Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HTC Desire HD

• 19-01-2011 4:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭

Father is due an upgrade and he's going to give me a new phone and Iv been looking at the HTC Desire HD

Just wonder what are posters thoughts on this phone and would it be meteors best bill phone?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

I got it during the week from work. I think it's brilliant. It is my first Android phone, coming from symbian, so it was quite an upgrade. Some people find it too big though. Maybe best to go and look at in the shop first if possible. Also plenty of people have complained about the battery life. I use mine fairly heavily during the day, constantly syncing, using wireless and 3g and I usually have about 70% battery left by the time I get home.

I haven't rooted mine yet, but intend to do so at some stage. I'd say if Ye don't mind the size or the battery life, it's a fantastic phone. I'm particularly impressed with sense UI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I have one ... I love it. As gonzovision said, the battery life is one of the downsides, but with the screen being so big its gonna be consuming quite a bit.
    Its quite big .. so get to a shop and have a hands on look at it. Id recommend it ... I came from Nokia and love the Android OS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I was a symbian man for a few years and I ended up getting the HD last monht. I bleeding love it. the battery doesnt bother me on it one bit. I use it for gaming, internet crap obviously making calls and texts and I never had any problems with it. Only takes a second to root it aswell if ya want to do that. The size of it doesnt bother me. Im used to having big things in me pockets bahahahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

I got one yesterday after much debate between the original Desire and the newer HD. I eventually went with the HD and I'm glad I did. The screen is massive so that will take a little getting used to but I think I will get used to the size of it in no time. Battery life is hard on smartphone like these, so thats one thing to consider but there are things you can do to conserve battery life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

just got home with my Desire HD, looks a beast of a phone

how does it take to charge, im dying to get going with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

seanybiker wrote: »
    I was a symbian man for a few years and I ended up getting the HD last monht. I bleeding love it. the battery doesnt bother me on it one bit. I use it for gaming, internet crap obviously making calls and texts and I never had any problems with it. Only takes a second to root it aswell if ya want to do that. The size of it doesnt bother me. Im used to having big things in me pockets bahahahaha.

Is the Nokia N97 symbian if so agree I have one and it is a piece of crap. Hopefully getting one of these in a few weeks- excuse my ignorance what does Root it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Headshot wrote: »

Check the manual. I think it says the first charge should be 10 hours or something like that? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Also, after first charge let it go dead completely before You charge it, its good to get the battery off to a good start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭kgt272

Brillant phone! unreal!

Only real negative is the camera and video capabilities on it! when taking still photos its magical but anything with a bit of movement then the pictures and videos can look blurry and washed out!

Even still wouldn't change it for the world just disappointed in the camera! my main use is for Internet, twitter , watching multimedia , music player, and a brilliant app called Cardio-trainer on it works a treat for my jogging!

Had a symbian based n95 and there is no comparison, they are opposite ends of the spectrum in terms of functionality, Desire HD is the daddy!

I had a quick go with it there folks

camera is pure awesome, its just a beast of a phone

cant wait for it to fully charge so I can really play around with it

Im not usually a fan of touch screen phones but with nearly every phone on the market these days a touch screen so I need to get use it. But on first glimpse the buttons and txting size buttons are pretty big which is dead handy for me

I had a quick go with it there folks

camera is pure awesome, its just a beast of a phone

cant wait for it to fully charge so I can really play around with it

Im not usually a fan of touch screen phones but with nearly every phone on the market these days a touch screen so I need to get use it. But on first glimpse the buttons and txting size buttons are pretty big which is dead handy for me

The texting is great on it. Due to the size of the screen the buttons are a good size and HTC will correct words you are spelling wrong. In other phones I've had, a feature like that is a nightmare but on the HTC its excellent.

I charged mine overnight and unplugged it this morning - still 60% battery left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭j4vier

anyone know where is the best place in dublin to get this?

vodafone website doesnt show a prepay offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Plus one on all the positive reviews...

i have mine since November and it's awesome...

First smartphone and touch screen for me....teh touchscreen will take a small bit of getting used to but stick with it..awesome phone...:D

Jebus lads this phone is unreal. Iv
    had really good phones in the past but this just blows them out of the water.
    only Thing is the gps has me located somewhere else from where I actually live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭iknorr

Jebus lads this phone is unreal. Iv
    had really good phones in the past but this just blows them out of the water.
    only Thing is the gps has me located somewhere else from where I actually live

I have this problem also. My hero had better GPS. It works fine in any app except latitude where it has me travelling at light speed across cork city when im sitting down playing with my ........ ps3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭kgt272

So I take it no one here has a problem with the quality of pictures or videos on the Desire HD? As ive posted in the past any pictures or videos with the slightest of movement show up a blur in the subject that moved , Ive seen the same problem in at least 3 other Desire HD's so its not just isolated to my experience. Still pictures are amazing but anything with motion is a disaster!

Anyone else have same problem? just curious to see what other Desire HD owners think!

For the record my GPS always has me to a few metres of where i am , the very odd time it can be off the wall completely and show me a mile or so away but soon rectifies itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

I've had three HTCs, the TYTNII, the Desire and now the Desire HD. I've noticed the bad quality on pics being very blurry on each one of them.

In fairness the camera has been pretty poor on them all. I compared some of my HTC Desire pics to a Sony Ericsson K800 (2006 model) and there was no comparison - K800 below it out of the water.

For the GPs location, sometimes it might be getting your location from the nearest phone masts if the GPS can't get a lock. This could be miles from where you actually are.

A cool thing on Latitude is setting your location manually. It's in the Latitude privacy settings. Good for if a mate is looking for directions as to where you are, you can manually set accurate directions. You can also be in the middle of the Amazonian rain forest whenever you need to be.

Hey lads, can anyone recommend a Micro-SD card to buy for this phone and where to buy

Im looking at 4gb

Hey lads, can anyone recommend a Micro-SD card to buy for this phone and where to buy

Im looking at 4gb

Mine came with an 8Gb??

dlambirl wrote: »
    Mine came with an 8Gb??

doh

Lol I thought I read that it doesnt include it

but just checked there, yes its there

thanks dlambirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

doh

Lol I thought I read that it doesnt include it

but just checked there, yes its there

thanks dlambirl
    have the hd since November great phone,the problems i have is the battery is shi..t i have to turn off everything to get it to last a full day and that would be with very little use.does anybody have the same problem?The camera is good when taking photos of still objects in good light other than that it is fairly bad ok.over all i am happy with the phone and the features are all very good

iknorr wrote: »
    I have this problem also. My hero had better GPS. It works fine in any app except latitude where it has me travelling at light speed across cork city when im sitting down playing with my ........ ps3

I think I found the problem

I changed my settings to wifi and gps and now it knows where actually I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cojomo2

Have this phone also. I like it, however it does have it's faults as previously mentioned:

-Battery not great

- When I record some video, the playback is crap, it's choppy, and freezes for split second every so often. Someone mentioned it could be due to a crappy cheapo memory card..Im using the one it came with, it doesn't state what class it is on it..

-Size wise, love it, but can be annoying when trying to operate it one handed.

I am an ex owner of iphone 4, and the only thing I miss is a great camere and video playback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

See second posting:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=701567&page=13

Doubled my battery life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Dipsomaniac

I get 2 days out of my battery. I just turn off my wireless when not using it.

I keep the brightness fairly low when in doors also.

I dont use the battery charging trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭ryanmatty

I have mine since early November. When i first got it it would only last a day if i was lucky but i turned on the de-bugging found this on the xda forum mentioned above plus I also altered a few settings including the lcd backlight. This has increased my battery life by just over two fold. I also give it heavy enough usage.

Luckycharm wrote: »
    Is the Nokia N97 symbian if so agree I have one and it is a piece of crap. Hopefully getting one of these in a few weeks- excuse my ignorance what does Root it mean?
    yeah n97 is symbian. Root just gives you super user permissions. You can install extra apps and new roms in the phone to make it run better.

kgt272 wrote: »
    So I take it no one here has a problem with the quality of pictures or videos on the Desire HD? As ive posted in the past any pictures or videos with the slightest of movement show up a blur in the subject that moved , Ive seen the same problem in at least 3 other Desire HD's so its not just isolated to my experience. Still pictures are amazing but anything with motion is a disaster!

Anyone else have same problem? just curious to see what other Desire HD owners think!

For the record my GPS always has me to a few metres of where i am , the very odd time it can be off the wall completely and show me a mile or so away but soon rectifies itself!
    I always find the better the quality of any camera the steadier I have to be.

Gps has me down to my house but sometimes it has me across the green from my house which is ok with me as I'm an international spy and don't want to be tracked by the man

I had the N95 before this phone and I though the battery was bad in that phone but this phone just blows it out of the water

the phone was charged just before I went to bed last night, so I took out the charger and woke up this morning to see its still 100% but started browsing the internet and within a few minutes the battery is 95%

Never experienced a phone like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭iknorr

To clarify what i ment earlier by my crazy GPS

The phone can be sitting idle for hours in my apartment.

Herself comes along and takes a look at latitude on her hero .

it shows me as being on the other side of the city ( updated 5 mins ago etc)

10 minutes later i can be spot on in the apartment. 1 minutes later i can be 3 km away.

Usually its stable but everynow and then it goes like mentioned above.

If i stick on any GPS app, maps, copilot, latitude etc on my phone the GPS is always spot on.

The backround gps position check for latitude is poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭WebGeek

I loved this phone and think it will be a real competitor to the upcoming iPhone 5 release. The only complaint I have is size which feels a bit big, but I'll get used to that (I hope)