Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

reseeding light land

• 15-01-2011 8:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭

does anyone know who makes / sells one pass grass reseeding drills we have a good bit of reseeding for doing and i'm fairly sure i'll get a bit of work around with it aswell if it can reseed without going deep and bringing up all those stones that plague us here in the west . thanks for reading the thread:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

the 3m Einbock reseeding unit. This was quite a light looking unit and it used eight rows of tines to pull out dead grass and moss and before sowing the seed with an elelctric spinner mounted on top. The tine pressure can be adjusted for more aggressive action. This machine is valued at €4,000 and is supplied by PJ Callan of Ardee. Looked a bit light if working in longer grass, but a useful machine for improving grassland with minimal damage to an existing swath.

www.irishgrassland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

thanks stanflt does that have any way of aerating the land aswell ? ideally i would be spraying off the old grass and tickling up the top inch of soil if thats possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

surely that's exactly the job for a power harrow based one pass drill?

thats what i have in mind where would i be able to have a look at one ? i'm in da west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Did a bit of reseeding last year. Have only about 6 inches of soil above mud.
    Sprayed off the old grass after putting in drains.
    Power harrowed about 4 inches deep.
    I didn't chain harrow
    On two and alf acres I had only 2 hand transport boxes of stones
    Seeded it and rolled it
    Picked the stones again, a small handfull, about half box of small stuff
    Cut silage about 10 weeks later.
    Added lime after the big freeze.
    Have a grand green field now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Kenny Powers

howya lads what spray do you use to kill it?

some of our land only has an inch or two of soil:( over stone so i would only want to go deep enough for a seedbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

moy83 wrote: »
    some of our land only has an inch or two of soil:( over stone so i would only want to go deep enough for a seedbed

power harrow set high, just a bear scratch, set at the right height if it misses ground in small hollows. then broadcast seed or use piggyback seeder on power harrow, then roll. if its to deep then the seed will be too far down in the ground and take longer to establish allowing weeds more time to take hold, only down side is it dosent break pan to undo compaction

do you know how an aerator fairs out when it hit stones would that be another option if it was fitted with a seeder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

do you know how an aerator fairs out when it hit stones would that be another option if it was fitted with a seeder ?

alot of your seed will burried down a 4'' hole after the aerator

dar31 wrote: »
    alot of your seed will burried down a 4'' hole after the aerator
    true is it any good broadcasting it on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

As far as I'm concerned a direct drill is the best system for reseeding grass, but you're talking serious money for one of those machines.

what kind of money are you talking bout

In the process of buying one myself at the minute, you're talking anything from €20K -€28K for a 3 metre machine depending on make and specification.

Casinoking wrote: »
    In the process of buying one myself at the minute, you're talking anything from €20K -€28K for a 3 metre machine depending on make and specification.
    holy god i don't think ill be able to stretch to that might see at the spring show is there a smaller cheaper version:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

I reckon this what your looking for? I used this actual model in australia on light and deep soil, when I say light I mean the machine was actually on bare rock sometimes or else a few mm of soil, super job in a stoney area.

http://www.farmandplant.ie/Used-Farm-And-Plant-For-Sale-Ireland/Vaderstad%203M%20Rapide%20Drill/Carlow/111237

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭missrandomer

hope you dont mind me jumping in and asking a few questions. as you seem to know your stuff here.

I have about an acre and i need to plant grass for some grazing. what would be the best and quikest way of growing some grass. (im new to this)

babybrian wrote: »
    I reckon this what your looking for? I used this actual model in australia on light and deep soil, when I say light I mean the machine was actually on bare rock sometimes or else a few mm of soil, super job in a stoney area.

http://www.farmandplant.ie/Used-Farm-And-Plant-For-Sale-Ireland/Vaderstad%203M%20Rapide%20Drill/Carlow/111237
    is that for sowing grass or cereals babybrian ?Or can it be used for both

babybrian wrote: »

More of a grain drill, the coulter spacings would be too wide for grass so you'd have to sow the field twice in different directions. And you wouldn't have much change from 20 grand for that one either I'd imagine

is that for sowing grass or cereals babybrian ?Or can it be used for both

Used for both I reckon,I sowed about 1000 acres of grass seed with it. Some of them also have 2 boxes, 1 for grass seed and the other for clover but alot of the bags of grass seed here are already mixed.

@missrandomer
    Ask a contractor or a local famer if they are doing any reseeding and maybe they will help you out. Someone around will surely have a one-pass system so they would be able to burn off the grass and then about 10 days later drill the seed in without needing to plough it. Probably have to wait until april or may anyway before lads will be reseeding.

More of a grain drill, the coulter spacings would be too wide for grass so you'd have to sow the field twice in different directions. And you wouldn't have much change from 20 grand for that one either I'd imagine
    can you get grass drills that would be similar secondhand ? thanks for the advice

can you adjust the spacing of the coulters ?

No I dont think you can change spacing, if I remember correctly they are spaced at 12cm apart. I think casinoking might be right about this being an expensive machine but I think there are different makes too, think sulky might have a similar one but less fancy.