Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

passenger jeep

• 13-01-2011 5:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

we have/had a 1997 lwb mitsubishi passenger jeep 2.8 7 seater. was grand for bringing kids checking cattle etc , oh was going with a load of scrap yesterday and the timing chain went:eek::eek::eek::eek: the engine is fooked... so we are looking for something instead of it similar and cheap:D some one told us today that if we buy a commercial jeep that there is no such thing as commercial tax any more , is this true ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭theroad

Just been through all this, having converted the jeep to commercial from private. The rules are much stricter now, you need to show evidence that satisfies the people in the tax office that you're a farmer. That seems to vary depending on what office you go to. Anyway, something from the revenue, or your accountant is what they want. Apart from that it should be straightforward.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Herd Number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

whelan1 wrote: »
    we have/had a 1997 lwb mitsubishi passenger jeep 2.8 7 seater. was grand for bringing kids checking cattle etc , oh was going with a load of scrap yesterday and the timing chain went:eek::eek::eek::eek: the engine is fooked... so we are looking for something instead of it similar and cheap:D some one told us today that if we buy a commercial jeep that there is no such thing as commercial tax any more , is this true ?

Pajeros usually don't do much damage when the chain breaks, but maybe cos of it's age and if high mileage it might not justify repair, happened an old one of ours a few years ago, think it cost about €500 for parts.

as stated your herd number will suffice for commercial tax

big discussion on the topic here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056002732

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

crewcab seems to be only option for you if you want seats and cheap road tax

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Herd Number.

Not enough for the Limerick road tax office. And there's a form to be stamped by a garda. And proof of its being insured as a commercial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

snowman707 wrote: »
    Pajeros usually don't do much damage when the chain breaks, but maybe cos of it's age and if high mileage it might not justify repair, happened an old one of ours a few years ago, think it cost about €500 for parts.

as stated your herd number will suffice for commercial tax

big discussion on the topic here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056002732
    cam shaft etc fooked:D milage not too high , only bought 2 new tyres for it at christmas:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

crewcab seems to be only option for you if you want seats and cheap road tax

have one and it great till the whole family is in it and its raining and no where to put the shopping or the buggy

theroad wrote: »
    Not enough for the Limerick road tax office. And there's a form to be stamped by a garda. And proof of its being insured as a commercial.

is that only for the first reg or declaration as a goods vehicle though , crazy system same vehicle different regulations at different offices
    cam shaft etc fooked:D milage not too high , only bought 2 new tyres for it at christmas:(

reckon we got off lightly so

dar31 wrote: »
    have one and it great till the whole family is in it and its raining and no where to put the shopping or the buggy

but its not made for that.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Newer model commercial Pajeros are good value, but the 3.2 passenger models are something like €1500 to tax. you could always get one like yours on donedeal and keep the old one as a parts donor.

is that only for the first reg or declaration as a goods vehicle though , crazy system same vehicle different regulations at different offices

reckon we got off lightly so
    ye he waas going round a round about at the time .... we could get a replacement engine , but will see what comes up

Newer model commercial Pajeros are good value, but the 3.2 passenger models are something like €1500 to tax. you could always get one like yours on donedeal and keep the old one as a parts donor.
    ye the tax is the major issue , to top it all our car is fooked too:mad:

Could be, I'll know for sure next year:D. It's daft alright getting different answers depending on where you go.

would there be enough room in the crew cab for 2 boosters seats and a child seat ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Shauny2010

you should go into the motor tax office and cancel the tax on your old jeep or else put a stop on it until you get it replaced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭aristo

Shauny2010 wrote: »
    you should go into the motor tax office and cancel the tax on your old jeep or else put a stop on it until you get it replaced

Can only be done with a vehicle end of life cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

would there be enough room in the crew cab for 2 boosters seats and a child seat ?

Doubt it, most of em are pretty snug back there.

you're on similarly shaky ground as falsely declaring its a commercial if you're going round with a bunch of kids in the back.

unlikely anything would be done to you, but sods law dictates that if it happens it'll happen at the worst possible moment.

Dont worry about taxing a commercial, you're a farmer, and registered with the revenue, all you need is your PPS number if sole trading, or company no if ltd. or a vat number if vat regd.

pop to the gardai and sign a form and you should be good to go, they might make you jump through one or two more hoops depending on the person you meet/office you go to, but they cannot stop "you" from taxing a commercial as you are a commercial user.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

it was not too long ago iwas on here telling everyone of all the hoops i had to jump through to get my d max taxed commercial,in waterford city and i was told i was talking nonesence .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

if you have a herd number and you arrive into tax office with horsebox on and a few calves in the back surely they have to belive you :D
    never had any trouble in clare, in fact they never even asked me what my trade was, maybe times have changed

pajero gone for parts - got cash:D happy days ... the reason we had that jeep is that it was all above board , if we where stopped.... the tax was the major point as well as it being fond of diesel.... dont know what i will do now...

1) How much do you want to spend?

2) How much do you need to tow?

3) How much road tax can you swallow?

4) How many seats do you need?

My view is that if you occasionally use a crewcab for social,domestic purposes with the kids in the back, big fcuking deal. If you keep it in tax each year at €288 and its tested,insured and runs on proper white diesel, you're no criminal and I know lots of people who get no hassles from the gardai with crewcabs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Has anybody had or does anyone know someone who has had hassle from the Gardai or Customs because of a crew cab? A lot of farmers around here have them under commercial tax and they use them for both mart runs and school runs. Was it just and idle threat to get more people to pay the higher road tax on them???

reilig wrote: »
    Has anybody had or does anyone know someone who has had hassle from the Gardai or Customs because of a crew cab? A lot of farmers around here have them under commercial tax and they use them for both mart runs and school runs. Was it just and idle threat to get more people to pay the higher road tax on them???

I had one, never a bother. My Brother still has one, never any bother eithers.

i wonder how the yummy mummys can affoed the massive tax on their jeeps ?

if you had a look around tesco's car park, and look at the widscreens of X5's and the like, you'd note many are out of tax.........or ar only taxed for 3 months, and then left for a few months etc......

look, whats the worst can happen if in the unlikely event you get hassles of the gardai over having the kids in the back? Feck all, maybe you'll be told to do it private.......but its a slim chance if you ask me.

i..

look, whats the worst can happen if in the unlikely event you get hassles of the gardai over having the kids in the back? Feck all, maybe you'll be told to do it private.......but its a slim chance if you ask me.

worst that can happen i imagine is they would take the jeep there and then and you and kiddies walk home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

worst that can happen i imagine is they would take the jeep there and then and you and kiddies walk home

This is all a great argument for getting rid of the distinction between commercial and private on SUVs for road tax purposes. What is the difference between a crew cab and a Pajero with rear seats and glass? What justification can there be for taxing them at different rates.

I know people with Pajeros and Landcruisers with rear seats & glass that use them exclusively for commercial/agricultural use, and as mentioned above I see commercially taxed crew cabs on the school run. But the crew cab pays less tax than the other one

It's a very silly distinction. I think the only fair road tax is one on fuel, which charges according to usage. I don't expect that to be popular, but it would be fair.

LostCovey

true but I doubt it, maybe if you had no tax at all.

i agree there has to be a line drawn , there is a clear difference in me using the jeep in the fields - where kids are safely strapped in and the gas guzzling yummy mummy vehicles that never see a field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

if you had a look around tesco's car park, and look at the widscreens of X5's and the like, you'd note many are out of tax.........or ar only taxed for 3 months, and then left for a few months etc......
    I thought you still had to pay the road tax due for the period the vehicle wasnt taxed before a new disc is issued:confused:

5live wrote: »
    I thought you still had to pay the road tax due for the period the vehicle wasnt taxed before a new disc is issued:confused:

not if you get the guards to sign the form confirming that the vehicle was not used on a public road for the time the tax was out

you sign the declaration and the guard merely witnesses your signature

could be embarrassing for you if any parking fines or speeding tickets etc, for the said time popped up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

not if you get the guards to sign the form confirming that the vehicle was not used on a public road for the time the tax was out

you sign the declaration and the guard merely witnesses your signature

could be embarrassing for you if any parking fines or speeding tickets etc, for the said time popped up
    Who? Me? Someome must have printed plates with my reg, the flippers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rahin man

Hi lads

Ive taxed my swb landcruiser commercially. took out the seats and belts just filled in the holes with isopon and went in to the council office and they seemed happy.

What are the consiquences(if any?) if i put the seats back in now.

I got sick of taxing it privately.

As for the twin cabs i had a hilux and the kids used to get sick in the back...

I've not heard of anyone directly, but I've heard of a few friend of a friend stories.

it's not the gardai you need to worry about, you could meet a right prick who might want to throw his weight around but it's unlikely.

What you need to worry about are customs/revenue checkpoints, they have some right jobsworths, and they have serious powers of seizure.

They can leave you and yours on the side of the road if they think you owe them money.

Completely agree with lostcovey, put all the tax on the fuel and let commercial users reclaim some of it if nessecary, Think of the savings in running/enforcing the current system along with the 100% compliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rahin man

Now that you say about customs i remember last year they were at a local mart and stopped every jeep going in/out.

I asked a guy i know in revenue and he said my jeep was cleared as a car day one so they got their "pound of flesh" as regards vrt/tax.