Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bumper bunnies

• 17-01-2011 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

one of the farmers that has let me ferret on his land has asked me to tackle two fields in paticular (didn't show me these in the first place). anyway these two fields are walking with rabbits, anytime i have ferreted before ive only taken small bags, enough for my table and enough for a few friends. . .
    if im to hit these sets hard im expecting big bags from them. but id be hard pushed to shift the bunnies afterwards. the farmer is not happy to bring lots of others in to clear them up too and he has no use for the meat himself.
    is there anywhere that takes wild rabbit? my local butcher says he cant take them and i dont want to waste them either. so anyone any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

I usually drop mine into the local pub always loads of old lads in there mad for them. Dropped in 12 one night one man left in sack of spuds few carrotts and a head of cabage in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

i think thats what were saying aswell

thats grand fairplay to them even if they didnt give you anythin once they werent been wasted is the main thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Dogs absolutely love rabbit!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

i could've easy taken twenty plus rabbits in the past but i wouldn't have the space in the freezer and if its not going to be eaten then it souldn't be taken. . . imo. if there's anyone on here who might want a couple sure let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

dicky82 wrote: »
    i could've easy taken twenty plus rabbits in the past but i wouldn't have the space in the freezer and if its not going to be eaten then it souldn't be taken. . . imo. if there's anyone on here who might want a couple sure let me know.

I never turn down a couple of rabbits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I'm always 'game' for a few rabbits please. :D

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

Yap i'd like some. Having rabbit curry tonight for dinner!

Anthony
    www.ishootandfish.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman