Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indoor Season 2011

• 13-01-2011 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Perhaps time to start a new thread?

Junior Indoors on Saturday.

Decent performance from Paul Scanlan last Sunday in the Southern Indoor Championships last week.

Won his heat of the Junior Mens 400m in 50.50, won his semi in 49.32 and then the final in 48.56, apparently all within 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭fiddy3

"Apparently" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

European Indoors only 7 weeks away. What Irish do people see competing there?

With regards medals if Derval competes (which I assume she will) she'd have a great shot at gold. Same goes for Gillick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭formerrunner25

Would like to see some of the younger athletes breakthrough this winter. Dave mc junior and breandan o neill should have sights set on 3k qualifying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Perhaps time to start a new thread?

Junior Indoors on Saturday.

Decent performance from Paul Scanlan last Sunday in the Southern Indoor Championships last week.

Won his heat of the Junior Mens 400m in 50.50, won his semi in 49.32 and then the final in 48.56, apparently all within 4 hours.

Are you talking about the Munster Senior Championships? I can't see the results you're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Ciara Mageean makes her debut as a professional athlete this weekend at the New Balance Games in New York.

She will run the mile against a pretty good field and another Irish junior record to add to her collection must be very possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Are you talking about the Munster Senior Championships? I can't see the results you're talking about.

Southern English Champs. Pretty tasty running. He did same last year. Did the same in the 200m the following weekend. He needs to carry this to outdoors. The likes of Scanlan, Maher, Crowe, Kervick, Dowling, Harvey are a crop of good youngsters who if they can all get into the 47s will bring much needed depth to mens 400 for relay purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

Ciara Mageean makes her debut as a professional athlete this weekend at the New Balance Games in New York.

She will run the mile against a pretty good field and another Irish junior record to add to her collection must be very possible.

Best of luck to her, good to see her doing some fast races this year, whereas last year she was always way out on her own front running until she raced at mannheim, seniors and then the worlds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

Results from todays AAI Games:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/aai-games-all1.pdf

Good win for Joan Healy in the 60m, pipping Niamh Whelan in the process.

Marian Heffernan (Andrews) proved strong winning the 200m and 400m, some good early season running.

David McCarthy (Le Chéile) won the mile from M Hanrahan (Leevale).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Mageean 7th in a time of 4.38 coming through 1500m in 4.17. A very promising result given the tight bends of the Armoury

Edit: just checked it is a new national Junior record by 3 secs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭downwithfacses

the armory doesnt have tight bends..that track is lightening fast...you're thinking of madison square gardens where the millrose takes place

mageen ran well, im not trying to take away from her but you need to stop overhyping her performance..get your facts right before trying to make her run seem even bigger than it is...it's best to temper it..shes so young and just starting as a pro and doesnt need people who dont know what theyre talking about acting as if they do..thats all

well done ciara...good start to the season

the armory doesnt have tight bends..that track is lightening fast...you're thinking of madison square gardens where the millrose takes place

mageen ran well, im not trying to take away from her but you need to stop overhyping her performance..get your facts right before trying to make her run seem even bigger than it is...it's best to temper it..shes so young and just starting as a pro and doesnt need people who dont know what theyre talking about acting as if they do..thats all

well done ciara...good start to the season

Right you are I got mixed up with the tracks its been a long day:rolleyes:.

At the same time it was still a National record which has stood for 23 years granted not that many juniors get too many shots at running indoor miles these days. It was not overhyping her it was acknowledging a very fine opener to the season which I feel is something the girl deserves for the work she puts in like any athlete. People are so quick to slate athletes yet too cautious to acknowledge good race performances.
    No where in that post did begin to overhype it in terms of her overall athletics career. Yes I did make a blunder by mixing up two tracks which are in the same city, and races which are on within a week of each other, in which the athlete has been invited to both (and before you attempt to clarify I know she has opted not to run Milrose).
    Shoot me for the mix up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭sleapy235

ecoli wrote: »
    Mageean 7th in a time of 4.38 coming through 1500m in 4.17. A very promising result given the tight bends of the Armoury

4.17 through 1,500m, thats 3 seconds quicker than her current junior indoor 1500m record, good stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

yeah brilliant running fair play to her. I love the pic on the AAI website, she just signs a lucrative contract with Newbalance and the AAI put up an old photo of her in a Fila singlet. You've got to love the boys and girls in the AAI, classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

I love the pic on the AAI website, she just signs a lucrative contract with Newbalance and the AAI put up an old photo of her in a Fila singlet. You've got to love the boys and girls in the AAI, classic.
    The picture is of her in her club vest, do you have a up-to-date pic of her in her new sponsors singlet? if so I would suggest you pass it on to the boys & girls at the AAI instead of always pointing out minor shortcomings of hard working officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

longjump67 wrote: »
    The picture is of her in her club vest, do you have a up-to-date pic of her in her new sponsors singlet? if so I would suggest you pass it on to the boys & girls at the AAI instead of always pointing out minor shortcomings of hard working officials.

Shame on new balance for missing the promotional opportunity to get her photo in NB gear out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

longjump67 wrote: »

ooooooohhhhh I have been put in the bold corner haven't I!!

mccarthy ran 4:00.7 over in america to hammer the field by nearly 8 seconds...savage start to the season

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=17158

Interesting for two reasons;

1. Interesting to see what the Hesh can run over a 400, I believe his best 200m days are behind him and that he could have potential in the quarter-mile due to his finishing strength in the 200

2. It means the 60m is now wide open whereas the past few years it has been a formality (or Hesh vs America). Can't wait now to see who comes out on top from Colvert, Adams, Holmes and the like

Also I know he's been injured but I would like to see what Jason Smyth could do over a 60.

In other 'news', the AAI are still yet to release the team for the Celtic Cup, despite the competition taking place on Sunday ...

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=17158

Interesting for two reasons;

1. Interesting to see what the Hesh can run over a 400, I believe his best 200m days are behind him and that he could have potential in the quarter-mile due to his finishing strength in the 200

2. It means the 60m is now wide open whereas the past few years it has been a formality (or Hesh vs America). Can't wait now to see who comes out on top from Colvert, Adams, Holmes and the like

Colvert is out injured atm so not sure if he will be running. Adams should take the win. Very strong over the indoor and continually posting faster times in the indoor season that Colvert last year and even in season openers this year

Wasn't aware of his injury, I'd say its between Adams and Holmes then, Russell will be in the mix as well. Adams has the best start no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭formerrunner25

Mark english ran 1.48.63 junior indoor record n darren mcb 1.48.88 under 23 record...finnegan 3.54 all qualify for youth junior n under 23 champs in summer

Great day for Donegal athletes as John Kelly wins U-16 Shot as well as the 3 Letterkenny AC lads great runs by all :D:D:D:D

Dont have a link but heard Joe Warne ran 3.48 in Luxembourg? can anyone comfirm?

Few more results:

Seye ogunlewe runs 6.85 in 60

Dave Mac 7.53

Anto Leighio 1.52.26

Seye Ogunlewe was on the startlist to run for Nigeria at the World Juniors but didn't run. He's not an Irish athlete. Still, he ran over here and wanted to run for us so I wish him all the best and I'm glad he's produced a big PB

Just got word. Mcbrearty 1.47.9 think it was in Vienna. Still 2 great runs in the space of a week insane running

again...you need to check your facts..james nolan has the indoor u23 record...1:47.2...seriously...come on

in other news...savage running from mcb

Very encouraging results coming through from pairs. good to see Gregan get the qualifying time in the 400m with an impressive opener of 46.82. Mcbr proving a real breakthrough, a strong cc season proving beneficial for him.

Good to see kelly proper jumping above 6.40 again with a 6.44m tonight.

Close battle between (2:07.70) Fiona Kehoe and (2:07.71) Ciara Everard in 800m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 manusapple

Colvert is out injured atm so not sure if he will be running. Adams should take the win. Very strong over the indoor and continually posting faster times in the indoor season that Colvert last year and even in season openers this year

I disagree as Ogunlewe opened with 6.85, faster than Adams and Colvert. He is surely the favourite after an opening performance like that? Adams is running consistently but hasn't been under 6.89 this season and has raced at least 3 times to my knowledge. If Colvert gets back in time for Nationals, it will be some final.

manusapple wrote: »
    I disagree as Ogunlewe opened with 6.85, faster than Adams and Colvert. He is surely the favourite after an opening performance like that? Adams is running consistently but hasn't been under 6.89 this season and has raced at least 3 times to my knowledge. If Colvert gets back in time for Nationals, it will be some final.

As I stated earlier Ogunlewe cannot run for Ireland, now I realise that doesnt prevent him from runnign in the Nationals but he may be focusing on UK events now.

Brilliant breakbrough for McBrearty. There doing some job up north there in Letterkenny. Who is his coach?

[/QUOTE]Brilliant breakbrough for McBrearty. There doing some job up north there in Letterkenny. Who is his coach?[/QUOTE]

Think all of the Letterkenny boys are trained by Theresa Mc Daid, although the parents of all 3 athletes have had a major influence in their development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lacticsmygame

As I stated earlier Ogunlewe cannot run for Ireland, now I realise that doesnt prevent him from runnign in the Nationals but he may be focusing on UK events now.

Are you sure about this? I'm not disagreeing with you, but, I know that Ogunlewe didn't actually run for Nigeria so does that still make him eligible for Ireland? Can't he still declare for Ireland seeing as he didn't represent Nigeria? Well, if he can't it's Ireland's loss. He is certainly going places in the not too distant future.

What I've heard is that he was never eligible to run for Ireland in the first place, or else he would've been at the World Juniors.

Good start to the season for Derval O'Rourke. In Linz during the week, she grabbed a good second place in the final of the 60mH in 8.16, qualifying from her heats in 8.22.

The race to Paris begins...:D

Tori Pena new indoor NR (4.30) and qualifies for Euro's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Athletics25

Tim Crowe ran a new PB for 400m yesterday in the Birmingham Games 47.96, video of the race can be seen on WW.Athleticos.org

His race is SM 400m B Final I think you can see Ciaran Kelly in the same race, they also had heats earlier. May be other Irish runners that day loads of videos on the site but do not see any official results anywhere yet.

That's a great run from Crowe. Could we have a 4x4 at the indoors without Gillick?

This indoor season has started brightly for Irish athletes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

That's a great run from Crowe. Could we have a 4x4 at the indoors without Gillick?

what about 4x4 WITH Gillick and Hession who is doing it in Belfast in 2 weeks. With Gregan also running well, it would be a very interesting team. What is the qualification criteria for the European Indoors ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JKF

May have slipped past notice but Stephanie Reilly ran 4:37 odd in Boston on Sat night to finish 7th in a fairly packed field.
    http://www.nbindoorgrandprix.com/events-results/womens-one-mile/

On a ski trip over here and was lucky enough to get tickets. The weather here is nuts at the mo so we were looking for something indoors to do. Great night, my first experience of 'big' competition. Favourite moment was Gebremaskel losing his shoe at the start of the 3000 and then still managing to beat Mo Farah
    Met Karen Shinkins, who was pacing some races and Alistair Cragg, not running but there with his girlfriend who was 2nd or 3rd in the 800, I think

Really enjoyed it I have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

notsofast wrote: »
    what about 4x4 WITH Gillick and Hession who is doing it in Belfast in 2 weeks. With Gregan also running well, it would be a very interesting team. What is the qualification criteria for the European Indoors ??

I think it's by invitation only. How the EAA decide who to invite, I don't know, but here are those invited for Paris:

4 x 400m Relays Men

1 Russia RUS
    2 Great Britain & NI GBR
    3 Belgium BEL
    4 Poland POL
    5 France FRA
    6 Netherlands NED

4 x 400m Relays Women

1 Russia RUS
    2 Germany GER
    3 Great Britain & NI GBR
    4 Italy ITA
    5 Ukraine UKR
    6 France FRA

notsofast wrote: »

Heard Gillick is skipping indoors to concentrate on the summer

cullen 8:56 for third in lievin
    britton 9:00.8 for 5th

mcsweeeny 7.47 to be eliminated in the heats

Derval is really hitting form..

Tonight in Lievin, she clocked a new SB of 8.11 in her heat.

In the final she smashed this with another new SB of 8.03. What a night! Bringing her SB down from 8.16. She is still ranked outside the top few girls in Europe but I would have a lot of confidence in her now for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

cullen 8:56 for third in lievin
    britton 9:00.8 for 5th

mcsweeeny 7.47 to be eliminated in the heats

Great to see Mary back and making the Paris standard. More to come IF she stays injury free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

runjb wrote: »
    Derval is really hitting form..

Tonight in Lievin, she clocked a new SB of 8.11 in her heat.

In the final she smashed this with another new SB of 8.03. What a night! Bringing her SB down from 8.16. She is still ranked outside the top few girls in Europe but I would have a lot of confidence in her now for the rest of the season.

Nytra and Vucicevic (not bothered googling the spelling) have both run 7.92 so far this season but we know that Derval can beat those two. No sign of Yanit for the indoor season? If Derval stays healthy she has a serious chance of gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭kilkenny runner

Dervas time of 8.03 looks good and we couls see her go fast this indoor season....
    I Know she is a championship runner, but im not to sure about her 60m Hurdles speed as i am about her 100m hurdles...

when derval won sliver in 2006 europeans , her start was blistering and was well up along side kallur for first half of the race, and in that season every one said she is a great athlete but her weak point is her last 20m....

I Feel derval knew this aswell and has worked on it and in 2009 worlds she was finishing as quickif not quicker than some of the best in the world...

But in her european final last year yanit and ntyra were leading her for most of race before derval pulled them back with her blistering finish, but i feel that maybe now she needs to get her first 20m back up to her best level which was 2006 and then we might see her indoor NR being broken and a european gold medal in paris....... IM NOT SUGGESTING HER START IS POOR, FAR FROM IT, BUT SUGGESTING ITS NOT AS GOOD AS IT WAS BACK IN 2006

In 2009 worlds she was leading up ito the 5th hurdle then the others came through, so I disagree with that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ln9Mh5ei7I0&feature=related

Brian Murphy qualifies for the next round of the 400m, running 48.30 in the UK trials in sheffield while Billy ryan fails to qualify posting a time of 49.10.

Claire Brady and Niamh Whelan fail to qualify for the final of the 60m .

Pamela Hughes wins bronze in the high jump with a height of 1.79.

Claire Bergin and Michelle Carey also qualify for the next round in the womens 400m