Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The state of street safety.

• 15-01-2011 1:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Im not sure in the last couple of years if mace has been illegalised but knowing Ireland its still is illegal. Just wondering if anyone knows?

If people want to know why im asking. Its because while i was walking home last night by myself, three scumbags jumped on me and there was absoluthly nothing i could do. Besides a quick moneuver and into a near by house. Where they quickly turned away believing I lived there.

Thing is got in the car a few minutes later and drove after them to take a picture to identify them.

whilst the window was pulled down, they shouted there was nothing the gardai could do to them.

The truth is , there is nothing the gardai can do to this scum. Why cant we get tazers and mace with a licence?

Also happened last summer, I was walking with my girlfriend and her younger sister who was 13 and a group of scumbags on bikes ( around ten or more) decided they would encircle us and start punching me in the head. No words were said. just mindless idiots.

What can actually be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Farland wrote: »

Move out of whatever scumbag estate you're living in?

Joking aside, you seem to be very unlucky. I've never been attacked on the street, and I don't exactly live in some suburban idyll.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

chill bro, let d dudes do, wat dey gotta do...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

It's not the kids. it's the parents who have no control in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Farland

The thing is its not a scumbag estate. I have just moved in, a week before christmas , Out of a scumbag estate which id never been touched in. The place we moved to Its thought of as a good area. which blows my mind.

How can scum just be allowed do what they like to who ever and if I whip about mace, it'll be me in the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭I Love Cheese

you could have gone bat**** crazy on them, that would have been cool

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

policarp wrote: »
    It's not the kids. it's the parents who have no control in most cases.

Eh...no...it is the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Ministerofwar

Take up a Martial art and knock the S-H-I-T-E outta them.If they get away with doing it to you you can get away doing it to them

Does Ireland have a juvenial detention? I wouldnt even know what to call it tbh. Which means most likely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Thats a fcuked up story op..You do seem to be quite unlucky alright.The story when you were with your girlfriend is nearly more worrying though.Maybe its the way you hold yourself when you're out that these scum think you're an easy mark?

Im not sure in the last couple of years if mace has been illegalised but knowing Ireland its still is illegal. Just wondering if anyone knows?

If people want to know why im asking. Its because while i was walking home last night by myself, three scumbags jumped on me and there was absoluthly nothing i could do. Besides a quick moneuver and into a near by house. Where they quickly turned away believing I lived there.

Thing is got in the car a few minutes later and drove after them to take a picture to identify them.

whilst the window was pulled down, they shouted there was nothing the gardai could do to them.

The truth is , there is nothing the gardai can do to this scum. Why cant we get tazers and mace with a licence?

Also happened last summer, I was walking with my girlfriend and her younger sister who was 13 and a group of scumbags on bikes ( around ten or more) decided they would encircle us and start punching me in the head. No words were said. just mindless idiots.

Try reporting it before you dismiss the Gardai!

I say this as no lover of the gardai, but it sounds like you've been assaulted twice, with witnesses once, and evidence.

Maybe I'm not up to speed but surely they will get done!

Your saying take up a martial art and ive done some jujitsu.

But these scumbags are cowards and roam the streets in groups. Last night it was three against one. You or I would be lucky to keep them away especially because they probably carry knives cus there hard...

They same can be said when it was ten of them circling my girlfriend and I for no reason.

Guards need to be able to rough these guys up or tazers and mace should be legalised with a licence.imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

Guards need to be able to rough these guys up or tazers and mace should be legalised with a licence.imo.

The Robert Mugabe school of policing, eh?

Remmy wrote: »
    Thats a fcuked up story op..You do seem to be quite unlucky alright.The story when you were with your girlfriend is nearly more worrying though.Maybe its the way you hold yourself when you're out that these scum think you're an easy mark?

I have no idea. The thing is no one has ever come up to me one on one. I could easily take them, Im not some skinny 5'2 fella. Neither am i taller and fat :P

The only times anything has ever happened is when Im out numbered.

The incident with my girlfriend and her younger sister happened on Vernon avenue. Where over the summer a group of scumbags on bikes had been assaulting people for the hell of it. The guards did zilch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

Some people look like need a kickin,kids pick up on that sort of thing.

the world is all politically correct these days mate, why not long ago there was a thread on here about a couple of gardai that give some leading a bad kicking and plenty wanted them to go down, they got in serious bother over it i think.

What we need is more officers like Denzel Washington in Training Day, corrupt as ****, and lets the little guys away with **** but it comes to scum, he will destroy them in a hundred ways.

KylieWyley wrote: »

Lol'd a bit :P

well the gaurds should be able to do something other than take their names.

So a few coppers roughing up some scum, is the same as years of rape, torture and genocide.

Idiotic post....:rolleyes:

Your saying take up a martial art and ive done some jujitsu.

But these scumbags are cowards and roam the streets in groups. Last night it was three against one. You or I would be lucky to keep them away especially because they probably carry knives cus there hard...

They same can be said when it was ten of them circling my girlfriend and I for no reason.

imo tazers and/or mace would be fcuk all use against a gang of youths attacking you especially if they have knives as you put it.All it would serve to do is escalate the situation.For the Gardai and other orginsations i can see it being a good option though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I got punched in the mouth in Galway the other day cos i wouldn't give 5 scumbags a euro. Was going to go to the guards but sweet fcuk all will happen to the knackers even if they're caught. Its sickening. And if you punch any of them they'll remember you and probably go looking for you to give you another beating.

If the guards wont do anything tell them, if you dont do anything I will.

If the guards in question wont uphold the law then they are no better than the dirt on the end of my shoe.

Treat them as such.

If your worried about safety sort out one of them new fold up metal batons the riot squad have. Stick it in the pocket, any trouble back of the knee, then a few kicks and they're down, the others will **** it.

jd007 wrote: »
    I got punched in the mouth in Galway the other day cos i wouldn't give 5 scumbags a euro. Was going to go to the guards but sweet fcuk all will happen to the knackers even if they're caught. Its sickening. And if you punch any of them they'll remember you and probably go looking for you to give you another beating.

sucks! whereabouts in Galway?

can honestly say I've been lucky enough to never have come across that sorta stuff in Galway (excluding the odd drunken brawl at 3am outside Supermacs of course :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Guards wont do a thing if they're under 18 and you don't have any injurys, only thing you can do is fight back or run, most young scumbags that go for a guy in groups and attack him are terrible fighters and will most likely back off if you give one of them a good dig in the face.

But if you ever decide to fight then your risking injury especially against more than one person, so if you don't think that they'll back off or you start to get beat then you should run pick one or the other both are better than letting them hit you.

DB10 wrote: »

LOL, from the person who brought us this:
    the world is all politically correct these days mate, why not long ago there was a thread on here about a couple of gardai that give some leading a bad kicking and plenty wanted them to go down, they got in serious bother over it i think.

What we need is more officers like Denzel Washington in Training Day, corrupt as ****, and lets the little guys away with **** but it comes to scum, he will destroy them in a hundred ways.

Let's base our police system on a Hollywood movie!! :pac:

if gardai arent already armed with tazers and mace they should be and should be allowed to use them... They have batons I think? But if they whipped one of them out they'd be handing over their badge in the morning.

Im sure I read a story a few years ago where three scumbags teamed up on a guy. Turned out the guy was a blackbelt and broke one guys arm, kicked one of the other guys knees out and dont know what happened to the third.

But that guy was later taken to court by the scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Does Ireland have a juvenial detention? I wouldnt even know what to call it tbh. Which means most likely not.
    they have a criminal training centre for young boys, most graduates go on to varied careers in Crime with some opting to do a degee in mountjoy university

Also where do you get those batons?

Einhard wrote: »
    LOL, from the person who brought us this:

Let's base our police system on a Hollywood movie!! :pac:

The police in that film were alot better at sorting out the scum than our idiotic police force, basically a bunch of college graduates scared of their own ****.

And yes I would prefer Denzel Washington dealing with the situation, then Fat Barry taking the squad car down the pub...

Nothing idiotic about it....take a look at yourself...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

if gardai arent already armed with tazers and mace they should be and should be allowed to use them... They have batons I think? But if they whipped one of them out they'd be handing over their badge in the morning.

Im sure I read a story a few years ago where three scumbags teamed up on a guy. Turned out the guy was a blackbelt and broke one guys arm, kicked one of the other guys knees out and dont know what happened to the third.

I think the guards have mace and a baton but not tazers, Laws regarding this kinda thing are bollocks are ireland.

Also where do you get those batons?

I've been asking that question for a while yet nobody will answer...:rolleyes:

I know a few people with one, they are a very handy self protector, and small when the fold up.

Surely some of the law/gardai know it alls that cover this place know the answer....:confused:

Im no expert but I think specialized sections in the gardai have have air tazers and mace.I think most gardai on the beat have a collabsible baton of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

DB10 needs to join a rolleyes rehabilitation program.

Theres really nothing that can be done then? Just hope you arent hopped on by a gang of under 18's. Which is about 80% percent of the time in Dublin I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

humberklog wrote: »
    Eh...no...it is the kids.

If it's the kids where do they get it from?

The police in that film were alot better at sorting out the scum than our idiotic police force, basically a bunch of college graduates scared of their own ****.

And yes I would prefer Denzel Washington dealing with the situation, then Fat Barry taking the squad car down the pub...

Nothing idiotic about it....take a look at yourself...:rolleyes:

Wow you love that little rolly eyes guy!

Have you seen Training Day? The whole point of the film is the destruction that the corruption and violent behaviour of Washington's character wreaks, and how his actions make him little better than the scumbags he purports to act against. And you want to use it as a Dummy's Guide to Policing!

Rosicky7 wrote: »
    DB10 needs to join a rolleyes rehabilitation program.
    shame you based your username on such a **** player

bergkamp> ro****ty

smart man

I've been asking that question for a while yet nobody will answer...:rolleyes:

I know a few people with one, they are a very handy self protector, and small when the fold up.

Surely some of the law/gardai know it alls that cover this place know the answer....:confused:

Those collabsible batons arent that hard to get but I wouldnt want to be caught carry one around and definitly not using one.I'd say it would come under a concealed weapon.It really has no other purpose than to strike people with.You couldn't really say you use it to whisk your morning pancakes with.:D

Have you seen Training Day? The whole point of the film is the destruction that the corruption and violent behaviour of Washington's character wreaks, and how his actions make him little better than the scumbags he purports to act against. And you want to use it as a Dummy's Guide to Policing!

come back to me when your opinion matters acting like you should be gardai chief, and it's called the gardai in this country Mr American...:rolleyes:

So a few coppers roughing up some scum, is the same as years of rape, torture and genocide.

Not really.

I was illustrating that if we condone attitudes such as allowing people to be "roughed up" because of stereotypes associated with their appearance or socioeconomic situation, then where do we draw the line? The notion of allowing people to be roughed because they might get up to no good is idiotic. I was being ironic.

Off you go and walk down the street with your baton :rolleyes:

Remmy wrote: »
    Those collabsible batons arent that hard to get but I wouldnt want to be caught carry one around and definitly not using one.I'd say it would come under a concealed weapon.It really has no other purpose than to strike people with.You couldn't really say you use it to whisk your morning pancakes with.:D

are they illegal to buy? so basically we are talking about a black market job here. no big e. then again the first place to get one is probly of scumbags.

come back to me when your opinion matters acting like you should be gardai chief, and it's called the gardai in this country Mr American...:rolleyes:

So the Gardai dont have any role in policing?Its Garda'ing that they do?

I know someone who has one. Im 100% sure your not allowed carry them. SO once again your stuck getting the seven shades of sh*t kicked out of you. If the gards actually were driving by and saw me against three scumbags accepted I had the baton, It would probably be me in the backseat.

Not really.

I was illustrating that if we condone attitudes such as allowing people to be "roughed up" because of stereotypes associated with their appearance or socioeconomic situation, then where do we draw the line? The notion of allowing people to be roughed because they might get up to no good is idiotic. I was being ironic.
    stop it then...:rolleyes:

I know someone who has one. Im 100% sure your not allowed carry them. SO once again your stuck getting the seven shades of sh*t kicked out of you. If the gards actually were driving by and saw me against three scumbags accepted I had the baton, It would probably be me in the backseat.

you cant spend like thinking about ifs and buts, fact is the chances of them driving by are slim to none depending on area. u said this yourself, it has happened twice already.

Self defense is in the law, you will get away with carrying it if you are clever.

you cant spend life thinking about ifs and buts, fact is the chances of them driving by are slim to none depending on area. u said this yourself, it has happened twice already.

Self defense is in the law, you will get away with carrying it if you are clever.

Dummys guide to policing is too complex for the force in this country.

They need to sit down watch Training Day (bar the very end), and get out onto the streets tackling scum head on, maybe even before they commit crimes.

Its the only way.

stop it then...:rolleyes:

good one. :rolleyes:

ye your right.

are they illegal to buy? so basically we are talking about a black market job here. no big e. then again the first place to get one is probly of scumbags.

Dont quote me on this but I dont believe they are illegal to buy.I saw a few in different shops but that was about 2 years ago or so.It could be the case that they are legal to purchase but illegal to have on your person in a town.Kinda like knuckle dusters being legal in the uk as paperweights but illegal to have out with you in your pocket on a busy friday night:D

ye your right.

no, you're not. self-defense has to be reasonable and proportional to the attack.

if some guy comes and punches you in the head, you'd have a hard time explaining why you bashed his skull in with a baton.