Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FCA Ballinasloe

• 11-01-2011 1:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

I rang my local f.c.a building (I know its the reserve now) and he told me that I can join, I have to get the papers in Athlone Custom barracks and fill them out. My friend's uncle is in the army and he told us that it's 17 to join, or 16 with parent's consent. This is the Ballinasloe f.c.a that I'm joining (hopefully). I wanted to know 1. Do you get dog tags in the f.c.a? 2. Where do you go for the annual training camps? 3. What kind of volunteer work can you do? Like guarding the bank while money is being transfered etc. 4. Do you get to use all the PDF weapons? (Steyr Aug, Usp 9mm pistol, GPMG etc). Any info would be appreciated thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I rang my local f.c.a building (I know its the reserve now) and he told me that I can join, I have to get the papers in Athlone Custom barracks and fill them out. My friend's uncle is in the army and he told us that it's 17 to join, or 16 with parent's consent. This is the Ballinasloe f.c.a that I'm joining (hopefully). I wanted to know 1. Do you get dog tags in the f.c.a? 2. Where do you go for the annual training camps? 3. What kind of volunteer work can you do? Like guarding the bank while money is being transfered etc. 4. Do you get to use all the PDF weapons? (Steyr Aug, Usp 9mm pistol, GPMG etc). Any info would be appreciated thanks

1. No

2.Depends,I have been all about the country. Good fun though.

3. Range shoots,tactics,then the odd other thing thrown in. The PDF mind the money though.

Oh,and get used to calling it the RDF now,that is its official name.

4. Yes,but not right away. You start with the Steyr,the following year the GPMG and with Sgt or Officer rank comes the joy of shooting a pistol. Other specialised weapons require you to do courses, eg, the 84 AT and .5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

It also isn't 16 with anyone's consent, it's 17 no matter even if Jesus Christ himself consents. I don't know where that idiot got that idea from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 EireBurton123

testicle wrote: »
    It also isn't 16 with anyone's consent, it's 17 no matter even if Jesus Christ himself consents. I don't know where that idiot got that idea from.

I was told by someone in the PDF so im sure he knows alot more about it than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭SIRREX

I was told by someone in the PDF so im sure he knows alot more about it than you.

You might want to step back on that one, as a member of the PDF, I'm sure that the lads in the RDF would have a much better idea, of what is required to join the RDF, than myself and my fellow full timers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Or he was taking the piss, either way he was wrong, Its 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

As a member of the Naval Service Reserve it always annoys me when the Army Reserve is called the RDF. Both the NSR and the AR make up the RDF. You need to be 17 to join BOTH arms of the RDF, if you are a couple of months short of 17 we normally take Rcruits as it takes a couple of months to organise medicials , security clearances ect before you can be enlisted into the Army Reserve or the Naval Service Reserve.
    Give it a go, 99% of people who do enjoy it. Best of luck.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

Your contact in the PDF is wrong. You cannot join at 16, as technically this would make you a child soldier. You can join at 17 with parental consent, or at 18 on your own consent.
    Men and women between 17 and 34 years of age (under 35). An extension of the upper age limit is allowed in the case of certain former members of the Permanent Defence Force or of the Reserve of Men (First Line). All applicants must be a minimum of 158cm (5'2") in height, in good health and of good character and be willing to attend and train regularly.

That's what I thought all the time. I think my town's F.C.A must still be like the f.c.a, as the person that is over it all works as a bouncer in one of the night clubs and they still go on the annual trips to the firing range, same as the f.c.a always did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

That's what I thought all the time. I think my town's F.C.A must still be like the f.c.a, as the person that is over it all works as a bouncer in one of the night clubs and they still go on the annual trips to the firing range, same as the f.c.a always did.

Remember,it is only part time,I work in a pub most of the time. The summer and such are taken up with AR duties. The Army does not pay well enough to keep me going for the year!

But do join,I joined at 17 with consent,thats the rules. It was a great step to take too,met some of my best mates in it,and some of the best craic too.

Your friend in the PDF is wrong.

See here - there are 2 relevent questions... http://www.rdf.ie/frequently-asked-questions.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

as the person that is over it all works as a bouncer in one of the night clubs and they still go on the annual trips to the firing range, same as the f.c.a always did.

Well it is "Part-Time" what else were you expecting??

Maybe he was talkin about the old f.c.a..cant remember..ill find out all in the next few days anyway.

I can assure you that the 17 age limit has existed since the LDF.

testicle wrote: »
    I can assure you that the 17 age limit has existed since the LDF.

I read alot of storys about people joinin when they were 16, and they seen lads as young as 14 there aswell. The stories could have been from as early as the 60's tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

I read alot of storys about people joinin when they were 16, and they seen lads as young as 14 there aswell. The stories could have been from as early as the 60's tho.

Ah, I know where the confusion has come from, Back then there was no requirment to prove your age, If you looked big enough you were allowed to join.

Today however you need to provide your birth cert(Long form) and you need to go through Garda Clearance.
    You have to be at least 17 to join the RDF today.