Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six Nations 2011 Winner?

• 14-01-2011 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Would have backed England without hesitation before the injury to Lawes and suspension for Attwood. Still think they have it about them to win it but there won't be a slam this year. The Welsh could surprise them at Cardiff. France were frightening with how easily they were torn to bits against the Aussies but it's hard to know with them how it'll effect them. We have the front row issue which means imo we won't win it.

Anyway, vote away.

6 Nations Winner? 141 votes

England
    0%
    France
    21%
    Crashbren2002enda1[Jackass]chupacabraGijoetolosencB0XBeanmachinecsondrunk_monkBenny CakeStev_oRoadendstudioguestsiltirockerSand WedgebamboozlingBoarHuntersome_dose 31 votes
    Ireland
    43%
    Peter BDempseyfitzMarVeLefbkeano_afcBrian017OtaconDowntimeBBMcQcastierandomname2005ewj1978Dave_The_Sheepadrian522Morfjohnnysmacktoomevaragreenasgrassblackdog2 62 votes
    Wales
    28%
    Paulwmjquinnoconf101cian8itsalltrueMenengroth™niallonspear throwerSteyrBurgoTeferipeterakoKev_ps3CIARAN_BOYLEtwinytwoSomeFoolTaco CorpmolloyjhzacmorrisJudgement Day 40 votes
    Scotland
    3%
    dinjoNofflesWelshman666macman2010OldRio 5 votes
    Italy
    2%
    I-Shot-Jrgavkm27CouchSmart 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

France
    cson wrote: »
    Would have backed England without hesitation before the injury to Lawes and suspension for Attwood. Still think they have it about them to win it but there won't be a slam this year. The Welsh could surprise them at Cardiff. France were frightening with how easily they were torn to bits against the Aussies but it's hard to know with them how it'll effect them. We have the front row issue which means imo we won't win it.

Anyway, vote away.

It's still gonna be England. Followed by France, then Wales, we might just get past Scotland but I wouldn't count on it, with Italy last (again...)

TBH, we don't have a front row issue, we have a management issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Exiled2NY

Wales
    Call it optimism or blind hope, but I feel the Irish team will perform better than expected! I dont think anyone will win the Grandslam though!

The Iish squad announcement should be interesting as there a few big calls to make. As long as the right calls are made....we could be in with a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Italy
    Scotland. I reckon it's a close call between Ireland, Wales and Scotland with Scotland just about winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

France
    I know the Scots are making progress but seriously?

Italy
    cson wrote: »
    I know the Scots are making progress but seriously?

There are a lot of variables obviously but if it falls well for Scotland they should do it. They've Ireland, Wales and Italy at home - all games they're capable of winning, especially if the weather's bad (It's Scotland, the weather is always bad:p).

England and France away are big asks for them but I think England are terribly overrated and so there's a possibility of Scotland doing a job on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

France
    England and France away. They'll need to win 4 games barring some crazy results and I can't see that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

Scotland
    So many questions in regard to the French team. After the Aussie game who will he pick. For that matter Marc Lievremont choices are always erratic.
    England will do well but are still trying to find their best 15.
    Scotland improving but will they score tries ?
    I hope Ireland. But Front Row???????
    Wales for me.
    I have that much confidence in that prediction I'll have 50cent each way.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

France
    Hard one to call between Wales and England for me.

England are playing some smashing rugby and Wales have created serious depth. I would have gone with Wales if Jenkins and SWilliams were fit, but seeing as they aren't imma go with England. Though I don't think they'll win the grand slam.

I can see us losing to Wales and France and it's never easy going to Murrayfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Ireland
    It will finish

1. Ireland
    2. France
    3. Scotland
    4. England
    5. Wales
    6. Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭macman2010

Scotland
    such a close call this year, but if the Welsh beat Enland in the opening game in Cardiff then they can go on an win the championship. Their two away games are Scotland and the french.
    As for Ireland, not this year me thinks. Lets give some of the younger lads some game time and keep the first 15 fresh for the WC.

Italy
    Full fixture list. My predictions in blue.

Fri 4th Feb 11 19:45 Wales v England Wales
    Sat 5th Feb 11 14:30 Italy v Ireland Ireland
    Sat 5th Feb 11 17:00 France v ScotlandFrance

Sat 12th Feb 11 14:30 England v ItalyEngland
    Sat 12th Feb 11 17:00 Scotland v Wales Scotland
    Sun 13th Feb 11 15:00 Ireland v FranceIreland

Sat 26th Feb 11 14:30 Italy v Wales Wales
    Sat 26th Feb 11 17:00 England v FranceEngland
    Sun 27th Feb 11 15:00 Scotland v IrelandScotland

Sat 12th Mar 11 14:30 Italy v FranceFrance
    Sat 12th Mar 11 17:00 Wales v IrelandWales
    Sun 13th Mar 11 15:00 England v ScotlandScotland

Sat 19th Mar 11 14:30 Scotland v ItalyScotland
    Sat 19th Mar 11 17:00 Ireland v EnglandIreland
    Sat 19th Mar 11 19:45 France v Wales France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Sand Wedge

France
    1) England
    2) Ireland
    3) France
    4) Wales
    5) Italy
    6) Scotland

England to win it by beating Ireland in last game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

France
    CouchSmart wrote: »
    Sat 12th Feb 11 17:00 Scotland v Wales Scotland
    Sun 13th Mar 11 15:00 England v ScotlandScotland

those are the only ones i'd change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

France
    I don't see why people are thinking that Scotland will come good this year. They are still hopelessly one dimensional and I don't think that they offer anything special at all. Sure they gave us an upset last year, but it's no reason to think they'll do it again this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Scotland
    Lots of optimism on this thread... LOTS of it...

1. France
    2. Wales (with France to win in the last game against us)
    3. England (they have it in them to win, losing 1st game against us won't help though)
    4 Ireland
    5. Scotland
    6. Italy

We have a good squad at the minute, Jenkins going is a shame but James should be up to it...

All in all, it should be entertaining... and lets be honest when is the 6 Nations not entertaining????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Ireland without doubt can and will win this years six nations. Declan Kidney is doing an excellent job and is there for the long haul.
    I can't understand the criticism he gets. Crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

France
    Noffles wrote: »
    Lots of optimism on this thread... LOTS of it...

1. France
    2. Wales (with France to win in the last game against us)
    3. England (they have it in them to win, losing 1st game against us won't help though)
    4 Ireland
    5. Scotland
    6. Italy

We have a good squad at the minute, Jenkins going is a shame but James should be up to it...

All in all, it should be entertaining... and lets be honest when is the 6 Nations not entertaining????

I like your optimism but I think you are going to be proved very wrong (I hope you're not though!)

Scotland
    some_dose wrote: »
    I like your optimism but I think you are going to be proved very wrong (I hope you're not though!)

Optimism seems to be the theme of this thread, some comments seeming to believe Ireland will win the whole thing... very admirable!

Scotland
    amiable wrote: »
    Ireland without doubt can and will win this years six nations. Declan Kidney is doing an excellent job and is there for the long haul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Ireland
    Noffles wrote: »
    Optimism seems to be the theme of this thread, some comments seeming to believe Ireland will win the whole thing... very admirable!

Gotta agree, ireland will finish 4th or at best 3rd.:(

Italy
    Don't understand the belief in France. Has anyone watched the Top 14 this season, it's been worse than the Aviva premiership!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Ireland
    It will finish

1. Ireland
    2. France
    3. Scotland
    4. England
    5. Wales
    6. Italy

Umm, but you voted for France in the poll... :confused:

Hi Brian! Good luck tomorrow... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

France
    People tipping France have to understand France have a very poor record in Twickenham-they got stuffed there 34-10 and 26-18 on their last 2 visits against at that time 2 very ordinary english teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Wales
    Voted Ireland....cause knowing our luck we'll, by some strange twist, win....then we'll be found out in the RWC :(

Especially if it rains :D

France
    Having had a look at the fixtures:

1. Wales
    2. England
    3. France
    4. Scotland
    5. Ireland
    6. Italy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ireland
    I reckon Fr will have one eye on the WC11 in NZ.

I don't think there will be a Grand Slam this year.

I reckon it will be a toss up with ENG IRL SCO and FR with a chance.

France to win the 6 Nations
    Scotland Ireland England next
    Wales
    Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Wales
    the way i see it... we have england and france at home..we can beat them assuming we turn up and play ( by play i mean not the ****e we dished up over the AI's). I think the irland team is alot better than we give it credit for. The scrum needs to be sorted out. if we could do that we might actually not have so much to worry about. We will beat italy.. scotland will be scrappy but i think we cna and will win... wales is the only slip up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Ireland
    Zzippy wrote: »
    Umm, but you voted for France in the poll... :confused:

Ah yeah, That ranking was after I voted, then I remembered we have them at home. :)

Italy
    twinytwo wrote: »
    the way i see it... we have england and france at home..we can beat them assuming we turn up and play ( by play i mean not the ****e we dished up over the AI's). I think the irland team is alot better than we give it credit for. The scrum needs to be sorted out. if we could do that we might actually not have so much to worry about. We will beat italy.. scotland will be scrappy but i think we cna and will win... wales is the only slip up...

If we don't win our two home games I'll be really disappointed. Leinster or Munster losing at home isn't acceptable and it shouldn't be for Ireland either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

France
    I reckon France will lose at home against Scotland, Lievremont keeping his rubbish beliefs about Traille, Jauzion, Rougerie and will react as usual on their next fixture in Dublin by beating ireland in the aviva for the first 6N game there ( as they did for the first rugby match ever played in Crocker ) and then. For that they will pick a team based on the Toulouse squad and a better scrum half than Parra ( Dupuy i reckon ). Then they will still be a doubt for the twickenham game and that's where France will lose the tournament i think.

1 - England
    2 - Scotland
    3 - France
    4 - Wales
    5 - Ireland
    6 - Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Wales
    the competition is up for grabs....just comes down to who wants it more and who executes best and most consistantly.

the only team that havent a chance are italy although scotland's is an outside chance they are improving and are hard to beat at home.

Once Ireland get the scrum together they have a great chance with a back line that should score tries given quick and go forward ball.

If france revert back to last years team and winning formula then it will be tough for anyone to beat them but god only knows what type of team they will come up with after the Australia performance.

COME ON IRELAND!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TheHighRoad

France
    1.England 2.France 3.Ireland 4.Scotland 5.Wales 6.Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

France
    CouchSmart wrote: »
    Don't understand the belief in France. Has anyone watched the Top 14 this season, it's been worse than the Aviva premiership!

I invite you to have a look at the Hcup and Amlin cup standings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

France

He picks about one thrid of the best Irish team available to him.

He's very conservative, stuck in his ways and overly loyal to players who don't deserve to be playing.

He also has had well documented fall outs at Leinster from his time there and has a certain personal agenda with some players (Mike Ross being the most obvious, presumably from his fallout with Munster and leaving and then returning to Leinster when Munster were having tight head issues of their own.)

I don't know, I think Kidney has done well to win the things he's won, but he's had an extremely good squad in place to win those things in the first place.

His track record of building a squad ended in disastor (Leinster) and he now needs to build a squad for a world cup, which is also going to end in disastor as he is resisting the change and the inevitable. He is very very reluctant to introduce unknows and is desperate for results alone, which is incredibly short sighted, and anyone who plays John Hayes against Samoa in a world cup year when it's our weakest position deserves healthy criticisim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

Ireland
    I think that Ireland has the players to win it outright this year, but the ones we need to win (SOB, Ross, Stringer) won't be picked enough by Kidney so France to win. We need to start picking teams to win games, not teams of favourites, or the overall best 15. Ross for instance should start against France and England to nullify their srummaging. I'd have Stringer starting most of the matches, with Boss interchanging with him, (à la reddan and boss at Leinster). I just have no confidence in the coach unfortunately :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Ireland
    [Jackass] wrote: »
    He picks about one thrid of the best Irish team available to him.

He's very conservative, stuck in his ways and overly loyal to players who don't deserve to be playing.

He also has had well documented fall outs at Leinster from his time there and has a certain personal agenda with some players (Mike Ross being the most obvious, presumably from his fallout with Munster and leaving and then returning to Leinster when Munster were having tight head issues of their own.)

I don't know, I think Kidney has done well to win the things he's won, but he's had an extremely good squad in place to win those things in the first place.

His track record of building a squad ended in disastor (Leinster) and he now needs to build a squad for a world cup, which is also going to end in disastor as he is resisting the change and the inevitable. He is very very reluctant to introduce unknows and is desperate for results alone, which is incredibly short sighted, and anyone who plays John Hayes against Samoa in a world cup year when it's our weakest position deserves healthy criticisim.

any chance of a thread without leinster/munster crap

France
    I'm talking about the coach, not Munster and Leinster - the only reference is to his failings in his role and previous failings that transcend into his current role.

France
    Jemo wrote: »
    I think that Ireland has the players to win it outright this year, but the ones we need to win (SOB, Ross, Stringer) won't be picked

Exactly:

1. Healy 2. Flannery/Cronin 3. Buckley
    4. DOC 5. POC
    6. Ferris 8. Heaslip 7. Wallace
    9. TOL 10. Sexton
    12. Darce 13. BOD
    11. Earls 15. Fitz 14. Bowe

is the likely team, IMO. It'd be murdered in the scrum, and TOL just can't run a back line anything like the 3 guys who should rightfully be ahead of him in the pecking order. At least 5 (if not 7/8) of those need to be changed to have our best team on current form.

There's also the issue of Kidney's total misuse of substitutions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I think England will win without the GS. Imo they'll lose to either us or Wales but have enough to beat the rest. I'd say they'll beat Wales and lose to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

Ireland
    1. Healy/Court
    2. Cronin/Varley
    3. Ross/Buckley
    4. DOC/Tuohy / Toner
    5. POC/ Cullen
    6. Ferris/ Leamy
    7. SOB/ Wallace
    8. Heaslip/ SOB/ Leamy
    09. Stringer / Boss / Reddan / TOL
    10. Sexton / ROG
    11. Earls / Fitzgerald / Trimble
    12. D'Arcy / Wallace / McFadden
    13. BOD / Bowe / Earls / McFadden
    14. Bowe / Horgan
    15. Bowe / Fitzgerald / Kearney*/ Duffy* (*=due back midway)

A team with options like that should be able to win the six nations outright, unfortunately at least 13 of those players won't be utilised during the six nations despite the fact that most technical coaches would love the diverse opportunities they present. That is a serious squad which is only lightweight at hooker and fullback where injuries have seriously taken a toll. Kidney is a good motivator, knows what and who he likes but at the end of the day would make a better manager than coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

This is the toughest 6Nations to predict in a long time. Any team from France, England, Ireland and Wales could do it. Scotland are on the up but don't have enough about them to mount a consistent challenge throughout the tournament but could well be influential by picking up a result or 2.

I can't see any side winning the Grand Slam; and I wouldn't be overly shocked if the winner finished the campaign with 6points after the 4 main contenders beating eachother and Scotland, and even Italy picking up a scalp.

A brave defeat against NZ
    A loss to SA
    An unconvincing win against Samoa
    Am I addressing Ireland or England? Both is the answer and how these results have been portrayed in the media both at home and in the UK shows just how fascinating the strength of the influence of journalists. England are World title contenders, Ireland are rubbish again is the general cry. Both statements are nonsense. In actual fact I would place England and Ireland on a similar standard right now going into the 6Nations and would be optimistic in our match against them as it's on home turf.
    Sure, England's win over Australia showed that they are on a upward slope. They have what it takes to beat big sides, but they are not consistent or, in my opinion, talented enough to do the business on a more regular basis.
    I'd expect some people to challenge this sentiment, and there is nothing more I could say other than "let see what happens"!

France are awesome. Yes, I saw them during the autumn, but their players are individually awesome. Whatever is going on in the staff room is beyond me, I simply don't understand it. So despite them being awesome I do have reservations about their prospects. Having said that, if I had to pick someone to win it-I pick France. I suspect they will beat Italy, prove too much for Scotland at home, and pip Wales in Stade de France. They do have England and Ireland away, but I would back them to win one of them which I would say will be enough this year.

Wales should go into the tournament with optimism though too. Ireland and England at home is an opportunity to take 4 points, coupled with wins against Italy and Scotland could give them the required tally-but those are not foregone conclusions.

Like every year I am going to place a wager, and as you can see from above I amn't too certain on who to back. My head is whispering France, while my heart is screaming IRELAND. I might just go with the heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

After the autumn internationals i think england are the dark horse this yr!! could cause a few upsets!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Wales
    While I agree that a GS is very unlikely this year if you remember back to this time last year a lot of people were saying that no-one would do the GS in the 2010 6 nations either. A GS is such an unpredictable thing. In '09 no-one expected us to do it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

France
    I wish Lawes didn't get injured or it would have been a sure thing IMO that England would win the 6N. Now I'm not sure who will win either France or England but I'd still back England.

Never say never but come on lads, do you really think Ireland have a good chance? I mean lets call a spade a spade, Ireland have an average squad, at least compared to France and England we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

I wish Lawes didn't get injured or it would have been a sure thing IMO that England would win the 6N. Now I'm not sure who will win either France or England but I'd still back England.

Never say never but come on lads, do you really think Ireland have a good chance? I mean lets call a spade a spade, Ireland have an average squad, at least compared to France and England we do.

Firstly, Lawes is a tremendous prospect and even now as an unfinished article is a great player but I certainly would not suggest his presence/absence dictates where the title goes!

Secondly, player for player our 'average' squad is better than England's. As eluded to in many a thread here, there are a few questionable decisions being made at the helm but if you're talking about the squad of players, I would have our squad over England's any day of the week.
    France, yes have a better squad of players in my opinion, I admit that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Wales
    Ireland to win it,then go out at the group stage of the wc leaving us all disappointed at having stayed up late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

France
    Firstly, Lawes is a tremendous prospect and even now as an unfinished article is a great player but I certainly would not suggest his presence/absence dictates where the title goes!

Secondly, player for player our 'average' squad is better than England's. As eluded to in many a thread here, there are a few questionable decisions being made at the helm but if you're talking about the squad of players, I would have our squad over England's any day of the week.
    France, yes have a better squad of players in my opinion, I admit that one!

Perhaps my bias is showing as I've recently become infatuated by Northampton and The Aviva Prem in general, but I think he's a brilliant player. England have a fairly timid back row but other than that I think they have a better overall squad than us. Having said that I wouldn't be surprised if I turn out to be completely wrong and England lose 3 matches. Hopefully I'm wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Wales
    This is the England Elite playing squad
    Forwards: George Chuter, Dan Cole, Tom Croft, Louis Deacon , Paul Doran-Jones, Nick Easter, Hendre Fourie, Dylan Hartley, James Haskell , Courtney Lawes, Lewis Moody, Tom Palmer, Tim Payne, Simon Shaw, Andrew Sheridan, Steve Thompson, David Wilson, Joe Worsley.

Backs: Delon Armitage, Chris Ashton, Matt Banahan, Danny Care, Mark Cueto, Toby Flood, Riki Flutey, Ben Foden, Shontayne Hape, Charlie Hodgson, Joe Simpson, David Strettle, Mike Tindall, Jonny Wilkinson, Ben Youngs.

My predicted irish squad

Healy/court
    cronin/best
    ross/buckley/hayes
    doc/cullen
    poc/toner
    ferris/leamy
    sob/wallace
    heaslip
    stringer/tol/boss
    sexton/rog
    trimble/fitz
    darcy/wallace
    bod/earls
    bowe/horgan
    duffy

comparing the two besides at tighthead (and if ross gets his overdue run maybe not even then) the irish squad looks stronger in every position to me

France
    This will be the Irish squad:

1. Court / Healy
    2. Cronin / Best
    3. Hayes / Buckley
    4. O'Callaghan / Cullen
    5. O'Connell / O'Driscoll
    6. Ferris / McLoughlin
    7. Wallace / O'Brien
    8. Leamy / Heaslip
    9. O'Leary / Reddan
    10. O'Gara / Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald / Trimble
    12. Wallace / D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll / Earls
    14. Bowe / J. Murphy
    15. Kearney / G. Murphy

This SHOULD be the Irish squad:

1. Healy / Court
    2. Cronin / Best
    3. Ross / Buckley
    4. O'Callaghan / Cullen
    5. O'Connell / Tuhoy
    6. Ferris / McLoughlin
    7. O'Brien / Jennings
    8. Heaslip / Leamy
    9. Reddan / Boss
    10. Sexton / O'Gara
    11. Fitzgerald / Earls
    12. Wallace / D'Arcy
    13. O'Driscoll / McFadden
    14. Bowe / Horgan
    15. Kearney / Murphy

If we had had a chance to see a dozen more players at international level that squad could be very different, but it's hard to pick from outside of uncle deccies pool of players when they haven't seen any international rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Ireland
    France for me I'm afraid. I dont see Ireland doing it this year. Would be happy to be proved wrong though. Cant wait for it to start.