Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shorts?

• 10-01-2011 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

lads could ye recomend a decent pair of bib tights for winter with a good chamois and good pair of shorts for the summer time?need a good chamois also for doin a few sportives etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Try the dhb stuff from wiggle. It's good value but make sure you get the size right before using them as they won't accept a return then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Money no object, you could describe Assos as decent. On a tighter budget, dhb stuff gets a lot of recommendations here. In between, you could try Santini or Giordana, both of whom do good shorts.

I've the Santini Max2Easy bibtights which I'd find quite comfortable on a day like today. I've a few of their bibshorts too & they're grand, as are the Giordana shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭templer27

I honestly think assos shorts are overatted.I have two of them,I also have a Demarchi contour,I find them better more comfortable fit is better they look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Shorts are a very personal thing like saddles. I've used Assos shorts before and i wouldn't buy them again like Templer27 i found the Demarchi ones a lot better and they wear a lot better too, mine are over 3 yrs old and still in good condition.

Heard good things about dhb shorts and the reviews are good too so they'll be my next pair for sure, can't go wrong for 50 odd quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Zorba wrote: »
    Shorts are a very personal thing like saddles. I've used Assos shorts before and i wouldn't buy them again like Templer27 i found the Demarchi ones a lot better and they wear a lot better too, mine are over 3 yrs old and still in good condition.

Heard good things about dhb shorts and the reviews are good too so they'll be my next pair for sure, can't go wrong for 50 odd quid.

+1. It can be hard to recommend shorts as everyone is different "down there". Trial and error.

I've used DHB bib tights, the 2011 ones are excellent, much improved fit and chamois. I quite like Adidas bib shorts, I picked up a few pairs on CRC as they were going cheap and were blue (win-win!). I think they cost about 30 euro a pair, might be some left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

I got the dhb Pace Roubaix Bib Tight with Pad recently. I've only used them a couple of times, but they're comfy, pretty warm even in the cold weather we've had recently, and the pad is decent. The fit is good for me - I selected the size on the basis of height, having asked about it on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

And just to add further confusion, I don't like dhb shorts. I like specialized. Trial and error really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Bib shorts
    Check here

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

My favourite shorts are my quickstep ones which are made by Vermarc.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Giordana bibshorts are great value imho, very comfy!

I have Assos stuff too and its great but the prices are ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭goldencleric

I got the dhb Pace Roubaix Bib Tight with Pad recently. I've only used them a couple of times, but they're comfy, pretty warm even in the cold weather we've had recently, and the pad is decent. The fit is good for me - I selected the size on the basis of height, having asked about it on here.

I have these tights also and they are great value for money, however the padding is sometimes not enough for longer spins - I like to put a pair of cheap knock off ebay shorts over them.

For shorts - I'd defo recommend Santini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I have these tights also and they are great value for money, however the padding is sometimes not enough for longer spins

I'd agree with goldencleric.
    I also have the dhb Finchdean bib shorts which are excellent. Better quality pad compared to the roubaix but you get what you pay for I guess!