Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sticking it to the man

• 13-01-2011 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭

I just got two chocolate bars out of a vending machine for the price of one. I feel like I've made a tiny, bar-shaped dent in the Corporate Machine.

When was the last time you got one over on a major company (no matter how small a victory)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Fremen wrote: »
    I just got two chocolate bars out of a vending machine for the price of one. I feel like I've made a tiny, bar-shaped dent in the Corporate Machine.

When was the last time you got one over on a major company (no matter how small a victory)?

Got change of 50 from 10 a few times in busy pubs. I know their floats wont match up but I don't care it's free beer and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Removing all the 3 and 13 amp fuses from the kettles ,lamps and other electrical appliances from a big mutli national company's, office space was a great buzz :cool:

( was paraniod for ages after that MI5 were stalking me )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Fremen wrote: »

Try taking the whole machine, then you'l really feel like a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I can't remember the last time I bought a cd.

Edit: Also always buy a student Bus ticket each week but never the travel card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

In college we had one of the carousel vending machines. The door slid open halfway for small things like an apple and all the way for bigger thing like sandwiches. The top shelf door slid open all the way no matter what so everyday I got milk & yoghurt for the price of the milk :cool:. Take that you corporate fat cats.

That and I played a signifigant role in 9/11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I remember the vending machine in college wasn't working properly, paid for 1 500ml bottle of Club Rock Shandy and it dispensed 4. Caught the eye of the facilities manager and told her the machine wasn't working properly and before I was finished the sentence she growled "what do you expect me to do about it".

I then proceeded to buy up all their Rock Shandy and when I was finished I went back to the facility manager and told her that the problem with the machine was that it was dispensing too many bottles of soft drink but not to worry about it as I fixed it.

I hereby apologise for the 2004 Rock Shandy drought in UCD. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭swarm.of.bees

Leaving the bus fare short 10c to make up for the times I overpaid by 10C and don't get any change. Actually, I do that as much as I think I can get away with it. I figure I'm the only one keeping that balance between the bus co. and the large amount of consumers who get ripped off because they can't use the excess on a ticket as part payment for the next journey - VIVE LA REVOLUTION

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Rebels, all of ye:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Going shopping and eating a bun before you get to the till so you dont have to pay for it.

Edit - Oh and never paying for the tram in Amsterdam. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

A pint was once placed in front of me while I waited to order.Stayed literally two mins upon realizing no one else was around so naturally finders keepers =D

Or the numerous times theres no ticket man or machine for the train muhahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I don't have a TV license.

It doesn't make the shite on rte any better, but it gives me some crumb of comfort to know that when Tubrity pop's out a cheesy grin against the Parisian backdrop, it ain't costing me anything you smug baxtard.

I refused to pay the pension levy on constitutional grounds. Take that, system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Going shopping and eating a bun before you get to the till so you dont have to pay for it.

It's either in Amsterdam or Brussels that they have a fare dodger's guild. You pay a small subscription every year, much smaller then the price of a yearly ticket. If you get caught fare evading, you submit your fine to the guild and they pay it for you, out of the dues they take in. Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I farted once on the set of blue lagoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

So, you bought a bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

lol. Where? Anyone ever say anything?
    Can't imagine many staff members would query it.

Sykk wrote: »
    I farted once on the set of blue lagoon.

Meh,

If you had shitted on the set of Oireachtas report, then I'd respect you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Trog wrote: »
    I refused to pay the pension levy on constitutional grounds. Take that, system.

Have you been doing this long? If so hows it going? any court dates set?

@op, was physically intimidated by my manager years ago (over something that wasn't my responsibility)........waited till I was a week away from quitting, changed all the numbers on his competitor reports for the next week...he lost thousands in commission as a result + company. Take that corporate whores!

I smiled sweetly at him on the last day.

Company asked me back part time afterward...win!

amacca wrote: »
    Have you been doing this long? If so hows it going? any court dates set?

That penny's coming from awfully high up... /waits.

Trog wrote: »
    That penny's coming from awfully high up... /waits.

ah balls:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I was in Tesco today, got my stuff at the self scan, as I was walking away a girl working there said to me "you left that in the machine" handing me 10 euro.

I then said "I used my card" handed back the tenner and went on my way. I hope the person who owned it gets it back.

I know I didn't get one over on a company, but I feel good about not taking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Theres a certain type of coke vending machine wherein theres a shelf with a belt on it which moves to the shelf with the drink on it the drink pops off the shelf moves down/up and the bottle pops out a wee door into a space at the side just below where you put your money in. Im sure many of you are aware of them.

The heist works by holding your hand over the wee door where your drink should come out as the belt tries to push it out, it tries a couple of times, gives up, then gives you your money back and the bottle stays on the moving shelf, next you pick a bottle that will land on tother side of the shelf and when you pay for this one as the belt moves to give you this one out you grab the first one out of the space quickly then the second one will follow as normal and pop out then.

Used it on numerous occasions 2 for the price of 1 everytime, 3s a possibilty id say but tis a risky ould one.

Take that coke ya cúnts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Got a heap of free money from Bank of Ireland a few weeks back. Idiots were just giving it away!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So, you bought a bike?

You could say that...:cool:

The-Rigger wrote: »
    lol. Where? Anyone ever say anything?
    Can't imagine many staff members would query it.
    Tesco or Dunnes. Hit the bakery section, grab a bun and slowly pick up anything else you need. Never been stopped before. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

I remember a lad put money in a smoke machine in a place I was working in, it didn't give him the smokes. So we kicked it and it gave us loads of smokes. It was the greatest day ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

I was in Tesco today, got my stuff at the self scan, as I was walking away a girl working there said to me "you left that in the machine" handing me 10 euro.

I then said "I used my card" handed back the tenner and went on my way. I hope the person who owned it gets it back.

I know I didn't get one over on a company, but I feel good about not taking it.

I think I wouldn't have taken it either but I bet she pocketed that and was delighted

shampon wrote: »
    I remember a lad put money in a smoke machine in a place I was working in, it didn't give him the smokes. So we kicked it and it gave us loads of smokes. It was the greatest day ever.

even better than Dave O'learys goal in that world cup quarter final penalty shoot out in 1990?

shampon wrote: »

A scam that involved smoking, violence and scamming. Love it.

It truly was the greatest day ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

I've used a 10 journey bus eireann bus ticket for up to 12 journeys because the bus drivers don't always stamp them, esp if they're busy:D I've taken back clothes that I've worn without a receipt and gotten an exchange - my friend was appalled and told me there's no way they would take it back...they did.

I'm not as sticking-it-to-the-man as my mam though. For years I've seen her change the prices on things in shops and put the odd glass etc in her handbag when she's out. We've got a Starbucks mug at home and I'm pretty sure no money was exchanged to get it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Theres a certain type of coke vending machine wherein theres a shelf with a belt on it which moves to the shelf with the drink on it the drink pops off the shelf moves down/up and the bottle pops out a wee door into a space at the side just below where you put your money in. Im sure many of you are aware of them.

The heist works by holding your hand over the wee door where your drink should come out as the belt tries to push it out, it tries a couple of times, gives up, then gives you your money back and the bottle stays on the moving shelf, next you pick a bottle that will land on tother side of the shelf and when you pay for this one as the belt moves to give you this one out you grab the first one out of the space quickly then the second one will follow as normal and pop out then.

Used it on numerous occasions 2 for the price of 1 everytime, 3s a possibilty id say but tis a risky ould one.

Take that coke ya cúnts!

OK here's a tip.If you ever do get caught in the machine and they call the fire brigade, let go of the can you're holding.

Years ago my Dad, Mam, sister and myself were touring around the UK on holiday.

During the same fortnight my cousin's were staying at some kind of Butlin's holiday camp in Wales for a week or two, so we decided to call in to them for a day; you could pay on the gate of the complex and get a day trippers ticket entitling you to use the facilities for the day.

Anyway we enjoyed the day so much that instead of leaving that evening, as we should of, we said we'd stay the night.

And then we enjoyed the night so much, that instead of leaving in the morning as we definitely should of, we decided we'd stay the week.

Twelve of us in a mobile home for a week in Wales.
    Thank you very much Mr Butlin.

The scams where all the family are involved are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

Years ago my Dad, Mam, sister and myself were touring around the UK on holiday.

During the same fortnight my cousin's were staying at some kind of Butlin's holiday camp in Wales for a week or two, so we decided to call in to them for a day; you could pay on the gate of the complex and get a day trippers ticket entitling you to use the facilities for the day.

Anyway we enjoyed the day so much that instead of leaving that evening, as we should of, we said we'd stay the night.

And then we enjoyed the night so much, that instead of leaving in the morning as we definitely should of, we decided we'd stay the week.

Twelve of us in a mobile home for a week in Wales.
    Thank you very much Mr Butlin.

The scams where all the family are involved are the best.

Im sure your cousins had a great holiday and loved the fact that there were 12 people crammed into their mobile home of which they were paying for.

weedhead wrote: »
    Im sure your cousins had a great holiday and loved the fact that there were 12 people crammed into their mobile home of which they were paying for.

Adrian, cousin Adrian is that you?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

cml387 wrote: »
    OK here's a tip.If you ever do get caught in the machine and they call the fire brigade, let go of the can you're holding.

Its not one of them where ya wedge your hand up and grab it, its these ones

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_c9lTNgy44ts/Rq59t_pgTUI/AAAAAAAAAA0/YTnn03ip3Hw/s320/coke+vending+machine.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Sugarfree

I'm a AIB customer but I also have a bank of Ireland account that I do not use I had a few euro in it. A while back the BOI atms were on the brink and giving out free money! I took out 500 euro!