Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8th Annual Irish Film and Television Awards (IFTA)

• 11-01-2011 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,024 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2011/0111/iftas.html
    The nominees for the eighth annual Irish Film and Television Awards have been announced, with the RTÉ gangland drama 'Love/Hate' leading the shortlist with 10 nominations.
    Among 'Love/Hate's nominations are Best Drama, Best Director (David Caffrey), Best Actor (Robert Sheehan), Best Actress (Ruth Bradley), Best Supporting Actor (Brian Gleeson) and Best Supporting Actress (Ruth Negga).

Among the other television shows to receive multiple nominations are: 'Na Cloigne' (six), 'The Silence' (six), 'The Tudors' (six), 'Single-Handed' (five), 'Fair City' (four) and 'RAW' (four).

There are also nominations for 'Operation Transformation', 'The Apprentice', 'The Model Scouts', 'Your Bad Self', 'Ros na Rún', 'Prime Time', 'The Frontline' and 'Tonight with Vincent Browne'.

The Bosnian-set drama 'As If I Am Not There' leads the film nominations with six, including Best Film, Best Director (Juanita Wilson), Best Script (Juanita Wilson) and Best International Actress (Natasha Petrovic).
    Other films to receive multiple nominations include: 'The Runaway' (five), 'Swansong - Story of Occi Byrne' (five), 'Rewind' (four) and 'Perrier's Bounty' (four).
    Irish stars to receive nominations include Pierce Brosnan ('The Ghost'), Colin Farrell ('The Way Back'), Brendan Gleeson ('Perrier's Bounty'), Amy Huberman ('Rewind'), Cillian Murphy ('Perrier's Bounty'), Liam Neeson ('Chloe') and Saoirse Ronan ('The Way Back').
    In the international film categories there are nominations for 'Inception', 'The King's Speech', 'A Prophet', 'The Social Network' and 'Toy Story 3', among others.

The awards take place on Saturday, 12 February at the Convention Centre Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Full list of nominees here: http://www.ifta.ie/nominees/index.html

Perrier's Bounty gets a Best Film and Best Script nomination?

I see the IFTAs are as full of sh*te as usual. Good to see that the recession hasn't changed that.

And why do they mix the female lead acting award between Film & TV when the male awards aren't mixed?

Also they couldn't get a bio for Owen McPolin for the cinematography award? How hard did they look?
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0574280/

IFTA as an organisation is a bit of a joke.

Also if Your Bad Self is nominated for entertainment then surely The Savage Eye should be too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

Wild Decembers is nominated for best single drama. Jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Full list of nominees here: http://www.ifta.ie/nominees/index.html

Perrier's Bounty gets a Best Film and Best Script nomination?

I see the IFTAs are as full of sh*te as usual. Good to see that the recession hasn't changed that.

And why do they mix the female lead acting award between Film & TV when the male awards aren't mixed?

Also they couldn't get a bio for Owen McPolin for the cinematography award? How hard did they look?
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0574280/

IFTA as an organisation is a bit of a joke.

Also if Your Bad Self is nominated for entertainment then surely The Savage Eye should be too?

The awards are for 2010. The first series of the savage eye was on in 2009. Second series is on in 2011. it was nominated last year

Fair city nominated for best drama. They must have been stuck for shows that aired last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

Colmo52 wrote: »
    Fair city nominated for best drama. They must have been stuck for shows that aired last year.
    Pretty sure Fair city hasn't been nominated for best drama. Nominees are:
    Love/Hate
    RAW
    Ros na Rún
    Single-Handed
    The Tudors

ianrush wrote: »
    Pretty sure Fair city hasn't been nominated for best drama. Nominees are:
    Love/Hate
    RAW
    Ros na Rún
    Single-Handed
    The Tudors

Sorry. I meant Tv writing . Their scripts are rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Love/Hate definitely deserves to be there, one of the best shows RTÉ have ever done, and typical of them to end it after just 4 episodes. They could've got 4 seasons out of it like.

But I agree with AnonoBoy, Perrier's Bounty being nominated for anything is a feckin pisstake. By far one of the sh***est films to come out of Ireland in a long time...

Jim236 wrote: »
    Love/Hate definitely deserves to be there, one of the best shows RTÉ have ever done, and typical of them to end it after just 4 episodes. They could've got 4 seasons out of it like.

There's a 2nd series of it on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,024 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope Pierce Brosnan wins for The Ghost Writer he has been overlooked by all the US awards and it is a great performance by him

I hope Brian Gleeson wins for Love/Hate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Looks to me like an incestuous love in. Who the hell cares? doesn't matter a damn at the end of the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

There's a 2nd series of it on the way.

Ah deadly, didn't know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

That's really weird. I thought it was probably because so many of the male actors are big international stars, Brosnan, Neeson and O'Farrell are clearly A List, while Murphy, Meaney and Gleeson aren't too far off that type of recognition either. So they were keeping them separate so that the male stars of Irish tv would have a chance to win something. But the genuinely famous actors dominate both nominations.:confused:

Also the way the nominations confuse me a bit. How was Suzanne on Fair City a lead actor, when Sarah Bolger on The Tudors is a supporting actress? Bolger was one of the lead actress of a smallish ensemble cast, while the woman who plays Suzanne is a lead actress of a much larger ensemble, though I believe her role was prominent last year. They are either both lead or both supporting. It's annoying too as Sarah Bolger's Lady Mary Tudor (along with Anthony Brophy's Ambassador Chapuys) was the only genuinely great performance of the quite awful Tudors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Not enough Irish actresses to fill both categories so they've reconciled the two.

Nolanger wrote: »
    Not enough Irish actresses to fill both categories so they've reconciled the two.

I don't know, is Amy Huberman the only Irish actress that played a decent lead role in a film last year?

Having said that I can't think of any off the top of my head but surely she can't be the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

There was an article about this in a newspaper a few days back. They didn't have enough actresses to fill both categories.

Nolanger wrote: »
    There was an article about this in a newspaper a few days back. They didn't have enough actresses to fill both categories.

That's a pretty sad state of affairs.

Simon Delaney to host

On tonight on RTE 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

ah ffs... No Sat nite show... A thespian love in to replace it for the night.. My god, I can only assume Wild Decembersis a nominee for the "The Armitage Shanks" award for being the greatest load of sh1te...

Its nominated for best drama :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I wonder what Simon Delaney's hosting skills are like???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Simon Delaney doing a 'humorous' montage of movie inserts at the start.

Really can't stomach him, every shaggin' ad break he's on flogging tesco mobile or some other shiny thing.

And he's singing too.

He's no Neil Patrick Harris.

Pierce is still looking good...................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Are there any big names there at all? Gleeson, Pierce Brosnan and Kim Catrell (WTF?) seem to be about the height of it.

Peared wrote: »
    Are there any big names there at all? Gleeson, Pierce Brosnan and Kim Catrell (WTF?) seem to be about the height of it.
    Ah, don't forget Ms. Ronan :)

Simon Delaney is no Hugh Jackman.. I never understood why he didnt lose the weight if he wanted to take his profession seriously.. He's like the Andy Reid of the acting world..

This event is so dead, no atmosphere at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Simon Delaney is no Hugh Jackman..

Don't think he ever claimed to be Hugh Jackman ;)

Peared wrote: »

The BAFTA's are on in London tomorrow, so the IFTA people probably thought they might get a few people to stop off here on the way over.

Don't see any A (or even B+) listers there though.

SkidMark wrote: »
    The BAFTA's are on in London tomorrow, so the IFTA people probably thought they might get a few people to stop off here on the way over.

Don't see any A (or even B+) listers there though.
    I'm sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo looking forward to seeing Colin Firth tomorrow night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

milf

Simon Delaney is no Hugh Jackman.. I never understood why he didnt lose the weight if he wanted to take his profession seriously.. He's like the Andy Reid of the acting world..

I reckon if he loses weight it puts him into competition with leading men types which to be frank I dont think he CAN compete with, whereas with the weight, it's almost part of the characters he plays. Makes him non threatening or "funny" or likeable and increases the chances of getting character roles.
    If you're not gorgeous or super dooper talented or connected you usually need to have a 'thing'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Lots of vacant seats!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Loads of empty seats there!! And no wonder if what yer man said is true about the tickets being €300!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

number10a wrote: »
    Loads of empty seats there!! And no wonder if what yer man said is true about the tickets being €300!!

SNAP:)

He's no Neil Patrick Harris.
    Simon Delaney is no Hugh Jackman

Any other entries for the ...

'Simon Delaney is no .... (Insert recent awards Ceremony host)' award?

Ack, awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

300 jesus thats a bit irish

number10a wrote: »
    They probably had to pay Brosnan, Cattrell & co. appearance money to attend. They will also be holding a raffle during the break to cover Delaney's fee.

Any other entries for the ...

'Simon Delaney is no .... (Insert recent awards Ceremony host)' award?
    He's no Ricky Gervais

This programme could have been great if the "Apres Match" lads presented it :D

Pat looked very uninspired there. And Miriam looked like she was texting someone.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'm sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo looking forward to seeing Colin Firth tomorrow night :) SAD :-(
    FYP.. :D
    Don't think he ever claimed to be Hugh Jackman
    I guess my expectations were too high.. Delaney gave us a few jokes about NAMA... do you remember jackman's stellar oscar opening.?.

Go Vinny!!!

Go Vinny B .....................

Vincent Browne was robbed.

Boo!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭zoby

hee hee my 14 year old just wandered in asking why was i watching Miriam o Callaghan texting :D

I know it's about celebrating the industry and the talent contained within, and I'm sorry and everything but it just feels kind of empty and lacking in sparkle when you don't have any big names there. Im talking about it as a televisual event here, not as an event in itself.

I'd give it all up for a glimpse of the Farreller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Never even heard of the Iris Robinson thing :confused:

Saw it and it was very good but not a patch on Vinny B though.