Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turbos - how do you do yours?

• 14-01-2011 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

Just for a bit of craic...

1. When do you usually turbo?
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most?
    3. What do you entertain yourself with?
    4. How do you motivate yourself?
    5. Where do you turbo usually?
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo?
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo?
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo?
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off?
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :D
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away?
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

1. Half nine at night
    2. Ones broken into varied sections.
    3. Beat fm
    4. Im a crap cyclist, I need this
    5. My bedroom. If I collapse the beds just there. :)
    6. Everyone is told to stay away!
    7. He thinks Im mad, but the turbo wouldnt be the craziest thing I get up to. The kids think its what all mammys do. :)
    8. Somewhere Id rather be.
    9. Nice girls dont fart.
    10. Its a permanent fixture
    11. I wash it! Is there another option??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

1. When do you usually turbo? Mostly night time when the kiddies are in bed and early for the long session
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? Intervals or routes with plenty of climbing...i like the pain
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? Normally have a few shows/films recorded on sky box, that and some music if i need the extra push.
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Keeping up with you in the SCR Challenge:p
    5. Where do you turbo usually? Spare room in the house
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? Generally nothing not a chance i could go on the turbo with 3 kids and a dog running around
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? She thinks i am bonkers but is very supportive even though she laughs at my fanny padding on my cycling shorts
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? They also think Daddy is a bit mad
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? I normally visualise races
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :DPass on both just one slight adjustment and let rip
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? I keep it setup in the room
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? O/H has the pleasure of washing my gear:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

1. When do you usually turbo? 9pm at night, usually when another crap soap or medical drama is about to start and it's time for me to leave the room
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? I would use the 'like' very loosely, but prefer interval sessions as it breaks the boredom.
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? By knowing that if I keep up these sessions, I'll pass more and more people during the summer.
    4. How do you motivate yourself? By knowing I don't have to subject myself to anymore soaps or medical dramas
    5. Where do you turbo usually? In the shed
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? The grass is growing, spiders spinning a web and the odd twitching curtain where the neighbours are wondering what I am doing in the shed with the strange noise
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? Thinks I am mad
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? Thankfully too young to realise what is going on
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? How I am going to win Kona
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down
    on the saddle with discreet pops? biggrin.gifStand up and let loose
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? In the shed, so always set up
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? Into my smelly gear washing basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

1. When do you usually turbo? If working from home straight after work and before dinner, weekend mornings
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? Long big gear sessions so I can watch TV
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? On second series of the Wire and am going to mix it up with Season 1 of Heroes next
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Streaking by all my arch nemesis's on the bike
    5. Where do you turbo usually? Converted Attic
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? Nothing up there except old clothes and trinkets - she is a hoarder
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? She has given me up on me long ago
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? None
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? Nothing usually try to concentrate on the TV before I get lost
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :DUp and at it
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? I keep it setup in the attic
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? I fling it at the missus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

OH has the TV from 7pm to 9pm at night for the god awful soaps so anytime between them

Intervals

Off the Ball on Newstalk - top top show.

Counting the weeks to Spring to when I can put it away

Spare room in house
    shag all

delighted cause Im not telling her how shot the soaps are

too young yet

knocking a few minutes off my HOTW bike split

9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :D
    stand up and crank it out

2 minutes job

it joins the rest of it in the wash basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

1. When do you usually turbo? Straight after school Mon/Weds/Tues, sometimes all 3 day sometimes not
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? 60min interval sessions
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? Box sets, just finished "The Wire" (are there any support groups or anything for people just after finishing "The Wire" :()
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Believe it or not-I actually just like doing it!
    5. Where do you turbo usually? Spare room
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? Nothing, nobody home at that time
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? She thinks I look sexy ;)
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? N?A
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? Usually a future race
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :DStand up and.......
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? It's left set up
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? I ring out the gear into a pint glass and drink it down.......for extra super strength ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

When I feel guilty. - Usually only one night a week.
    Steady Z2...what else?:)
    Currently on Extras - fantastic. Will need to get into The Wire - seems to be de riguer.
    Panicing about an IM bike ride...
    I'm banned from the house, so I take over the kids playhouse in the winter - good for temperature regulation!
    Nothing - I'm very alone.
    She has a growing suspicion that I'm starting to bat for the other side, as I seem to spend a lot of time in lycra...and enjoying it.
    "Why would you cycle a bike that goes nowhere?"
    Heartbreak Hill at IM Switzerland...
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? biggrin.gif
    The more interesting question would be "what is your whizz strategy?" - stop and head to the bathroom or HTFU?:)
    TT bike stays on the turbo until it is time to hit the road
    It's so fuppin cold, that it is never dripping that much, but mandatory wash in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Not as much as I used to but - 6am-9/10am, or 7:30pm-8:30/9:30pm

I love them all.

Dance/rave music combined with Computertrainer 3d courses or RealCourse video of IM courses

Once I am on the turbo no problem, getting on it is the issue these days but that is fading.

Shed

Nothing - most of the time

She is used to it, she has taken over my old trainer

Mildly amused, likes to be held by daddy while he turbos but gets annoyed when the sweat soaks her

I don't drift off

As long as its not a shart I don't care

Leave it set up.

Wash it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

1. When do you usually turbo? Straight after work or weekend mornings if icy
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? I detest them all the same
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? Podcasts, movies for a long one
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Just do it without thinking
    5. Where do you turbo usually? Brothers shed
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? Nothing, stare at the back of the brother's campervan
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? Kind of funny
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? Brothers kids don't pass much remarks on the odd occasion they wander in,
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? Never happens
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? biggrin.gifBoth
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? Have a dedicated turbo bike, been there 5/6 years & is coroded to nothing from blood, sweat & snot (have been prone to nose bleeds in the past). Am actually afraid it will fall apart somedat
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? Into a plastic bag & home with it to washing machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

1. When do you usually turbo? Whenever I can't get out on the road
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? Interval sessions
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? Music, I don't seem to be able to concentrate on the tv
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Once I decide on a session before hand I'm doing it, no quitting allowd.
    5. Where do you turbo usually? Back room
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? I try and do it when no one is at home
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? My future OH will no doubt be amazed at my perfect physique as she cools me with a giant feather
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? N/A
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? Races/ anything but the pain
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? I don't tend to get wind on the bike
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? Couple of minutes
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? Wash it in the sink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

6am or 8pm
    New to turbos so steady Z2 is all I have been doing
    Off the Ball from Newstalk
    Knowing someday I will be in the saddle for 6hrs approx
    Garage with door open so I can see life
    Nothing much. Dog has the usual confused look about himself when he sees me.
    Pleased for now. Shes not fond of me heading off on the bike on the road
    Young lad thinks its great
    Goals beyond my capability , races .
    Stand Up, maintain cadence and fart loudly :D
    Permanant fixture
    Straight into the washing machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 mraff07

1. When do you usually turbo? evenings, or when im told to!
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? the ones that i dont have to do
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? a boyzone mix tape (i have no ipod)
    4. How do you motivate yourself? dont think just do!!
    5. Where do you turbo usually? in a freezin shed
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? the neighbours look over the fence and laugh
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? she thinks i grunt alot
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? she wants a go
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? i catch my breath
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? all of the above
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? terrible
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? theres a clothes fairy who lives in my house she looks after it, i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭keithm1

12. What the heck is a Turbo ?
    Fixed it for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

In the morning before work and on Saturday mornings if I can't get out on the road. The odd time in the evening or afternoon.

I'm liking BG sessions at the moment.

iPod in a docking station

Just get on with it and suck it up.

Garage

Nothing usually

Gives her a good laugh when she sees the cut of me in lycra

N/A

Skiing at the moment as I ain't going this year

Scaol amach é

It stays set up

Touchy subject as I've been lazy and left it hanging over the bath the last couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Early morning before work

Intervals tend to generate sufficiently impressive amounts of sweat

Nothing usually, the pain makes me blind to anything external :)
    Did listen to Off the Ball podcast this morning alright though for an easy spin after reading above.

I suck on the bike, this will make me better.

In the kitchen

Half the time I'm on my own so nothing.
    The other half I'm baby sitting our newborn so she's bravely trying to fight the 'swoosh' of the turbo as it lulls her to sleep :)

I babysit - she gets time to herself - happy days

Obviously the auld communication skills are not yet that terribly advanced but the best I can make out it's something like:
    'Oh there's that nice sound again ... ZZZ ZZZ ZZZ ZZZ'

Anything at all

Neither, slide back slightly and away she goes.

Getting better

You guys wear clothes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Tuesday & Thursday after work & Saturday morning

The easy ones where i can watch some TV, i find it hard to watch or listen to anything when doing any work that is beyond that as i find it can sometimes be distracting.

Easy - Movies, and i've just finished season 1 of The Event. Just started the US Office. Not sure i'll stick to the US Ofice as the script is exactly like the UK version and i feel ive seen it all before! Sometimes when motivation needs a kicking ill youtube some track cycling or something similar where i can see the guy in more pain than me!

Some cycling vids as above and the knowledge that each session will work towards making me better!

Spare room right infront of the PC with a nice fan

Nothing really, the dog will come in to check on me sometimes and the OH stays away in case im in the hurt zone, i dont like distractions then!!

Not sure tbh... she doesnt come into the room after she saw me on the T30 LTHR test some time ago! She doesnt dare enter since unless she knows im on an easy drill :P

Dog count? :P She sits beside me and just looks up wondering what the hell is going on. She has also learned to stay out of the pedal zone as she's gotten some kicks from that. She has also nearly put her nose to the wheel but coped on just in time!

Dont really drift off as such but i visualise races in the past and in the future.

Bitta both

It stays setup all the time.

Use the remaining dry part of a towel to dry the floor and then straight to the wash or washbasket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭brian_bugle

1. When do you usually turbo? Whenever I convince myself that I can!
    2. What turbo sessions do you like most? I'm a huge interval fan - trimming the fat!
    3. What do you entertain yourself with? Either watching stuff on the Mac or listening to soundtracks. Found reading a book passed the time quickly but difficult when doing intervals.
    4. How do you motivate yourself? Badly!
    5. Where do you turbo usually? It's set up in the box room (office!)
    6. What is going on around you when you turbo? Nowt!
    7a. What does the OH make of you on the turbo? She tried it a couple of times!
    7b. What do the kids (if applicable) make of you on the turbo? N/A
    8. What do you daydream about when you drift off? Being able to cycle faster!
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :DHmmm, Fifth Amendment?
    10. How efficient are you at setting it up and putting it away? It stays set up
    11. What happens the dripping gear afterwards? I wear a trisuit when on the turbo so just shower with that on to wash it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Lads I've tears in my eys reading some of thsoe responses :D ELD nearlt fell off my chair LMAO at that one!!!

Twice a week straight after work, before she gets in otherwise we distract each other :) Silly o clock at the weekend
    Only doing Z1/2 stuff now but my fav is sets of 10 min blocks of 2mins step ups
    MTV usually. Or DJ sets on the iPod docking station. For easy stuff Alicia Keys
    I just get on and get it done, no thinking
    Half way between the living room and dining room. Open the double doors. Stupid socket positions in rented house is the reason!
    Caz usually snacking and either watching something, surfing or reading or psyching herself up for a run. Neighbours compete by turning their tunes up louder
    Ever since a sadistic T60 experience she feeds me(probably more to do with me staring and drooling at her sandwich on the plate!) and tops up my water bottle or switches the heating off.. generally my life saver :)
    Daddy are you done yet, how many hours have you got left, is it 2 clock yet.. etc...
    How much I'd love to be outside
    9. Stand up, reduce the cadence and fart loudly, or bounce up and down on the saddle with discreet pops? :DSee how many seconds I can make it last for
    Uber efficient. Assembled and folded away faster than I can do transitions
    Lob it all straight into the machine so as not to leave infesting the wash basket, then do a quick naked jig in the kitchen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Bambaata wrote: »

Easy - Movies, and i've just finished season 1 of The Event. Just started the US Office. Not sure i'll stick to the US Ofice as the script is exactly like the UK version and i feel ive seen it all before! Sometimes when motivation needs a kicking ill youtube some track cycling or something similar where i can see the guy in more pain than me!

Bambaata stick with the US Office, the first two episodes are like the UK one but after that totally different and dare I say it......even better! I kid you not.