Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors Meet Time Again

• 14-01-2011 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

A fair few of us are having a meet in Portlaoise on the 30th of January. It's a Sunday and we usually have a bit of grub and some banter, anybody that's been before knows the drill

Normally it's great craic and a good day out, so if you're interested just drop your name below and we'll give the finer details closer to the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I should be okay to pop down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I'll be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Best to get a list going:

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4)
    5)
    6)
    7)
    8)
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

Copy and paste away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5)
    6)
    7)
    8)
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Pass,
    I would hate to embarrass myself with my "ordinary" underpowered turf burner, compared to some of the "High Performance" machines you lot would have :rolleyes:

Might go on the "Tea on the Vee" run instead with more regular cars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6)
    7)
    8)
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

vectra wrote: »
    Pass,
    I would hate to embarrass myself with my "ordinary" underpowered turf burner, compared to some of the "High Performance" machines you lot would have :rolleyes:

Buddy, I've a 1.4 Astra!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Pass,

How old are you? 6? 7?

Would like to go to one of these soon :) Jan 30th may be too soon though as the clothes hanger is still doing a sterling job holding up my backbox but I don't quite want to risk Portlaois with it :)

Onkle wrote: »
    How old are you? 6? 7?

Dude.. it has been a very long time since I acted my shoe size...which is more than I can say for a lot of posters on here.

But as I said..
    will pass as I will be too busy having a good day at another event on the 30th

RoverJames wrote: »
    Would like to go to one of these soon :) Jan 30th may be too soon though as the clothes hanger is still doing a sterling job holding up my backbox but I don't quite want to risk Portlaois with it :)

Does it need a welding job or just new rubber mounts? I had to have one of my brackets welded back on this week, cost 50quid and took an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7)
    8)
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

I'll be going from Cork and you're welcome to come shotgun

Dude.. it has been a very long time since I acted my shoe size...which is more than I can say for a lot of posters on here.

But as I said..
    will pass as I will be too busy having a good day at another event on the 30th

Well you're more than welcome at any of our meets anytime, turf burner or not. Our meets are usually good craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8)
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

Does it need a welding job or just new rubber mounts? I had to have one of my brackets welded back on this week, cost 50quid and took an hour

Basically the backbox on the ZT has a metal holding up bracket all round it which hangs off hangers by rubber yokes like in any other car. The bracket lower half has corroded and broken on mine, so I have a clothes hanger bodged on to hold it up. The new bracket is about 40 or 50 quid and a bit of a ball ache to DIY fit and also the backbox is rusty enough (she spent 6 years in England) so I decided to get a nice stainless steel backbox to replace it. Chap who is doing it is having a looksee next Friday to take measurements and stuff. He gave me a rough price of €180 for a quiet (what I want) one, but I reckon it will be more when he sees it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I'd go but I've been an asshole so many times on here I'd be bound to bump into someone I've pissed off!

EPM wrote: »
    I'll be going from Cork and you're welcome to come shotgun

That's a fierce decent offer :)
    I'd feel like a t1t without a car though at a motors meet :o
    Thank you though :)

pajo1981 wrote: »
    I'd go but I've been an asshole so many times on here I'd be bound to bump into someone I've pissed off!

You'd be grand. People don't take you seriously anyway:p

pajo1981 wrote: »

I permanently banned one of the regulars from another forum I used to mod, that stuff doesn't matter at all. All are welcome, even -corkie-

There's always a couple with no car, I've been that soldier myself sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Bring the coat hanger ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

I'll be down for a short while at least.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

Will have to show of the beauty of the x1 in the flesh;)

alexmcred wrote: »
    Will have to show of the beauty of the x1 in the flesh;)

Is it green?

No way man would stick out way to much

Its canary yellow:D

Tis Black there's a pic of it in the my car thread

I was chatting to the owner of a green one at one of the motorshows, really cool car :)

sorry thought your were taking the pee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

Its only a mere 1.6TDi so anybody is welcome.

We have had a 1990 Peugeot 405 at a meet before all the way through to an M5 so everybody is welcome. When I buy my AM V12 I will still turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)
    13)
    14)
    15)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Too far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)Stealthirl
    13)
    14)
    15)
    _____

may have to work tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)Stealthirl
    13)SV(maybe)
    14)
    15)

If I have my new car by then..surely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Drat...I have work

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)Stealthirl
    13)SV(maybe)
    14)Stheno* depending on the week

Love to get to this, chance to see my dad too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Are you thinking of the Z1 not X1?

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)Stealthirl
    13)SV(maybe)
    14)Stheno* depending on the week
    15) Graham_B18C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I permanently banned one of the regulars from another forum I used to mod, that stuff doesn't matter at all. All are welcome, even -corkie-

You cheeky Basterd.:P

I wont be going this time

-Corkie- wrote: »
    You cheeky Basterd.:P

I wont be going this time

What do you mean 'this time'? You didn't go last time either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

What do you mean 'this time'? You didn't go last time either

The health wasnt too good the last time and I was looking forward to it for ages. Herself is expecting now so I dont want to be going anywhere from home. I am going buying a luxobarge soon and I promise I will be at the next one..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Pass,

Vag drivers gandon meet is on the same day not too far away.. pleanty of turf burners there including my yoke..
    Well you're more than welcome at any of our meets anytime, turf burner or not. Our meets are usually good craic :)
    Yup all the keyboard warriors will be at home.. Good craic at these meets... Ill never forget the last one I was at....

I will be headin to the vag meet but I might call in for a look around:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

sean1141 wrote: »

Yup all the keyboard warriors will be at home.. Good craic at these meets... Ill never forget the last one I was at....

Was I at the last one you were at?

With a certain someone being accused of speeding? :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 colmbarr1988

il drop along if im not workin

SV wrote: »

yup think so... there was a certain civic driver very worried for a few minuets!!:D

Ssssshhhhhhhh ;)

:D:eek::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

SV wrote: »

Ssssshhhhhhhh ;)
    :D:eek::p

The certain Civic driver is going :mad:

1) TheBazman
    2) Tallon
    3) Onkle
    4) David
    5) Bodhan
    6) EPM
    7) Neilw
    8) Marlow
    9)Alexmcred
    10)Berty
    11)Limerick man
    12)Stealthirl
    13)SV(maybe)
    14)Stheno*
    15)Graham_B18C
    16)Midnight_EG

Vag drivers gandon meet is on the same day not too far away.. pleanty of turf burners there including my yoke..

There was a certain amount of sarcasm in that replay of mine :D
    I am hoping to get the the VAG one..
    That is the one @ the Vee aint it??

Look forward to seeing the Civic PG :)

She'll hopefully have a brand new NCT by then...and I need to give her her first wax since I bought her!

She's getting the best treatment for the boards meet :pac:

Good stuff, I hope to have a few things changed on my car myself...

Oooh like what? :D

I treated myself to a custom-fabricated exhaust yesterday...with the Spoon back box on the other end :pac: