Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool marathon

• 18-01-2011 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭

First one in 18 years. Been keeping an eye on this one for a while. Date is set for early October. Anyone fancy it, 12,000 limit. Through the mersey tunnel ect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

The missus is from Liverpool and the course passes within 500 metres of her house - reckon I'll be doing this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    First one in 18 years. Been keeping an eye on this one for a while. Date is set for early October. Anyone fancy it, 12,000 limit. Through the mersey tunnel ect...

Interesting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'd suggest combining this with a match, but y'know, Liverpool... *giggle*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

I would be interested in this also,the route would have to be favourable though.
    If i was doing one next year,i think i would prefer it than Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Had some money left on a 3v so i signed up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Championship football?! No thanks... :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Tranmere are quite good!

Edit: I chortle, but sadly, I have actually seen Tranmere play! :(

Edit 2: Liverpool is probably the last city in the World I'd like to run in anyway. Though it's a PB without a doubt, be running away from all the scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

I have done the half and it is the same people putting the full together so I would have high hopes for the full. Always been very good support and craic on the half. Easy to get get to with RYR, having a think about it!

This is getting close lads:D
    Myself and ken are going over, so is fran a.k.a. jakyback and 1 or 2 others. Anyone else coming over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 RunningForFun

Myself and another lad doing it as well. Our first marathon,really looking forward to it now.
    Doing Warriors Run in Sligo on Saturday hope to get through it without getting injured.

Did my last LSR this morning, plan now is a 2 week taper and see how we go. Looking forward to this one:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭kandikane

macinalli wrote: »
    Did my last LSR this morning, plan now is a 2 week taper and see how we go. Looking forward to this one:)
    watch your diet for your taper the carb loading thing should only be 3 days before the race,so easy to put the weight on ):D

Ah the old carb loading. Just eat normally lads and you will be grand. Just looked at the profile again. Big hill at half way:-)

That's the plan - keep eating what I normally do but easy on the desserts! That hill at half way will be interesting alright - my first race where you go under a river!

you might want to give yourself 60 seconds on the midway 13 ta 14 mile and make it up during the second half of the marathon and work from there seeing hoe the owl legs pan out )):)

Flying out tomorrow afternoon for this 1. Were going to try and get ken under 3.30. Ill go with him as far as i can go but i fear i,m in for a bad day. Sick at the moment but he who dares wins, or is that who who dares dies:D

Ill go with him as far as i can go but i fear i,m in for a bad day.

Saw your post about the number of marathons you've under the belt this year - at this stage you can probably do it on autopilot! Flying out late tonight, am in 2 minds about the rugby in the morning. I know they say to get a good nights sleep 2 days before the big race, but v tempted to set the alarm for 5.50 am!

Im under the weather at the moment thats why i may have a bad day but maybe ill be ok. Ill be up at 6 in the morning:D
    Good luck on sunday anyway bud, what are you aiming for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Im under the weather at the moment thats why i may have a bad day but maybe ill be ok. Ill be up at 6 in the morning:D

Hope ur feeling ok come Sunday....A couple of pints of cider Sat night and ul b ready to rock Frank :D .... Best of luck ......

liamo123 wrote: »
    Hope ur feeling ok come Sunday....A couple of pints of cider Sat night and ul b ready to rock Frank :D .... Best of luck ......
    Barcelona and conn were my 2 races of the year liamo. Ive steadily got longer and slowe as the years gone on. Its taken its toll on me. If worst comes to worse ill jog the course mate na dhave a million pints:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

best of luck...dont have a menocadonia;)

Barcelona and conn were my 2 races of the year liamo. Ive steadily got longer and slowe as the years gone on. Its taken its toll on me. If worst comes to worse ill jog the course mate na dhave a million pints:D
    your a fag ya seemed grand today im gonna keep you up all saturday night farting shouting in my sleep and the usual maddness roll on sun
    day morning ))

Cheers for that! Will head off at around 3.20 pace but would be happy with anything under 3.30. Good luck to everyone heading over, here's hoping for a top sporting weekend:D

Hard old course out there today lads. Stomach misbehaved near the but it was near enough to the the finish to not be 2 bad.

3.38 for me on a pretty tough course. The race started 45 mins late - apparently one of the Parks we passed through had one of their old gates refurbished and no-one had the key for the new lock! Police wouldn't allow us to start until the entire route was closed, not the best start to the day. Once we got going it was all good though. The support around the course was excellent and the noise that greeted you coming out of the Mersey tunnel was unreal. The hill out of the tunnel was tough, but there was another hill at mile 16 that didn't appear on the course profile and that one really hurt. The wheels came off for me around mile 22 but it's still a 20 minute PB for me - well happy with that:)

Your spot on about that hill not appearing on the course profile. It was about a mile long to and fairly drastic. Had to get the lungs working for that one. They are saying now that 2 cars got onto the course and wouldnt leave it and thats why the start was delayed. As i said to you when i talked to you yesterday it took me over 30 mins to ind my gear bag and when i did it was on the ground in the middle of a car park and it was pissing.

Good points of this marathon were imo:
    Decent water stations at regular intervals.
    Decent support in some areas esp coming out of the tunnel.
    Finish area and shute were good also.

Not so good points
    Start delayed nearly an hour, disaster
    Pens had colour coded numbers and no1 enforcing it. It was a disaster. I was in the top pen and i saw every possible colour number in there. Had to walk the first .2 of a mile till we got past the walkers which was really bad.
    bag collection as i said before was dreadful.
    Course wasnt great also, we were running around a park for about 5 or 6 miles and we must have left and reentered the park 4 times. Got very monotanus.

Not to sure about the distance either because i turned off my watch at abou 12 miles cause it lost signal in the tunnel but i was .2 of a mile off the racing line by then so i was way off according to the garmin but i was running the racing line for the most part.

I know it was a first running of this race in nearly 30 years but it just failed on some fundamentals. Race has got to start on time, course has got to beaccurate and you have gotta have all the info the participant needs hwen they crossed the line, i asked 5 people where the bag drop was and they didnt know. Found it by accident in the end. Wont do this one again but i wish it all the best and hope it becomes a great marathon becuase liverpool is a great city