Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem with lights on tractor??

• 17-01-2011 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭

Hi,have a 08 zetor 7441 and over the last week the lights have been acting the pri*k :mad:
    1. First there a week ago RHS tail light went thought it ws a bulb but its ben working every now and again as it chooses:(
    2. Newt there a few days ago front top right work light has been at the same craic working the odd time and not working most of the time:mad:
    3. Then now the front ordinary RHS road light is at the same its on and then it goes again and i wouldn't mind but its hard enough feed without light
    And also whats interesting is that all these lights that are going are on the right hand side as you sit in the seat!

Ok so the only solution i can think of is that it was caused by welding a piece of machinery on the tractor without leaving it running??

There were 2 differnt lads welding a piece of machinery at 2 differnt times one said leave the tractor running while welding or you will fu*k up the electrics in it?

Other lad said just leave the double indicators on and ur sound so thats what we did could this have fecked up the lights on it?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

iano93 wrote: »
    Hi,have a 08 zetor 7441 and over the last week the lights have been acting the pri*k :mad:
    1. First there a week ago RHS tail light went thought it ws a bulb but its ben working every now and again as it chooses:(
    2. Newt there a few days ago front top right work light has been at the same craic working the odd time and not working most of the time:mad:
    3. Then now the front ordinary RHS road light is at the same its on and then it goes again and i wouldn't mind but its hard enough feed without light
    And also whats interesting is that all these lights that are going are on the right hand side as you sit in the seat!

Ok so the only solution i can think of is that it was caused by welding a piece of machinery on the tractor without leaving it running??

There were 2 differnt lads welding a piece of machinery at 2 differnt times one said leave the tractor running while welding or you will fu*k up the electrics in it?

Other lad said just leave the double indicators on and ur sound so thats what we did could this have fecked up the lights on it?:eek:

I'm not electrically minded, but I have always been told to take the leads off the battery when welding any part of a tractor or implement attached to the tractor. I think its more applicable to older tractors than modern ones. First step should be to check fuses to make sure that they are all secure and that all connections around the box are secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

try your ground cables as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

As reilig said, the leads to the battery, especially the earth should have been disconnected before any welding commenced. I think you've hit the nail on the head by believing this to have caused the problem.

It doesn't sound to me like a fuse problem seeing as the lights still work periodically. It sounds, from your story, that there's a common earthing wire or earth point for all lights on the RHS, and that it's likely you've done damage to either/or with the welding:rolleyes: (tut tut)

I'd try and trace the earth wire from the front headlight under the bonnet and see where it goes. It should be screwed to the chassis somewhere. My guess is that you'I find it's burnt or frayed.

I hope you sort the problem easily. Faulty earths are a bloody nuisance. Best of luck;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭iano93

Muckit wrote: »
    As reilig said, the leads to the battery, especially the earth should have been disconnected before any welding commenced. I think you've hit the nail on the head by believing this to have caused the problem.

It doesn't sound to me like a fuse problem seeing as the lights still work periodically. It sounds, from your story, that there's a common earthing wire or earth point for all lights on the RHS, and that it's likely you've done damage to either/or with the welding:rolleyes: (tut tut)

I'd try and trace the earth wire from the front headlight under the bonnet and see where it goes. It should be screwed to the chassis somewhere. My guess is that you'I find it's burnt or frayed.

I hope you sort the problem easily. Faulty earths are a bloody nuisance. Best of luck;)
    Thanks for all your help will do that ..Have a lad supposed to come to service the tractor later this week and he knows his stuff about electrics so he might be able to help!

just for again is it ok to weld if you leave the tractor running?
    Or is it just safer to disconnect at the battery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

An electric multimeter are very handy for jobs like this. They are easy enough to use, once you get the hang of them. Any electrician will show you how to use one.
    If you could get a copy of the wiring diagram, it might be worth your while too.

iano93 wrote: »
    is it ok to weld if you leave the tractor running?
    Or is it just safer to disconnect at the battery?

Hi iano93

Disconnect the earth lead. It's a simple job and will only take a second. It'I give you a chance to clean the terminal and lead clamp. Give it a rub of light sandpaper while your at it. It'I ensure your getting the most out of your battery.

Alot of wiring problems are down to bad earths.

DON't over tighten the clamo when you put it back on or you could crack the clamp.

Please post back after the service man calls out.

I (and I'm sure other posters on here) would like to know what the problem was! Thanks

Hi iano93

Disconnect the earth lead. It's a simple job and will only take a second. It'I give you a chance to clean the terminal and lead clamp. Give it a rub of light sandpaper while your at it. It'I ensure your getting the most out of your battery.

Alot of wiring problems are down to bad earths.

DON't over tighten the clamo when you put it back on or you could crack the clamp.

Please post back after the service man calls out.

I (and I'm sure other posters on here) would like to know what the problem was! Thanks
    Ya 100% will do;)

Well ?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

Apart from your lights problems, how do you find your Zetor? I'm the proud owner of a 1990 7745 model. The brakes are a disaster and a few seals here and there, a bit dodgy. Are the current models more reliable with respect to these issues?

I have great lights though! And it started first turn in the hardest of the frost. :pac:

Dont worry i havent forgot ;) Yer man still hasnt come :mad:but hes definitly coming 2moro (or so he says) but i'd say he will:rolleyes: By tomoro night i'l tell ye the story!

BeeDI wrote: »
    Apart from your lights problems, how do you find your Zetor? I'm the proud owner of a 1990 7745 model. The brakes are a disaster and a few seals here and there, a bit dodgy. Are the current models more reliable with respect to these issues?

I have great lights though! And it started first turn in the hardest of the frost. :pac:
    Well we had an 1989 zetor 5211 before this one and it was perfect..We had another zetor before that too(it was before my time though:rolleyes:) But the 5211 ALWAYS started first time very reliable:) But the pick up hitch got broken on it we broke it:o!! but it was sound ya brakes were never that strong of a point on them, think we had to bleed the clutch the odd time too but apart from that it was grand:) And very light on a fuel too compared to the new one :P we traded it in when we got the new one and the new one has been going gr8 since, the 4WD lets u do a lot lot more and its fine for what we want it for:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Hi, I haven't read many of the replies but you're problem is more than likely to be the earth. A couple of things. run a wire brush over bulb connections and if you have a multimeter check to see if there is 12volts going to the bulb. I am not an electrician but i repaired all the lights on our tractor a couple of years ago. done my head head trying to figure it out but it was earth related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

when welding just disconnect plug from alternator.
    no need for tools to open battery boxes, poles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I did a DIY on our tractor about 10 years ago, all working fine so far. Noticed recently though that I got a small spark and the lights became brighter when I earther the cab to the body of the tractor. Looks like poor earth from cab to body. Makes sense I guess as the cab rest on rubber vibration isolators.
    I also fused each group of lights individually. Two reasons. I'll have back up lights if one fails and most important, any earth of the live will blow the fuse on a smaller current. Less likely of it catching fire.
    Be careful of doing DIY wiring jobs, this is how mosty tractors catch fire - dodgy wiring.;)

Heres the story:rolleyes:...........Well we got the tractor serviced today anyway and taht was grand but finding the lights was a ****:mad: It took 2 hours to find the problem and about 2 mins to fix then:rolleyes: Well i dont even no exactly what the problem was but it didn seem to be de welding anyway...The lad spent ages trying to trace this wire from the front light back to the cab..without a multimeter thers no chance we'd ever have found the problem ..Well bascially there was a switch melted on the dash to turn them on and however this affected this it caused the connection from then switch to de back of de fuse to become dodgy by shaking the connection at the back of the fuse box the lights started to flicker on and off ? So by fixing the dodgy connection at the back of the fuse box and tidying up the connection at the switch we were up and running again:).......Dont know if any of this makes any sense but that was basically it:confused:
    lad was just about to give up on it and he was gon to get us to leave the trctor down to him so he could take the dash apart to get total access to the wires and eventually he found it

@ dar31 the lad said to just hit the power shut off off next time when welding bit it didn seem to have caused this problem

Glad you got it sorted ;)