towards the beggar, gave her some money and moved off towards Grafton St - and I'd still only seen the back of his head. Dammit. Now I'll never know. So I went up to the ATM to get my cash, and then a minute later headed that way myself. And what did I see 30 feet up the street? The same guy posing for a photo with some Asian lad, with another Asian lad taking a photo of them. It was BoD alright.

Is it sad that I was thrilled? I'd never approach the guy or impose on him - who the hell am I? I'm a total stranger, and he owes me nothing. But I'd have liked to communicate to him somehow that he's a personal hero of mine, a guy I've huge respect for, and thanks for all the great games etc. How can you do that without intruding on somebody? If I'd stopped him, I'd have been annoying him, and I'd probably have embarrassed myself.

The dilemma of the reserved fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I almost ran down Paul O'Connell in UL the other day.
    He ambled across in front of me without looking.

Woulda caused a hell of a dent.

I screamed out "HEY O'CONNELL, LOOK WHERE YOU ARE GOING YOU LANGER"*

*actually I didnt. I was too scared.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Should he not have been getting a hearty welcome at his local Credit Union?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

I've chatted to multiple Ireland/Leinster players while I'm drunk. Wouldn't do it if I wasn't drunk though, I'm sure I'm wrecking their heads! :P

So, in answer to your question, be drunk before chatting to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

I saw Tommy Bowe in Dublin airport waiting for a flight to Wales just after the grand slam win and said hello to him, thanked him for his part in the victory and wished him well with the singing career. I was well chuffed with myself, he seemed less so.

Almost bumped into BOD around Grafton street / Stephen's Green at the corner near the newsagent, didn't say anything, but wished I'd given out to him for crossing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

CouchSmart wrote: »
    I've chatted to multiple Ireland/Leinster players while I'm drunk. Wouldn't do it if I wasn't drunk though, I'm sure I'm wrecking their heads! :P

So, in answer to your question, be drunk before chatting to them.

Made my way into the Halo Reach launch party in September and wound up playing Halo with Jamie Heaslip! Thanks to the free bar though I had a lovely slurred chat with him, he of course sobre as a priest! I can't remember much but I know I managed in my starstruck state to say "Grand Slam", "Halo" and "Newbridge College" (I would have started in Newbridge when he was in Sixth Year, no idea why I thought there was any proper conversation gonna come out of that!).

I'm bloody horrific at talking to anyone of any celebrity level!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

As were all sharing, I've seen ROG a couple of times in Dunnes Stores in Douglas.
    Also some of the Munster squad used to visit the East Village bar after playing at Musgrave park the night before and I was able to get introduced to them a couple of times, but that was pre-2004 and I was only about 13 then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

You should never meet your heroes. I met Woody once in a pub and had a long chat. This would have been around 2000 when he was a superstar and a hero.

He's much less impressive in real life. All round nice bloke with no neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Met an Ireland and Leinster legend that I went to school with, and all I could do was slag the bollix off him just like the old days...