Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

john deere combi baler..trouble??

• 17-01-2011 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

lads

i went to my local jd dealer today to get a few filters etc

I asked the salesman had he any secondhand jd575 round balers coming in and he tried to sell me a "well used" combi for 15k euro inc vat.

I have a jd6400 with 10000 hours on it and he swore to me it would drive it (id say on a flat field with the wind behind you!)

Anybody experienced these?

Am i getting myself into somebody elses trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

rahin man wrote: »
    lads

i went to my local jd dealer today to get a few filters etc

I asked the salesman had he any secondhand jd575 round balers coming in and he tried to sell me a "well used" combi for 15k euro inc vat.

I have a jd6400 with 10000 hours on it and he swore to me it would drive it (id say on a flat field with the wind behind you!)

Anybody experienced these?

Am i getting myself into somebody elses trouble?

well i dont kno anything bout the combi i do hav a 578 not that gone on it but was talkin to a few english boys on another site and they all say stay wel away from them ,they all bought fusions!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

I wouldn't have much faith in John Deere balers in any shape or form, the McHale is the best combi machine on the market if you want to go down that route but I don't know of anyone driving one with less that 140 or 150hp. A standard Welger or McHale would be a better bet I'd imagine

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Casinoking wrote: »
    I wouldn't have much faith in John Deere balers in any shape or form, the McHale is the best combi machine on the market if you want to go down that route but I don't know of anyone driving one with less that 140 or 150hp. A standard Welger or McHale would be a better bet I'd imagine
    Krone is Better :o *starts another arguement*

Id stay away if I were you, Thats cheap for a combi. Must be well run in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rahin man

Thanks for that lads.

i got the feeling it was too cheap.

I went in to spend around 10k on a good recon normal bailer and the salesman nearly knocked me down to buy the combi.

way too much to go wrong on them and im no mechanic.

any opinions on claas chopper balers

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

Thanks for that lads.

i got the feeling it was too cheap.

I went in to spend around 10k on a good recon normal bailer and the salesman nearly knocked me down to buy the combi.

way too much to go wrong on them and im no mechanic.

thanks

welger all the way simple to use and heaps of them around shud get clean one for 10k if look hard enough mite have over 30 -40k bales on it doh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭agrostar

I wouldnt even attempt to pull it with the 6400. I dont have any experience with JD combi's but i have driven Claas Uniwrap 255 for three seasons and you would be wasting your time with anything less than 150hp in front of it.We had a John Deere7700 and a John Deere 6810 cranked upto 160hp and they were struggling.

Where the most pressure on the tractor would be when on hilly or sloping ground, bale on wrapping table another bale making in the chamber(chopping and rolling) and the tractor pulling the combined weight and power consumption of the baler and wrapper together.
    That salesman is full of sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

thanks

Have a Claas 255 for the last 2 seasons and am happy with it. I reckon you'll be all out to drive it with a 6400, although a neighbour also has a 255 and drives it with a Renault Temis 550, which has a similar engine to your tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/machinery/1819080
    very clean looking one
    i wonder is that phelim mccorry?

The salesman is full of allright.
    A few years ago i was trading a case 956 a 91 model and he tried to sell me a jd 6300 and told me it would drive a 10ft mower i had.

its true that a 100hp tractor is small now. i remember when you would get the women by telling them you drew silage with a ford 7610! (scary,hairy women but i wasent fussy)

That link on done deal looked a clean machine thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/machinery/1819080
    very clean looking one
    i wonder is that phelim mccorry?

Worth every penny if it's as tidy as it looks, although I hope he only pulled out the computer for the photo and isn't leaving it out in the weather like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Jay_C

Well it looks like the baler is housed in a shed from that photo so I wouldnt be too worried about the computer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Hi Lads have a JD 575 with the last seven years. Drives her with a NH 7840 a great yoke! the child in the pram would keep her going. Makes 1000 bales every year for myself I am told that the 578 are not as good I would buy a 575 any day. I have had welgers before that and they broke my heart.

Thanks for that butcher boy.

Going looking at two of them tommorow in noonans garage broadford.

It would be fair to say there bullet proof?

They have a jd 578 as well for sale.

Ill let ye know what there like

Looked at a jd 575 and a 578 today in the same yard. the 575 allthough 6 years older than the 578 seemed a much better machine. even seemed to be made out of better quality materials.( like a jd6600 vs a 6620?)

decided to do a deal on the 575 for 7k euro invc vat.

all new bearings on the bottom rollers.

new bearings on the chopper reel

reel to be fully recon , the chains on the reel seemed a bit tired.

Id prob get one on the done deal cheaper bit im getting a vat receipt and a garage receipt for mr tax man.

Thanks for the advice lads