Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the good ones already taken?

• 18-01-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I was just reading another thread were a guy noticed this girl he liked on his way to work every day. He wondered if he should just bite the bullitt and ask her out, even though they had never had a conversation. He did in the end but she was already taken as it turns out.
    And this is the crux of the matter, for me anyway, because every woman I'm attracted to is always already spoken for. And thats not just some of the women, its 100% of them. I have never met a woman I like whos unattached. And im pretty sure theres not some sort of subconscious thing going on with me, whereby I'll only go for women who are "pre-selected." By its very nature pre-selection indicates that the reason I would be attracted to someone whos already taken, is that I would defer my own judgement over to another person. I think for myself so it doesnt matter if a girl I meet has been single for years or whatever, I dont judge people by that criteria. So the only other explanation is that all the good ones have already been taken. Its like musical chairs or something, I feel like the music has stopped, everybody has claimed there seat and Im the last man left standing without a chair. Ok not a great analogy, compairing women to chairs, but you know what I mean. I feel like I've been too slow off the mark, that all the other lads knew the rules of the game but I didnt.
    I was out on saturday and one of my friends brought a few girls he knew from work with him. One of them I thought was lovely. I was going to go and try to chat her up, but first I thought I'd better check with my friend to see if she was single. And of course she wasnt. It was the same story with a girl I had been chatting to who works in a local pharamacy. Thought she was super pretty, got on well with her, was going to ask her out but I found out that she was taken. And thats been the story of my life for the past 10years. I keep waiting to catch a break, I figure one pretty girl has to be single. But none so far.

Im getting more and more frustrated as the years go by(Im 33), and Im scared I'll turn bitter, which will completely obliterate my chances with any decent woman. I went onto an internet dating site to have a look and to be honest, there was very slim pickings. The standard of the women, lookswise, was poor to non-existent. Although I'd say the mens section isnt up to much either. Putting all political correctness aside and just calling a spade a spade, is it just people who arent physically attractive that use internet dating services? In general anyway. I have never met a pretty girl who used internet dating, they all met their boyfriends in the "real world."
    I suppose my question is this, to men who are over say, 28, do you find that the pool of attractive women has pretty much dried up? Are all the good ones really taken or are they out there somewhere? Sans children.

I'm 26 and feel the same way a lot of the time. Anyone I've ever asked out has had a boyfriend. I'm not sure if they just used it as an excuse or genuinely are spoken for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭dub_3

No, they're not all taken.
    I found one.
    You only need to find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭wildlifeman

My Mate just told me last week he met a gorgeous doctor on a dating site who was single and brought him back to her gaff for a ride on the first date. unfortunatly he didnt tell me which site because he thinks ill create a female profile and chat him up for the craic..which i probably would have done but to stay on topic there are nice sexy single girls out there..maybe you should look around the 24 - 27 bracket..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭neveah

I am 28, single and I've been told I'm attractive and I also know other attractive single women who are my age, so no, not everybody is attached. As a previous poster put it, you only need to find one!

In actual fact your 'pool' of potential partners is rather large. I find guys my age and a few years older are dating 23/24 yr olds.
    So because I really don't want to date younger men I am finding that men who are over the age of 27/28 are likely to be in relationships or drooling over some 24 yr old. We all have our dating issues!:D

Don't give up hope OP, I'm sure Mrs. Right is out there somewhere for you;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Thinking about my attractive female friends, nearly all of them of all ages are attached. Occasionally one splits up from their boyfriend and then will be single for anything that seems to be between a few months and a year. How do you find out whent they're single? They start going out more in groups of mutual friends, one of them wrote that they were single and (jokingly) looking for a man on Facebook, and your male friends ask them. You're a bit unlucky never to have found one single girl you find really attractive in 10 years though, and maybe you should look to widening your social circle. Are you in a large city or a small town? Are you restricting the "pool of women unncessarily? Would you consider women maybe a couple of years older than you, or do they have to be younger? What about from further afield?

I think its the same for guys as well - the good ones want to be in stable relationships and hence usually are by the time they reach their thirties. I guess after that, finding the good ones requires more skill.

Re the internet dating - I would tend to agree. If you can't get a photo up on an internet dating site that makes you look reasonably attractive, thats not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Of course if the music only stops when you are in a social situation and the seats are all taken then you need to approach more women in everyday scenarios. I don't know if you are in Dublin or not but if you are there are on average at least 20-30,000 people the same age as you but the opposite sex to you out there. More if you include people younger or older than you. You can consult the latest census if you don't believe me. The odds are you aren't asking enough women out, you are only waiting until you get in to a social situation when you could easily ask that cute waitress or cashier out. It also helps when you have a selection of hot female friends to choose from, being out there more helps too. If all else fails you can ask those hot women for dates with their hot single friends. You never know unless you try...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Karsini wrote: »
    I'm 26 and feel the same way a lot of the time. Anyone I've ever asked out has had a boyfriend. I'm not sure if they just used it as an excuse or genuinely are spoken for.

In the past if I didn't want to date someone I would say I was seeing someone so you may be right there.

I always feel this way too. I find it difficult pluck up the courage to ask someone nice out when virtually every nice girl I've ever met has been attached. Did you ever meet someone and feel like some kind of cosmic understanding like you know what each other is thinking? I've only met a girl like this once and unfortunately for me, she's an absolute stunner. In ten years of casual friendship, she was single just once or twice and only for a matter of a couple of weeks in each case. Sigh...

All I can say to you OP is that the online dating thing will try your patience so don't pin all your hopes on it. Consider it like a slow burn process. Don't be sitting in front of the screen waiting to find your soul mate.

Another thing is that it's very difficult to get a sense of one's depth just looking at their photo. The subject of most of my crushes have usually been less glamourous. There's nothing like falling for someone you weren't immediately besotted with. It just seems more pure maybe. Although it ain't cool to admit it, looks very much matter but what I'm trying to say is just meet people. You really won't know if you like them until you meet them so stay open minded...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

I have to say OP, you're painting a very depressing picture for those of us in our 30's. Basically you're saying that all single women over a certain age are 'defective' in some way - not good looking etc. (and I'm surprised you haven't been pulled on it by some of them!:))

I can assure you that its not true and that as a heading into the twilight of his 30's :) I've met many great single girls, both online and in the real world, so don't get down on yourself - she is out there.

I suppose the one piece of advice is that you seem to be set on finding a long term 'relationship', which I think some women would find pretty intense early on. When you meet, go with the intention to have fun, a chat and a laugh and to pass some time with somebody new. I've had great afternoons and evenings with people that I knew pretty quickly I was not going to have a relationship with - but doesn't mean if they're nice you can't spend a few hours in their company. Two of these I still chat with regularly (comparing war stories!). It also gives you confidence for the next time (practise if you want to put it that way!). If its going to become a long term thing it will develop naturally.

Also I agree with plus 1 - don't get too hung up on the photos in the websites, if you see someone you think is ok, chat for a bit and if you are getting along well then arrange to meet as soon as you can - don't drag it out. I've found that most people are more attractive in real life than their photos - you can't catch mannerisms, attitude, cheekiness, the look in their eyes....thats what makes people sexy and therefore attractive, not looks.

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

im single, attractive and from last weekend have given up on men. was out with 2 mates and my sister, while all 3 were hooked up with guys in the pub i was on my own. so this guy came up to me ( i thought he was ok looking ) and so he buys me a drink etc, he kissed me, he took my number and said he'd call. his friend even said he hoped he'd see me soon. but he didnt call. my 2 mates and sister had the guys they were with text them. im giving up. the op is right - all the good ones are taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Saying something like 'all the good ones are taken' is a defeatist attitude.

Sure some people are taken. But lots aren't.

Do you consider yourself a 'good one'? Of course you do.

And you're not taken are you? No.

And why aren't you taken? Is it that you're hideously ugly or a complete weirdo? No. You just haven't met someone right for you yet.

It can be a long wait to meet a 'good one'.

Believe me.

rubbish, there are plenty of single women out there. If you take off the invisible cloak or negativity around you, I think women can sense it....

same goes the other way around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Lux23 wrote: »
    In the past if I didn't want to date someone I would say I was seeing someone so you may be right there.

I was in this spot before every girl I asked said she had a boyfriend. A few years ago I got that line again and was just ok, whatever to the girl. She kept saying if she wasn't seeing someone she'd be all over me and that crap but I was like ok yeah whatever then she started kissing me, stopped abruptly and then some guy sat down beside her and put his arm around her with me still sitting to the side of her.

I was shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

OP, you have a very valid point however the question is where are you meeting them? Also what age group are we talking?

If you are in your 30's it will depend very much on the fact if you go after a woman your own age group or younger.

As neveah said, a lot of men in their 30's only want to go after 21-23 year old.. This very much depends on you. These girls don't want long term relationship with someone in their 30's, (depending if early or late) but rather look at you as they ego boost. Ask yourself, what does every 21-23 year old want? Attention.

So, as long as you want to go clubbing, you can afford the good presents and show them off you will get their time, otherwise they don't want to know.

I personally know that many guy's my age (early 30's) would be drawn to any 21-25 year old but for me that has no appeal. I'd rather meet a woman than a girl!

As from your post this is unclear to me I'm finding it hard to be able to say any more.

Op here again. Honestly I expected everybody to disagree with me and say something like, nah there are lots of great women out there who are single. But it looks like half of you agree with my theory which doesnt inspire confidence. I'd rather have been dead wrong about that. Im not into settling so maybe that has something to do with things. Im going to sound like one of those self obsessed narcissists by saying this, but Im decent enough in the looks department. And it seems like the women I find attractive who would be in the same league as me looks wise, are all taken.
    I'd say if I did widen my social circle I would have more success but theres only so many hours in the day and there are only so many clubs or whatever I would have time to join. So I m not sure thats a runner. I dont think Id date someone older to be honest. No good, logical reason for that, just one of those things I wouldnt be comfortable with. I think the man should always be a little older than the woman in a relationship. Silly, outdated thinking I know, but it is what it is.
    Thanks for the replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭John400

OP, just a personal observation here, i think you need to to go for girls that you wouldn't normally consider/give a chance to. I'm not having a pop at you here mate but i'd say that you're a bit on the picky side (nothing wrong with that of course) that's the vibe your posts are giving me.

You actually sound to me like it's the perfect woman you're after. Life is hard mate. If you meet a girl who happens to have what you would consider a slight flaw for whatever reason, you need to be giving her a chance rather than dismissing her for reason x,y and z. Nobody's perfect believe me.

OP, not sure if the perfect woman/man exists, that ticks all the boxes...? maybe, maybe not..
    but I disagree with others. DON'T settle just for the sake of it.
    I was in the same position as you, exact same position until very recently, and who know, I could be in that situation again soon?
    But I always made a promise that I would not settle, hard and all as it was to be single all the time.
    Yes, a lot of the good ones are taken. I think it's easier for women to hook up with guys rather than the other way around. I used to always get the line "how are you single?" My answer was "I don't know????". Some nights I would go out and get zero attention. Other nights I would go out and get loads of attention. I can't answer why that was....??
    Funnily enough, I was getting more attention in my 30s off hot women, than I ever was in my 20s, and me thinking "I'm over the hill". But I am now more comfortable in myself, so I think that has a lot to do with it.
    But there's nothing wrong with being fussy, if that's what your gut is telling you...
    There are probably lots of women out there who were in relationships in their 20s, and maybe broke up with someone, and are in their 30s, so not all are taken...

Hello there everyone,

I am a single girl in my late 20's, told I am a pretty/attractive girl, but the thoughts of being in a relationship with anyone absolutely turns my stomach! I go out with my friends, have a great time, and am not the type of girl thats into one night stands or that, but I kiss a boy every so often! I am very independant, happy in myself and with my life, have loads of friends, and do not feel the need to be with a man whatsoever, and have felt like this for a few years! I also love my own space tremendously. I am not saying there is anything wrong with wanting to be with someone, its the most natural thing in the world, but this is just me, I'm very independant.

After reading this entire post, for all of you who are looking to pair up with someone, I will ask you all this - Why do you have such a need to be with someone, be it a man or woman? Is it just the need to be with another person, the need to share your love with another person, or receive love from another person, or is it loneliness? Would you not be happy just being by yourself and enjoying life? By the way I understand and respect where you are all coming from with regards to this issue, I just thought I would ask though

i think i want to be with someone as its getting embarrassing when my friends ask - so did thhis guy text you and i say no again'. I dont mean to be a cow but im way better looking than my friends but never get the guy to follow up after meeting. And im not a cow - im a nice person.

...the thoughts of being in a relationship with anyone absolutely turns my stomach...I am very independant, happy in myself...I also love my own space tremendously...Why do you have such a need to be with someone...

I regard myself as independent too but for me, I think it’s the idea of having a co-conspirator or companion. Someone who you admire and respect that fulfils you (even if it’s just that last 1%) that can entertain you and make you happy. More importantly, the idea that you can return all of these things because IMO, there’s nothing more important in life than giving and receiving love. Of course, knowing this doesn’t mean I’m going to run off with the wrong girl out of fear. It’s just something to aspire to. I don’t feel empty because I can’t find someone but it is frustrating when you feel that you have a lot to give but no one want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

OP how can you think all the good ones are taken? The girls you ask out you don't seem to know very well at all (as you don't even know if they are single or not) so how can you be sure they are 'good ones'? You might not consider them to be 'good ones' if you got to know them! You seem to be judging on looks alone but you can't base a relationship on looks.

I am in my early 30s and so are a few friends of mine and we are all attractive and look like we are 20 something so there are decent women out there!

I think it boils down to look a lot of the time.

PS I've often told men I have a boyfriend rather than say I not interested. I'm not saying this is the case with the girls you ask out all the time but possibly some of the time. It happens everyone.

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    i think i want to be with someone as its getting embarrassing when my friends ask - so did thhis guy text you and i say no again'. I dont mean to be a cow but im way better looking than my friends but never get the guy to follow up after meeting. And im not a cow - im a nice person.

Are you sure it’s not a signals thing? I think girls often believe in ‘rules’ which more often than not are crapola from a guys perspective. My sister believes that if a guy knows she likes him, he’ll lose interest because it’s too easy. I think if you meet someone and he takes your number you should subtly let him know that you won’t be put out if he calls (without coming across as desperate of course). There’s nothing worse than getting a girls number but waking up the next day and thinking ‘now that I think about it, she seemed a bit distant and not all that interested in talking- I wonder if she was just humouring me. I wonder if I call this number, will it turn out to be a builder named John from the other side of the country'.

Hello there everyone,

I am a single girl in my late 20's, told I am a pretty/attractive girl, but the thoughts of being in a relationship with anyone absolutely turns my stomach! I go out with my friends, have a great time, and am not the type of girl thats into one night stands or that, but I kiss a boy every so often! I am very independant, happy in myself and with my life, have loads of friends, and do not feel the need to be with a man whatsoever, and have felt like this for a few years! I also love my own space tremendously. I am not saying there is anything wrong with wanting to be with someone, its the most natural thing in the world, but this is just me, I'm very independant.

After reading this entire post, for all of you who are looking to pair up with someone, I will ask you all this - Why do you have such a need to be with someone, be it a man or woman? Is it just the need to be with another person, the need to share your love with another person, or receive love from another person, or is it loneliness? Would you not be happy just being by yourself and enjoying life? By the way I understand and respect where you are all coming from with regards to this issue, I just thought I would ask though

People get into relationships for all those things you mentioned, to have someone to love and share thier love with you,to have that someone special to share moments/occasions/problems/general life with etc.. To have a family that you can share your life with in later years and that can take care of you when you are old and frail.

The single life is great when you have loads of friends to go out with, great looking, fit and in good shape your 20's while it lasts but as you get older priorities change.
    The appeal of spending every weekend on the lash gets old pretty quickly.
    All those friends you had the great nights out with did everything with suddenly start geting into relationships and start dropping like flies. Too busy every weekend with thier OH, Sat night out on the town with the girls/boys turns into sat night on the couch with the OH. Holidays with the lads or girls turns into holidays with no one to go with. etc..

I would image life could turn out pretty lonely if you spent it by yourself but then again
    some people love being alone and doing stuff by themselves which is fine also.

maybe it was a signals thing - i wasnt that interested in him and maybe he picked up on that. but if he did text i would reply. my current friend has to have a boyf on the go all the time - she currently has 2 now - she just cant be on her own and will go on any date. maybe i should be a little bit more like her??? not too much as i feel she is desperate but a little??? And to be honost I am looking for a fantastic model with a good job. maybe thats my problem also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Chicago Chick

OP I have to say I don't really believe all the good ones are taken and think there are a lot of really pretty women out there with amazing personalities in their late twenties and early thirties. I am 30 and married for the past couple of years but my friends are a total mix of both couples and singles. I have a lot of wonderful single female friends who are also looking to meet a nice guy. I agree with anyone who told you not to settle but try to keep an open mind because there are wonderful single people out there.

After reading this entire post, for all of you who are looking to pair up with someone, I will ask you all this - Why do you have such a need to be with someone, be it a man or woman? Is it just the need to be with another person, the need to share your love with another person, or receive love from another person, or is it loneliness? Would you not be happy just being by yourself and enjoying life?

This is a good question. Loneliness is the biggest factor for me, I've very few (real life) friends and none that I see on a regular basis. I'd love to have someone I could share my thoughts and feelings with, someone I could give a hug to. I'm not a bad person at all, shy and disconnected yes, but not bad.

I have three brothers, one is married and the other two are in long term relationships so that makes me question myself as well. Seeing public displays of affection, even just a couple holding hands in the street, makes me feel jealous and bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

OP, I agree what you mean by that. I'm a girl and see it from a female perspective that I feel that all the good ones (guys) are taken that seem to always have GF's that is from experience or that I didn't get a chance to ask the guy out on time or that I didn't give the guy a chance to ask me out and he just move on. I understand your point of view on the basis of all the good ones are taken and understand how you feel.

In the end of the day, try to find someone your own equal. Be friends with girls, should attractiveness matter unless you truely fancy the girl? Does personality and intelligence not count or you looking for the whole package?

Being friends with girls and chatting to them and being friendly is a sure way of finding a nice girl that isn't taken, you could be surprised the good one that isn't taken could be lurking in places that aren't in the likes of pub/clubs but out in the real world doing real activities like sporting/hobby related activities ect. Building relationships with women is another story.

Are you looking in the right places? Maybe get out more, say your male circle of friends might have female friends that might be of interest to you and ye all hang out and take it from there!

Best of luck in finding the right girl!

mood wrote: »
    PS I've often told men I have a boyfriend rather than say I not interested. I'm not saying this is the case with the girls you ask out all the time but possibly some of the time. It happens everyone.

I can safely say that has never happened to me because this is where friends and facebook come into the equation. I'd meet a girl, think wow, shes great, and then through either friends or facebook, find out if shes already taken. So its never a case of me walking up to a girl I dont know and just asking her out oblivious to whether or not shes seeing somebody. I'd always check first. Mark Zuckerberg has saved me a lot of rejection and embarressement.

should attractiveness matter unless you truely fancy the girl? Does personality and intelligence not count or you looking for the whole package?

Absolutley,, intelligence and personality matter. But attractiveness has to be a big consideration aswell. If you dont fancy someone then it doesnt matter how smart or nice they are. You gotta find them hot aswell, otherwise it'll just fizzle into nothingness.

I know it sounds harsh but I think theres a survival of the fittest thing going on in life. All the good ones are snapped up pretty quickly leaving the rest to fight over scraps. I do consider myself a good guy, but I was just too slow off the mark. Maybe there are women out there who would think the same thing but Im fairly sure they're few and far between. If that internet dating website was anything to go by then all the good ones really are gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭solovely

OP, you need to turn on your "single-dar", like a gaydar but for single people. When I got single first, I seemed to only fancy guys who were in relationships too, now my single-dar is honed, you can quickly rule them out, they're fairly obvious!

But it is disheartening for you to think that there are no decent single girls left out there. I'm 30 and from what I can see, there are tonnes of us out there, obviously looking in different places to you. What kind of places do you hang out? There's lots of places, albeit not great, that are heaving with hot, intelligent, self assured girls on a Saturday night, not out to find Mr. Right, but to have a great time.

Was in a bar a few weeks ago, and this guy came up to my friend and me, and pointed out that I was obviously single and she was obviously taken. I think it was a very bad attempt at a chat up line, cos I was very offended. But then I asked him how he knew. He said single women tend to look around the room a lot more, either scoping out guys, who checking who's looking at them, they look slightly less self assured, are more dolled up, usually a bit more extroverted (to get attention). It took me aback a bit, especially as I was out for a nice drink with a friend, and not "on the pull" in any way. But it might help you a bit (even though that description of a single girl does not sound attractive, it's the same of men too!)

Re: the online dating thing, can I give you a bit of a tip? The good looking girls don't put up their pictures! honest! My two really hot single friends would never put up a picture on an online site. Every time you log on to these sites, you get about 20 emails from guys, if you put up a picture, it more than doubles that. What we do, is leave our profiles pretty bland and use it as a way of contacting guys, rather than having them bombard you. Believe me, the quality (not quantity) is a lot worse from our side of things!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

I do have the same problem, when talking to the girls, and comes to a stage I mention I'm slight deaf they don't reply, I've often wondered if I tell the facts at first or wait till I get to know her after few days via e-mails/txt, I've been told the latter part so I always chat with them via either the dating webiste or e-mail and then when get to txt I may say something, I've had a relationship with girls even when I told them my situation, one of my biggest pet hate is those who judge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭solovely

one of my biggest pet hate is those who judge
    But that's the big problem with online dating, it's purely there to judge! Don't go on if you don't want to be judged. You judge people on their appearance, their likes/ dislikes, hobbies, occupation, salary, etc. You have nothing else to go on, you don't know their personality (well at first anyway), which is why I think it's better to cut out all the small chat and get to meet people as quickly as possible.

it does sound tough though if people are judging you in that way. It's never nice.

I have judged people online based on spelling mistakes, having kids, height, etc. all of which if I met them on a night out and clicked with them wouldn't bother me in the slightest. But when you are sifting through 100s or profiles (or 10s of emails), you have to be selective, that's the whole idea of the online world!

solovely wrote: »
    ...There's lots of places, albeit not great, that are heaving with hot, intelligent, self assured girls on a Saturday night, not out to find Mr. Right, but to have a great time...

That old chestnut :p Most people who are single are looking. What this usually means is that girls are looking for Mr. Right but wish to reserve the right to be indignant about (and sometimes rudely dismiss) the 'frogs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

My Mate just told me last week he met a gorgeous doctor on a dating site who was single and brought him back to her gaff for a ride on the first date. unfortunatly he didnt tell me which site because he thinks ill create a female profile and chat him up for the craic..which i probably would have done but to stay on topic there are nice sexy single girls out there..maybe you should look around the 24 - 27 bracket..

I think i know who she is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Maybe you don't pick up signals or not give out the right signals. You could be mis-reading in between the lines. Maybe a little slow to act on signals etc. Finding a girl who is compatible with you might be what you are looking for though OP. If you have an idea of your ideal girl then work on that or work around that but any girls you meet won't meet all of your criteria you will end up bending the rules a bit but you can't help who you fall for or who you are attracted too. Someone you might not usually be your type could turn out to be someone very special. Maybe widen the circle of friends, meet new people and start dating girls you wouldn't normally go out with. You'd never know you might find the 'one'.
    I'm not much of a risk taker but if you are go for it. What have you got to loose if you don't try! Maybe check out online dating it might help or go to a boards beers might be an idea!

I posted a response earlier but it never appeared on the thread. Maybe the mods werent happy with it. Anyway..........
    mood wrote: »

No this hasn't happened to me because I would always find out first if a girl I liked was single or not. So I'd meet a girl I liked, then find out via facebook or friends if shes taken available. Facebook has saved me from a lot of potential rejection/embarressment. I would never go approach a girl whos status I didnt know.
    should attractiveness matter unless you truely fancy the girl? Does personality and intelligence not count or you looking for the whole package?

I think attractiveness is important. It doesnt matter if a girl is smart and has a great personality, if I dont find her attractive then its a non starter. And that goes for attractiveness by itself aswell. If a girl just has the looks but is mean and shallow then thats not going to work either.

Judging from the responses it seems like those who are already in a relatioonship believe that all the good ones arent taken while the people who are single think that the good ones are all taken. What does that say?

Maybe you don't pick up signals or not give out the right signals. You could be mis-reading in between the lines. Maybe a little slow to act on signals etc. Finding a girl who is compatible with you might be what you are looking for though OP. If you have an idea of your ideal girl then work on that or work around that but any girls you meet won't meet all of your criteria you will end up bending the rules a bit but you can't help who you fall for or who you are attracted too. Someone you might not usually be your type could turn out to be someone very special. Maybe widen the circle of friends, meet new people and start dating girls you wouldn't normally go out with. You'd never know you might find the 'one'.
    I'm not much of a risk taker but if you are go for it. What have you got to loose if you don't try! Maybe check out online dating it might help or go to a boards beers might be an idea!

I agree. In the past I was out one night, got talking to a guy, thought he was cute, but not someone I would usually would go for. He asked me out, we had a fantastic relationship, and turned out to being the love of my life! That was years ago though. Unfortunately we broke up a while afterwards, but my point is when people go out on the hunt for a man or a woman, there are certain criteria they wish to find in that person, and you cannot always get what you are looking for, and I agree with bending the rules/criteria a bit, getting to know the person, and who knows!

I don't think the perfect man/woman exists, and I don't believe in soul mates, I think its a matter of going out, making an effort to talk to lots of men/women, and giving a person a chance. The person you may not go for, may be the person you have been looking for all along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Personal Issues is for posters to get advice for specific issues - if you want a general discussion on whether all the good women are taken, I think The Gentleman's Club is a more appropriate forum.