Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South Korea burying 1.4m pigs alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Quite the rasher sandwich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Maybe they could try one of their new found nukes on them guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

The Koreans are vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Those Korean swines!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

In other news

North Korea have announced the suspension of their tunneling operations under the border

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Thats horrible,

Is there a country or even a company anywhere that deals with all animals decently? Buy from them and nobody else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Assuming they are burying them alive (the Daily Mail)... then that is bad form. Any possible reason to do it, other than a possible cost saving measure of not having pay for their slaughter? Bit bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I wonder will the pigs start eating each other when they get hungry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Maybe they could try one of their new found nukes on them guys?

Mmm the smell of barbeque!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Would be more interesting if it were 1.4million humans..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Would be more interesting if it were 1.4million humans..

or 6 million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

Sounds like someone is telling Porkies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Those Korean swines!
    Sounds like someone is telling Porkies!

Boaring :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

Babe: Pig in a Pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Even little kids know that sick pigs can be cured (no pun intended) with oinkment. North Koreans don't have Christmas crackers, so they don't know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Boaring :rolleyes:

Bah! Utter hogwash!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Be deep be deep... That's all folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Bah! Utter hogwash!

Jaysus yere a ham act!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Have those Koreans no seoul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I don't think I've ever heard of a rasher decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

lol, i knew i should have posted this in the animal & pet issues forum ye bunch of messers! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

They could have let them loose across the North Korean border and get self-slaughtered on any anti-personnel land mines...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Wow...that must be their entire police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

A little girl was bringing her new little puppy for a walk,when she was stopped by an elderly gent and he says

"hello little girl thats a lovely doggie you have whats your name?"

"well when i was in my mummys tummy a rose blew in the window and a piece of it landed on my mummys tummy and thats when she decided to call me Petal"

"And what about your adorable little puppy whats his name??"

"Piggy!"

"Oh! thats an unusual name for puppy?why did you call him Piggy??"

"Because he fcuks Pigs!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Use them as fuel in a power plant. Fatty pork burns baby burns. Green party will love it , pork powered plasma tvs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

its a little dirty... its still good... its still good...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Thanks OP, now I'm hungry!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The controversial measure has been brought in after 115 cases of the disease were confirmed, originating in the city of Andong.

Lol.

God, the picture of those poor little piglets being thrown out is just heartwrenching :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The Koreans have no respect,
    pigs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

There are images and videos of it available on the net. The problem was that the pigs being buried alive started to panic (obviously) and they ripped the plastic sheeting in the big holes they had dug to bury them in.

The blood then leaked out of the plastic as they were decomposing and got into the water system, the same water that is used for drinking. This happened in Paju, which is in the North east of the country close to seoul. Andong is further south, about 3 or 4 hours from seoul. I would hazard a guess that the same thing is going to happen there too. Needless to say, I'll be drinking bottled water here for the rest of my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

vibe666 wrote: »
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1346775/South-Korea-buries-1-4m-pigs-ALIVE-bid-eradicate-foot-mouth-disease.html

i'm trying not to be a tree hugging hippy about this, but it seems very barbaric to me. if they have to slaughter the animals to prevent a pandemic then fair enough if it has to be done, but they could at least slaughter them before burying the poor little feckers. :(

In fairness 1.4million bullets would be expensive, so its a cheap alternative especially in these hard times and on the plus side with them all ****eing rings around themselves it'll be good for the soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

I'm living in Korea at the min and every now and again something like this happens (well not exactly buring pig alive) that make me wonder what the funk goes on in some peoples heads!!

Why someone thought (and then authorities agreed with) that this would be a good idea is beyond me. For a country that in the amazingly short span of 50 years has come from the brink of war to a fully modern country, making some of the world best technology can think that this would be a normal thing to do!!!

Obvously I feel sorry for the pigs that had to endure this needless suffering but the stupidity and senseless of the actions are what annoy me most. Korea actually works really hard at becoming a world leader and a serious country and then they do something like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

So Cassi, is "lala" some kind of code for retard? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Do they need more pigs. our pigs are healthy. we can sell them our pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Frankly, any measure that avoids people getting foot and mouth is good in my book. I like my brain not melted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Koreans are vile.

I couldn't agree more.

These people eat dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Do they need more pigs. our pigs are healthy. we can sell them our pigs.
    How much would me get for those swines Harney and Cowen if we sold them by the kilo??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I Approve of this Thread!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Frankly, any measure that avoids people getting foot and mouth is good in my book. I like my brain not melted.
    why, is your brain in your feet (or mouth)? :confused:

i think you are confusing your diseases, most likely with BSE, which is something totally different.

foot & mouth is very difficult for humans to catch (the last reported case nin the UK was in 1966) although they can easily carry it on their skin or clothing (without being infected) and spread it to livestock.

the biggest threat of the disease is through cattle and other farm animals who are very susceptible to it (pretty much anything with hooves).

with the rapid movement of people and animals these days, it wouldn't be all that hard to totally decimate a countries livestock very very quickly, so the reaction is usually swift & severe wherever it is found.

it would have been nice if they'd just been a little more humane about the whole thing. :(

and you don't need bullets to put an animal down humanely, you can do it very quickly & cheaply with a bottle of compressed air & one of these which you might also recognise from the movie "no country for old men".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

It all makes for a good korean horror movie. fack u hans brix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

There's little or no risk at all to humans, that's not the issue.

To say this is barbaric is putting it mildly. There's something about people from that part of the world, Koreans, Chinese and Japanese, that they have absolutely no respect whatsoever for animals. They treat them like objects, even though pigs are intelligent social animals who are capable of suffering exactly the same as us. And I don't know about the rest of ye but I'd rather not get buried alive anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Automated Response

aidan24326 wrote: »
    There's something about people from that part of the world, Koreans, Chinese and Japanese.......even though pigs are intelligent social animals who are capable of suffering exactly the same as us..

You sound like a racist vegetarian.

They're pigs. When we are their food, I'll be more sympathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

Dammit... I read this thread title as 'South Korea buying 1.4m pigs alive' and was gonna take the piss of the OP for starting a thread on a country buying some bacon...

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Any room left for a pack of swines from leinster house??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

Shryke wrote: »
    So Cassi, is "lala" some kind of code for retard? :p

Ha I didn't even realise this! It's not was what intended but In this case it certainly fits :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Sick to treat animals like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

You sound like a racist vegetarian.

Neither actually.

They're pigs. When we are their food, I'll be more sympathetic.

Well, when the carnivorous aliens arrive, I hope you're first in the oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Automated Response

Shouldn't you be hoping that I get buried alive? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Farland

minikin wrote: »
    Babe: Pig in a Pit

Funniest thing ive read today!!