Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing Metro v Leinster; Friday 21st Jan 8pm(Irish); Sky Sports

• 17-01-2011 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Leinster trained in the RDS on Monday afternoon ahead of Friday night's Heineken Cup Round 6 clash against Racing Métro 92 in Stade Yves du Manoir (KO: 8pm Irish times, 9pm local)...

It is hoped that Gordon D’Arcy, who picked up a calf strain in the build up to Saturday’s 43-20 victory over Saracens in the RDS, will be available for selection. Both D’Arcy and Jamie Heaslip (ankle) will be monitored this week ahead of Thursday’s team announcement prior to the squad’s departure to Paris. There were no other fresh injury concerns for Leinster ahead of the final round encounter with try scorers Dominic Ryan, Sean O’Brien, Fergus McFadden, Isa Nacewa and Eoin O’Malley all in the frame.
    Jonathan Sexton’s 13 point haul in the RDS brought his tally in this year’s competition to 55 points, bringing his career tally in Leinster colours in all competitions to 424 points in 66 games.
    The number of supporters attending all Leinster games this season passed the 300,000 mark at the weekend (305,014) and in excess of 600 Leinster supporters are expected to make the trip to Paris this weekend.

http://leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/6985.php

Might as well get the ball rolling. Leinster final pool game, a home quarter final at stake. All the good work done so far could be ruined with a poor performance.

My suggested team from Leinster thread:
    CouchSmart wrote:
    Team I'd like for Racing game:

15. Nacewa
    14. Horgan
    13. O'Malley
    12. D'Arcy
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. Sexton
    9. Boss

1. Van der Merwe
    2. Strauss
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. Hines
    6. McLoughlin
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

16. Harris-Wright
    17. Healy
    18. Newland
    19. Toner
    20. O'Brien
    21. Reddan
    22. Madigan/Berne
    23. McFadden

A couple of unusual calls I know and if it is the team I'd be shocked.

O'Malley in for O'Driscoll. He's earned a start and I don't think we'd miss BO'D too much - probably mostly in defence. It's very important we give O'Malley experience.

Starting Fitzgerald to give him a chance to redeem himself - I'd say he'd put in a big performance after Saturday. Important to get him back in some form for the rest of the season.

I think it's important to see how are backrow goes without SOB, can't have us relying too heavily on one player. He's on the bench anyway if needs be. McLoughlin over Ryan is really just beause Ryan got the whole game against Saracens.

Other changes are just standard rotation at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

I like the idea of resting a few of the players but it's not going to happen.

My team would be

Van Der Merwe
    Strauss
    Ross
    Hines
    Cullen
    O'Brien
    Jennings
    Heaslip
    Boss
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald
    Darcy
    McFadden (not going to happen, BOD will play)
    Horgan
    Nacewa

I realise one choice I went for there will probably anger alot of ppl - Fitz instead of McFadden at 11. He needs games though and given the 6 Nations is coming up, he needs more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

trackguy wrote: »
    I like the idea of resting a few of the players but it's not going to happen.

Not resting anyone, just a bit of squad rotation, I think everyone on my suggested team has impressed enough to start. I wouldn't ever rest any player for a HC game.

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Not resting anyone, just a bit of squad rotation, I think everyone on my suggested team has impressed enough to start. I wouldn't ever rest any player for a HC game.

I'd love to see it being rotated but I doubt it will happen.

O'Malley and McFadden have performed so well this season - I don't think anybody would wince at them playing a big game. Historically, when the big players a re available they play.

I'd also like to see Fitz play as he needs the games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

we need to win to ensure the home quarter final, so need to pick the strongest team possible. I'd go same as Saturday with Van Der merwe in for healy and heaslip, if fit, in for Ryan.

As a matter of interest, what kind of player do ppl see Dominic Ryan as?

Is he a 6? Is he a 7? And if he is a 7, is he in the Jennings or the Wallace mould?

He's definitely more of an old school 7 (pace, good tackler, brains over braun, good link play) to me than the traditional 6(strong, carries hard, makes big tackles, lineout option.)

It's all paramount in the modern game as 6, 7 and 8 play very similar roles.

He's definitely more of an old school 7 (pace, good tackler, brains over braun, good link play) to me than the traditional 6(strong, carries hard, makes big tackles, lineout option.)

It's all paramount in the modern game as 6, 7 and 8 play very similar roles.

Yeah, I remember in the u20's last year I couldn't believe how good a tackler he was - so aggressive.

Good to have a very promising 7 coming through. The current crop don't fit that mould (apart from Jennings)

• trackguy wrote: »
    Yeah, I remember in the u20's last year I couldn't believe how good a tackler he was - so aggressive.
    )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sqlrWcn_HmY

What a hit, horrific referee decision though.

For the lazy out there, me included :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

Its a shame in a way that the need for traditional 7s is no longer there as Ryan would have been perfect for those interpretations. Hes still a handy player mind you!!

If anything the new interpretations suit him more so than in previous years. I can't believe he's 20, he could be playing with Leinster until after 2020 - woah.

It's exciting. He has fitted in so well so far. He could be world class based on how promising he has been so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Surprised at this thread so far. Surely we need to play our very best team to try for a home QF? Racing are a good team playing at home and they're not going to roll over for us. We need to win in Paris and no Irish team can just expect to do that. Surely we'll need our best team playing at or close to their best?

I'm surprised you guys are suggesting Fitz should start. McFadden deserves to start - he's been probably our most consistent back this season. If Fitz just walked back into the team for such a huge match it would send a terrible message, that form doesn't matter and we select people based on their name. That's what Kidney gets criticised for.

I'd maybe agree with team rotation if this was a Magners game against mid table opposition. But this is a match in Paris which we have to win. It's a time for our best team, our guys in form, playing at their best.

In my opinion we have no right to expect we can put out a weakened team and still expect to win. Also players should play their way back in, we shouldn't have untouchables who get selected on their name regardless of form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I'm gonna guess at.....

15. Nacewa
    14. Horgan
    13. BOD
    12. D'Arcy
    11. McFadden
    10. Sexton
    9. Boss

1. VdM
    2. Strauss
    3. Ross
    4. Cullen
    5. Hines
    6. SOB
    7. Jennings
    8. Heaslip

16. Harris-Wright
    17. Healy
    18. Newland
    19. Toner
    20. Ryan
    21. Reddan
    22. Madigan
    23. Fitz

If D'Arcy doesn't pass fitness, O'Malley in on the bench as Saturday etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

+1 on McFadden staying in the team.

Is it just me or does no one else think that on current form we should be looking at him for the 6N's?? Fitzgerald isn't playing well and McFadden has been immense this season so far.

Fitzgerald had a howler on Sat, threw the loose pass for Short's try and then missed a tackle for the Brown try. McFadden has pace and a boot, Kidney should give him a go against the Italians IMO.

+1 on McFadden staying in the team.

Is it just me or does no one else think that on current form we should be looking at him for the 6N's?? Fitzgerald isn't playing well and McFadden has been immense this season so far.

Fitzgerald had a howler on Sat, threw the loose pass for Short's try and then missed a taxkle for the Brown try. McFadden has pace and a boot, Kidney should give him a go against the Italians IMO.

The more likely mind-set from Kidney would be 'Fitz needs games - please give him more game-time Mr Schmidt'

He is a player of enormous potential so I couldn't argue against that approach really. Or to be more precise - I couldn't argue with it with regards to Fitz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

trackguy wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, what kind of player do ppl see Dominic Ryan as?

Is he a 6? Is he a 7? And if he is a 7, is he in the Jennings or the Wallace mould?

more wallace or o'brien than jennings - jennings is having a great season , and would like him in the current Irish 22 - but going forward , would like the idea of o'brien and ryan , rotating between 6 and 7 , during games - both incredibly strong , and young - ryan made a great tackle prior to sarries first try - what i liked was the speed he was on his feet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sqlrWcn_HmY

What a hit, horrific referee decision though.

James Jones makes shockingly poor decision :eek:

Surely not

Newstalk were saying Heaslip, D'Arcy and Sexton are struggling. Not good, I was under the impression Heaslip and D'Arcy would be grand, dunno where the Sexton thing came from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Sexton on facebook:
    Sat out training today as a precaution. Have a couple of bangs from the weekend but nothing serious.Looking forward to Friday now. We need a win to get a home quarter final so big game for us. Will be in "Cafe en Sein
    e" this Wednesday for the next Area 22 to talk about the game. Hopefully will see a lot of you there and in France on Friday!

Hopefully it is exactly what it says on the tin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Teej

Newstalk were saying Heaslip, D'Arcy and Sexton are struggling. Not good, I was under the impression Heaslip and D'Arcy would be grand, dunno where the Sexton thing came from!

2fm were saying all day that D'arcy & Sexton sat out training today. I think the squad update needs to be taken with a large grain of salt - Joe just releases what he wants the opposition/media to talk about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Can't see too many changes but Schmidt does make changes at times to freshen things up, and it doesn't exactly weaken the side greatly.

Assuming everyone is fit. Heaslip will come in for Ryan, Darcy will come in for Luke. Boss will probably start ahead of Reddan, and Van der Merwe will come in for Healy.

Outside of that I don't see may other changes. We have lost a good few away games this season, this won't be easy.

However I don't expect Racing to be at 100% either with the T14 clash a few days later. A good side, and good performance, should see a win and home QF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Well, this time last week Schmidt made the call that, at the moment, McFadden is better than Fitzgerald. That might have been a tight enough call last week, but the gap has grown. I can't see any way that Fergus doesnt make the team this week. Personally, on current form, I'd also pick McFadden ahead of Darce.

IMO, Luke has two chances of being picked:
    1. Darce is injured or isnt 100% so is left on the bench.
    2. Racing pick a second XV and therefore "for the greater good" Schmidt agrees to play Luke at full back.

Last week I predicted that Luke would play full back against Racing. Not so sure now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

IMO, Can't see anything other than:
    VDM, Strauss, Ross, Cullen, Hines, SOB, Jennings, Heaslip;
    Boss, Sexton, McFadden, D'Arcy, O'Driscoll, Horgan, Nacewa

JHW, Healy, Newland, Toner, Ryan/KMcL, Reddan, Madigan/Berne, Fitzgerald

Starting Fitzgerald after he performed so poorly last weekend would be a mistake IMO. He needs to find his form, and an appearance off the bench would be better for the team. McFadden certainly deserves to start based on his form. No way I'd be happy to see him dropped.

I'm hoping we should be injury-free this week. BUT would it really be so bad if Sexton was rested to get himself fully fit (intense schedule coming up for him) and we gave Madigan a bit of a HC baptism of fire in Paris? He was impressive off the bench last week, but I suppose there might be a little too much at stake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

Well, this time last week Schmidt made the call that, at the moment, McFadden is better than Fitzgerald. That might have been a tight enough call last week, but the gap has grown. I can't see any way that Fergus doesnt make the team this week. Personally, on current form, I'd also pick McFadden ahead of Darce.

IMO, Luke has two chances of being picked:
    1. Darce is injured or isnt 100% so is left on the bench.
    2. Racing pick a second XV and therefore "for the greater good" Schmidt agrees to play Luke at full back.

Last week I predicted that Luke would play full back against Racing. Not so sure now.
    Schmidt said he wasn't pressured by the IRFU to put Fitzgerald at FB against Saracens but he did admit that was what the meeting was about so obviously there was some form of pressure on him. I think its likely a compromise was reached and Fitzgerald will start against Racing at full back. In such a scenario I can see Nacewa to wing and Horgan on the other and unfortunately McFadden dropped...

I wouldn't mind Fitzgerald going to fullback for this, if anything happens Nacewa he's the the only back up we have so a bit of game time there can't hurt. It might happen though I'd say him finishing the game at FB is more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I wouldn't mind Fitzgerald going to fullback for this, if anything happens Nacewa he's the the only back up we have so a bit of game time there can't hurt. It might happen though I'd say him finishing the game at FB is more likely.

Anyone know the expected timeline for Kearney's return?

Officially it was stated as a few months. Unofficially I've heard closer to June though with the speed most of these lads are recovering now who knows. I'm gonna say May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭redmca2

He is fast becoming one of those rising stars with a great future behind him. If he can't get playing before the end of the season, then I don't fancy his prospects for the WC squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

not many other pure full backs around really. if he stops being a celebrity and concentrates more on winning he'l be starting soon enough despite george hooks large mouthed opinions

The Leinster team to face Racing-Métro 92 in Friday night's Heineken Cup Round 6 clash in Stade Yves du Manoir (KO: 8pm Irish time, 9pm local) has been named...
    Shane Jennings will make his 50th Heineken Cup appearance and will be the 14th Leinster player to have reached the landmark combining his games for Leinster (32 caps) and Leicester Tigers (17).

Jennings joins fellow ‘Elite 50 Club’ team-mates Shane Horgan (83), Gordon D’Arcy (73), Brian O’Driscoll (71), Leo Cullen (68) and Nathan Hines (57) who, incidentally, equalled the European cap number held by Trevor Brennan and Victor Costello in last weekend’s 43-20 victory over Saracens which helped secure Leinster’s place in the Heineken Cup quarter finals.

D’Arcy starts at centre alongside Brian O’Driscoll having overcome the calf strain which ruled him out of the Saracens match, while in the only other change to the back-line, Ireland international Isaac Boss partners Jonathan Sexton at half-back.

In the pack, fresh from his call up into the Ireland Six Nations squad, Rhys Ruddock comes into the back-row alongside Sean O’Brien and Jennings, who both committed their futures to the province earlier this week. Mike Ross continuing in the front row alongside Richardt Strauss and Cian Healy.

A doubt remains on Eoin O’Malley due to illness and a decision on his availability will be made closer to kick off.

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Brian O’Driscoll
    12: Gordon D’Arcy
    11: Luke Fitzgerald
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Nathan Hines
    6: Rhys Ruddock
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Sean O’Brien

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Heinke van der Merwe
    18: Clint Newland
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Dominic Ryan
    21: Eoin Reddan
    22: Eoin O’Malley / Ian Madigan
    23: Fergus McFadden

REFEREE: Greg Garner (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Chris White, Stuart Terheege (both RFU), TMO: Graham Hughes (RFU)

http://leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/7180.php

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Delira with that team.

Racing team named here: http://www.racing-metro92.com/RM_92_v_Leinster__Le_XV_du_Racing-Breve-95-334.html

Sorry havent time to type it!

Seem to be throwing in the towel...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Very tough on McFadden to be shunted onto the bench, imo. I know Fitzie is in dire need of game time, but if I was Ferg I'd be feeling seriously put out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

McFadden must be disappointed to see Luke coming into the side, and into the Ireland squad ahead of him, with no real justification.

Otherwise even less changes than I expected (I didn't expect many). I expected Boss to come in, I expected Darcy to return, I expected Heaslip to return but they obviously ain't taking any chances with him (less time on the radio Jamie:)). Ryan can probably consider himself unlucky but its not surprising, the backrow will always see some changes, considering the strength we have there.

Definitely going with a strong team, and to get the win, which is good to see.

No Heaslip still :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

McFadden is certainly unlucky not to start. Big performance needed from Fitz to justify his selection.

Elsewhere, Boss and Ruddock almost certainly selected bearing in mind the size of the Racing team. Jonny was saying in the week that they are the biggest team they've ever played.

No Heaslip still :(.

Yeah, that's a worry.

Looking slightly further ahead - Ireland are probably lucky to have Italy first - losing Heaslip for any of the other games would be catastrophic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Good team, glad to see Ruddock in there, I haven't seen enough of him this season and i'm wondering what his progress has been like. Looks like Schmidt has had to make some concessions with regards Fitz, but McFadden shouldn't be considered dropped just rotated, I'd imagine he's still first choice. Is Heaslip's absence a precaution or is it more serious?

When I watched the Clermont-Racing match in round 5, Hernandez was woeful, looked completely disinterested even when they were winning. Hopefully he's in continues in that vein. It's a very strong bench for Racing though.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Very tough on McFadden to be shunted onto the bench, imo. I know Fitzie is in dire need of game time, but if I was Ferg I'd be feeling seriously put out.

Agreed. I wonder if he regrets signing that new contract. He's definitely the form back so being dropped as soon as Darcy and Fitz are back must be gut wrenching. Hard to know what else he could have done to justify his place.

Very disappointed with that call. Hate having "untouchables" in the squad. So unfair. Big games should go to the guys in possession. Still, Joe knows.

Thought VDM would get a game and Ryan would get another shot, but will be good to see Ruddock. McLaughlin must be getting frustrated and angry not to get a game - good news for the Wolfhounds coach.

What does everybody think of the Racing team? Seems they've picked some of their big guns but left others out.

• Don't think they've been dropped.
    Schmidt is building a squad, rotation and getting gametime is essential. This is a big game, so not huge changes, but giving players opportunities in big games has worked out well for us so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I'm not too disappointed that McFadden isn't playing.

He's been great, but in fairness we have already qualified so giving Fitzgerald a chance to prove his form/fitness is fair enough, considering he is heading into a series of international games and he is an established player in danger of losing his place. I think we could see a great game out of Fitzgerald.

Also delighted to see Ruddock starting. He's a great player. It just shows how much depth we have at our disposal in the back row. The IRFU must be in a very strong bargaining position against Heaslip right now with O'Brien playing so well at 8 and the younger guys doing great as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

ambid wrote: »
    What does everybody think of the Racing team? Seems they've picked some of their big guns but left others out.

It's basically the same team that started against Clermont last week apart from a few changes in the front 5. I thought their starting 15 would be a bit weaker for this match against Leinster, but when you compare it to when they played Toulon at home on January 9th in the Top 14, it's certainly not their full strength team. No Steyn, Bobo, Nallet, Cronje, Chabal so that's good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

roycon wrote: »
    not many other pure full backs around really. if he stops being a celebrity and concentrates more on winning he'l be starting soon enough despite george hooks large mouthed opinions

What is this 'celebrity' of which you speak?
    No Steyn, Bobo, Nallet, Cronje, Chabal so that's good!

I'm actually sorry he's not playing, world's most overrated forward.

Alright fair enough. McFadden has started every Leinster game for a long time so maybe he needs a break. He will have the extra responsibility of being one of the senior guys for the upcoming Leinster and Wolfhounds matches so maybe a break now is a good thing.

Great to see such consistency from Healy and Ross, and I can't wait to see Ruddock as he's been great in his cameos so far this year.

It's so brilliant to see so many good Irish players coming through. If we could pinch Nagle we'd be in a great position!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Honey-ec wrote: »

Hmmm not so sure about this.
    Firstly it's technically Darce whos ousting McFadden.
    But other than that, it's a returning Lions wing (wing is not McFadden's position), who needs game time both for Ireland and Leinster, and needs time to get his confidence.
    McF has played probably 10-11 games in a row (I'm sure someone will prove me wrong on that!) and will be playing all the games during the 6N probably.

Along with that, as we've seen from Joe's previous selections, he's definitely not "dropped". It's rotation, just like Boss. I'm sure his concerns have been raised with whomever he's been negotiating the contract with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Agreed. I wonder if he regrets signing that new contract. He's definitely the form back so being dropped as soon as Darcy and Fitz are back must be gut wrenching. Hard to know what else he could have done to justify his place.

"I wonder if he regrets signing that contract" must be up there with the most ridiculous statements ever made on this rugby forum.

I can't understand why people don't understand the difference between being dropped and being rotated. It is the same problem with the national team. If Sean O Brien starts a game at 6 or 7, people will comment that Wallace or Ferris were "dropped", and not that Sean O Brien was given a start.

You don't have to play badly to be out of a given 15.

1. There can be a tactical reason to play someone - e.g. Reddan bringing a quicker tempo, and Boss asking as a pseudo back row in defense.

2. They can rotate a player in to give a different player time.

3. They can rotate a player in because a given player has looked tired Note: McFadden has now played 10 games in a row.

The incredulous over-reactions on this forum are daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭outandabout

Schmidt has got most of his selections right this year so I'm happy with this one.

He also has plenty of talent to call from the bench if the going gets tough.

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    "I wonder if he regrets signing that contract" must be up there with the most ridiculous statements ever made on this rugby forum...

The incredulous over-reactions on this forum are daft.

Cheers mate! I've been on this forum for a year so on the law of averages I guess I was due some irrational and unjustified personal abuse!

I shall be awaiting all your future posts with bated breath for the pearls of wisdom and insight which justify your extreme intolerance of other posters.

Please do continue to enlighten us all with your knowledge. Please continue to hurl personal abuse at anybody who says anything at all that you disagree with in your most ultimate wisdom.

I shall treat your opinions with the same degree of respect you have shown here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

Lets not forget if he just played McFadden, Ryan and Reddan until the QF what if they get injured and then Fitz and co are asked to step in, could end disasterously.

Also why would you not want to give your lions winger every help to get back to full form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Cheers mate! I've been on this forum for a year so on the law of averages I guess I was due some irrational and unjustified personal abuse!

I shall be awaiting all your future posts with bated breath for the pearls of wisdom and insight which justify your extreme intolerance of other posters.

Please do continue to enlighten us all with your knowledge. Please continue to hurl personal abuse at anybody who says anything at all that you disagree with in your most ultimate wisdom.

I shall treat your opinions with the same degree of respect you have shown here.

There is no personal abuse in my post, and none was intended.