Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Front Number Plate

• 15-01-2011 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

Hey all, mods ye can move this to the right section if ye want wasnt too sure where to put this but it prob be the quickest way to get an answer. I damged my front bumper on the supra a while back and got it fixed but my friend hadnt time to put on the mesh and i didnt have time to get a new number plate, was stopped at a check point a while back ban garda said just get it sorted and i said i would when i get a chance over work and money. was summosed by my surprise and was in court wednesday but it was struck out, next day same gaurd pulled me again saying number plate not being displayed but its in my window i heard that the law says it has to be displayed at the front of the car but doesnt say where? is this true as the gaurd that was with her summosed me again im getting it fixed in febuary when ive money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Behind your windscreen doesn't count unfortunately, do a search here, there's been several threads on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The plate has to be at 90 degrees meaning leaving it in the windscreen is not valid as it wont be anywhere near 90 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Am I missing something here, why do you have to wait a month to screw a number plate on? Surely after going to court you'd be careful not to get caught for the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

draffodx wrote: »
    The plate has to be at 90 degrees meaning leaving it in the windscreen is not valid as it wont be anywhere near 90 degrees.

Thats not strictly true.. in Garda Vincent McCarthy against Greg Davis on the 10/6/09 in wicklow district court the judge ruled that if a number plate is affixed to the windscreen and easily visible then it can stay there.

S.I. No. 318/1992 — Vehicle Registration and Taxation Regulations, 1992
    Subject to the provisions of subparagraph (8), the identification mark of a vehicle shall be exhibited, in the case of a vehicle which has only one front wheel, on the back of the vehicle and, in the case of any other vehicle, on the front of and on the back of the vehicle in a vertical or nearly vertical position, so that every letter or figure of the identification mark is vertical or nearly vertical and is easily distinguishable, in the case of the letters and figures placed on the front of the vehicle, from in front of the vehicle and in the case of the letters and figures placed on the back of the vehicle, from behind the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

It's been discussed before, the legislation too - and our resident members of AGS were quick to point out the reasons they won't accept it behind the windscreen. Not that I can remember them ... but a search will turn them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

It's been discussed before, the legislation too - and our resident members of AGS were quick to point out the reasons they won't accept it behind the windscreen. Not that I can remember them ... but a search will turn them up.

The AGS can believe all they want they only uphold the law, its up to the Judge to determine if you have broken it or not, EVERY single person ive ever met that has been summoned to court over this offence has had it struck out.

Even the Ops original case had it struck out.

However, i dont see the point in putting it in the window, if you can find the time to affix it to your your windscreen, you can find the time to attach it someway to your front bumper. Number plates are like having blue lights on your car, red flag and bull come to mind, its not worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭SupraSonic26

Cheers J, i was just wondering im not doing it on purpose i work mon to sat alot so hard to get my friend to go to his garage on a sun to do it. Ill even try get it done at the end of this month if i can i just wanted to know the law on it so i can give it to my solicitor and incase i get pulled again until i have it fixed.

Do you know where i can print this sectin off by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

cronin_j wrote: »
    Thats not strictly true.. in Garda Vincent McCarthy against Greg Davis on the 10/6/09 in wicklow district court the judge ruled that if a number plate is affixed to the windscreen and easily visible then it can stay there.

Yes if its fixed to the windscreen its a different story, placed in the windscreen it would never be clearly visible though.

I agree with you too, why affix it to the windscreen when its probably easier to stick it to the front bumper and indeed it just gives a Garda the opportunity to be a nuisance if he wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

number plate (any motor factors) 8 euros
    screws or double sided sticky tape (any motor factors or builders providers) 2 euro

time taken to go out and buy a plate and stick it on, 30 minutes.

theres no excuse there. it takes as much time, money and dedication to go out and buy a packet of fags.

Not that easy with my car, i dont or wont stick or screw it to the bumper its a show car i cable tie it to the mesh so it eans ive to go buy mesh and a number plate bring it down to the garage get the bumper off hich isnt easy as its screwed on a certain way, cut the mesh and get some fibre glass to get it to stick, put holes in the plate and cable tie it on. i dont think my friend on a sun dying with a hang over going to go to his garage and do that for me ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

ffs.... brake out the violins. If you can't be arsed to make you car legal - keep it off the road or expect to be (rightly) fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

si_guru wrote: »
    ffs.... brake out the violins. If you can't be arsed to make you car legal - keep it off the road or expect to be (rightly) fined.
    No need for that

But OP, as others have said, it ain't that big an effort to stick a number plate on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Not that easy with my car, i dont or wont stick or screw it to the bumper its a show car i cable tie it to the mesh so it eans ive to go buy mesh and a number plate bring it down to the garage get the bumper off hich isnt easy as its screwed on a certain way, cut the mesh and get some fibre glass to get it to stick, put holes in the plate and cable tie it on. i dont think my friend on a sun dying with a hang over going to go to his garage and do that for me ha.

my car has a flushed front end too.

i have 2 little squares of stick on velcro so i can wear a plate on the roads and just peel the stickers off if im leaving it at a show etc.

they are sticky enough to keep the plate on but they peel off grand and dont leave any marks, and only about 3 euro for a ten pack from tesco.

just something for you to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

andyseadog wrote: »
    my car has a flushed front end too.

i have 2 little squares of stick on velcro so i can wear a plate on the roads and just peel the stickers off if im leaving it at a show etc.

they are sticky enough to keep the plate on but they peel off grand and dont leave any marks, and only about 3 euro for a ten pack from tesco.

just something for you to consider.

cheers man i get what your saying with mine it just wouldnt suit it, ill get it sorted just wanted to know the law on the matter mostly more then anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

MOD SNIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

iphone4g, you've been banned by myself before for breaking the rules. Take a bit of time off there

what he say graham pm me if you want thanks?