Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanted: Time Equipe Pro Pedals.

• 17-01-2011 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭

Wanted: Time Equipe Pro pedals.

After 3 years on speedplay zero pedals, I have decided to return to the pedals I raced on years ago.
    I dug the ones you see in the photo out of the attic, and have been happily using them for the last week.
    Ok they weigh over 400g per pair, so they are not exactly weight weenie material;) Hard to believe These were were on the cutting edge, from 1994-1999.
    Indeed Lemond, Boardman, Indurain, Ullrich and Pantani, used these on their epic exploits.

There must be loads of these out there, so check yer bike sheds:)

TimeEquipeProMagnesiumPedals008.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

what has happened to your speedplays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭SurferDude41

Speedplay pedals are great, they have many good great features like adjustable float....and in my case, being able to buy longer axles.

There were just too many negatives.

1. The cleats are very expensive €45
    2. The pedal body's wear out eventually, these cost over €100
    3. The cartridge bearings, another €27
    4. A pair of cromoly speedplay zero's only cost €120, this really pi**es me off
    5. I prefer the track special version with higher release tension, just and you try to find a pair of replacement pedal body's for these???

6. Im old enough and wise enough, to realise Im being sold a crock of sh*t;)
    7. I fell off my bike on Thursday, the speedplay zero's just wouldn't release. This caused me to fall:mad: I hit the deck still attached to my bike:mad:
    8. Everything that should come as standard with these pedals, needs to be purchased separately as an acessory:(

Any more questions?;)

thanks, just wondering really. have been trying to justify getting a pair, but it seems like i'm gonna be shelling out quite a bit for something i may not even like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Interesting - (sorry to be taking your thread on a tangent) - I've been musing about getting some speedplays myself for a while, they're supposed to be very good for your knees - as in avoiding injuries to your knees because of the free rotation. I spent a couple of weeks in Ohio a couple of years ago and hooked up with some roadies and they all used speedplays and swore by them.

The titanium ones are good for a laugh at least - if only for the comedy price tag :eek:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/speedplay-zero-titanium-nanogram-pedals/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I don't have the vintage time pedals you are looking for, but I did get a set of Time RXS World Champion Edition pedals on a secondhand bike I bought that I would part with.

They look like this, except they are a more off white and have world champion stripes where the red pieces are on these ones.

http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.uk/imgs/products/900x650_constWH/PETIRXS-RAC-WHT_P1.jpg

Update Lads,

I may have been a bit too quick to condem my speedplay pedals, to the dustbin. After a week of riding the Time Equipe Pro pedals, some knee issues have resurfaced again:o Plus the spring tension, constantly trying to recentre my feet just drove me nuts:eek: Plus my feet became numb! I guess the midfoot position that the speedplay set-back adaptors allow, seems to agree with my knackered feet.

I put the speedplays back on my bike, earlier today.
    If I had more cycling talent, maybe I could look for some sponsorship:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Try bikeinn (a spanish site) for the best prices on speedplay. I got stainless steel delivered for less than Cro-Mo elsewhere.

"Frickenspit" on ebay sells replacement bearings (+ weight weenie ti axles, screws and bowties) for about 10-15 euro.

I got about 12,000km from a set of cleats and only replaced because I wrecked the screws from walking in them - coffeeshop caps would sort that out.

Are points 5 and 7 above related?

chakattack wrote: »
    Try bikeinn (a spanish site) for the best prices on speedplay. I got stainless steel delivered for less than Cro-Mo elsewhere.

"Frickenspit" on ebay sells replacement bearings (+ weight weenie ti axles, screws and bowties) for about 10-15 euro.

I got about 12,000km from a set of cleats and only replaced because I wrecked the screws from walking in them - coffeeshop caps would sort that out.
    ebay link?

chakattack wrote: »
    Are points 5 and 7 above related?

No! the track special speedplay zero's, don't have a very high realease tension.
    When I tried to pull my foot out, my bike just slid from beneath me, the road was that slippery.
    I returned to the scene of my accident yesterday, it looks like the county council did a lousy job repairing the road. The feckers just stuck a load of tar in a massive pothole, just tar no asphalt....Like ice after a shower of rain:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Can you explain point number 4 to me? I just don't understand the significance of it.:confused:

abcdggs wrote: »
    ebay link?

http://shop.ebay.com.my/frikinspit/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=

Have a feeling speedplay might be on to him - he had a very detailed post on weight weenies debunking some of speedplay's installation instructions myths about cross compatibility between pedals, replacement axles etc. that he has deleted.