Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Weeks Hols. Vegas and ?

• 17-01-2011 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Myself and my mate are thinking of heading to Vegas for a week and then somewhere else for another week that's close by. We're thinking maybe LA or San Diego.

or both (LA and SD) with a road trip in between so 2 days LA, 2/3 days travelling between LA and SD and staying in 1 or 2 smaller locations and then 2days in SD.

We're both 24 yr old lads so we'd be lookin' to have a bit of craic!

I really haven't thought about this at all so i'm posting here for any ideas/suggestions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

B1GJH wrote: »
    Myself and my mate are thinking of heading to Vegas for a week and then somewhere else for another week that's close by. We're thinking maybe LA or San Diego.

or both (LA and SD) with a road trip in between so 2 days LA, 2/3 days travelling between LA and SD and staying in 1 or 2 smaller locations and then 2days in SD.

We're both 24 yr old lads so we'd be lookin' to have a bit of craic!

I really haven't thought about this at all so i'm posting here for any ideas/suggestions!

A week is a long time in Las Vegas, especically if you plan on spending it drinking every night but if its your first time then you probably need it to see the place. Most nightclubs etc only open on the weekend, thursday, friday and saturday. Plenty more though to do in Vegas then just drink and nighclubs. Make sure you check out the Pams Hotel, its good craic and a nightclub upstairs with an amazing view of Las Vegas itself at night. Its strick for ID so you will need your passport most places, some do accept a driver licence. It's expensive for in pubs and clubs plus you do have to tip everyone. We use to buy a bottle of Vodka and Jager before heading out.

I'm not sure how far SD is for driving, LA is only 4hrs. I'd recommened staying out of city if you can find a town somewhere that has the kinda pubs and clubs and maybe where you might meet more irish. I stayed in the city in Hotel and found it borning with a couple of pubs close by so avoid it if you can.

Lots of people will be able to give you plenty of advice. Enjoy Vegas, its as good if not better then what you will hear ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I would stay in San Diego and maybe just spend 1 night in LA. There's much to see there. San Diego is much nicer, you can also spend a night in Tijuana.
    San Francisco is drivable too, keep that in mind. Loads to see and do in that corner of USA, you won't be bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

if you don't mind flying from place to place i would recommend san francisco, its about 1hr 15min flight from vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Defo recommend San Francisco. Tons to do there. I would recommend you going to San Francisco first though and leave Vegas til the end :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

For your own sanity, do not spend a week in Vegas if you actually want to enjoy it for what it is.

Seriously you'll go mental tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 B1GJH

I'm ruling out San Fran but only because I already spent a summer there! I loved it but I Would like to see other places. Anyone know if LA is good? I've heard mixed reports.

I love LA, it gets a hard time around here but I'm a big fan. Stay somewhere nice and you're laughing.

SF and SD are on my hitlist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 B1GJH

Good to hear some positives about LA. Savman, where are these nice places that you would recommended? Any info would be appreciated!

B1GJH wrote: »
    Good to hear some positives about LA. Savman, where are these nice places that you would recommended? Any info would be appreciated!
    Santa Monica! We also stayed up by Universal Studios previously and done the tour which is a good day out as you'd expect, film sets etc.

I will say that LA is very motor orientated, so hire a car if you can because the public transport isn't nearly sufficient especially to get you to places like the Griffith Observatory (stunning views).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I also liked LA, but I think a week there could be quite long, we were only there 3 nights and I felt that was enough to see the highlights. I would also feel a week is Vegas is a bit long too, I was there 5 nights and that was more than enough, but then we had done the Grand Canyon seperatly and we're not big drinkers or gamblers. I would break it down like this, 6 days Vegas, with a day trip to Grand Canyon/Hoover Dam, 4 days LA, with a day spent in Venice Beach or Santa Monica and 4 days San Diego (I haven't been there but have heard it's lovely).

The one issue you may have is that neither of you are 25, you may find yourselves restricted with regards to getting a hire car. Some places will not rent to under 25's. You may be relying on flying between places, but you shouldn't have too much trouble getting cheap flights, Jet Blue are good for cheap internal flights. But it's worth adding that cost to your budget when you are pricing things out.