Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

robbie keane

• 17-01-2011 6:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

lol

what an idiot, 80k a week or whatever he wanted a brum

hahahaha hope he likes reserve football now for the rest of his life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

David Connolly is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Rumoured to be signing for Everton on loan as a trade off for Pienaar :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

X the city strikes again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Priced himself out a move, clever lad. Not the 1st player to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cullen5998

Leave Robbie alone you begrudger OP.
    Hes always been decent for Ireland

I heard he's linked with Everton.

Hope it's true :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

He obviously didn't want to go to Birmingham . What's he on now ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Voltwad wrote: »
    Rumoured to be signing for Everton on loan as a trade off for Pienaar :pac:

I wouldnt mind him at Everton, he is a good jack in the box striker, but 80k a week

give me a break man

no wonder brum told him to PFO, as I would have

He obviously didn't want to go to Birmingham . What's he on now ?

Brum wanted him, but he wanted MORE than his salary @ spurs...

80k a week or whatever he gets paid for sitting on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

and you know these exact details because you were there during the negotiations yea?

Yeah I know they wanted him , I'd say he just said he wanted more to scare them off . Maybe he's happy not playing . He wasn't even on bench yesterday iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

It was Keane himself who resurrected the move after expressing an interest in playing with Birmingham so his demand for a high wage was not due to him not wanting to play for Brum. With regard to the demanded salary he was not asking for more than what he was getting at Spurs. I believe he is on £65 grand at Spurs and was looking for the similar wage while Birmingham were only willing to offer around £40-45 grand. Neither wold budge so the deal broke down.

if He is looking for 80k+ a week at Everton, Moyes is going to tell him PFO also.

In fact If he talks with Keane, Moyes will ask him right out, Robbie...

what are your salary expectations son.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I imagine he wants to stay in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

i think he could of have had a problem going there due to a glasgow rangers feel about the club but proberly not 80k a week crazy money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭SickBoy

I'd love to have him at Everton!
    It was his all time favourite boyhood club after all :P

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    It was Keane himself who resurrected the move after expressing an interest in playing with Birmingham so his demand for a high wage was not due to him not wanting to play for Brum. With regard to the demanded salary he was not asking for more than what he was getting at Spurs. I believe he is on £65 grand at Spurs and was looking for the similar wage while Birmingham were only willing to offer around £40-45 grand. Neither wold budge so the deal broke down.

he is not even getting a game, if he had any sense he would take 40 grand a week

lol, its not like brum are lower league material.

bad form robbie

SickBoy wrote: »
    I'd love to have him at Everton!

yes, Moyes would struggle to pay him 40k a week thou, and rightly so

not a hope would he sanction 50k a week on him or more.

TBH, if he wasnt such a greedy so and so he would be playing first team football for another side long ago.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

lol

He's no david beckham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

lol

Usually on FM, players demand you pay some of their wages for a few years if you transfer them to a lower club :pac:

I dont understand the hate people have for players who sit on the bench and collect wages.Spurs gave him them,its not his fault.
    Who here knows his financial situation?
    He could have lost his shirt on property speculation in Ireland.

Harry doesnt use him wisely anyway,he should get more gametime and im sure if he refuses to move and injuries etc he will play a better role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

The most over rated player ever to play for Ireland.. Its amazing how he has got so far, on so little talent.. A snail is faster, a donkey has a better touch and to top it all off, he could'nt finish his dinner, never mind a chance on goal..

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    The most over rater player ever to play for Ireland.. Its amazing how he has got so far, on so little talent.. A snail is faster, a donkey has a better touch and to top it all off, he could'nt finish his dinner, never mind a chance on goal..

Who's gonna take a bite of that bait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The most over rated player ever to play for Ireland.. Its amazing how he has got so far, on so little talent.. A snail is faster, a donkey has a better touch and to top it all off, he could'nt finish his dinner, never mind a chance on goal..

Yet he's over doubled the previous tally of most goals scored for Ireland. The English record is 49 goals and Keane has about what, 44??

Not bad for someone who 'couldn't finish his dinner and is the most overrated player ever to play for Ireland.'

He is still over rated, and now in the peak (or end more like) of his career he is lavishing crazy wages he is clearly not worth.

If he had any sense he would tone down his demands, I am almost positive Moyes would sign him but for his wages.

Moyes is no mug, he already knows what he is on, he also knows he is not worth it... :p

His own problem, and no.. he is not short of cash due to a collapsed housing market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

monkey9 wrote: »
    Yet he's over doubled the previous tally of most goals scored for Ireland. The English record is 49 goals and Keane has about what, 44??

Not bad for someone who 'couldn't finish his dinner and is the most overrated player ever to play for Ireland.'

Bobby charlton who is englands top scorer was a midfielder, not a hatcher like keane..

inter milan, liverpool and spurs all got rid as quick as they could.. most of his goals for Ireland were against second rate nations.. he makes stephen hawkins look mobile..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭tribesman78

Sorry now but you are having a laugh. I wouldn't be his biggest fan but he is still a good player and from the perspective of the Irish team he is our all time top goalscorer and is technically probably one of our best players even at 30. In the top 5 for total transfer fees so obviously managers do rate him. 2002 WC only two strickers managed to score on german keeper Khan Ronaldo and Robbie and what a goal it was, Fantastic touch and a super finish from a difficult angle. Time to go to spec savers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Indeed. Turkey, Holland twice, Russia twice, Denmark, Germany, Spain, Czech Republic, Croatia, Sweden, Italy and France. This is a myth that is peddled out that Robbie only scores against poor opposition. I'm calling out this bullshít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭tribesman78

Bobby charlton who is englands top scorer was a midfielder, not a hatcher like keane..

inter milan, liverpool and spurs all got rid as quick as they could.. most of his goals for Ireland were against second rate nations.. he makes stephen hawkins look mobile..

Inter - Manager that signed him changed just after arrival.
    Liverpool - Signed by the board and not Benitez, and never really given a chance because of it.

Spurs - So desparate to get rid of him? Spent 6 seasons there and then went to pool and then spurs signed him back. Ya desparate to get rid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I wouldn't think any club would pay more 40k a week for him, he's just not worth it, hasn't had a good season since 07-08.
    There's load of examples of better strikers who were not the same player once they were over 30. Raul, michael owen, robbie fowler, dwight yorke, ronaldo, kluivert, del piero n thierry henry. Could probably think of more. He's a lot of miles on the clock and is fond of a nightout so it takes it's toll in modern day football.
    These days robbie just goal hangs for tap ins, one on ones and penalties. He's being a great player for us if slightly overrated but defenitely our best ever striker and in the top 10 of our best ever players. Maybe just outside the top 5.
    But he's embarrassing himself if he thinks he's worth the money he's asking for and it reflects very badly if he stays with spurs. Trap will drop him for long if that happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

I imagine he wants to stay in London.

more like his wife id say,either that or hes waiting for o'neill to take over at west ham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Take a bow son , not:rolleyes:

Bet you were jumping up and down in 2002 when he got that 92 min equalizer against germany in world cup :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

BERBA wrote: »
    Take a bow son , not:rolleyes:

Bet you were jumping up and down in 2002 when he got that 92 min equalizer against germany in world cup :rolleyes::rolleyes:

niall quinns excellent hold up play;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Gonna put on my agents hat on now....Robbie to go to QPR!! It's perfect.....likely to get promoted and mega-bucks ownere-go on loan until summer then cash in big-time after promotion is assured.....now where is Colin's phone no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

gustafo wrote: »
    i think he could of have had a problem going there due to a glasgow rangers feel about the club but proberly not 80k a week crazy money.

FFS, Everton are the Catholic club on Mersyside tradtionally, and are a club who have had many Irish connections over the last 50 years, sure even their manager is a former Celtic player. Are you basing this on Walter Smith being Everton manager and bringing a few Rangers players down with him, or have you just noticed a similarity in the colour of their shirts?

The most over rated player ever to play for Ireland..

So what Irish striker would you rate higher then Robbie Keane over the last 10 years? I'm not his biggest fan but you're being overly critical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

gustafo wrote: »
    tommyhaas wrote: »
    FFS, Everton are the Catholic club on Mersyside tradtionally, and are a club who have had many Irish connections over the last 50 years, sure even their manager is a former Celtic player. Are you basing this on Walter Smith being Everton manager and bringing a few Rangers players down with him, or have you just noticed a similarity in the colour of their shirts?

I think he is talking about Birmingham not Everton due to Alex Mc Leish and Barry Ferguson being at the club.

I assumed he meant Everton because of the post prior to his being about Everton. If it was Birmingham he was referring to, I really doubt that was his reasons for not going. He's 30 and he's never been settled in one area for a decent amount of time, especially with being married now Id say he just wants to stay in London. I wouldnt imagine it would be an issue for Alex McLeish anyway, wasent he Hibs manager befor Rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Seems to be a problem over the length of contract that Keane wants
    "Everyone knows he is a tremendous player but having considered the overall package (one which certainly wasn't unfair on the part of his representatives to ask for given his talent and experience), Keane's age and the length of contract we felt that financially he wasn't the best option available.

"This is unfortunate because Keane is a class act but supporters can rest assured we are considering other options and will pursue them where financially viable."

Hopefully Keane will move somewhere and play first team football. Two of our biggest international players are benchwarming and you can that their international performances are suffering badly because of it.

If Keane is still a Spurs player when the window shuts, he deserves to see his career go down the toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

tommyhaas wrote: »
    I assumed he meant Everton because of the post prior to his being about Everton. If it was Birmingham he was referring to, I really doubt that was his reasons for not going. He's 30 and he's never been settled in one area for a decent amount of time, especially with being married now Id say he just wants to stay in London. I wouldnt imagine it would be an issue for Alex McLeish anyway, wasent he Hibs manager befor Rangers

Don't think anyone gives a flying fcuk in the Premier League or English football generally, about the religious history of their club anymore anyway.

dooferoaks wrote: »
    Don't think anyone gives a flying fcuk in the Premier League or English football generally, about the religious history of their club anymore anyway.

I agree with you completly, thats why I was making the point in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

He is all about the money. What a sad sad man.

He has been brutal for the last two years and demanding money is pathetic. What a clown.

He single handedly cost Ireland the last two games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

He is our top scorer ever by a long long way. Hes also one of the leading scorers in the (admittedly short) history of the Premier League. Underrated if anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

NickDrake wrote: »
    Bull. Absolute total Bull****.

Do you actually believe that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

Correct and kenny miller looks like he is going there to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Bull. Absolute total Bull****.

Do you actually believe that?

He missed about 4 sitters. Did you even see the games??

jaysus, i cause some stir with my posts..:pac:

FWIW, Keane is pathetic with his wage demands, he should just concentrate on raising some kids now tbh, his career is practically over by now.

He got a good looking missus so all is not lost (in the scoring department) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

NickDrake wrote: »
    He is all about the money. What a sad sad man.

He has been brutal for the last two years and demanding money is pathetic. What a clown.

Or he wants to be in London, or near London, so he can spend time with his wife and son now that they're settled - How dare he!!!!???
    Like it's almost as if he expects Spurs to pay him wages for a few more years.... oh wait that's what a contract is!!!

Cost Ireland the last two games????!!!! What can be said about that.... like, just How?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

more like his wife id say,either that or hes waiting for o'neill to take over at west ham

Well his wife wanting to stay is why I am saying that. A bit stupid when footballers move and their wives are living somewhere else.

A hatcher? Are you 7? He is Ireland's record goalscorer by an absolute mile, that is all the reply anybody needs to make to your posts about Keane.

Or he wants to be in London, or near London, so he can spend time with his wife and son now that they're settled - How dare he!!!!???
    Like it's almost as if he expects Spurs to pay him wages for a few more years.... oh wait that's what a contract is!!!

Cost Ireland the last two games????!!!! What can be said about that.... like, just How?????

eh, he is not playing friggin football

Im sure he has the financial clout to move where ever the hell he wants, just the same way the thousands of people have feked off out of Ireland in recent years have to start a new life. (without the 80k a week in their bank..)

If Keane thinks some club will pay him over 80k a week, he must be smoking some pineapple express quality weed down in london

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

While I don't agree with him asking for 80k a week, I really can't understand where all the Robbie Keane hate comes from, if you ask me I think he's one of if not THE most underrated player in the league.

There are only 2 currently active players* who have scored more goals than him in the premier league and he is younger than both of them.

Like another poster said he has doubled the previous goal scoring record for Ireland with I'd say another 2-4 years left in him.

So he throws his arms up in the air every now and again and bitches to the refs, his goal scoring record speaks for its self, what more do people want from a striker? :confused:

*Currently active in the Premiership, obviously some pedantophile will try to correct me